Title: Minutes of SWFWMD(R) Governing Board Meeting
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00051318/00001
 Material Information
Title: Minutes of SWFWMD(R) Governing Board Meeting
Physical Description: 2p.
Language: English
Publication Date: Nov. 12, 1969
Spatial Coverage: North America -- United States of America -- Florida
General Note: Box 3, Folder 2 ( SWFWMD (R) HISTORY - LAWS, RULES FIRST ORDERS - B3F2 ), Item 7
Funding: Digitized by the Legal Technology Institute in the Levin College of Law at the University of Florida.
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00051318
Volume ID: VID00001
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: Levin College of Law, University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.

Full Text


Brooksville, Florida November 12, 1969

The Board of Governors of the Southwest Florida Water Management
District (Regulatory) met in the District Headquarters building,
Brooksville, Florida, at 9:30 A.M. on November 12, 1969. The
following persons were present:

Derrill McAteer, Chairman Myron Gibbons, Attorney
Arthur M. Pickard, Vice Chairman Col. H.C. Gee, Consulting Engineer
Edward Medard, Secretary Ted Reiter, Consulting Accountant
John Anderson, Treasuret Dale Twachtmann, Executive Director
S.C. Bexley, Member Donald Feaster, District Engineer
Paul Hubbard., Member. Robert Gates, Supt. of Maintenance
Boyce Williams, Member Garald Parker, Chief of Hydrology
Clint Schultz, Chief of Fiscal Div.
Robert Watson, Chief-Land Acquisition
J.V. Sollohub, Division of Natural Resources
Ward Tooke, Withlacoochee River Basin Board Member
Joe Maseda, Watson & Company
John Symes, Dept. of Air & Water Pollution Control
Charles H. Gardner, International Minerals & Chemical Co.
George Knoblock, City Manager, New Port Richey
M.L. Lewis, Public Works Director, New Port Richey
Mrs. Robert Gates
Tom Inglis, Tampa Times
Lucy Morgan, St. Petersburg Times

and the following SWFWMD staff members: Ann Black, Emily Black,
Melba Beaty, Oliver DeWitt, Carol Ezell, Hildred Haight, Becky
Schupp and W.B. Smith.

Chairman McAteer called the meeting to order. The minutes of the
October 8, 1969 meeting were considered by the members and after
study it was moved by Mr. Hubbard and seconded by Mr. Anderson that
the minutes be approved as published to the Board. Motion carried.

Mr. Parker then reported to the Board that a legal notice had been
formally published announcing the enforcement date for the rules
and regulations. The ad was published in one newspaper in each county
throughout the Regulatory District area and in addition each news-
paper was asked to run it as a news item. Mr. Parker said that the
Hydrology Division technical staff would begin a canvass of drillers
throughout the District in the next week to be certain that all are
aware of the rules and regulations and their enforcement dates. At
the present time there are 146 drillers registered. Of these, 123
have been issued general registrations, 4 special registrations, and
19 temporary registrations. A total of 46 firms have registered and
10 bonds have been received to date,

Regulatory District

Mr. Parker then passed several driller registration cards around
for the Board members to see and explained that the drillers will be
required to carry these identification cards on their person at all
times. He also displayed the certificate and the decal for drilling
rigs which will be supplied to all registered drillers.

Mr. Gibbons then explained a change in the form of bond which had
been requested by one of the surety companies. He said that the \
wording of this bond is exactly the same as the original except that
this version sets out by number the applicable chapter of the Florida
Statute and the Florida Administrative Code that is being enforced.
The members of the Board studied the change and then it was moved by
Mr. Hubbard that the form of bond setting out the actual statute and
regulation numbers be approved as an alternate form of bond. The
motion was seconded by Mr. Pickard and passed.

Chairman McAteer explained to the Board that it had been determined
that the time interval between Board meetings could cause problems
for the regulatory staff in the enforcement of the regulations. Mr.
Gibbons said that it would be possible that drillers be given a citation.
to cease the violation within a certain number of hours and that if
the citation is not fully complied with then the Chief Hydrologist,
through the Executive Director, could instruct the Attorney to file a
civil action. After discussion it was moved by Mr. Williams and
seconded by Mr. Bexley that Mr. Gibbons' recommendation be approved.
Motion passed.

Chairman McAteer then stated that at the present time the regulatory
staff feels the list from which the Board must choose the Well Drill-
ing Advisory Committee is incomplete. Because of this, action in the
appointment of the Advisory Committee will be deferred until the next

There being no further business to come before the Board at this time.
the meeting adjourned at 10:15 A.M.

DT: ce; mb; ad.

I .'

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs