Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00037
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Uniform Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: November 20, 2008
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00037
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

Novembersenateminutes ( PDF )

Full Text

Faculty Senate Meeting
November 20, 2008
3:00 -5:00 P.M.
Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:02 PM
The minutes of the October 16, 2008 meeting were approved.

Chair's report Frank Bova, Chair
Frank Bova discussed Governor Crist's proposal for new university funding. He also
discussed the Faculty Enhancement Program, Compensation committee, SPP Review
Committee, the Nomination process for University and Senate committees, and the open
source text committee.

Provost's Report Joe Glover, Provost
Joe Glover reported that the College of Engineering Dean search will begin in the near
future. Governor Crist has recognized problems with the state university system funding
model and is considering a tuition differential not covered by Bright Futures in order to
bring our tuition up to the national average of public colleges. Thirty percent of any
differential would go to need based financial aid and the rest would be used for hiring
faculty, advisors and counselors.

Information Items

Board of Trustees Update Dianna Morgan, BoT Chair
Dianna Morgan discussed the opportunities that can come with the tuition differential.
Superficially increased funding translates to increased responsibility especially with more
defined goals and increased performance measures.

Information Technology Initiatives Chuck Frazier, Interim CIO
Chuck Frazier presented information technology initiatives.

Budget Principles David Quillen, Budget Council Chair
David Quillen presented the budget council's draft budget principles. Comments can be
made via a form on the Senate homepage.

APC Textbook Report Danaya Wright, APC Chair
Danaya Wright presented the APC textbook report.

Action Items

Proposal to Create a Department of Dermatology at the University of Florida College
of Medicine
The proposal was approved.

Proposed Constitution Changes Jim Seale, Constitution Committee Chair Elect
The constitution changes were postponed until the next meeting due to a change that
needed to be made to include faculty in centers, institutes and programs in Article 6 section
II on page 23. The constitution committee will update the language and present the language
for a vote in December.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor
Senators first. Three minute limit per speaker.

The meeting adjourned at 5:08 PM

Sean Adams
Nora Alter
Kevin Anderson
Theresa Antes
Wayne Archer
Steve Asare
Lorena Baccaglini
Azra Bihorac
David Bloomquist
Elizabeth Bolton
Ashley Booth
Jane Brockmann
Pamela Brown
Regina Bussing
Judy Butterfield
Donald Cohen
Robert Cook
Elizabeth Creveling
Oscar Crisalle
David Criswell
Jean Crockett
Harry Daniels
Timothy Davis
Joseph Delfino
Bruce Edwards
Lily Elefteriadou
lan Flood
Timothy Flynn
Stephen Futch
Maria Gallo
George Gerencser
Martin Gold
Kelly Gary Eurom
Wayne Griffin

Jeffrey Harman
Edward Hart
Richard Hill
Shannon Holliday
David Janicke
Rebecca Jordi
Henry Jowers
James Keesling
Kristen Kemple
Saeed Khan
Michael Kladde
James Klausner
Shawn Kneipp
Pradeep Kumar
Tony Ladd
John Leavey
Kathy Light
Jenshan Lin
William Lindberg
Henrietta Logan
Jack Mecholsky
Mike Meldrom
Bayard Miller
Martha Monroe
Cynthia Morton
Carol Murphy
Satya Narayan
Scott Nygren
Dan O'Neill
Mark Orazem
Marc Ottenga
Joe Pergola
Nancy Poehlmann
Deborah Popovich
Rose Pringle

William Properzio
David Quillen
Eileen Raynor
Patrick Reakes
David Reed
Ruth Ron
Sandra Russo
Richard Segal
Orit Shechtman
Wolfgang Sigmund
Sharleen Simpson
Susan Sinnott
Daniel Siragusa
Brenda Smith
Chris Snodgrass
Taylor Stein
Michael Sweat
Joseph Tepas
Sharon Treen
Bryan Unruh
Eric Wachsman
George Wilson
Jennifer Zedalis
Dana Zimmel
Barbara Zsembik

Jacob Chung
Steve Dorman
Henry Frierson
Ellis Greiner
Lucinda Lavelli
Danaya Wright
Richard Yost

Student Senators
Lauren Gispanski
Yooni Yi

Marc Heft
Tiffany Schmidt
James Seale
Chuck Frazier
David Cumming
Fedro Zazueta
Anna Callun Hollombe
Angel Kowlek Folland
JJ Van Der Ae
Harrison Diamond

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs