Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00045
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: September 17, 2009
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00045
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

September2009senateminutes ( PDF )

Full Text

Faculty Senate Meeting
September 17, 2009
3:00 -5:00 P.M.
Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 PM

The April, May and August 2009 Senate Minutes were approved.

Chair's Report Jack Mecholsky, Faculty Senate Chair
Jack Mecholsky announced that Steve Orlando is accepting story ideas so that Faculty can showcase their work and
how it impacts Florida.
Mecholsky also discussed a proposal from Dean Lavelli to create a Creative Campus Committee. He reported that
the Constitution Committee is working on drafting language to define a layoff unit. Their proposal will be brought
to the Senate when it is finalized.
He also encouraged faculty to submit comments about proposed budget reductions to the Faculty Senate budget

President's Report Bernie Machen, President
Bernie Machen discussed the current budget situation and proposals the University will be considering to reduce the

Provost's Report Joe Glover, Provost Joe Glover presented
proposed budget reduction initiatives for sick leave payout, a retirement enhancement program and changes to
summer pay schedules. Glover answered questions and heard comments on the proposals.

Information Items

College of Design, Construction and Planning Proposal for a New School
Peggy Carr, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Students and Academic Affairs

This item will be an action item at the October Senate meeting.

Action Item

Re-naming of departments in the College of Education
Harry Daniels, Faculty Policy Council Chair

This proposal was approved.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor

Ellis Greiner expressed concern about the current staffing in certain areas, particularly in Contracts and Grants.
Greiner is concerned that the budget reductions have resulted in too few staff to perform necessary functions.
Provost Glover stated that the CFO has pledged a 90 day turnaround for closeouts of grants filed completely by the
end of the Academic Year.

The meeting adjourned at 3:46 PM

Peter Adams
Wayne Archer
Monika Ardelt
Manuel Arreola
Tom Auxter
Azra Bihorac
David Bloomquist
Ashley Booth
Brent Boraddus
Gijs Bosman
Jane Brockmann
Amy Buhler
Eileen Buss
Regina Bussing
Nina Caputo
William Castleman
Louis Ccattafesta
George Christou
Nereyda Clark
Donald Cohen
Robert Cook
Betsy Creveling
Barbara Curbow
Larry Duncan
Bruce Edwards
Lily Elfteriadou
Mary Ann Ferguson
Jason Ferrell
Jane Gannon
George Gerencser
Joe Geunes
Paul Gibbs
Wayne Griffin
David Groisser
David Hahn
Jeffrey Harman
Alice Harmon
Michael Heckenberger
Marc Heft
Pat Hogue

Shannon Holliday
David Holmes
Aida Hozic
John Kammeyer
Mike Katovich
Stan Kaye
James Keesling
Saeed khan
James Klausner
Shawn Kneipp
William Lindberg
Chihray Liu
Greg MacDonald
Tim Martin
Heather McAuslane
Sue McGorray
Jack Mecholsky
Mike Meldrom
Bayard Miller
Deb Mitra
Giuseppe Morelli
Carol Murphy
Satya Narayan
Vasudha Narayanan
Michael Nussbaum
Scott Nygren
Anthony Offerle
Mark Orazem
Marc Ottenga
Deanna Pelfrey
Nancy Poehlmann
Deborah Popovich
Emily Pugh
David Quillen
Tracy Rambo
Maria Rogal
Ruth Ron
Victoria Rovine
Sandra Russo
Orit Shechtman
Susan Sinnott

Daniel Siragusa
Clay Smith
Keith Stanfill
Ghatu Subhash
Michael Sweat
Mickie Swisher
Joseph Tepas
Sevan Terzian
Kevin Thompson
Barry Tillman
Bryan Unruh
Jill Varnes
Henry Wihnyk
Sally Williams
George Wilson
Joel Yelich
Jennifer Zedalis
Dana Zimmel

Student Senators
Zach Appleman
Jessica Clements
Chaz Pinna

Andy McCollough
John Yelton
Tom Dana
Peggy Carr
Remy Boucias

Catherin Emihovich
Paula Fussell
Joe Glover
Ellis Greiner
Bernie Machen
Winfred Phillips
Barbara Wingo

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs