Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00043
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: May 15, 2009
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00043
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

May2009senateminutes ( PDF )

Full Text

Faculty Senate Meeting
May 15 ,2009
10 A.M.- 12 P.M.
Pugh Hall

The meeting was called to order at 10 AM

Chair's report Frank Bova, Chair
Frank Bova reviewed council accomplishments for the 2008-2009 Academic Year.

President's Report Bernie Machen, President
Dr. Machen discussed the budget. He stated that tuition will be raised by up to 15% over the course of several
years. The tuition increase will generate approximately $2.5 million for need based scholarships this year.
The University is looking at several possibilities for increased budget cuts for administration.

Provost's Report Joe Glover, Provost
Joe Glover reported that a director was hired for the honors program and discussed the FEO program. Andy
McCollough was named the Associate Provost for E-learning.
The University is currently conducting searches for the Dean of the International Center, the College of
Engineering and the Dean of Public Health and Health Professions.

Information Items

Regulation Changes Cathy Martyniak, Constitution Committee Chair

Cathy Martyniak update the Senate on the proposed regulations changes.
Ellis Greiner requested that 6C1-1.017 be withdrawn until the fall so that a discussion on the issue can occur.
His request was moved to an action item.
The motion to request that the regulation be withdrawn until the fall was approved.

Action Items

Doctor of Business Administration Selcuk Erenguc
The proposal was approved.

Academic Policy Council Report on Shared Governance Questionnaire Danaya Wright, APC Chair
Danaya Wright presented the APC report on the Shared Governance Questionnaire. No action was taken.

Constitution Article 1 Cathy Martyniak, Constitution Committee Chair
Cathy Martyniak presented proposed changes to Article 1 of the Constitution. The proposed changes were

2011-2012 Calendar approval Bernard Mair, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education
The proposed 2011-2012 calendar was approved with one opposing vote.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor
A member commented that the University should reduce salaries across campus in order to keep Faculty from

Jane Brockmann asked what will be done with the stimulus money and why it could not be used to prevent layoffs.

There was not an open floor discussion.

The meeting adjourned at 11:26 AM

Kevin Anderson
Theresa Antes
Steve Asare
Tom Auxter
Lorena Bacaglini
Azra Bihorac
Exliabeth Bolton
Maria Coady
Donald Cohen
Elizabeth Creveling
Oscar Crisalle
Harry Daniels
Joseph Delfino
Mary Ann Ferguson
lan Flood
Stephen Futch
George Gerencser
Paul Gibbs
Martin Gold
Wayne griffin
Jeffrey Harman
Alice Harmon
Edward Hart
Richard Hill
Shannon Holliday
David Janicke
Rebecca Jordi
Stan Kaye
Kristen Kemple
Saeed Khan
Shawn Kneipp
John Leavey
Lora Levett

Stephen Lewis
Jenshan Lin
William Lindberg
Henrietta Logan
David Janicke
Rebecca Jordi
Stan Kaye
Kristen Kemple
Saeed Khan
Shawn Kneipp
John Leavey
Lora Levett
Stephen Lewis
Jenshan Lin
William Lindberg
Henrietta Logan
Heather McAuslane
Sue McGorray
Jack Mecholsky
Mike Meldrom
Jacqueline Miller
Bill Montgomery
Debra Murie
Carol Murphy
Satya Narayan
Sven Normann
Anthony Offerle
Mark Orazem
Nancy Poehlmann
Deborah Popovich
Kathie Price
Rose Pringle
William Properzio
Tracy Rambo
Ron Randles

Patrick Reakes
David Reed
Rolf Renne
Victoria Rovine
Deb Mitra
Orit Shechtman
Susan Sinnott
Chris Snodgrass
Taylor Stein
Micahel Sweat
Sevan Terzian
Jill Varnes
Henry Wihnyk
Sally Williams
Barbara Zsembik

Brian Beach
Jacob Chung
Joe Glover
Ellis Greiner
Jamie Keith
Bernie Machen
Cathleen Martyniak
Sue Percival
Win Phillips
Stephen Pritz
Richard Yost

Cheri Brodeur
WL Castleman
Andy McCollough

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs