Title: SWFWMD (R) Minutes of Meeting of Board of Governors
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00050867/00001
 Material Information
Title: SWFWMD (R) Minutes of Meeting of Board of Governors
Alternate Title: SWFWMD (R) Minutes of Meeting of Board of Governors, with list of those present.
Physical Description: 3p.
Language: English
Publication Date: Mar. 11, 1970
Spatial Coverage: North America -- United States of America -- Florida
General Note: Box 2, Folder 1A ( SOUTHWEST FLORIDA WATER MANAGEMENT DISTRICT (Regulatory), Folder 1 ), Item 47
Funding: Digitized by the Legal Technology Institute in the Levin College of Law at the University of Florida.
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00050867
Volume ID: VID00001
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: Levin College of Law, University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.

Full Text



Brooksville, Florida March 11, 1970

The Board of Governors of the Southwest Florida Water Management District
(Regulatory) met in the District Headquarters building, Brooksville, Florida
at 9:40 A.M. on March 11, 1970. The following persons were present:

D. S. McAteer, Chairman Myron Gibbons, Attorney
Arthur M. Pickard, Vice Chairman Richard Miller, Consulting Engineer
Edward Medard, Secretary Ted Reiter, Consulting Accountant
John Anderson, Treasurer Dale Twachtmann, Executive Director
Herman Beville, Member Donald Feaster, District Engineer
S. C. Bexley, Member Robert Gates, Supt. of Maintenance
Paul Hubbard, Member Garald Parker, Chief Hydrologist
Thomas Van der Veer, Member Clint Schultz, Chief of Fiscal Division
Robert Watson, Chief Land Acquisition

Dale Lester, Watson & Company
Robert R. Baker, Watson & Company
C. R. Sproul, Dept. of Natural Resources
H. J. Woodard, Dept. of Natural Resources
Bruce Congleton, Florida Phosphate Council
T. C. Hofcorn, Florida Phosphate Council
J. S. Rosenshein, U. S. Geological Survey
J. W. Stewart, U. S. Geological Survey
Brooks Hoyt, Hillsborough County
Mrs. Thomas Van der Veer
Dwight L. Hart, Oklawaha
Harry E. Moser, New Port Richey
Mrs. Harry E. Moser, New Port Richey
Lucy Ware Morgan, St. Petersburg Times
Ed Prickett, Tampa Times
Jim Twitty, Tampa Tribune

and the following SWFWMD staff members: Ann Black, Emily Black, Hildred
Haight, Melodic Oleson, Bill Smith, Melba Beaty and Carol Ezell. Also the
following delegation of well drillers:

Emil Muller William D. Mixon Marshall Auton
John Anson Frederick A. Mixon J. W. Green
Jim Sapp John S. Hopkins Robert Luffman
Mike Houck D. H. Corbin Cecil Herndon
Hays Mullins Robert E. Rackley Herman F. Gil
K. R. Winner Wilbur Langley John L. Cook
L. F. Williams J. M. Thomas John S. Stachon
Orvis F. Porter Jesse K. Driggers Dennis J. Bastow
G. G. Crosby J. E. Bishop, Sr. L. S. Bastow
R. B. Dunham P. J. DuPuy Thomas M. Bastow
Joe H. Blais C. M. Larson Larry Williams

Minutes of the Meetin- Malrch 11, 1970
SWVFWMD (R) PBoard Page Two

Ronald Bierer Curtis Newberry Willard Ridley
A. L. Miller Leon Futch Andy Kuka
F. A. Nelson Ray Lain Aubrey C. West
J. M. Wiggins J. W. Fussell Howard Godwin
W. L. Sturdevant J. F. Carroll R. B. Huss
E. E. Sherouse Bobby G. Taylor Emery M. Meridith
H. P. Whatley Ed Dowling F. N. Goodall
Marion Ward Ike Scott Randle Patterson
Aaron Curls Jonas Jacobs Bill Locke
Cleve Frink A. G. Jones John W. Kriska
Ronald Frink Cecil G. Parkey Claude Roman
C. J. Yates Robert Emerson T. J. Williamson
Albert H. Miller Ray Day Eugene Crum
James Miller William Adams A. W. Fussell
Robert Kilbarger H. H. Cannon Melvin Harlan
John Hare R. W. Maze Charles Woodin
J. J. Hare Bill Pentz Burl Dunlap
Carl Douglas James F. Orofino Shelby Payne
Willis Kinzer R. F. Buchanan Fred Wichers
Joe Spotz Bob Schaefer Roy Wilt, Sr.
Grady Tindel D. W. Ridley

and others who did not sign the register.

Chairman McAteer called the meeting to order. The minutes of the Febru-
ary ii, 1970 meeting were considered by the members and after study it was
moved by Mr. Pickard and seconded by Mr. Medard that the minutes be ap-
proved as published to the Board. Motion carried.

Mr. Twachtmann then introduced the members of the Well Drilling Advisory
Committee who were in attendance at the meeting. Authorization for the
Well Drilling Advisory Committee to meet as necessary was requested of
the Board. Mr. Twachtmann requested that the Board authorize reimburse-
ment for per diem and travel for monthly meetings, as the previous authori-
zation of three meetings per year will not be enough. Authorization was also
requested for the Committee Chairman to receive travel and per diem for
agenda planning and for work sessions with the staff. After discussion it
was moved by Mr. Pickard and seconded by Mr. Anderson that the requested
authorization, as requested by Mr. Twachtlrann, designating the Well
Drilling Advisory Committee and the Committee Chairman "Authorized
Travelers" and extending the previous authorization be approved. Motion

Chairman McAteer then called for a recess in order that the public hearing
to be conducted as a part of the Regulatory Board meeting might be convened
at the published time of 10:00 A. M.

At precisely 10:00 A. M. the Regulatory Board meeting reconvened and the
public hearing was held to present the proposed rules and regulations
revisions to Chapter 357R-1 for consideration. A transcript of the public

Minutes of the Meeting March 11, 1970
SWFWMD (R) Board Page Three

hearing can be found in the SWFWMD (R) files and is made a part of these
minutes as if set out herein in full.

There being no further business to come before the Board at this time the
meeting adjourned at 11:40 A.M.



University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs