THE FIRST CENTURY OF
GAINESVILLE LODGE NO. 41, F. AND A. M.
ONE HUNDREDTH ANNIVERSARY
GAINESVILLE LODGE NO. 41, F. AND A. M.
TO THOSE BRETHREN WHO HAVE
ENTERED THAT HOUSE NOT MADE WITH HANDS
ETERNAL IN THE HEAVENS
4- t -* 4!
*I i If. j f rt ' "* ,.- A*-*'.- .
i -j.--.S.'.-- -'-
; ; ..
The Lodge still operates under authority of this original Charter.
(Transcript on facing page.)
TRANSCRIPT OF CHARTER
..............................G.M. E. R. Ives, D.G.M.
TO ALL TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN
We, the Grand Lodge of the District of Florida, of the Most Ancient
and Honorable Fraternity of Free and Accepted Masons, agreably to the
Old Constitutions duly established and organized for the said District, Do
hereby Constitute and Appoint our trusty and well beloved Brethren, T. J.
Meyers, Master, Daniel Lynn, Senior Warden, and P. C. Massey, Junior War-
den, of a new Lodge to be held in Gainesville by the Name of Gainesville
Lodge Number 41. And we do hereby authorize and empower our said trusty
and well beloved Brethren to hold their Lodge at the place hereby directed
and appointed, at such times as they shall think necessary and convenient,
according to the Constitutions of Masonry, and to admit and make Free Masons,'
agreeably to the Most Ancient and Honorable Customs of the Royal Craft,
in, all Nations throughout the Known World, and not otherwise. And we
do further authorize and empower our said Brethren and their successors
to hear and determine all and singular the matters and things relating to the
Craft within the jurisdiction of their Lodge, Number Forty-one. And lastly, we
do authorize and empower our said trusty and well beloved Brethren, T. J.
Meyers, Daniel Lynn and P. C. Massey to nominate, choose, and instal their
successors to whom they shall deliver this WARRANT, and invest them with
all their powers and dignities as Free Masons, and such successors shall in
like manner nominate, choose, and instal their successors. Such installations
to be upon or near St. John's Day, the Evangelist, during the continuance of
this Lodge. Provided always, That the said above named Brethren and their
successors pay due respect to the RIGHT WORSHIPFUL GRAND LODGE,
frtm whom they shall have their Authority, otherwise this WARRANT to be
of no force or virtue.
Given under our Hands and the Seal of the GRAND LODGE OF
FLORIDA, at the City of Tallahassee, this 15th day of January in the
Year of our Lord, One Thousand Eight Hundred and fifty-seven, and
of Masons, Five Thousand Eight Hundred and fifty-seven.
C. G. FLETCHER, S.G.W. JAS. ELLENWOOD, J.G.W.
Since the beginning of recorded history, people have left some mark or
contributed something from which a story of their activities and ways of life
has been handed down to the present generation.
The idea of a history of Gainesville Lodge No. 41 has not been some-
thing that was started at this particular time. The thought has been in the
minds of many Brethren who were aware of the Lodge's good fortune in
'having intact and readable minutes since January, 1857, and a file of annual
returns complete from 1872 to the present. The Brethren felt that in con-
sideration of a continuous one hundred years of existence, the caliber of mem-
bership and service to the community, Gainesville Lodge No. 41 had earned
the right to celebrate appropriately its centennial and to publish its his-
tory. Also, it was apparent that the opportune time to distribute the history
would be at the time of the celebration.
This idea materialized in the approval of a report-to quote our minutes
of June 14, 1955: "The secretary reported that an organization meeting of
the One-Hundredth Anniversary Committee was held on May 26th to discuss
plans for this celebration-." (See section devoted to committees.) The sum
of one hundred dollars was appropriated for committee expenditures. This
committee came to be known as the General Committee and was given com-
plete charge of all details relative to the proposed celebration. It had the
perogative of appointing as many sub-committees as it deemed necessary. It
was the thought of committee members to spread the work and assignments
in order to give as many men as possible a part in the work of preparation
for the celebration. One of the most important topics considered by the com-
mittee was the compiling of data to be used in the writing of the history
of the first hundred years of our Lodge. A sub-committee, known as the
History Committee, was appointed to start the work. This history was not
to be written by any great historian or eminent writer, but by a great number
of the Brethren of this Lodge who accepted" assignments covering various
phases of the history. The basic plan was to assemble the assignments into
book form and place it in the hands of an Editing Committee, consisting of
Brethren of our Lodge, who are qualified writers or grammarians, for final
revision. All these Brethren pooled their best efforts to give the Craft this
history. They earnestly endeavored to acquaint the membership with every
historical fact that they could possibly verify. They dealt with those things
dear to the hearts of the Craft: our growth in Masonry; our activities over
the hundred years' period; the building of the Temple; the more recent ac-
tivities, such as the Past Master's Chain Ceremony; 'the Chest Ceremony
whereby interesting articles as well as our micro-filmed minutes are to be
sealed in the chest to be reopened in the year 2057; activities, such as playing
host to servicemen during World War II; and our growth since 1941. These
are but a few of the items covered in our history.
The final printed edition has related facts, given statistics, reproduced
photographs and given information to an extent that the Craft will view the
work with complete satisfaction and consider it a milestone along the path-
Way of a Lodge, a great body of friends and brothers.
Remember that in the building of the Temple by King Solomon and
on through history great men of many nations of the world have been mem-
bers of our Craft, where men are free and dwell upon a common level.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
PREFACE ........ ...----- --.------ --- ... .
CHAPTER I-Brief History of Masonry in Florida.-
CHAPTER II-The Scene of Masonry in Gainesville.
CHAPTER III-Facts from Lodge Minutes..--........
Youth- 1857-1875 .. ...... . -.....--..
Age-1909-1957 ......... -----.-- ... .-----
Laying the Cornerstone in 1908.. ........ .
Dedication of the Temple in 1909 ....-.........
Making A Mason At Sight ...-.....................
Honorary Members ...- .. -- .. .. ...----..-
Special Activities.......... .............
Other Meetings of Interest...... -........-
Masonic Service Center........ --..--
Growth of the Lodge........ ...-....... .......
The Chain Ceremony.......................--..
History of the Anniversary Chest ..................
The Centennial Celebration ......................
-..- --- --.. .- 15
... .. 21
. ... ...... 22
......... ............. 35
.. .. ............. 36
.------ --... 40
... .---. 42
S .....-- 49
APPENDICES: Appendix Page
No. 1-Complete Roster of Membership of Gainesville Lodge No. 41 1
No. 2-Officers 1857-1957 --.. .............------ ------ ..12
No. 3-Service of Gainesville Lodge Members in Grand Bodies .......19
No. 4-Service of Gainesville Lodge Members in Civic Affairs ....... 22
No. 5-Service of Gainesville Lodge Members in Armed Forces .....28
No. 6-History of York Rite in 'Gainesville .... ..........--- -- ..32
No. 7-History of Order of Eastern Star......... ........-....... ..-- 34
No. 8-History of Gainesville Shrine Club .... ....... ................- 35
No. 9-Centennial Committee................----------- -37
No. 10-Centennial Program........ .........---- ----- 39
BRIEF HISTORY OF MASONRY IN FLORIDA (1768-1830)
(Reprinted from 1942 Florida Masonic Digest of Law)
St. Augustine being the site of the first white settlement on the North
American continent, it may seem strange to those not familiar with the cir-
cumstances that Freemasonry was firmly established in the Colonies of the
New World, from Massachusetts to Georgia, long before the first Masonic
Lodge appeared in what is now the State of Florida, and still longer before
Florida's first permanent Lodge was established.
Florida was discovered and taken possession of in the name of Spain
by Ponce de Leon in 1513, and except for a short period between 1719 and,
1723, when the French occupied Pensacola, the Spanish Government was
in undisputed control of all the territory now constituting the State of Florida
until 1763 when it was ceded to Britain.
Spain was a Roman Catholic country, and as Freemasonry was inhibited
by the Roman church, no Masonic Lodge had ever been established in Florida,
but with the coming of the English in 1763, came Masons, and five years
later a Provincial Grand Lodge and a particular Lodge were established at
St. Augustine under Scottish registry. And in 1771 another particular Lodge
was established in Pensacola under authority of the Provincial Grand Lodge
The tenure of Masonry between 1768 and 1783, during the English
occupation in Florida, became lost history. Nothing was known of it by
the founders of the Grand Lodge of Florida or by Masonic historians. St.
Fernando Lodge, chartered by the Grand Lodge of Georgia, at St. Augustine
in 1808, defunct in 1811, was believed to be Florida's first Masonic Lodge
until the year 1898, when the research work of Most Worshipful Silas B.
Wright, then Deputy Grand Master, proved otherwise. These research studies
were ordered by Most Worshipful James M. Hilliard, then Grand Master,
.when he received from Brother F. F. Bond, of Thorncliff, Brighouse, Eng-
land, a rare old copy of "Preston's Illustrations," on the title page of which
was the inscription, "The gift of James Murry to, St. Andrew Lodge No. 1,
West Florida, June 27, 1776."
No one living had ever heard of St. Andrew Lodge No. 1, of West
Florida, and there was no known record of such a lodge, hence Most Worship-
ful Brother Hiliard appointed Brother Silas B. Wright a committee of one
to investigate and report to the 1899 Grand Communication.
This was slight information to build on, but happily, Brother Wright
hit upon the right trail at once. He knew that the Grand Lodge of Penn-
sylvania had made a practice of creating Lodges in unoccupied territory, and
Communicated with it on the chance that St. Andrews Lodge of West Florida
may have been one of its old defunct Lodges. This proved not to be the
case, but the inquiry brought to light the entire history of St. Andrews
Lodge No. 1 of West. Florida.
Only two years previously the Grand Secretary of the Pennsylvania Grand
Lodge had opened several old unlabeled wooden boxes which had been lying
around in the vault for so long that no living man had any knowledge of
their contents. These old boxes contained a mass of priceless Masonic records
dating back to Pennsylvania's earliest Masonic Lodges. They also contained
Pennsylvania Grand Lodge records up to the year 1819. All of which were
supposed to have been destroyed at the burning of the Masonic Hall in Phil-
adelphia on the night of March 9, 1819.
These records were saved that night, however, by Geo. A. Baker, Jr.,
then Grand Secretary, and later sealed in six strong wooden boxed by Bernard
Dahlgren, Brother Baker's successor, and removed from Hall to Hall, through
the years, and lastly stored in the vaults of the new Masonic Temple, at
Broad and Filbert Streets, in 1873. Here these boxes remained unknown
and forgotten until 1896, when Hon. A. Perry, Deputy Grand Secretary,
Among the old documents found in these boxes were certified copies of
the original charter of St. Andrews Lodge No. 1, of West Florida, and rec-
ords of its work at Pensacola and Charlestown, South Carolina. These records
were loaned Brother Wright for copying and filing, and they are now on
file in the vault of the Grand Lodge of Florida.
The certified copy of the Charter of St. Andrews Lodge No. 1, of West
Florida, bears the date of May 3, 1771, issued by the "Provincial Grand Lodge
over Lodges of the Southern District of North America," located at St. Au-
gustine and signed by "James Grant, G. M.; Wm. Drayton, D. G. M. p. t.;
Alexr McKenzie, S. W. W.; Fredk. Geo. Muleaster, J. G. W.; David Yates,
G. S., and John Faley, G. C.
As nothing was known of the existence of a Provincial Grand Lodge
at St. Augustine, and as the St. Andrews Lodge documents indicated Scottish
registry, Brother Wright appealed to the Grand Secretary of the Grand Lodge
of Scotland for aid in solving the mystery. This brought a letter from D.
Murray Lyon, Grand Secretary, under date of March 17, 1898, which clarified
the whole matter:
"In searching our Grand Lodge records," he wrote, "I find under date
of 15th March, 1768-
'Having read a petition from James Grant, Esq. Governor of the Prov-
ince of East Florida, Henry Cunningham, late Senior Warden of the Grand
Lodge of Scotland, and many other brethren residing in the province afore-
said, craving a charter for holding a Lodge there by the stile and title of
"Grants East Florida Lodge," and also entreating the Grand Lodge would
appoint the said James Grant Provincial Grand Master over the Lodges in
the Southern District of North America, the Grand Lodge granted the de-
sire of that petition, and authorized a charter to be made out accordingly,
and likewise a commission appointing James Grant Provisional Grand Master
over the Lodges in the Southern District of North America.' "
So the first Florida Lodge was established at St. Augustine 203 years
after the city was settled, but only five years after the British had succeeded
The old documents reveal that St. Andrews Lodge No. 1 of West Florida,
worked at Pensacola until the invading Spaniards drove the English out in
When the Spaniards came to Pensacola in 1781, the Master, the Junior
Warden and some of the brethren refugee to Charlestown, S. C., then occu-
pied by the English, taking the Lodge's charter and other records with them.
From Charleston, under date of February 9, 1782, they communicated with
their Grand Lodge at St. Augustine and asked for authority to continue their
work at Charleston as a Florida Lodge. This communication was signed by
Thomas Underwood, W. M., H. Beaumont, J. W., John Simpson, P. M.
and Thomas H. Stewart.
The Pro. Grand Lodge, at St. Augustine, acknowledged receipt of this
communication under date of March 14, 1782, and authorized these brethren
"to constitute and hold a Lodge at Charles Town, S. C. under your charter
until it shall please God to restore you to the ancient seat of your Lodge in
West Florida, provided you have the Master and a sufficient number of mem-
bers of the same to form a Lodge." This dispensation was signed by John
Forbes, D. G. M., and John Naley, G. S.
The following year, however, the Spaniards also returned to St. Augus-
tine, under a treaty whereby Florida was returned by Britain to Spain, and
Masonry was stamped out in St. Augustine as it had been in Pensacola, with
the return of the Spaniards there in 1781. No records of the Pro. Grand Lodge
or of Grants East Florida Lodge are extant.
Being now without a head, and there being no Grand Lodge in South
Carolina, the brethren of St. Andrew Lodge applied to the Grand Lodge of
Pennsylvania for authority to continue to work at Charleston under the same
style and title with the addition of the word "late" of West Florida.
This authority being denied, they made up a copy of their charter and
records, certified and sworn to, and sent them to the Grand Lodge of Penn-
sylvania and asked to be chartered- under Pennsylvania registry. This was
grated by the Grand Lodge of Pennsylvania and they were chartered as
"St. Andrews Lodge No. 40." Thus was severed the last link that joined the
Masonic citadel to early Florida Masonry. See Brother Wright's report, pp.
380-81, 1899 Proc.
This Lodge, however, continued to function for more than a century,
as Lodge No. 40 from 1783 to 1787, and as one of the founders of the Grand
Lodge of South Carolina in 1787, when it became Lodge No. 10, and con-
tinued to work at Charleston until 1890, when it became dormant and was
dropped from the roll of South Carolina Lodges. Albert G. Mackey, the Ma-
sonic historian and author, was initiated, passed and raised in this Lodge.
Sporadic attempts were made to revive Masonry in the territory of Flor-
ida during the last Spanish regime, at St. Augustine and at Fernandina, but
each effort was short lived-pressure of antagonism in high places was too
great to withstand.
It was not until Florida had become a territory of the United States that
Masonry was able to take its proper place in the scheme of social and moral
uplift of advancing civilization and a growing nation.
Unreasonable prejudice of lingering Spanish influence against Masonry
still was felt in the older settlements, but the settlers who crowded down
from the north were free of any taint of prejudice and Masonry came with
them, vigorous and enduring.
It was only a very few years after Florida became a territory of the
United States that the first enduring Florida Lodge was established at the
young city of Tallahassee on its northern border. This was Jackson Lodge
U. D., organized under authority of the Grand Lodge of Alabama, June 3,,
1825 and chartered as Jackson Lodge No. 23 by the same Grand Body De-
cember 19, 1825, Robert Butler, U. D. and Charter Master.
Jackson Lodge, with Washington Lodge, chartered by the Grand Lodge
of Georgia, December 2, 1828, at Quincy, and Harmony Lodge, chartered
by the Grand Lodge of Georgia, December 8, 1829, at Marianna, met in the
hall of Jackson Lodge at Tallahassee, July 5, 1830, and proceeded to organize
the Grand Lodge of Florida, Jackson Lodge taking the number "1", Washing-
ton Lodge the number "2" and Harmony Lodge the number "3". And so
they remain until this day, having enjoyed continuous and uninterrupted life
from the date of their respective organizations.
The interior of Florida was at that time, except for a few Indian Trad-
ing Posts, an unreclaimed wilderness, inhabited by a savage race and runaway
slaves. The fringe of settlements along its northern border comprised the
southern out-posts of advancing American civilization.
Into this environment came the Grand Lodge of Free and Accepted
Masons of Florida, the outgrowth of Jackson, Washington, and Harmony
Lodges, each of them, and the town whence they hailed, yet in their swaddling
clothes, imbued with a living, forceful energy and vitality, as it entered upon
its benevolent march down the far reaches of time.
THE SCENE OF MASONRY IN GAINESVILLE
Old Spanish maps indicate that the area known as Florida extended
north to about the present State of Tennessee and west to the Mississippi
River. However, this claim could not be enforced, and, in time, with en-
croachment by the British and French, Florida embraced an area approxi-
mately the same as at present. During the period of Territorial Government,
St. Augustine, Pensacola, Apalachicola, Tallahassee and Key West were the
-principal towns, others sections were either rural with a few scattered set-
tlements or almost totally undeveloped. The greatest concentration of rural
population extended across the northern portions of the Territory with cotton
and naval stores the chief commercial crops. Also, the population tended to
follow rivers inland and congregate about good harbors on the West Gulf
and Upper Atlantic Coasts. The remote peninsular areas were largely unex-
plored and dotted with a few Indian trading posts, sugar plantations and
military posts. Thus, the site of Gainesville was in a section which was com-
paratively late to start its development.
The vast area now in and about Alachua County at the time of De Soto's
northward march in 1539 was known as Potano Province, so named for the
Potano tribe of Timuquan Indians. With the English acquisition of Florida
in 1763 and the influx of Creek Indians from Georgia and Alabama who
were allied with the British, the area came to be known as the Alachua Coun-
try. The area sustained a population of Creek Indians who came to be known
as Seminoles which name supposedly means "runaway" and implies that
they "ran away" from the original Creek Nation.
SAlachua County, ninth in order of organization, originally embraced the
area from the Georgia State line on the north to Charlotte Harbor and from
the St. Johns River at Palatka to the Suwannee River (a prior name was the
Little St. Johns River) on the west. The most recent division of the County
was the formation of Gilchrist County, named for Governor Gilchrist who
:was Grand Master of the M. W. Grand Lodge of Florida while he was Gov-
ernor of the State.
The population of the entire State of Florida in 1857 is estimated to have
been about 87,000, just a few more than the present population of Alachua
County. It is also estimated that forty-five percent of the people were either
Indians or Negro slaves. Florida was created as a Territory, March 3, 1821,
with Andrew Jackson as Governor of the Province of Florida. Later he be-
came Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Tennessee as well as President
of the United States. Florida was admitted to the Union as a state, March
SIn 1857, twelve years after Florida became a state, a group of eighteen
ainesville Masons petitioned for and obtained a charter from the Grand
Lodge of Florida, which at that time maintained headquarters in Tallahassee.
Conditions of that time were very different and crude compared to modern
standards. However, the circumstances and mode of living of that period
created the urge for Masonry in Gainesville. To best visualize the scene into
which our Lodge entered the writings of Brother James Doig are herein pre-
sented. Brother Doig joined Gainesville Lodge in 1865 and remained in
good standing until his death in 1924. He published a series of articles in the
"Gainesville Daily Sun" beginning July 15, 1917, entitled "Reminiscent
Sketches of Gainesville's Early Days." The following excerpts are self explan-
atory. Most of the names of early Gainesville settlers are found upon the rolls
of Gainesville Lodge No. 41. Brother Doig came to Gainesville in 1855, the
year after the town became the County Seat. He wrote:
"Late in 1854 an effort was made to change the court house from New-
nansville to its present site, and the question was left to a vote of the people.
At the first election there was not sufficient strength east of Newnansville to
overcome the western part of the county, consequently the election was lost.
But another election was held several weeks later, and the eastern strength
had gained sufficiently to move the court house to its present sit-Gainesville.
"The only people living in this neighborhood in 1854 were Major
Bailey, who owned Section 5, including all the land north of the court house
site; Dr. Babcock, who was one of the first settlers and owned the property
where the Colonel H. F. Dutton home is, and Colonel Ingram, who owned
all that section which is at present South Gainesville. In 1856 he built "Oak
Hall," on the site where the Government building now stands at East Main
street, south. (Now S. E. 1st Street.)
"Major Bailey donated one acre of ground for the site of the new court
house. In 1855 the court house was begun, and was finished in 1856. It was
a wooden building with four cupolas.
"The naming of Gainesville was due to Major Bailey. Since the eastern
part of the County had gained the vote on the second election, Major Bailey
suggested to the county commissioners that they name the town Gainesville. A
great many people think Gainesville was named after General Gaines, who
was in the War of 1812, but this is not so. Gainesville was so named because
of "gaining" the vote.
"Alachua County was then about the same as it is now. The name means
in Indian "big jug," referring to a noted sink hole where the water from
Newnans Lake flows in and goes under the ground. It is not known where
it goes after that. Micanopy, the first town in Alachua County, was named
for an Indian chief.
"It was the latter part of March, 1854, when I arrived at the Lewis home.
This was located seven miles east of Gainesville, just across Newnan's Lake.
The Kings and Lewises were the two prominent families of the neighborhood.
I had known the King, as well as the Lewises, in South Carolina. Mr. King
was a Methodist preacher, but owned Negroes and worked on his farm
through the week and preached on Sunday.
"Newnansville was an old settled town dating back to the first Indian
War of 1812. It was headquarters for the Government for a long time. The
railroad did not go within four or five miles of Newnansville, so the people
left and established a new town and called it Alachua.
"The western part of the County settled up first, principally with people
'from South Carolina. The eastern part was settled more slowly on account
of the Seminole War. The last war with the Indians was in 1857. The people
settling in here had to build block houses out of logs to protect themselves.
The Government established a station called Fort Crane, near where Rochelle
now stands, while they were fighting the Indians between Micanopy and Ocala.
"Major Bailey had been here ten or fifteen years when I came. He owned
all the land north of Oak Hall building. His old house is still standing in
North Gainesville. He had seven or eight children, and two or three of
them still live here. During the war he was called to Fernandina to super-
intend the building of some fortifications there, and contracted some sickness
and died at that time.
"Dr. Babock built his log house in 1853, on the present site of Colonel
Dutton's home, and practiced medicine throughout this whole country. He
was at least forty-five or fifty years old. Finally he sold his property to Judge
Dawkins who was a prominent lawyer, and returned to South Carolina, re-
maining there until his death. His son is now president of the South Carolina
College in Columbia, S. C. The house remained as he had lived in it until
Judge Dawkins sold it to Colonel Dutton, who put up his big white house.
"Colonel Ingram was considered one of the best farmers in the country.
He also went into the mercantile business here while running his farm. He
and Beckham went into partnership and established a general store on the
east side of the square where the building of George K. Broome now stands.
This was in 1857. At the beginning of the war Ingram sold out, but after
the war re-entered the mercantile business in partnership with Haile. About
1883 Ingram's family, three girls and a boy, sold out their interests here and
went to Texas.
"By 1857 Ingram and Bailey had their land surveyed and divided into
city lots. The surveyors employed Hunter and Young. I bought the second
lot that Ingram sold, where the electric light plant now stands. The first lot
was sold to David Black. Two sets of blocks were sold off at public auction.
There was no surveyor located here at that time, and Major Bailey would
take his walking cane and with a little compass he always carried in his
pocket he would locate you wherever you wanted to build.
"At the time of the Civil War there were 200 or 300 people here, and
about eight or nine stores. All the stores occupied little wooden buildings. I
built the first brick building for my mill to protect my engine.
"The first church was built in 1855. It was the First Presbyterian church,
and was located on the east side of the square. The preacher was an old man
named W. J. McCormick, a Presbyterian, who came out here in 1854 and
preached his first sermon in Fort Clark, and finally established himself here
under the influence of Major Bailey and Colonel Ingram. He was here until
he died, and was greatly beloved by all who knew him.
"In the Methodist church there was an old preacher who was known
in this country as "Parson Lee." He had been here during the Indian War
of 1812 as a circuit rider. He used to come here from Micanopy.
"There was a little school started here taught by John C. Roper. The
next school was established by Mrs. Clark later known as the Tebeau school.
Afterwards Mr. Roper was principal of the East Florida Seminary, 'which
had been established in Micanopy, but was removed here just after the war.
This became one of the most prominent schools in the State, both as a mili-
tary and educational institution.
"In the days before the war we sometimes had little shows made up'
by home talent. Everybody was just like one family. There was no style;
everybody was just alike, made themselves perfectly at home, with plenty to
eat, and perfectly free. We had fine times in those days.
"We used to dance the old Virginia reel, but one must not put his hands
on the girl in the dance. There was no dance-hugging in those days. No sir!
The girls would give you a slap in the face if you started that. The people
in those days had better morals than they have now. When you walked with
a girl you had to be a man with a good character. If they found out anything
about your general character that was not right, they would put you on the
black list right off.
"The history of this town is somewhat queer. Just after the war there
was considerable rioting and fighting here. There could hardly be a gathering
on Saturday without somebody being killed or hurt. Finally, about 1873, a
State law was passed that all towns and villages within a certain population
might be incorporated, but it was left entirely to the vote of the citizens,
and not less than forty real estate owners, with the property in their own
individual names, were needed to vote on this question of incorporating. At
that time the population of the town was very small, but it was decided to
have a meeting in the old court house and decided the question of incor-
"I was present at that meeting. There were not over 17 or 18 eligible
to vote on the question. But as there had been much disturbance in the town
they appointed a committee from that number to decide whether we were
to be incorporated or not, whether it was legal or illegal. The committee de-
cided it would be advisable to incorporate. As there were several lawyers at
that meeting, it was left entirely to their judgment, and their judgment was
"The next question that came up was the selecting of a mayor. There
were several candidates, but they settled upon George Finley, who was a
prominent lawyer. I was one of the seven or eight aldermen elected at that
"Next the corporate limits were fixed half a mile south of the court
house, half a mile east, half a mile north and three-quarters of a mile west,
as a considerable population had settled west. I was appointed with Mr.
Thomas Smithers, a practical surveyor, to make the survey of the city, which
"At that time, Mr. Finley, the mayor, lived in East Gainesville on 3 acres
of land that I donated to him for a home. When he built his house, it hap-
pened that the body of the house was entirely out of the corporate limits,
while the porch and the front were inside, which made him ah illegal
official. There were several test cases made on that point, by men arrested
for creating a disturbance, and the city lost in all these cases. The next major,
John T. Matthews, was also illegal, as he lived two miles north of town.
In fact, until not so many years ago nearly all of the mayors were illegal."
Gainesville Lodge No. 41 has kept pace with the development of Gaines-
ville and the State of Florida in all phases. What it is, is the result of many
good men being influenced by Masonic tenets. It took root in the scene de-
scribed herein; it thrived with the nourishment of good morals; it will reach
maturity when men are perfect, if that ever be true; it will decline and fade
away when Christian principles are neglected or discarded by its members.
FACTS FROM LODGE MINUTES
No Mason who has studied the lectures of the order, particularly those of
the Fellowcraft and Master Mason Degrees, can fail to be impressed by the
symbolism represented by the three steps of the Master's Carpet. While the
number three is revered for many reasons, it is to be considered here as refer-
ring only to the Masonic teachings applicable to the principal stages of human
life, namely, youth, manhood and age.
This is not to mean that Gainesville Lodge No. 41 has reached the ulti-
mate age of its existence; rather it is to be hoped that its first century may
eventually be considered as only a part of its youth, and that the full bloom
of manhood and age is still ahead for future generations of Masons in the
community. It does seem that the first one hundred years divide themselves
into rather definite periods of time. It is to these that the Masonic terms of
youth, manhood and age may be applied in a symbolic manner.
As is the case with human beings, the first few years are the most diffi-
cult in the life of a Lodge. It is then that there is a struggle for existence,
growing pains are encountered with an endeavor to stand on its own feet.
In fact, what might be called our young Lodge's "second summer" was the
period of the Civil War, 1861-1865, and it is remarkable that survival was
made. After passing through the youth stage, gaining strength and experience,
a period of manhood and further development is reached. During this time,
a beginning was made for a permanent location and building. Community
activities according to Masonic tradition were performed in keeping with this
stage of life. The transition from manhood to age might be timed from the
occupancy of our Temple building to the present time, considering it as an
established, permanent, active and strong organization.
Of course, no exact dates can be given for such an arbitrary division
of our first century. For purposes of making this presentation, the approximate
dates which might be considered as youth are from 1857 to 1875; manhood,
from 1876 to 1908; and age from 1909 to 1957.
The events, actions and incidents reported in this section have been taken
from the minutes of the Lodge. At the present time the Lodge has all the
minute books from 1857, but unfortunately during the early years of the
Lodge's existence it appears that all the meetings and events were not fully
recorded. Some things are missing from the written records. The same may
also be said about the Proceedings of the Grand Lodge. In many instances
the reports of the early years do not carry over from year to year and statistical
information which might be available about the Lodge cannot be obtained
from that source. This is not intended as criticism of former secretaries, for
the difficulties under which they performed their duties are understandable.
Thanks are expressed for their faithfulness in preserving for one hundred
years the records now available.
The eighteen Master Masons of this community who first decided to
establish a lodge in Gainesville have left the first records of their actions
surrounded in almost as much mystery as the founding of Masonry itself. No
facts show when they first made a decision to form a lodge or what efforts
were necessary to secure the required number of names for the granting of a
charter. The earliest record now available indicates that upon the application'
of eighteen Masons, whose names are now inscribed on a plaque attached
to the original charter, the Grand Lodge of Florida, meeting in regular session
in the City of Tallahassee, in January, 1857, received a fee of fifty dollars for
a charter for Gainesville Lodge No. 41. The Grand Secretary also "presented
a petition from a legal number of Master Masons at Gainesville, Florida, for
a charter in proper form, which was referred to the Committee on By-laws
and Dispensations." The petition was approved and the charter issued under
date of January 15, 1857.
Whether communication was slow, the charter delayed or other difficul-
ties in holding a meeting, it is not known, but the first meeting of which
there are any records was not held until April 15th of that year. The Brethren
assembled at half-past two o'clock on Saturday afternoon. The Worshipful
Master, Bro. T. J. Meyers being absent, Dr. L. E. Blalock was called to the
chair and proceeded to install Bros. Lynn and Massey as Senior and Junior
The first motion passed by the lodge were that the affiliation fee should
be $2.00, and that the by-laws of Micanopy Lodge be adopted by this Lodge
until such time as new ones could be prepared. Their next step was to pro-
vide the proper books and furniture for the young Lodge.
The second meeting was held May 15, 1857, and four new petitions were
received, the petitioners being T. W. McCaa, G. P. Thomas, A. Matheson
and W. D. Clark. At the June meeting another petition was received, the
first four applicants were elected and three of them being present were re-
ceived and initiated Entered Apprentices.
The young Lodge proceeded rapidly with conferring of degrees upon
their first candidates as well as on others received. By October the first new
member had been elected to receive the Master's Degree. However, it was not
until March 5, 1858, that Gainesville Lodge No. 41 raised its first candidates
to the sublime degree of Master Mason, they being A. Matheson, D. H. Ben-
nett and W. D. Clark.
In the meantime the Brethren had not forgotten any of the principles
of Masonry. Before the Lodge was six months old, charges of un-Masonic
conduct had been preferred against Bro. J. P. C. Massey, and the Lodge (quot-
ing the minutes) "ordered this day two weeks set apart for his trial and
have him duly summoned to attend." There are no records of the trial ac-
tually being held and under date of December 5, 1857, action on his case
was indefinitely postponed.
The first recorded bill was also on this same date, and was in amount
of $29.50 for expenses incurred by the Master and Wardens in attending a
Grand Lodge Convention held in the town of Alligator (Lake City). A proxy
was also authorized to attend and make the first official representation of
this Lodge in the next ensuing annual communication of Grand Lodge.
By this date the Lodge seems to have made considerable headway in
,becoming better organized. A resolution was passed "that the by-laws of
Columbia Lodge, with such alterations as relate to our time of meeting, etc.,
be adopted as the by-laws to govern this Lodge.
In June, .1858, a committee was appointed to examine the books of
the Secretary and Treasury to see if any funds were available to procure
jewels for the Lodge. An invitation was also received from Newnansville
Lodge "to participate on the 24th in the festival of St. John the Baptist."
The first special communication of which there is a record was held
on June 11, 1858, and was called at eleven o'clock in the morning. The Fel-
lowcraft Degree was conferred on two candidates, and resuming labor at half-
past two o'clock in the afternoon, the Worshipful Master ordered the pro-
ceedings of the last Grand Lodge session read in open Lodge.
That the Lodge endeavored to promote peace and harmony among the
Brethren is shown by the following entry made in the minutes under date of
Sept. 3, 1859: "A difficulty having been suggested between Bro. T. J. Meyers,
the Worshipful Master, and Bro. Thomas, on motion a committee consisting
of Bros. H. H. Colson, T. A. McDonnell and W. H. Clark was appointed
to-investigate the matter of difference between said Brethren."
On our list of Past Masters the name of Daniel Lynn is shown as having
succeeded T. J. Myers. At the election of officers in December, 1859, this
Brother was elected as Master but no record can be found that he was ever
installed in that office. In June, 1860, a dispensation was secured to hold
another election which resulted in the election and installation of Bro. John
Chunig. This dispensation is confirmed in Grand Master Dawkins' report to
the Grand Lodge session of 1861.
The location of the building in which these first meetings were held is
not known. The first mention made of their meeting place was in September,
1858, when the Lodge agreed to rent a hall from Bro. T. Ingram at the rate
of $100.00 per annum and a committee was appointed to prepare the hall
and make the Lodge furniture for it. About a year later the regular communi-
cations were changed to the first Friday night in the month, at 7:30 p.m.
The last meeting of which there is a record prior to actual conflict in
the Civil War occurred on October 5, 1861, and at this meeting it was de-
cided that the Lodge surrender its hall to the proprietor for the accommoda-
tion of the proprietors of the cotton states, and a committee was appointed
to select the most proper place of meeting. What meetings were held from
that date until September, 1867, is not known. From the way the minutes
are recorded there can be no doubt that meetings occurred at some time and
place. The proceedings of the Grand Lodge of Florida show that correct re-
turns were made to that body for the years 1862, 1863 and 1864, and the
proper amount of dues paid. That the Lodge naturally had its difficulties
during this trying period is indicated by six words written in the back of the
first minute book under date of August 13, 1864. The words "when will
this Lodge meet again" have long since been an inspiration to members for
the untiring work, efforts and perseverance of our founding fathers.
While the Lodge minutes are not fully recorded for the War and Re-
construction period, excerpts from the Grand Lodge Proceedings give certain
clues to events which transpired during this time:
January, 1859-Returns made out properly, but dues of $36.00 are un-
paid. Lodge not represented.
January, 1860-Lodge not represented.
January, 1861-No record.
January, 1862-Lodge not represented. The following Grand Lodge
Resolution was adopted: That the payment of the dues
of all Lodges in this Jurisdiction which have been un-
able to collect and pay over the same to the Grand Sec-
retary, be suspended or remitted until the next Grand
Annual Communication; and that the representative of
such Lodges be entitled to seats in this Grand Lodge as
if all dues had been paid and full returns made.
January, 1863 and 1864-No report.
January, 1865-Returns correct for 1862, 1863 and 1864. Dues $87.00.
Lodge represented by Elias Earle, proxy for the Senior
January, 1866-Dues paid $27.00. No record of representative.
January, 1867-No returns.
January, 1868-Apparently returns made for two years and dues paid
in amount of $162.00.
January, 1869-Returns made but no record of payment of dues. Names
of 16 members stricken from the Roll.
January, 1870-Lodge not represented, dues unpaid, returns altogether
From report of Returns and Credential Committee: In-
asmuch as Gainesville Lodge No. 41 has returned cer-
turned certain of its members as stricken from the roll
for non-payment of dues, and as such proceeding is un-
constitutional, your Committee respectfully recommends
that the Grand Secretary be instructed to inform said
Lodge that these members returned as stricken from the
roll, etc., must be re-instated and the offence of non-
payment of dues be proceeded against in the manner
prescribed in the Constitution, Sec. 19 and 20.
January, 1871-In report of Returns and Credentials Committee:
"Gainesville Lodge No. 41 is represented to your com-
mittee in financial distress, and surrounded by other dif-
ficulties. Your Committee recommended a reference of
their grievances to a special committee."
Further reference: "The matter of Gainesville Lodge No.
41, alluded to in the report of the Committee on Re-
turns and Credentials, was referred to a special commit-
tee consisting of Bros. D. Stanford, A. J. Lea, and W.
Report of Commitee:
Your Special Committee, to whom was referred the
application of Gainesville Lodge No. 41, for relief, re-
port, that they have duly considered said application,
and from all the information they have been able to
obtain, they are of the opinion that the relief applied
for should be granted, and therefore recommend the
RESOLVED, That owing to the peculiar circumstances
by which said Lodge is surrounded, the dues of Gaines-
ville Lodge No. 41, remaining unpaid to the Grand
Lodge be remitted, and that the Secretary of said Lodge
do furnish the R:.W:. Grand Secretary with correct re-
turns at his earliest convenicence.
RESOLVED, That Bro. J. H. Verdier, the proxy of the
Master and Wardens be allowed to represent said Lodge
in this Grand Lodge.
January, 1872-Lodge represented by Bro. J. C. Gardner. Paid $46.00
on dues-allowed to March 1 to pay balance. Returns
January, 1873-Lodge not represented. The Grand Secretary's report
shows receipt of $4.00 in dues on March 21, 1872.
January, 1874-Lodge represented by Bro. S. H. Bunker. Returns in-
correct and dues of $43.00 incorrect. Grand Master
Russell, in his address reported visiting several Lodges,
which, "I found to be in flourishing condition, except
Bro. Bunker made a statement relative to the condition
of Gainesville Lodge No. 41, which was referred to the
Committee on Propositions and Grievances.
Report of Committee:
Your committee, upon investigation of the case of Gaines-
ville Lodge No. 41, having discharged their duty, would
report and recommend as follows: That the Grand Lodge
dues for 1872 be remitted; and as the W. M. has faith-
faithfully promised to use every exertion to collect ar-
rearages from delinquents, or enforce the law against
them, we further recommend that the further time of
twelve months be allowed said Lodge, in which to pay
the Grand Lodge dues for 1873.
Jno. S. Driggs, Chairman.
Notwithstanding the difficulties which Gainesville Lodge No. 41 was
encountering during these trying times, the Grand Lodge saw fit to grant a
charter for a second Lodge in this town. In 1865 this new Lodge was organ-
ized under the name of Hayward Lodge No. 7. There is very little accurate
information about this body except the Grand Lodge proceedings. So far
as can be found, it is not even mentioned anywhere in the minutes of Gaines-
ville Lodge No. 41. The printed proceedings for 1866 show Gainesville Lodge
having a membership of 23, and Hayward No. 7 with 30 members, each
Lodge having seven duplicate names. The records show the name of J. C.
Gardner as Worshipful Master in 1866 and he is also listed as Treasurer
of Hayward No. 7. One other distinguished member of Hayward Lodge is
David L. Yulee, who, without doubt could be none other than the builder
of the railroad from Fernandina to Cedar Key and Florida's first United States
Senator. In 1867 it is recorded that the charter of Hayward Lodge had been
surrendered and most of the members had returned to Gainesville Lodge. Prob-
ably the most authentic information about conditions of the times is the fol-
lowing letter presented by Brother E. W. Perry to the Grand Lodge ses-
sion of 1873, which was referred to the Committee on Propositions and Griev-
To the M:. W:. Grand Master and Members of the Grand Lodge, F &
A. M. of Florida:
The undersigned respectfully represent that about the year 1865, an
application was made to the Grand Lodge for a charter for a Lodge at Gaines-
ville to be known as Hayward Lodge, of which Brother Barrett was Master,
and the undersigned Senior Warden; that owing to the ill health of the Mas-
ter, the undersigned conducted the working of the Lodge until the year,
1866. When the application for a charter for Hayward Lodge was made, it
was believed that Gainesville had forfeited its charter by non-usage; and
further, an understanding existed that the charter would be formally surren-
dered. This, however, did not take place, and the Gainesville Lodge had its
charter revived. The undersigned, being compelled to leave Gainesville by busi-
ness engagements, and it being determined by the members of the Hayward
Lodge that it could not, under existing circumstances, be successfully con-
tinued without his presence, and that there was no necessity for two Lodges
in Gainesville, the charter of Hayward Lodge was surrendered and resolu-
tions in both Lodges were passed amalgamating them. The undersigned be-
lieved and still believes that the recorded action of Hayward Lodge was a
dimit from that Lodge, which must be accepted as such; and that the charge
of dues to him by the Gainesville Lodge is not warranted by the circum-
stances of the case.
When the undersigned left Gainesville at the time of the surrendering
of the charter of Hayward Lodge, it was with the expectation that he would
never again make that place his permanent residence, and he is sure that
it was well understood by all that this was the sole reason why the charter
was surrendered at that time.
The failure of the undersigned to apply for a dimit makes no alteration
in the character of the case; indeed, not having formally connected himself
with Gainesville Lodge, it is at least questionable whether that Lodge could
or can grant him a dimit; and the undersigned is of the opinion that all it is
proper for him to show is, the circumstances under which the charter of
Hayward Lodge was surrendered, and that at that time no charges nor dues
stood against him; and showing these, which will doubtless appear on the
records of the Grand Lodge, he believes that he is at liberty to affiliate with
any other Lodge precisely as he would be if he had received a regular dimit.
Wherefore, the undersigned prays the decision of the Grand Lodge upon
Respectfully and fraternally,
E. W. Perry.
The Proceedings of 1873 give the following report from the Propositions
ind Grievances Committee on this matter:
M:. W:. Grand Master and members of the Grand Lodge:
E. W.'Perry vs. Gainesville Lodge No. 41.
We have considered the letter of Bro. E. W. Perry, which was referred
to us, and entertain the opinion that he is an unaffiliated Mason, and has
has been since Hayward Lodge surrendered its charter, and that, therefore,
Gainesville Lodge has no right to claim him as a member, or charge him dues.
We recommend the Brother to procure a Grand Lodge certificate from the
Grand Secretary as a proper basis for future affiliation."
There is some confirmation for at least a part of Brother Perry's letter
to Grand Lodge. The printed returns do list him as Senior Warden and
Brother F. C. Barrett as Worshipful Master of Hayward Lodge in 1866. In
the returns of Gainesville Lodge for the years 1868 and 1869, Brother Perry's
name is included as a member, which very likely could be the period re-
ferred to in his petition to Grand Lodge.
Upon resumption of our recorded minutes on September 14, 1867, the
acting Secretary, Bro. H. C. Dozier, moved that the present minutes of the
Lodge be set aside and a new set of Lodge books be opened commencing
with the present meeting, and that the Secretary be called upon to explain to
the Lodge the manner in which he had kept the minutes. At the same meet-
ing, it was decided to hold two meetings a month "for information and in-
struction in Masonry," and a committee appointed to procure a Lodge room
and have the same duly arranged and fitted up for Masonic purposes.
On July 11, 1868, the Lodge received the petition of Mr. A. T. Zetrouer
for initiation. This candidate was elected August 8th, initiated August 22nd,
passed September 26th, and raised on May 8, 1869. Particular attention has
been called to this Brother because he is the only member of the Lodge to
date who has had two sons to become Worshipful Master, they being R. G.
Zetrouer, in 1911, and Horace F. Zetrouer, in 1937. A grandson, Wallace F.
Zetrouer II, has been elected Junior Warden of the Lodge for its Centennial
year of 1957. Bro. Zetrouer was a continuous member of this Lodge until his
death on December 27, 1898.
The financial difficulties of the times are indicated by the fact that at
the end of the year 1868, 16 names were dropped from the roll of members
because of non-payment of dues, among them being some of the charter mem-
bers of the Lodge. The dues at that time were only $2.00 per year. In 1871,
a list of 18 names was presented for suspension for the same reason, and
th committee made recommendations that charges of un-Masonic conduct be
preferred against them. The final decision was to divide the names, allowing
some additional time in which to pay their dues. This apparently brought on
the action referred to in the Grand Lodge session of 1870.
The minutes of the Lodge are not complete for the year 1873, and there
seems to have been some difficulty during this period. A report is that about
this time the Charter of the Lodge was removed but restored before the end
of that year. Also during this time, S. H. Bunker was received into the Lodge
and elected Worshipful Master at the end of 1873.. Five years later, on a
communication received from Gainesville Chapter No. 2, Royal Arch Masons,
the Junior Warden of this Lodge preferred charges against the Brother and
an investigating committee appointed. Within a few months, after all the
evidence had been collected, a trial was ordered and according to a notation
made in Bro. Endel's handwriting in the minute book, S. H. Bunker was ex-
pelled for un-Masonic conduct, the specific charges being for stealing the
funds of both the Lodge and Chapter. Three years later he applied for rein-
statement, but the committee reported unfavorably and upon placing the
ballot, his petition was duly rejected.
In reviewing the minutes of the Lodge a great number of interesting
incidents have been noted, all of which it is impossible to enumerate. The
first was a resolution adopted December 2, 1859, and reads as follows:
"Whereas, it has come to our knowledge 'as Masons that Bro. W. S. Roberts,
who is a Master Mason, has been arrested under a grave charge, to-wit, the
burning and razing of a store house in this County, and, Whereas, it is the
imperative duty of every true Mason to see that the laws of the country are
strictly enforced as well as to see that the citizens have a fair and impartial
trial, and more particularly to a member of the craft, Be It Resolved, that we
are willing to bow with submission to the powers that be, and as Masons
we will see to it that our Brother shall have a fair and impartial trial, and
to this end we will exert ourselves to procure the evidence, if any, to prove his
In 1868, a committee was appointed to inquire into the conduct of Brother
James Chesser, the Senior Warden, in a difficulty with two applicants growing
out of their rejection. The committee found him guilty and referred the case
to the Lodge, whereupon a motion was passed that the Worshipful Master
reprimand the Senior Warden at the next meeting and that he be suspended
from office for a period of six months. The reprimand was made, but on
action of the Lodge at this meeting he was restored to office.
The following committee report was presented on April 10, 1869:
"To the Worshipful Master and Brethren of Gainesville Lodge No. 41,
"In relation to the case of Bro. James T. James, we beg to submit the
following report: (1) We find upon examination that the said James has
transcended the rules of Masonry by making false reports and reflections o-
a derogatory character upon innocent parties, etc. and (2). That we believe
his mental capabilities are not at all times rational, and therefore is behooves
us to vindicate the tenets of Masonry by dismissing said James from the Lodge.
Respectfully submitted, (Signed) J. H. Roper, Chairman."
On August 13, 1870, the Worshipful Master took the floor and made
a motion to suspend the balloting on two candidates for the Entered Apprentice
Degree, due to the absence of a number of Brethren he desired to be present.
The motion lost, ballot was spread and the candidates were rejected.
Out of such activities, difficulties, joys and sorrows, the young Lodge
grew and developed into a vigorous youngster, seeking its own home.
If any particular period of this Lodge's history could be designated by
name it seems that the quarter century from about 1880 to 1905 might well
be listed in honor of three men, Marcus Endel, Robert McClellan and I. E.
Webster. The petition of Marcus Endel for the Entered Apprentice Degree
was received by this Lodge on December 22, 1875. Before his petition was
balloted upon, the Worshipful Master was appointed on motion, to make
peace between Marcus Endel, an applicant, and Bro. C. Avera, a member.
This apparently was done satisfactorily for the minutes show that Bro. Endel
was duly elected, initiated, passed and raised, all within the minimum time.
That the new member was very much interested in Masonry is shown by the
fact that within a month after he became a Master Mason he reported to
the Lodge that an Entered Apprentice brother, who received that degree the
same time he did, "as having made use of some severe language against the
order of Masonry." Whereupon a committee consisting of Bros. J. H. Roper,
J. A. Carlisle and Marcus Endel was appointed to investigate the matter.
The minutes show that Bro. Endel immediately began work filling various
stations in the absence of the regular officers, and at the end of his first
year he was elected Junior Warden. At the same time, Bro. J. H. Roper was
elected Worshipful Master for the year 1877 and the minutes record his pres-
ence on only two meetings during that year, those being for his installation
and for the election of his successor. In that time Bro. Endel acted as Master
for the year 1878, as well as being twice re-elected. On the second meeting
Over which Bro. Endel officially presided as Master, he conferred the En-
tered Apprentice Degree on a candidate by the name of Robert McClellan.
Early in Bro. Endel's third year as Master, Bro. I. E. Webster was initiated,
the degree being conferred by Bro. Julius Stark. These two new members
advanced rapidly through the chairs, Bro. Webster first serving as Worship-
ful Master in 1884, and Bro. McClellan in 1886 and again in 1889.
Bro. Endel advanced immediately from Master of this Lodge to the sta-
tion of Senior Grand Warden in Grand Lodge, being first elected in 1881
and serving for a period of three years; he was elected Deputy Grand Master
for 1892 and in 1893 was elevated to the station of Grand Master. It is also
interesting to note that in 1900, seven years after being Grand Master, he
was again elected Master of this Lodge for the fifth time.
Bro. McClellan, after serving one year as Secretary in 1887, was re-elected
to that office in 1890, where he remained for twenty-seven consecutive years.
Following a lapse of three years to his old friend, I. E. Webster, during
1917-19, he was again elected for four years, making a total of thirty-two
years' service as Secretary of Gainesville Lodge. During that time he was also
active in other bodies of Masonry, serving as Grand High Priest of Royal Arch
Masons, and also as District Deputy Grand Master.
Bro. Webster was also honored by other bodies, being Grand High Priest,
Grand Commander of the Knights Templar, and Worthy Grand Patron of
the Order of the Eastern Star.
Other Brethren also followed closely in the footsteps of these three lead-
ers, among them being, Syd L. Carter, G. W. Hyde, W. B. Higdon, D. M.
Tomkies and R. T. Schafer. Bro. Syd L. Carter, after being Master in 1892,
entered Grand Lodge work and was elected two years in succession to each
of the stations of Junior and Senior Grand Wardens and then Deputy Grand
Whatever his conduct may have been later, it cannot be denied that A. M.
Cushman was a force in this Lodge from 1890 to 1902. Within that short
period he served five and one-half years as Worshipful Master.
It was in 1869 that the Lodge apparently began its first serious effort
to secure a permanent meeting place. In October of that year, an assignment
of all the fees and dues of the Lodge for a period of ten years was made to
the Secretary, H. C. Dozier, in order to liquidate the indebtedness to Messrs.
Savage and Haile. It is presumed this was to purchase the lot on the corner
of East Main, South, and Masonic Streets, the latter, however, not being
called by that name until after the location of the Lodge at that place. (This
location is now known as Southeast First Street and Second Avenue.) About
a year later, Bro. Dozier having died, his widow brought suit and placed the
property in litigation. All the Lodge funds on hand were paid out and sub-
scriptions solicited from the individual members. The minutes of July 28,
1880, state that a committee was appointed to "visit each brother and re-
quest him to contribute as much as he may feel able for such purpose, pro-
vided that such amount shall not be taken in lieu of the regular dues." At
various times entertainments were held to raise funds for settlement of the
claim. One such affair held in March 1881, yielded net proceeds of $91.60 for
this purpose. Settlement was finally made in December 1881, and after making
final payment to Mrs. Dozier, other bills for some twenty-odd dollars were
deferred until Grand Lodge dues had been paid.
The sketchy references of the minutes to these negotiations are some-
what vague as to just exactly what took place. It is surmised that the Secretary,
Brother Dozier, personally advanced a sum of money to Messrs. Savage and
Haile for their equity in the mentioned building and lot, expecting to be
reimbursed by the Lodge at a later date. Meanwhile, his untimely passing
left the Lodge indebted to his widow and heir. Thus, the mentioned litigation
and final settlement was the means of achieving partial ownership of the site
by the Lodge.
In order to gain complete ownership of the property, Bros. Glogowski
and Endel were appointed, in 1883, specifically to treat with the administra'
tors of the Estate of J. H. Roper for the purchase of the undivided half in'
terest in the lot upon which the Lodge was located. The committee reported
that the executors of said estate would take $700.00 for their part. Bro. Endel,
reporting for the committee a month later, stated they had negotiated to buy
it, and further that they had borrowed the purchase money from Messrs.
McClellan and Ellis for one year, and allowed them the use of the lower story
for one year in lieu of interest. A few months later Bro. Endel reported
that he had paid $85.00 of the Lodge funds on the outstanding note given
McClellan and Ellis and had also given his personal note for $454.50 for the
balance then due. To repay Bro. Endel, the Lodge secured a loan of $500.00
from Mrs. H. E. Webster, for which a note was given payable two years
from the date thereof at an annual interest of 10%o, said note secured by a
mortgage on the Lodge realty. Final payment on the note was made in April,
1888, by borrowing $103.33 from the funds of the entertainment committee.
On March 23, 1888, upon motion of Bro. Webster, the trustees were em-
powered to lease from H. F. Dutton, a third story on his bank building for
a Lodge room at a rental of two hundred dollars a year for a period of twenty
Brother R. T. Schafer states that this third story was added to the original
building for the express purpose of renting the same to the Lodge.
The first meeting held in the new building was on January 23, 1889.
It was agreed to sub-rent the Lodge room to the Odd Fellows Lodge for an
annual rental of $65.00, and to Gainesville Royal Arch Masons No. 2 for
$20.00, the Lodge to pay for gas. On May 12, 1893, the old Lodge room
and building located on what is now the Gainesville Fire Station, was de-
stroyed by fire, the minutes recording the time as 3:00 o'clock P.M. Three
years later, a committee was appointed to make arrangements to erect a
building on the vacant lot to be used as a picture gallery by Bro. Davenport.
The plans were that contributions were to be solicited from the members
with repayment to be made from the rents collected, and after such payment
had been made, the building was to become the property of the Lodge. Later
on Brother Davenport presented a photograph of members of the Lodge in
appreciation of the courtesies extended to him.
This apparently ended the realty transactions of the Lodge until the old
lot was sold to the City of Gainesville on December 24, 1902, for the sum
of $500.00, and a new lot purchased from the Episcopal Church on the corner
of West Main and Court Streets, now North Main Street and N. E. Third
Avenue. These transactions were handled by the trustees of the Lodge, but
Bro. McClellan made a notation in one of the minute books that the lot cost
$2,500.00. Acting on authority of the articles of incorporation, the Lodge au-
thorized an issue of $20,000.00 in bonds for the purpose of erecting and
furnishing a building. After much effort enough funds were in hand to
begin work, and on September 9, 1908, while Bro. R. T. Schafer was Worship-
ful Master, the foundation stone of this present building was laid. Brother
McClellan again reports that the building and furniture cost $16,850.00.
To further appreciate the energy and ambition of Gainesville Lodge it
must be remembered that at the beginning of 1908, it had only 88 members
on its roster. All the honor, glory and appreciation which can possibly be
mustered today must be extended to this band of loyal and faithful Masons,
who, in the midst of the panic of 1907, were willing to take upon themselves
an average debt of approximately $250.00 for each and every one of them.
Truly they had courage and builded well.
By virtue of the principles of Masonry, this Lodge has also been greatly
instrumental in the laying of cornerstones of many buildings in this city. On
May 30, 1883, acting under a dispensation granted by the Grand Master this
Lodge met to lay the corner stone of the East Florida Seminary. "A procession
was formed and the Lodge proceeded to Roper's Hall to listen to an instruc-
tive and eloquent address by Bro. E. P. Carter. The procession was again
formed and together with the East Florida Cadets, Gainesville Guards, City
Council and Fire Company and citizens, marched to the grounds of the Semi-
nary where the ceremony was conducted by the Worshipful Master, Mosley
F. Miller, assisted by Bros. C. V. Waugh and F. Pasco."
Again on January 14, 1885, the following entry is recorded in the min-
utes: "A communication was received from the County Commissioners ask-
ing the Lodge to take charge of and lay the corner stone of the new court
house now being erected in Gainesville the county site, which request was
acceded to." Two weeks later, a committee appointed to handle arrangements
reported they had fixed upon February 11, 1885, as the date for such cere-
monies; also that Lieut. A. L. Wagner, U. S. Army, would act as Grand
Marshall; the civil and military organizations of the city and county had been
invited, and that a special session of the Grand Lodge will be called in this
city upon that date when an address will be delivered by Past Grand Master
McLean of Jacksonville. The date of February 11th, appears to have been
on a regular meeting of this Lodge, for the minutes of that date record that
there were present two Past Grand Masters, the Grand Secretary, and repre-
sentatives from seven nearby lodges and three foreign jurisdictions. It is also
interesting to note that at this meeting T. B. Stringfellow was raised to the
sublime degree of Master Mason by Past Grand Master McLean, and E. Baird
was initiated an Entered Apprentice by Past Grand Master Enos Wasgate as
a courtesy to Alachua Lodge No. 26.
On December 6, 1886, the Lodge met in special communication to lay
the corner stone of Kavanaugh Memorial Church, Methodist Episcopal South,
a dispensation having been granted by the Most Worshipful Grand Master,
Geo. S. Halmark. A procession was formed and the Lodge proceeded to Oak
Hall Grove from whence they were escorted by the East Florida Seminary
Cadets, Gainesville Guards, and representatives of various civic societies and
prominent citizens and music, all under the command of Worshipful Brother
I. E. Webster, Grand Marshall of the day, to the site of the church. After
the services of the church, the Worshipful Master, Robert McClellan, with the
assistance of the proper officials, laid the corner stone in due and ancient
form as authorized by Freemasons according to the ritual in the Ahiman
Rezin. Most Worshipful Past Grand Master Albert J. Russell was then intro-
duced to the assemblage by Rev. J. R. Sharpe, pastor of the M. E. Church,
who, in an elloquent manner, addressed them.
In April, 1896, the Lodge received an invitation from the officers of
the First Baptist Church to lay the corner stone of their new home. (This
was the building later occupied by the First Christian Church, of which the
Tower now remains.) The Secretary was directed to secure the necessary dis-
pensation from the Grand Master, which was done and a committee appointed
to make all necessary arrangements. However, the minutes fail to show any
record of a meeting being called for this purpose. Another similar request was
received from the Baptist Church on September 11, 1923, and the Grand
Master was asked to lay the corner stone of their new building on West
University Avenue, at a date to be named later.
Although no meeting is recorded in our minutes, the corner store of
the University Auditorium was laid on April 21, 1922, under Masonic super-
vision with the Grand Master, Charles H. Ketchum, presiding.
In the fall of 1888, the great peril of yellow fever fell upon this com-
munity. Meetings of the Lodge were suspended for a period of three months,
and numerous accounts are recorded of assistance and relief being made to
the Brethren. At the first meeting held after this scourge, Bro. Endel, then
Worshipful Master "congratulated the Lodge in his usual pleasant manner
in a few but appropriate remarks upon once more having the inestimable
privilege of assembling together after having passed through a demoralization
as only the prevalence of yellow fever produces, and the goodness of Almighty
God in his all wise providence in permitting so many of us to once more
assemble ourselves in unity and brotherly love." On January 6, 1899, acting
under a dispensation from the Grand Master, a public Lodge of sorrow was
held in the Methodist Church in memory of four brethren who died during
the epidemic, they being Worshipful Brother Mosley F. Miller, Bro. N. R.
Gruelle and Entered Apprentice Brothers W. E. Dunson and G. W. York.
A page in the minute book is set aside in memory of these departed Brethren.
The second case on record in which the Lodge had two different Mas-
ters in the same year occurred in 1890, and the Secretary was instructed to
apply to the Grand Master for a dispensation to elect and install a Worship-
ful Master and Junior Warden, since Bros. John Falconer and Geo. C. Crom
had moved beyond our jurisdiction, and in case any other office was made
vacant by such election to fill that also. The dispensation was granted, and
two weeks later a new Master, both Wardens and a Treasurer were elected
This Lodge began the "Gay Nineties" by properly living up to that term.
On January 1, 1890, acting under a special dispensation from the Grand Mas-
ter, a public installation was held in the Simmons Opera House. After these
ceremonies, and under direction of the Marshall, the Brethren, each acom-
panied by a lady, marched to the "Brown House" where a sumptuous banquet
had been prepared which was enjoyed by all; after which appropriate toasts
were responded to by eloquent Brethren, and all dispersed to their respective
homes. A number of such functions and public installations were held during
Another of the "Gay Nineties" public installations and banquets in the
"Brown House" was held in 1895, which Bro. McClellan records as lasting
until 12:00 o'clock. Shortly after this meeting the Lodge received a bill
from a Mr. Young, in amount of $60.00 covering damages to a piano on
the night of installation. A committee appointed to investigate the charge
reported it "out of all reason" and offered the gentleman the sum of $10.00
in full settlement, which amount was accepted. Possibly it was because of such
activities that a year later a committee was appointed to try to borrow money
from the Royal Arch Chapter to assist in paying the rent due on the hall.
Apparently they were successful, for a note in amount of $200.00 is still
pinned in the front of one of the old records.
On April 13, 1892, the action ratifying the articles of incorporation for
the Lodge was adopted. Pasted in the minute book is the acknowledgement
from the Hon. Jno. L. Crawford, Secretary of State, in his own handwriting
and bearing the Great Seal of the State of Florida, that the articles of incorpo-
ration had been properly filed in his office.
One of the cardinal virtues of Masonry stands for Temperance, but on
July 27, 1881, "the Secretary was ordered to notify the Good Templars and
the Sons of Temperance of the intention of this Lodge to grant them one
week's time to obtain another place for their meetings, as the Lodge would
not grant them the privilege of meeting in their hall after that date.
Four months after this incident, a committee of Bros. Endel, Gardner
and Webster was appointed by the Worshipful Master to confer with and
warn Bro. McCook that the Lodge would subject him to discipline if he did
not reform from the vice of intemperance. A few weeks later Bro. McCook
was present in the Lodge and made acknowledgement of his errors, asking
forgiveness and pledging reform. The minutes state that "remarks on the
subject were made by several of the Brethren."
In May, 1888, a Lodge of Entered Apprentices was opened to initiate a
candidate named Charles O. Hampton. After opening the Lodge the Worship-
ful Master announced there would be no initiation as the candidate refused
to conform to Masonic usages.
In September and October, 1889, appear two items which have a very
familiar and modern sound. The first was that the Secretary be instructed
to confer with the superintendent of the Gas Company regarding the ex-
cessive amount of our last month's bill. The second was that the Secretary
be instructed to inform H. Drew & Bro. of Jacksonville, that the six books
recently sent him could be purchased by this Lodge for $2.00 each, less 40%,
and that if they were willing to accept that amount the money would be re-
mitted them; if not, the books would be held subject to their order.
Another entry made in 1897, states that the Junior Warden, Bro. W. C.
Jackson, who had been appointed to look after the taxes on the Lodge prop-
erty, reported that he had succeeded in having all the tax sales on the lot
since 1889 canceled on the county records by order of the Comptroller, thereby
saving the Lodge treasury over a hundred dollars.
An incident occurred in the Lodge on November 22, 1893, which must
have set a precedent or established a record of some kind, at least for that
time. On that date there being no degree work, the Entered Apprentice De-
gree was exemplified for benefit of the Craft. The candidate used, and to
which people usually refer as a "dummy," was Marcus Endel, who at that time
was none other than the Most Worshipful Grand Master of Masons in Florida.
The third stage of the Lodge's first century might be termed as be-
ginning with its location in the present Temple building. Although under a
heavy financial obligation for that time, they had the desire to go still further,
and make their house a home.
The first meeting held in the Masonic Temple was on April 14, 1909, at
which time Bros. E. A. Strunk and J. R. Benton were examined for pro-
ficiency in the Fellowcraft Degree, and then raised to the sublime degree of
Master Mason. The official dedication was on April 28, 1909, the ceremonies
beginning at 3:30 p.m. with Most Worshipful Louis C. Massey, Grand Master,
presiding, and Right Reverend H. S. Yerger, Grand Orator, delivering the
It was about ten years later that the Lodge came nearest to losing all of
its investment in the Temple property. Certain bondholders made an attempt
to secure a mortgage on the building and lot as further security for the out-
standing bonds, or else force immediate payment. It was only through the
efforts and generosity of Bros. W. W. Hampton and H. E. Taylor that this
Lodge is now able to call the building its own.
For a decade following the completion and dedication of the Temple
there was no great increase in membership of the Lodge. The roster in 1909
listed 102 members, and in 1918 this number had increased to only 129. The
eleven-year period from 1919 to 1930 shows that the Entered Apprentice De-
gree was conferred on 284 candidates, 238 were passed and 244 raised. The
membership peak was reached in 1928, with a total of 359 names on the rolls.
However, it must be noted that during the relatively slow-growth period that
a great deal of interest in Masonry was exhibited by the business and pro-
fessional men of this community. Particular attention is called to a regular
meeting held in this Lodge on September 8, 1909. Officers present were W. T.
Pound, Worshipful Master; Lee Graham, Senior Warden; Roy V. Ott, Junior
Warden; I. E. Webster, as Secretary; R. G. Zetrouer, Senior Deacon; J. C.
Adkins, Junior Deacon; R. T. Schafer, Senior Steward; W. H. Gunz, Tiler.
At this meeting, the petition of W. W. Hampton, Jr. and Klein H. Graham
were received for the Entered Apprentice Degree; Bro. J. A. Phifer was
initiated an Entered Apprentice, and Bros. M. H. DePass and J. S. Shands
were examined in the Felowcraft Degree and balloted on for the Masters
During the days of World War I much of the degree work was done
short of time on authority of special dispensations given by the Grand Mas-
ter. During the latter part of 1918, meetings were suspended for a period of
two months by order of the health board on account of the epidemic of
influenza. November 13th, two days after the Armistice, the Worshipful Mas-
ter, Bro. Lassiter, announced that after consulting the officers and many
members, he and the Secretary had drawn a warrant for $500.00 to purchase a
Fourth Liberty Loan Bond.
Florida Chapter of the Order of DeMolay was installed in this city on
May 24, 1922, being sponsored by Gainesville Lodge. Prominent Masons in-
terested in the order were Bros. Willoughby, Sweet, Bullard, Heath and N. C.
On February 14, 1923, Bro. Lamar G. Carter affiliated with this Lodge
on a demit from Mayor Lodge No. 119. The next year he was elected to
serve both as Secretary of this Lodge and as Deputy Grand Master. In 1925,
he was elected Grand Master, being the second member of this Lodge to
hold that high office.
In 1936, while Bro. Earl V. Simpson was Master, a ceremony was
started which now holds our greatest traditional sentiment, it being our Past
Masters' Chain. The Chain was initiated by the Most Worshipful Grand Mas-
ter, Jesse C. Clark, placing an initialed and dated link into a square, the link
representing the first Master of the Lodge. Additional links were then added
for each year of the Lodge's existence up to that time. To provide for a con-
tinuance of this ceremony, it is required that each year the Junior Past Master
shall place his own link into the chain and assume responsibility for its
preservation until the following year. This ceremony is of such importance
that a separate section is devoted to it.
LAYING THE CORNERSTONE IN 1908
Among many highlighted events of this Lodge there are two occasions
which must be given great importance. These are the laying of the corner-
stone, and the dedication of our present Temple building. The ceremonies of
laying the cornerstone were held during the afternoon of Wednesday, Sep-
tember 9, 1908. Newspaper reports of The Gainesville Sun and the Gainesville
Elevator for that time give a very vivid description of the scheduled events
and the formation of the parade held on that occasion. The Gainesville Sun for
that day states that "the weather permitting today promises to be the grandest
event Gainesville has ever witnessed in a local way, and it is expected that all
sizes and ages of people will be in attendance to witness the ceremonies on
this occasion. The event is the laying of the cornerstone of the new Masonic
Temple now in the course of construction, and of which every citizen and
child of the city feels proud, as it is a Gainesville building built by the
Masons." The various units taking part in the parade were: Gainesville Silver
Cornet Band, Gainesville Guards, Company H, Second Regiment; Independent
Order of Odd Fellows; Knights of Pythias; Woodmen of the World; Pa-
triotic Order, Sons of America; Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks;
Colfax Rebekah Lodge; Confederate Veterans; Grand Army of the Republic;
Mayor and City Council; Masonic Orders, including Grand Lodge.
The Grand Lodge officers for this event were: Col. I. E. Webster, Grand
Marshall; E. Baird, Grand Tiler; G. S. Merchant and C. C. Cagle, Grand
Stewards; W. R. Steckert, Principal Architect; W. P. Webster, Grand Secre-
tary; H. E. Taylor, Grand Treasurer; R. T. Schafer, Bearer of the Great
Lights; R. E. Huffman and A. M. Larson, Stewards; Rev. S. B. Rogers, Grand
Chaplain; A. M. Cushman, Junior Grand Warden; Robert McClellan, Senior
Grand Warden; James Carnell, Deputy Grand Master; Rev. W. J. Carpenter,
Grand Orator; D. M. Tomkies and M. B. Saunders, Grand Deacons, and
Marcus Endel, Grand Master.
The Gainesville Elevator, reporting on the occasion, stated that "the
afternoon was virtually a holiday for the entire city . for the laying
of the cornerstone in the new Masonic Temple on West Main Street, in the
presence of every secret order, military organization, city officials, war veterans
and a concourse of citizens so numerous as to fill the adjoining streets. The
Masonic Grand Lodge was largely present and one of the important fea-
tures of the occasion was a most beautiful and, of course, appropriate ad-
dress by the Rev. W. J. Carpenter, formerly pastor of the Methodist Church
in this city. The long procession formed on West Liberty Street (University
Avenue) and the adjoining streets (Garden and Pleasant, now N.W. and
S.W. First and Second Streets) beginning at 3:30 o'clock and shortly after
four took up the line of march along Liberty, across the North side of the
square, North on East Main (N.E. First St.) to Court Street (N.E. Third
St.) and along this street to the site of the building. Led by the Gainesville
Military Band with the company of Guards in full dress and equipment
following, the long procession of societies and officials was an imposing
sight, one not to be soon forgotten by those who filled the streets by hun-
dreds and occupied every available place of observation around the Temple.
On account of nearly all their members belonging to the Masonic Order,
the G.A.R, U.C.V.'s and P.O.S. of A., were not represented in the parade
as individual organizations. Reaching the place where the to be beautiful
Masonic Temple will soon stand as an object of enterprise on the part of
the local Lodge and an honor to the city, the Grand Lodge officers took
charge of the proceedings and with the impressive ceremony for such occa-
sions proceeded to place the cornerstone of the building in position.
Items placed in the receptacle were reported as follows:
One copy each of the 1908 Proceedings of the Grand Lodge, Grand
Chapter, and the Grand Commandery, of Florida.
Roster of Gainesville Lodge No. 41, F. & A. M., 108 members.
Roster of Gainesville Chapter No. 2, R. A. M., 95 members.
Roster of Pilgrim Comandery No. 7, K. T., 79 members.
By-laws of Center Lodge No. 11, I.O.O.F.
By-Laws of Mt. Vernon Lodge No. 20, K. of P.
By-laws of Lodge No. 990, B.P.O.E.
One dollar script (Florida) by J. I. Blake.
Several old coins, by R. T. Schafer.
One hundred dollars (Confederate), by Robert McClellan.
Copy of the Gainesville Daily Sun.
Copy of the Gainesville Elevator.
Photo of William Howard Taft, by Hon. J. M. Dell.
Photo of the Baptist Church, by Miss Sallie McClellan.
Roster of Lew Walace Post No. 25, G.A.R.
The Gainesville Elevator states further that these items "in years to come,
Will, if ever the stone is opened, prove very readable mementoes to the future
generations of people who will be citizens of Gainesville when she becomes
a city of fifty or a hundred thousand."
DEDICATION OF THE TEMPLE IN 1909
The ceremonies of the Temple Dedication were held at 3:30 o'clock on
the afternoon of April 28, 1909. The Gainesville Sun for that day reports
that "in the morning and up to the closing hour of 1:00 p.m., the large and
massive building was thronged with visitors from the city and country who
came to view the interior, where everything was so nicely arranged, the
good ladies of the city having donated a generous supply of flowers and
ferns and assisting in arranging the decorations."
Grand Lodge officers received in a special communication were: Louis
C. Massey, Grand Master; James Camel, as Deputy Grand Master; W. Lake,
as Senior Grand Warden; W. B. Higdon, as Junior Grand Warden; W. P.
Webster, Grand Secretary, and Rt. Rev. H. S. Yerger, Grand Orator. The
Lodge ceremonies began with the presentation of the building by Past Master
A. M. Cushman, on behalf of the Trustees. The acceptance speech was given
by Past Grand Master Marcus Endel for the Worshipful Master. Parts of
Most Worshipful Brother Endel's speech express the feelings of our Breth-
ren at that time:: "I congratulate you, my Brethren, that at last, after so many
long weary years of homelessness, our Lodge is possessed of a home. Espe-
cially to me, its oldest living Past Master, is this an occasion of joy and thanks-
giving-it is the consumption of our proudest ambitions, the frontier of our
fondest hopes. Yes, we are at home today, our home. Let us thank God for
His blessings that we are permitted to assemble and enjoy this long, expected
pleasure. Today is ours to enjoy, in which we can renew our vows, our
landmarks. . How vividly is the recollection before me of the days when
our Lodge was the occupant of the old Roper Hall, its bare apartment unceiled,
unpainted, unplastered walls, its altar constructed of plain pine boards, its
seats of rickety uncomfortable benches, without paraphernalia, approached
by an outside, unsafe, delapidated stairway dimly lighted by unsavory, un-
certain kerosene lamps . we recall the pride, admiration and gratification
displayed by our Brethren when the modern new hall in the Dutton Bank
Building was completed, furnished and occupied with intelligent attentive
officers and willing zealous Brethren actively cherishing the laudable ambi-
tion to excel and acquiring and promulgating our esoteric work. . We
come today to occupy this Temple of Free Masonry, erected to the glory of
God as a lasting memorial of our predecessors and the pledge of our fidelity
to the tenets of our venerable order. . This Temple, erected at great cost
by skillful workmen, has a deep meaning within and beyond the strength of
its walls and the beauty and skill of its adornment. It is built for the enshrine-
ment and protection of something that is far better, stronger, and more en-
during than foundation stones and vaulting roof-this sacred deposit is the
spirit of Free Masonry."
The Grand Lodge ceremony of dedication was then conducted by the
Grand officers, after which Rt. Rev. H. S. Yerger, Grand Orator, "delivered
one of the most masterly and eloquent addresses ever heard in this city along
the lines of the order, its high and noble work, its calling, and which was o
a special nature concerning the Masonic fraternity and not of a public nature,
therefore was withheld from publication."
The dedication hymn, to the tune of America, was as follows:
I. The Temple is complete,
And now the Brethren meet
In peace and not for spoil,
Nor labor more nor toil.
We pour corn, wine and oil
II. Our fathers' God, we now
To Thee most humbly bow
And sing this lay
A blessing rich we pray
On us and friends away,
On all we do and say
This festal day.
III. Rejoicing ev'ry day
Where tears are wiped away,
We hope to be.
In house not made by hand
Nor built upon the sand,
The holy Temple grand
We then shall see.
Among the items presented the Lodge were a cone of Lebanon cedar,
a sprig of accacia cut from a tree on Mt. Olive, and a piece of the battleship
Maine, which were given by W. J. Morrow of Orange, New Jersey, each
piece having been secured by his own hands while visiting these points.
The evening program consisted of a program of musical entertainment
by the Woltz orchestra, instrumental and vocal solos by such well known
names as Misses Myrtle and Alma Fennell, Ethel Webster, Ida Burkhim,
Dr. George S. Waldo, E. S. Maddock, W. M. Dale, and a quartet of Messrs.
Grieve, Graham, Maddock and Waldo. This program was followed by a
banquet at which, Secretary McClellan reports, about 250 invited guests were
in attendance. After all had "proceeded to do justice, toasts were responded
to by many members."
The custom of holding conventions or joint meetings of the Lodges
comprising the Masonic Districts is reported to have originated under the
administration of one of our Past Masters while he was serving as District
Deputy. Right Worshipful Brother W. M. Bullard is said to have held the
first meeting of this type while he was Deputy in the early 1920's. The idea
spread to other Districts and Lodges until within a few years such conven-
tions were accepted practice throughout the State.
On August 27, 1931, a joint convention was held of the Lodges in the
Tenth and Eleventh Districts. The first section of the Master Mason Degree
was conferred by a team from the Eleventh District, directed by Right Wor-
shipful Smith L. Turner, who was then District Deputy of that District. The
second section of the Degree was conferred by a team from the Tenth Dis-
trict. On March 19, 1941, approximately ten years later, a similar meeting was
duplicated, even to conferring of the Degree by the two teams, but on this
occasion Brother Smith L. Turner, who was Deputy in 1931, returned as
Grand Master of Masons in Florida, in 1941.
Right Worshipful Brother Earl V. Simpson arranged a District conven-
tion on June 30, 1938, which created a great deal of interest in this area.
On this occasion the first section of the Master Mason Degree was conferred
by a team composed of representatives from the respective Lodges of the
District, while the second section was conferred by a special team from St.
John the Baptist Lodge No. 184, from Valdosta, Georgia. This team was
especially drilled, complete with uniforms and regalia, and conferred the
work in the style of the sister Grand jurisdiction. Approximately 300 mem-
bers and visitors were present to witness this ceremony.
The convention of September 9, 1947, was in honor of Most Worshipful
Grand Master Frank H. Thompson, and was presided over by our own past
Past Grand Master W. S. Taylor. On this occasion, all Grand Lodge line offi-
cers were present, together with three appointive officers and ten District Dep-
uty Grand Masters. As far as is known, this was the last Lodge meeting at-
tended by Past Grand Master Taylor, for just one week later, on September
16, 1947, he passed away with a heart attack while in Jacksonville.
The District convention of January 29, 1946, was held jointly with the
eighty-ninth Anniversary celebration of Gainesville Lodge. For this meeting,
a special dispensation was given by Grand Master Taylor to open all thirteen
Lodges of the District in a joint session. After our Lodge's Anniversary ob-
servance and the address of the Grand Master, he directed that his District
Deputy, T. J. Price, close all thirteen Lodges at one time in Ample form.
MAKING A MASON AT SIGHT
One of the most highlighted meetings of Gainesville Lodge was, strangely
enough, not held in our Temple or even in the City of Gainesville. It was
the occasion of making Brother John J. Tigert a Mason at sight, and the
ceremony was held in the Scottish Rite Temple in Jacksonville on April 16,
1946, during the Grand Lodge session of that year.
The events leading up to this meeting began on July 11, 1944, when a
regular petition for the Degrees of Freemasonry was received from Dr. Tigert,
then President of the University of Florida. The petition took its regular
course and on August 8, 1944, the ballot was spread and he was declared
elected. After the announcement was made, Grand Master Warren S. Taylor,
a member and Past Master of this Lodge, arrested the progress of the petitioner
for the purpose of making him a Mason at sight. This was in keeping with
Masonic law and the Grand Master's prerogatives after the candidate had
stood the test of ballot.
It was intended that the ceremony be held at the 1945 Grand Lodge
session, but because no Grand Communication could be held that year o0
account of war-time travel restrictions, it was postponed until a year later.
Because of the important position held by Dr. Tigert, Grand Master Taylor
wished to confer the ceremony before a Grand Lodge assembly. No record
could be found that such an event had ever been conducted in Florida, and
after careful study it was decided that it should be held in the Lodge in
which the candidate had ben regularly elected. To do this, and at the same
time present it before the representatives of all Florida Lodges, the Grand
Master issued his special dispensation for Gainesville Lodge No. 41 to hold
a special communication in the Scottish Rite Temple in Jacksonville for this
M.: W.: Brother Taylor worked very closely with his Lodge on the
desired ceremony, and requested a special committee to prepare the ritualistic
work "shortening the time but omitting no essentials." The committee and
Degree Team studied, practiced, drilled, revised and drilled again, until each
member was proficient in his place or station.
It was with this background that the Lodge was opened at 4:00 o'clock
p.m. on Tuesday, April 16, 1946, with Brother Boyce L. Shipp, then Senior
Warden, presiding. Grand Master Taylor was officially received and intro-
duced by R:. W:. Charles H. Hyde, after which he presided over the Lodge
at the invitation of the acting Master.
Shortening of the ceremony was accomplished mainly by the Grand
Master exercising his prerogative of declaring the Entered Apprentice and
Fellowcraft Degrees opened and closed in Ample form, thus omitting the
usual ceremonies for these purposes. No omission was made in the respective
obligations or altar work of each Degree. In conferring the work, Brother
J. A. Gibbs acted as Master in the Entered Apprentice Degree, Brother J. F.
Bishop in the Felowship Degree, and Brother Royce L. Shipp in the Master's
Degree. A brief lecture summarizing the symbolism of the three Degrees
was given by Brother T. J. Price, and the charge by our Senior Past Master
Roswell T. Schafer. A total of thirty-nine members of this Lodge took some
part in conferring the ceremony, in addition to assistance from others of the
Jacksonville Lodges and members of Grand Lodge. The essential secret work of
the Master Mason Degree was communicated to Brother Tigert by the Grand
Master. A lambskin apron, signed by the Master and Secretary of the Lodge
and certified by Grand Master Taylor, was presented to the newly made
Brother. A welcome into Masonry was given Brother Tigert by W.: R. A.
Gray, Secretary of State in Florida. Among the distinguished visitors present
were three Past Grand Masters of Masons in Georgia, and Illustrious John H.
Cowles, Sovereign Grand Commander of the Supreme Council Scottish Rite of
Freemasonry for the Southern Jurisdiction of the United States, and Past
Grand Master of Masons in Kentucky.
Gainesville Lodge has not elected an honorary member for more than
a third of a century, but a number of distinguished Florida Masons have over
the years been so honored by the Lodge. The earliest record found of honorary
f.ernbers was on June 9, 1909, shortly after dedication of the Temple, when
six names were placed on the honorary list. These were Silas B. Wright,
Grand Master, 1899-1900; James Carnell, Grand Master, 1901-1902; Louis C.
Massey, Grand Master, 1909-10; W. P. Webster, Grand Secretary, 1896-1934;
Olin S. Wright, prominent Mason, and for whom the Masonic Lodge in
Plant City is named, and W. H. Jewell. A decade passed before another name
was added, this being L. W. Buchholz, on November 26, 1919. The names
of Reginald H. Cooper, Grand Master in 1920, and M:. W:. Wallace R.
Cheves, Past Master of Ira Carter Lodge No. 150, were added on February
Since the election of this group, a policy seems to have developed of
selecting for honorary membership only Masons who have made outstanding
contributions of service to our particular Lodge. No selections have since
been considered simply because of high rank or position, nor for the prestige
which their names might add to our roster. This feeling was, perhaps, brought
about by the special service rendered by two of our honorary members, Broth-
ers L. W. Buchholz and Wallace R. Cheves.
Worshipful Brother Buchholz was a Past Master and member of Hills-
borough Lodge No. 25, Tampa, but lived about the last twenty years of
his life in Gainesville, where he was Director of Vocational Rehabilitation
for World War I veterans, and later Professor of Bible, at the University
of Florida. His continued interest in Masonry and the active part he took
in Degree work, particularly in the second section of the Master's Degree,
made him an asset and inspiration to this Lodge. He was a member of the
Committee which revised and rewrote the optional or short form funeral
service now most generally used by Florida Lodges. Upon his death on April
23, 1935, an escort from this Lodge accompanied the remains to Tampa for
interment by the service he had written.
Most Worshipful Brother Cheves was a Past Master and member of the
Lodge in our neighboring town of Newberry. He was granted honorary mem-
bership by us prior to his holding any Grand Lodge office, though he became
Grand Master in 1931. This membership was for his services in assisting and
working with the members of this Lodge in perfecting the esoteric and floor
work, and in gaining a thorough knowledge of Masonic law. He was an
ardent student of Masonry and its history, and was always ready to explain
a point or answer a question. He served on Grand Lodge committees of
Jurisprudence, Masonic Digest, and was Chairman of the Foreign Corre-
spondence Committee at the time of his death on Feb. 4, 1944.
A particular honor came to Gainesville Lodge when its Degree team
was invited to confer the first section of the Master Mason Degree before
Grand Lodge at the Centennial communication of that body, held in Talla
hassee April 15-17, 1930. The team had spent many hours in practice and
had been coached and drilled by Right Worshipful Wallace R. Cheves, who
at that time was Deputy Grand Master and a member of the Committee o0
Work. Those taking part in the work were:
D. B. Hundley, Worshipful Master; Nile C. Schaffer, Senior Warden;
E. W. Garris, Junior Warden; W. S. Taylor, Senior Deacon; C. L. Swee
(Umatilla Lodge No. 65), Junior Deacon; Henry L. Gray, Senior Steward;
Walter H. Robinson, Junior Steward; A. E. Calkins (Ashlar Lodge No. 98,
and Grand Chaplain), Chaplain.
The Grand Lodge Committee on Work reported the conferring of the
first section by this team had been done to perfection, both in verbage and
floor work, and many compliments were paid to all who took part. The can-
didate on this occasion was from Escambia Lodge No. 15, Pensacola, and
the second section of the Degree was conferred by a special team from that
Lodge, who exemplified the work in special dramatic form.
OTHER MEETINGS OF INTEREST
An Emergent Communication of the Grand Lodge of Florida was held
in Gainesville Lodge No. 41 on February 8, 1941, called by Most Worship-
ful Grand Master Smith L. Turner, for the purpose of conducting Masonic
funeral services for the late Most Worshipful Claude L. Pridgen, Past Grand
Master of North Carolina. Most Worshipful Brother Pridgen had lived in
Waldo and Gainesville for a number of years and was well known and
highly regarded in this area. He was Grand Master of North Carolina in
1917, and was called into Army service as Chief Surgeon of the 113th Field
Artillery. Though unable to perform the duties of Grand Master while serv-
ing in France, he issued a Dispensation for the formation of an Army Lodge
that confined its activities to applications from North Carolina soldiers of
his unit. This became known as Army Lodge "A", and M::. W:. Brother
Pridgen frequently related incidents of the organization's activities, including
the conferring of Degrees while on shipboard crossing the Atlantic.
The Eighty-fifth Anniversary celebration of the Lodge held on January
27, 1942, was the beginning of our Chest ceremony. The chest, constructed
by W:. Brother Frank Johnston, and the inscription plate, engraved by Brother
Fred J. Engelke, were presented for the first time. At this meeting, in addition
to conferring the Master Mason Degree, a one-act Masonic play "Judge Not,"
by Carl H. Claudy, was presented by a cast from members of the Scottish
Rite Bodies of Jacksonville.
Past Masters' Night, held on November 24, 1942, was the occasion of
presenting six Life Memberships to our members. Recipients of these were:
Past Masters Roy V. Ott, J. C. Adkins and John M. Scott, and Bros. R. T.
Crouch, W. E. Baker and R. E. L. Robinson. Guest speaker at this meeting
Was Bro. L. A. Kunzig, Brigadier-General, U. S. Army, and Commander
MASONIC SERVICE CENTER
During the troubled times of World War II, when most of the homes
i the community displayed service flags, Gainesville Lodge No. 41 F. and
A. M., earned its own service stripe for meritorious duty. For seventy-seven
consecutive weeks the Masonic Temple itself was used as a free dormitory
nd breakfast room for servicemen stationed in the surrounding area. To the
t known facts, Gainesville Lodge was the only Masonic organization in
country offering a completely free service of this kind.
With so many men stationed in nearby camps and coming into Gaines-
ville for the weekends, local hotel facilities were taxed beyond their capa-
cities. Sunday morning would find men sleeping on the courthouse lawn.
This was unfair to the servicemen and would certainly tarnish our reputation
as a friendly southern city. Something had to be done and the Lodge de-
cided to do it.
With so many of our members gone, the dining room and library of the
Temple were not being used to their fullest capacity and it was decided that
they should be turned into a Saturday night dormitory for servicemen. Brother
L. A. Kunzeg, Brigadier General U.S.A., Comander of Camp Blanding, co-
operated by sending forty double-deck bunks with forty extra mattresses. He
also sent comforters, blankets and pillows. At that time it was thought that
the bunks would probably provide sufficient sleeping space, but that in case
of an extra heavy weekend, the mattresses could be used on the floor of the
Lodge room upstairs.
The Grand Lodge of the State of Florida-Brother Warren S. Taylor of
Gainesville was then Grand Master of the Grand Lodge-provided funds for
the installation of exhaust fans in the dining room, making the room more
comfortable during the summer months.
On the weekend of May 27, 1944, the dormitory opened with a regis-
tration of 45 men. This was only the beginning. As soon as the word spread,
registrations began mounting. The Special Service Office at Camp Blanding
sent over more equipment and finally there were 86 beds with 16 extra mat-
tresses. Even this was not sufficient. The first men to register were assigned
beds, the next ones got the mattresses. When the mattresses were filled, the
men were given comforters to use in any space that they could find. After
the supply of comforters was exhausted, spare blankets were passed out but
even this proved insufficient. A high of 276 men spending a Saturday night
When the dormitory opened, Miss Mary Laura Johnson of Gainesville felt
that Southern hospitality demanded something more than a bed for guests.
She began by buying, preparing and serving breakfast to the men who had
spent the previous night there. She was able to do this alone for a short
time, but the rapid increase in the number of guests soon made these Sunday
morning breakfasts impossible financially and physically for one person to
handle. Without any solicitation, contributions began to come in from local
people who knew of the wonderful work that she was doing. Miss Johnson
got together a "kitchen crew" which, with few changes, served for the balance
of the seventy-seven weeks that the service center was in operation.
The breakfast consisted of hot cakes, bacon or sausage and coffee. There
was no limit to the number of servings that a man could have and second
helpings were standard. "Fourths" were not unheard of. On special Sundays
the crew tried to serve something extra. Miss Johnson's thoughtfulness can-
not be over-emphasized, neither can the kindness of the merchants who sup-
plied the food. During the entire period, Mr. Gerntner, of H. R. Gerntnet
Wholesale Meats, saw to it that bacon and sausage were available. This WO
during a period when these items were virtually unobtainable to the general
public. (It was rumored that some members of the "kitchen crew" were so
faithful because this was the only place that they could catch the aroma of
frying bacon. This rumor was, of course, entirely unfounded. But on Sunday
morning there were a lot of mouths watering in the immediate vicinity of the
It is to the everlasting credit of our suppliers, that during this time when
many items were scarce, the "crew" was able to prepare these meals for
about ten cents a serving.
The work involved in Project "Bed and Breakfast" was considerable. In
addition to the workers in the kitchen and dining room, two Lodge mem-
bers served as "Night Clerks" each Saturday night. This involved a dusk to
dawn shift. The servicemen usually checked in late in the afternoon or early
in the evening and got an assignment to bunk, mattress, comforter or blanket.
After assuring themselves of sleeping space they left on their appointed
rounds. No one expected servicemen on weekend pass to be sleeping soundly
by midnight-and they weren't. But by seven o'clock on Sunday morning
when the kitchen crew began to arrive to begin their preparations they were
all there. Many mornings it was necessary to literally step over recumbent
forms on the front porch and awaken those on the floor of the dining room
so that tables could be set up for breakfast.
With the registration of the 10,000th guest, Gerald Gutzman, Sl/c of
Alamena, Kansas, it was felt that a celebration was in order. Seaman Gutzman
was a veteran of twelve months in the Pacific with the 3rd Fleet. He had been
stationed aboard a carrier servicing the planes that were bombing Tokyo.
