Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00032
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Uniform Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: April 17, 2008
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00032
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

Senateminutesapril_000 ( PDF )

Full Text

Faculty Senate Meeting
April 17, 2008
3:00 -5:00 P.M.
Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:04 PM

The minutes of the March 20, 2008 meeting were approved.

Chair's Report Rick Yost, Chair
Rick Yost reported that the emergency notification system is being tested on April 18 and
faculty should notify the appropriate office if they do not receive a test message. Yost
discussed the Budget Council's role in the budget process and the shared governance model
for budget processes. The Steering Committee will review the final proposal for budget cuts
at a special Steering Committee meeting. Senator elections for each college are ongoing and
committee and council elections will open on April 18. Yost also reported that the College
of Medicine Faculty Council has created a task force to review policies and procedures for
medical school student admissions. Yost announced upcoming Senate and Steering
committee meetings.

President's Report Bernie Machen, President
Bernie Machen reported that budget reduction recommendations will be announced after
the legislative session is completed on May 2 and discussed the budget reduction process and
encouraged faculty to remain involved with shared faculty governance.

Chair Elect Speeches and first ballot Rick Yost, Chair
Jack Mecholsky was elected the 2008-09 Faculty Senate Chair Elect

Information Items

Ad Hoc Committee on a Civil, Safe and Open Environment Report
Kim Tanzer, Committee Chair
Kim Tanzer presented the committee's report and recommendations as an information item.

BOG Academic Program Regulation Compliance
Angel Kwolek- Folland, Interim Associate Provost
Angel Kwolek-Folland presented the BOG academic program regulation compliance
information as an information item.

Library Reorganization Plan Judith Russell, Dean University Libraries
Judith Russell presented the library reorganization plan as an information item.

Nominating Committee Report Carol Kem, Nominating Committee Chair
Carol Kem presented the nominating committee report as an information item.

Faculty Authored Course Materials Recommendations Carol Murphy, APC chair
The proposal will be an action item at the May meeting.

Child care resolution Rebecca Pauly, Welfare council chair
The resolution will be an action item at the May meeting.

Constitution Committee Regulations Report and Preservation of Historic Buildings
and Sites Committee Language
Cathy Martyniak, Constitution Committee chair elect
The regulations report will be available online as soon as the regulations are posted. The
proposed language will be an action item at the May meeting.

New Degree Program Proposal: Master of Historic Preservation
Henry Frierson, Dean of the Graduate School
The proposal will be an action item at the May meeting.

Action Items

Sunset proposal: PhD and EdD in Student Personnel in Higher Education
Henry Frierson, Dean of the Graduate School
The proposal was approved.

New Degree Program Proposal:
Bachelor of Science in Sustainability and the Built Environment, College of Design,
Construction and Planning Curriculum Information
Henry Frierson, Dean of the Graduate School

The proposal was approved.

Sabbatical and Professional Development Leave Recommendations
Saeed Khan, Research and Scholarship Council Chair
The proposal was approved.

University Curriculum Committee and General Education Committee
Recommendations Jack Mecholsky, Ad Hoc Committee Chair
Chris Snodgrass moved that the proposal be postponed definitely to the May meeting. The
motion was approved.

Ooen Floor Discussion

The meeting adjourned at

Chunrong Ai
Alex Alberro
Nora Alter
Sammy Barkin
Linda Bloom
Elizabeth Bolton
Ashley Booth ?
Frank Bova
Eve Brank
Jane Brockmann
Pamela Brown
Judy Butterfield
Youjin Choi
George Christou
Jacob Chung
Donald Cohen
Elizabeth Creveling

Oscar Crisalle
David Criswell
Jean Crockett
Lawrence Datnoff
Timothy Davis
Joseph Delfino
Bruce Edwards
Ian Flood
Joanne Foss
Elizabeth Frazier
George Gerencser
Martin Gold
Ellis Greiner
Jeffrey Harman
Alice Harmon
Christy Harris-Lemak
Marc Heft
Marc Hoit

Shannon Holliday
David Janicke
Christopher Janiszewski
Hazel Jones
Rebecca Jordi
Henry Jowers
Stan Kaye
William Kemr
Saeed Khan
James Klausner
Pradeep Kumar
Gail Kunkle
Tony Ladd
Jodi Lane
John Leavey
Jenshan Lin
William Lindberg
Henrietta Logan
Joseli Macedo
William McArthur
Heather McAuslane
Sue McGorray
Jack Mecholsky
Jacqueline Miller
Marjorie Moore
Stephen Mulkey
Satya Narayan
Sven Norman
Anthony Offerle
Rose Pringle
William Properzio
David Quillen
Ron Randles
Eileen Raynor
Patrick Reakes
Rolf Renne
Marilyn Roberts
Pamela Roberts?
Leah Rosenberg
Mary Beth Salisbury
Miren Schino?
Richard Segal
Orit Shechtman
Wolfgang Sigmund

Sharleen Simpson
Susan Sinnott
Brenda Smith
Clay Smith
Chris Snodgrass
Craig Stanley?
Taylor Stein
Michael Sweat
Joseph Tepas?
Jane Townsend
Sharon Treen
Jill Vares
Thomas Vickroy
Susan Webb
Brenda Williams
Sally Williams
George Wilson?
Naomi Young
Dana Zimmel

Henry Frierson
Carol Kem
Lucinda Lavelli
Ruth Lowery
Cathleen Martyniak
Carol Murphy
Rebecca Pauly
Michael Perri
Judith Russell
Christopher Silver
Danaya Wright
Rick Yost

Kim Tanzer
John Yelton
Alan Dorsey
Roy Graham
Peggy Carr
Carlo Salas
Karen Navitsky
Mike Katovich

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs