Voters to Elect Slate of Officers

Material Information

Voters to Elect Slate of Officers


Subjects / Keywords:
Law -- Florida ( LCSH )
Lawyers -- Florida ( LCSH )
Voting precincts ( jstor )
Political candidates ( jstor )
Spatial Coverage:
North America -- United States of America -- Florida


Voters to Elect Slate of Officers
General Note:
Box 6, Folder 2 ( Vail Conference 1982 - 1982 ), Item 61
Digitized by the Legal Technology Institute in the Levin College of Law at the University of Florida.

Record Information

Source Institution:
University of Florida
Holding Location:
Levin College of Law, University of Florida
Rights Management:
All applicable rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

Full Text

Voters To Elect Slate Of Officers

Voters in the High Plains Under-
ground Water Conservation District will
go to the polls on January 16, 1982, for
the annual election of a slate of District
Directors and County Committeemen.
The ballot will carry positions for six-
teen County Committeemen and three
District Directors in 1982. The election
will be held only in those counties (or
portions thereof) comprising District
Director Precincts One, Two and Five.
The eight counties affected are Coch-
ran, Crosby, Floyd, Hale, Hockley,
Lamb, Lubbock and Lynn.
Positions to be filled include places
for eleven County Committeemen who
have completed two consecutive four
year terms of service and are not eligi-
ble for re-election under the district's
by-laws. A total of sixteen county

committee places, or two for each of
the eight counties, will be filled.
District Director Malvin Jarboe of
Floydada, who has served in Precinct
Five for six years, is retiring this year,
leaving that position open to a new
Director. James Mitchell will seek re-
election as District Director in Precinct
One, and Mack Hicks will seek his
second term as Director in Precinct
Directors serve on the Board for two
year terms with no restrictions on the
number of terms they may serve, while
committeemen are elected for four year
terms and may not serve more than
two consecutive terms.
The District is currently accepting
affidavits of candidates eligible to serve,
and will publish legal notice of the
election and candidates, as well as pub-

lish details of the judges and polling
places in local newspapers of the
affected counties.
Absentee voting begins December
28. Voters must have a valid voter
registration certificate, reside within the
boundaries of the District and within
the county where balloting is con-
ducted. They should cast a ballot only
for the candidate eligible to serve in
the specific precinct boundaries within
the water district's service area where
the voter lives. Maps are being pro-
vided to each election judge which
further define the overall District Direc-
tors precincts and county committee-
men or county commissioners boun-
daries. For more information on the
election, contact Clifford Thompson at
the District headquarters at 2930 Ave-
nue Q in Lubbock, 762-0181.

6" 5