The Arctic Map Collection defines the Arctic as the area around the Earth's North Pole. The Arctic includes Alaksa (United States of America), parts of northern Canada, Greenland, Iceland, Scottland (United Kingdom), the Scandinavian countries, and Russia, as well as the Arctic Ocean. Maps collected here generally depict the area north of the Arctic Circle (66° 33’N).

Maps in this collection are held in large part by the University of Florida's Map and Imagery Library.