Title: SWFWMD (R) Minutes of Meeting of Board of Governors
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00050870/00001
 Material Information
Title: SWFWMD (R) Minutes of Meeting of Board of Governors
Alternate Title: SWFWMD (R) Minutes of Meeting of Board of Governors, with list of those present.
Physical Description: 2p.
Language: English
Publication Date: Dec. 10, 1969
Spatial Coverage: North America -- United States of America -- Florida
General Note: Box 2, Folder 1A ( SOUTHWEST FLORIDA WATER MANAGEMENT DISTRICT (Regulatory), Folder 1 ), Item 50
Funding: Digitized by the Legal Technology Institute in the Levin College of Law at the University of Florida.
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00050870
Volume ID: VID00001
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: Levin College of Law, University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.

Full Text



Brooksviile, Florida December 10, 1969

The Board of Governors of the Southwest Florida Water Management District
(Regulatory) met in the District Headquarters building, Brooksville, Florida,
at 9:30 A. M. on December 10, 1969. The following persons were present:

Derrill McAteer, Chairman Myron Gibbons, Attorney
Arthur M. Pickard, Vice Chairman Col. H. C. Gee, Consulting Engineer
Edward Medard, Secretary Ted Reiter, Consulting Accountant
John Anderson, Treasurer Dale Twachtmann, Executive Director
Herman Beville, Member Donald Feaster, District Engineer
S. C. Bexley, Member Robert Gates, Supt. of Maintenance
David Hipp, Member Garald Parker, Chief of Hydrology
Paul Hubbard, Member Clint Schultz, Chief of Fiscal Division
Robert Watson, Chief of Land Acquisition

Joe Maseda, Watson & Company
Earl Wells, Florida Phosphate Council
Charles H. Gardner, International Minerals & Chemical Co.
R. E. Byrd, Alico Land Development Co.
Dwight L. Hart, Oklawaha
Thomas Van der Veer, Yankeetown
Lucy Ware Morgan, St. Petersburg Times
Jim Twitty, Tampa Tribune

and the following SWFWMD staff members: Emily Black, Hildred Haight, Zolda
Lambert, Melba Beaty and Carol Ezell.

Chairman McAteer called the meeting to order. The minutes of the November
12, 1969 meeting were considered by the members and after study is was moved
by Mr. Pickard and seconded by Mr. Hubbard that the minutes be approved as
published to the Board. Motion carried.

Mr. Parker then reported to the Board on the status of driller registration. At
the present time there are 301 driller applications on file and of these 120 have
been completed. The 181 others are incomplete in some way but will be con-
cluded as the additional information becomes available. The 301 drillers are
in 151 different companies. A total of 10 special registrations and 39 temporary
registrations have been issued to date. Mr. Parker stated that the registration
is proceeding very well with only a small amount of opposition. This is from
approximately ten drillers who state that they do not plan to comply with regis-
tration procedures. Chairman McAteer requested that a list of those drillers
refusing to register be furnished to the Board at its next meeting so that the
list could be made public at that time and decisions made accordingly.

The Chairman then stated that final decisions concerning the Well Drilling
Advisory Committee membership should now be made. After discussion, Mr.

Minutes of the Meeting December 10, 1969
SWFWMD (R) Board Page Two

Medard moved that Messrs. Burl Dunlap of Dunedin, Melvin L. Harlan of
Lakeland, James E. Miller of Punta Gorda, Shelby Payne of Summerfield and
Charles J. Woodin of Crystal River be appointed to the Well Drilling Advisory
Committee. The motion was seconded by Mr. Beville and passed. Chairman
McAteer explained that it is expected that the committee will hold their organi-
zational meeting in early January and meet perhaps quarterly after that. He
explained that the committee will put forth their recommendations to the Board
and that any actions concerning the recommendations would be made by the
Board at a public meeting.

Mr. Twachtmann said that the Southwest Florida Water Management District
(Regulatory) Rules and Regulations, Chapter 357R-1, were now available in
official printed form, as prepared through administrative procedures of the
State of Florida through the Secretary of State's office. Several printed copies
were furnished to each Board member.

There being no further business to come before the Board at this time the
meeting adjourned at 10:10 A. M.


-----~- I--~~/

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs