SWFWMD (R) Minutes of Meeting of Board of Governors

Material Information

SWFWMD (R) Minutes of Meeting of Board of Governors
Alternate Title:
SWFWMD (R) Minutes of Meeting of Board of Governors, with list of those present. Brooksville, FL.
Publication Date:
Physical Description:


Subjects / Keywords:
City of Lakeland ( local )
Drainage water ( jstor )
Well drainage ( jstor )
Spatial Coverage:
North America -- United States of America -- Florida


General Note:
Box 2, Folder 1A ( SOUTHWEST FLORIDA WATER MANAGEMENT DISTRICT (Regulatory), Folder 1 ), Item 31
Digitized by the Legal Technology Institute in the Levin College of Law at the University of Florida.

Record Information

Source Institution:
University of Florida
Holding Location:
Levin College of Law, University of Florida
Rights Management:
All applicable rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

Full Text



Brooksville, Florida August 4, 1971

The Board of Governors of the Southwest Florida Water Management District
(Regulatory) met in District Headquarters building, Brooksville, Florida,
at 9:40 A.M. on August 4, 1971. The following persons were present:

D. S. McAteer, Chairman Myron Gibbons, Attorney
Edward Medard, Secretary Richard Miller, Consulting Engineer
John A. Anderson, Treasurer Ted Reiter, Consulting Accountant
Herman Beville, Member Dale Twachtmann, Executive Director
Peter J. Negri, Member Donald Feaster, District Engineer
Thomas M. Van der Veer, Member Robert Gates, Supt. of Maintenance
Garald G. Parker, Chief Hydrologist
Clint Schultz, Dir., Finance & Acctg.
Robert Watson, Dir., Real Estate Div.

H. J. Woodard, Department of Natural Resources
Richard Fountain, International Minerals & Chemical Corp.
Bruce Cartter, Jr., Dept. of Air & Water Pollution Control
Mrs. Peter J. Negri, Ocala
Mrs. W. A. Dobbs, Lakeland
Roy Wilt, Lakeland
Mrs. Lucille Dorr, Lakeland
Vi Forsythe, Bartow
Al Wellner, Odessa
Herb Hofman, Lakeland
Lucy Ware Morgan, St. Petersburg Times
Jim Twitty, Tampa Tribune

and the following SWFWMD staff members: Carol Ezell, Nancy Klein,
Jim Mann, Sharon Michaelis, Nancy Mills and Jake Varn.

Chairman McAteer called the meeting to order. The minutes of the July 14,
1971, meeting were considered by the members and after study it was moved
by Mr. Anderson and seconded by Mr. Van der Veer that the minutes be
approved as published to the Board. Motion carried.
Mr. Twachtmann presented to the Board a draft of the Water Resources Code
and explained that this Code is the beginning point. He stated that the
Code was being distributed to the Board for their later review and comment.
Mr. Anderson requested that copies of the Code be sent to interested
consulting engineers in our District, the Department of Natural Resources,
the State Geologist, and the Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services.

Mrs. Dobbs inquired about a report on the IMC drainage well. Mr. Cartter,
Dept. of Air & Water Pollution Control, stated that the drainage well
has been temporarily plugged with a telephone pole to his satisfaction.
Mrs. Dobbs then asked Mr. Cartter if in his opinion any water had gone
into the drainage well from the time of his first visit to the site on
October 13, 1970, until his last visit on July 26, 1971. Mr. Cartter
stated that it was his opinion that because of the drought condition
since last October, no water has entered the drainage well.

There being no further business to come before the Board at this time the
meeting was adjourned at 10:00 A.M.