Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00057
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: November 18, 2010
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00057
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.

Full Text

Faculty Senate Meeting
November 18th, 2010
3:00 -5:00 P.M.
Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at: 3:00 Phi

The minutes of the October meeting were approved.

Chair's report Mary Ann Ferguson, Faculty Senate Chair
Mary Ann Ferguson reminded the senate of the Senate Blog and that the budget committee is still looking for input
regarding RCM. She also stated that IT 17 Elias Eldayrie is working on a new infrastructure for IT and is seeking
faculty input for the new committees: Educational Technology, Research Computing, Web Services and IT
Security. Chair Ferguson also reminded the senate that the nomination process for Senate positions on councils and
for UF committees has begun and the nominating committee I\[.i \:In. iI Katorich, chair) will be looking for self-
nominations and nominations of colleagues to fill these positions. She announced that a new senate secretary will
take over the currently vacant position in mid January and thanked the Provost Office staff for assisting in the
interim. Mary Ann Ferguson reported on council activities. The Academic Policy Council is evaluating UF's
participation in the national merit scholarship program; council members are seeking input on this issue. The
Infrastructure Council is working on giving input to the new IT Policy council and its committee structure and are
also seeking faculty input. The Research and Scholarship Council has been focused on issues surrounding effort
reporting as well as electronic T&tP reporting. The Budget Council has been meeting with academic deans to discuss
RChi challenges. They welcome faculty input through the senate blog. The Welfare Council is reviewing several
potential policies for improving faculty welfare.

Provost's report Joe Glover, Provost
Joe Glover announced the membership of the President's Committee on Doctoral Education which consists of the
Dean of the Graduate School and a group of Distinguished Professors. The President will charge the committee on
Nov 29 ". Provost Glover clarified the intent of the President for this committee. He also mentioned block tuition
and market rate tuition, defining these terms and discussing the proposals and issues surrounding them. A proposal
for block tuition will be brought to the Board of Trustees in December, and a proposal for market rate tuition for
five programs per year will go before the BOT and the Board of Governors.

Action Items

Constitution changes regarding departments Margaret Temple Smith, Constitution Committee Chair

This item was tabled as the latest version of the document was not available for review by the senate.

Honorary Degrees Ken Berns, Honorary Degrees Committee Chair
K~en Berns presented the candidates for Honorary Degrees: John Esposito, Sam Gibbons, K~arel Husa and William
K~ing. The senate voted to award degrees to the nominees.

Directed Discussion

National Research Council data
Marie Zeglen, Assistant Provost and Director of Instituional Planning and
Research and Ken Gerhardt, Senior Associate Dean of the Graduate School

Marie Zeglen and K~en Gerhardt reported on the Nation Research Council's data collection process and how the
data is useful for program-by-program comparisons to AAU peers, Top Ten schools, and other Florida schools.

They discussed the implications of these data on UF graduate programs. The NRC data are available via Office of
Institutional Planning and Research (wwNi~ulldu for anyone with a Gatorlink ID.

Information Items

Regulations Summary Margaret Temple Smith, Constitudion Committee Chair
Changes were reviewed for the Non-Discriminadion/Harassment/Invasion of Privacy Policies 1.006, the Leaves
Policy 1.201, the Student Honor Code and Student Conduct Code Philosophy and Definitions 4.040, and Student
Honor Code and Student Conduct Code Scope and Violations 4.041.

Ombuds Introduction Ronald Anderson, Ombuds
Ronald Anderson introduced himself as the new Ombuds. He discussed his role within the university and reported
on his activities since taking the position. He also brought attention to the 'Helping Student's in Distress' guide
available for faculty through the office of Student Affairs.

University Curriculum Committee Proposals

Bernard Mair, UCC Chair

Bernard Mair presented a proposal for the termination of BAE in Middle School Education, College of Education
and a New Prog~ram Proposal for Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering. Hans van Oostram, Chair of
Bioengineering conducted a formal presentation about the curriculum, demand and budg-et for the program.
Bernard Mair also submitted a university calendar proposal and calendar.

The meeting adjourned at: 5.07 PM

Mary Adkins
Wayne Archer
Steve Asare
Sanford Berg
Alexander Berkovich
Gijs Bosman
Ashley Booth
Jane Brockmann
Amy Buhler
Eileen Buss
William Castleman
Louis Cattafesta
Nico Cellinese
Jean Cibula
Nereyda Clark
Robert Cook
Betsy Creveling
Oscar Crisalle
Jerry Culen
Barbara Curbow
Larry Duncan
Liz Felter
Mary Ann Ferguson
Jason Ferrell
Jane Gannon
Lauren Garber Lake
Robyn Gleason

Abe Goldman
Renee Goodrich
K~elly Gray-Eurom
Wayne Griffin
David Groisser
Charles Haddad
Pat Hauge
David Hahn
Brian Harfe
Edward Hart
Galia Hatay
Michael Heckenberger
David Holmes
Adia Hozic
Margeaux Johnson
Mike K~atovich
Phil Kaufman
James K~lausner
Jason K~ruse
John Leavey
Stephen Lewis
Chihray Liu
Greg MacDonald
Rob MacI~ay
Marty Main
Jack Mecholsky
Renwei Mei
Mike Meldrum

David Miller
Cynthia Morton
Paul Mueller
Carol Murphy
Vasudha Narayanan
Michael Nussbaum
Scott Nygren
Mark Orazem
Nancy Poehlmann
Emily Pugh
Neta Pulvermarcher
David Reed
Robert Ries
Beverly Roberts
Ruth Ron
Andrew Rosalsky
Vicki Sarajedini
K~enneth Sassaman
Daniel Siragusa
Susan Sinnott
Laura Sjoberg
K~eith Stanfill
Joseph Tepas
K~evin Thompson
Sonal Tuli
Jay Watkins
Lori Waxenberg
Tonia Werner

Tom Wichman
Henry Wihnyk
Joel Yelich
Jennifer Zedalis

Student Senators:
Anuradha Pandey
Ashley Johnson

Brenda Smith
John Duff
Paul Chadik
Stephanie Hansen

Henry Frierson
Joe Glover
Henrietta Logan
Michael Perri
Wolfgang Sigmund
Margaret Temple-Smith

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - Version 2.9.9 - mvs