After taking part in six invasions, he had been sent back to the States and
was training as an aerial gunner at the Naval Air Gunnery School in Jack-
Gerald had his breakfast in bed, with some ceremony and much comment
on the part of his buddies. He polished off a plate of ham and eggs, a stack
of hot cakes, fruit juice, toast and coffee and decided that the Navy "was
never like this."
Between May 27, 1944, and November 17, 1945, a total of 10,735 serv-
icemen registered as guests of the Gainesville Masonic Service Center. All
48 states and the District of Columbia were represented with a high of 2,224
from New York and a low of 3 from Nevada. In addition, there were 15
from Canada, 3 from Cuba, 1 from Hawaii, 3 from Mexico, 2 from the Phil-
ippines and 1 whose home was Vienna, Austria. Eight thousand eight hundred
meals had been served. Never was there any charge made for either of these
It was regret that the Center was closed. The war was won and serv-
icemen were returning to their homes. Registrations began dropping and it was
felt that no real purpose would be served by continuing its operation. Our
Mission Accomplished," the Army sent its trucks and helped us dismantle
The crew especially missed the Center after it closed. They missed the
otpanionship they had in working together, and they missed the friendship
the many servicemen. Many of the guests came and went as ships in the
night, but with others some real and enduring friendships were built. The
Lodge is proud of what was done to make life a little more comfortable for
these men, many of whom were actually boys away from home for the first
GROWTH OF THE LODGE
The growth in Lodge membership, by present day trends, seems to have
been slow. Due to absence of some years' annual returns, and the incom-
pleteness of others, there are no accurate records of the membership for the
first twenty years of our existence. The number of members and their names
as they appear on the charter member plaque was only eighteen in 1857. Some
information available seems to indicate that at one time during the first two
decades the membership went to around 70 in number. Because of difficul-
ties which have already been enumerated this number was reduced to 43 by
1877. During the first half-century of the Lodge's existence, the membership
was less than 100. It was not until 1908, when the present Temple building
was under construction, that a total of 102 members was reached. The next
decade saw a 50 per cent increase to 151, and then began a phenomenal
growth during the "boom days," until a peak of 359 members was reached
in 1927. Unfortunately, during the depression period this increase was offset
by a decline starting in 1928 and not being stopped, except for 1938, until
the bottom was reached in 1941 with a total of 217 members. Another period
of increase began with 1942 which has now covered 15 years, resulting in
a membership of 554 on December 27, 1956. It is hoped that this increase
will continue, but past experience clearly reveals that the Lodge membership
is definitely related to economic conditions of the time.
1886 1890 1900 1910 1920 19f0 19i0 19,0 195
LODGE MEMBERSHIP BY YEARS
THE CHAIN CEREMONY
At Past Masters' night in 1957, the Centennial Year of Gainesville Lodge
No. 41, F. and A. M., Wor. Bro. H. W. Searcy, Worshipful Master for the
year 1956, placed his initialed and dated link in the Past Masters' Chain.
This made the 99th link in the Chain and not until 1958 will the Chain re-
ceive the 100th or memorial link.
In order to acquaint the membership with this traditional chain cere-
mony, which has been observed and carried out in a dignified manner since
its inauguration in 1938, the minutes of the original ceremony are incorpo-
rated in this history of the Lodge. They are as follows:
"Masonic Temple, Gainesville, Florida. Friday Night, November 13,
1936. A special communication of Gainesville Lodge No. 41 F. and A. M.
was held, there being present Bro. Earl V. Simpson, W. M.; Bro. Horace F.
Zetrouer, S. W.; Bro. J. A. Vitatoe, J. W.; Bro. Chas. R. Couch, Sec'y; Bro.
Roswell T. Schafer, Chaplain; Bro. J. P. Marshall, S. D.; Bro. Roe M. Mar-
tin, J. D.; Bro. I. H. Wallace, S. S.; Bro. B. J. Otte, J. S.; Bro. E. S. Tullock,
Tiler; Bro. W. M. Bullard, Marshall.
"The Lodge was opened in due form in the Master Mason Degree. The
Worshipful Master announced the Lodge had been called and opened for
the purpose of holding its annual Past Masters Night. Bros. N. Eliades and
S. Christodolu being in waiting and having been previously elected were re-
ceived and the first section of the Masters Degree was conferred upon them.
After which the Lodge was called from labor to refreshment. After the
Brethren had enjoyed to the fullest extent a delightful pilau, labor was re-
sumed in the Masters Degree.
"Most Wor. Bro. Wallace R. Cheves, P. G. M., having been introduced,
informed the Brethren that this particular meeting was to establish a custom
in Gainesville Lodge No. 41, F. and A. M., which was to become tradi-
tional; after briefly speaking on the symbolism of the Past Masters Chain he
presented to Wor. Bro. D. M. Tomkies, P.M., of Gainesville Lodge No. 41,
a square bearing the date of the original charter Jan. 15, 1857. Most Wor.
Bro. Jesse C. Clark, Grand Master of this Grand Jurisdiction then welded
to the square the first link of the Past Masters' Chain. This link and all suc-
ceeding links bear the initials and the year of the date of service of each
Past Master. The succeeding links of deceased and absent Past Masters were
welded in turn by the Past Masters present.
"This part of the ceremony was interrupted and Wor. Bro. J. C. Adkins,
P. M., gave a brief history of the early days of this Lodge. At the comple-
tion of this ceremony Wor. Bro. J. M. Leake, Past Master, was presented
a Past Master's Jewel by the Lodge, Wor. Bro. R. T. Schafer making the
Presentation. Most Wor. Bro. Jesse C. Clarke, G. M., then complimented the
Lodge on the originality of the ceremony and spoke of its symbolism.
"Bro. N. Eliades and S. Christodolu were returned to the Lodge and
the second section of the Master's Degree was conferred, they being raised
to the sublime degree of Master Mason and receiving the charge. The lec-
te was postponed until a future meeting.
It is the request and hope of the Brothers that each year on Past Masters'
Night that the ceremony of adding the link of the Junior Past Master to the
present chain, which now consists of seventy-nine links, will be performed
and the custom be carried on as long as this Lodge exists.
"The minutes were read and approved and the Lodge closed in due form.
Chas. R. Couch, Sec'y"
The act of the Junior Past Master in placing his link in the chain is the
highlight of the ceremony, however, there are other and important features
that through use in the past will become a traditional part of the Annual
Past Masters proceedings, such as the Junior Past Master giving a short writ-
ten report of his year at W. M. and the roll call of the Past Masters.
The Acting Worshipful Master conducts the Junior Past Master to the
altar where on bended knees and with the Bible in his outstretched hands he
pledges that his future footsteps through life will be directed by the light
contained in the Holy Scriptures.
After arising from the altar he has placed in his hands the section of a
small chain. He is requested to test its strength until it breaks. He is then
reminded that no chain is stronger than its weakest link. At this time the
Junior Past Master is given his link and he welds it into the Chain of Unity
and Strength-The Past Masters Chain of Gainesville Lodge No. 41, F. and
The chain ceremony was the outgrowth of a series of Past Masters Nights,
the first of which was held under the direction of Wor. Bro. A. W. Sweet,
W. M., May 26, 1926. The minutes of this meeting state that it was the
first Past Masters night of this Lodge. At this meeting the Master's degree
was conferred by the Past Masters. This custom of the Past Masters exempli-
fying the work was done for several Past Masters meetings in the late 1920's
and early 1930's and it was this custom that gave the Brothers of Gainesville
Lodge the idea of the chain ceremony in which the Past Masters could be
honored instead of having to make speeches and confer degree work at a
ceremony in their honor.
It is possible that Jewels were presented to Past Mastes and they in turn
presented the Lodge with their picture prior to 1927. However, it was Jan.
11, 1927, with Wor. Bro. C. R. Couch, W.M., that the Lodge passed a motion
making this a rule for future guidance. At the next meeting, Jan. 25, 1927,
three Past Masters, Wor. Bro. R. T. Schafer, Wor. Bro. Roy V. Ott and Wor.
Bro. A. W. Sweet, received their Jewels.
The Past Masters were again honored on installation night Dec. 27, 1927,
Wor. Bro. D. B. Hundley, W. M., when Past Masters Jewels were presented
to Wor. Bro. Chas. R. Couch, Sr., Wor. Bro. R. G. Zetrouer and Wor. Bro.
J. C. Adkins.
Wor. Bro. J. M. Scott, Wor. Bro. A. P. Spencer, Wor. Bro. C. H. Wil-
loughby, Wor. Bro. W. M. Bullard and Wor. Bro. D. B. Hundley, were pre-
sented Past Masters Jewels Nov. 25, 1930, at a meeting honoring the Past
Masters. Wor. Bro. W. S. Taylor was Worshipful Master.
On Nov. 10, 1931, Wor. Bro. N. C. Schaffer, W. M., had a combined
homecoming and Past Masters night. All living Past Masters, except five,
were present and those absent sent messages of regret at their inability to be
present. Wor. Bro. W. S. Taylor received his Jewel.
The 75th anniversary of Gainesville Lodge No. 41, F. and A. M., was
observed Nov. 22, 1932. During the course of the evening the Past Masters
were honored and Past Masters Jewels were presented to Wor. Bro. N. C.
Schaffer and Wor. Bro. W. L. Hill-Wor. Bro. E. W. Garris, W. M., pre-
Wor. Bro. H. L. Gray, W. M., planned another homecoming and Past
Masters' night for Nov. 28, 1933. This meeting was dedicated to Wor. Bro.
J. E. Waugh, P. M., and Wor. Bro. E. W. Garris received his Past Masters
At this meeting of Sept. 27, 1934, Most Wor. Bro. Fred Delaney, Grand
Master presented a Past Masters Jewel to Wor. Bro. H. L. Gray, Wor. Bro.
George P. Hendrick presiding.
Wor. Bro. J. M. Leake presented a Past Masters Jewel to Wor. Bro.
George P. Hendrix at the meeting of Oct. 22, 1935.
From the list of the above meetings it is clear that the ground work for
our present-day Past Masters ceremony was started in 1926 and to all of the
officers from that date to the present must go a share of the credit and honor
for having the Past Masters Chain Ceremony the excellent meeting it is today.
Space will not permit the naming of all of the officers that have given of
their time and effort since 1936 in making this one of the most unusual and
outstanding meetings in this Grand Jurisdiction, but to all of them must go
their share of the credit for a job well done.
HISTORY OF THE ANNIVERSARY CHEST
The suggestion that Gainesville Lodge No. 41 should, on its hundredth
anniversary, seal items of historical interest in a fireproof chest, to be left
sealed until its two hundredth anniversary, was well received. The faulty
memory of man does not permit us to say just when the idea of an anniversary
receptacle was first brought up for discussion. It seems safe to say, however,
that a nucleus of active members of the Lodge, including such men as E. V.
Simpson, Nile C. Schaffer, T. J. Price, C. B. Sheppard, J. Frank Johnston and
Charles R. Couch, had an active part in the early plans. At any rate, in the
fall of 1941 plans began to mature for an anniversary chest in which items
of historical interest were to be placed. This chest was constructed by our own
well known artificer in brass and other metals, Bro. J. Frank Johnston, who
Was then serving the Lodge as Junior Warden and who was installed as
Senior Warden on December 30, 1941.
On January 27, 1942, W. M. C. B. Sheppard opened our Eighty-fifth
Anniversary Celebration at 4:45 p.m. In the afternoon the first section of the
Master's Degree was conferred upon candidates L. E. Gwinn, J. M. Steadham,
M. E. Glisson and J. L. Heckinger. About 5:45 a delightful supper was served
by the ladies of the Order of the Eastern Star of Gainesville Chapter No. 44.
Appropriate to the times (just 51 days after Pearl Harbor Day, marking our
COuntry's active participation in what was known as World War II) an im-
pressive flag ceremony was held. An address of welcome was delivered by
Wor. Bro. E. W. Garris and the second section of the Master's degree was
conferred on the candidates listed above.
The part of the program devoted to our Anniversary was opened appro-
priately by a prayer by Bro. T. V. McCaul, pastor of the First Baptist Church
of Gainesville. After prayer, the Junior Past Master, T. J. Price, read a short
history of our Lodge that he had prepared and then presented the handsome,
fireproof, dark blue Anniversary Receptacle to the Lodge. Bro. J. Miller
Leake, Past Master, then placed certain Archives belonging to the Lodge in
the chest. Following this event, the Worshipful Master, C. B. Sheppard,
made appropriate remarks; he was followed by Bro. Louis T. Roux, oldest
living member of Gainesville Lodge. Concluding the part of the program de-
voted to our anniversary, Rev. Roy T. Crews, pastor of the Advent Christian
Church of Gainesville, delivered a prayer for our deceased brethren. The last
thing on the program for the evening was a Masonic play, "Judge Not," pre-
sented by members of the Scottish Rite Bodies of Jacksonville, which was thor-
oughly enjoyed by all present.
In keeping with a motion from a previous meeting, part of the minutes
of this 85th Anniversary Meeting were set aside for instructions for future
masters concerning the Anniversary Receptacle. These instructions were as
"This being our Eighty-fifth Anniversary, most of us realize that time
will rapidly pass and the occasion of our Centennial celebration in 1957 will
soon be upon us. In this period of fifteen years it is proposed each year, on
Anniversary Night, beginning with this occasion, that something of historical
or sentimental value be placed in this receptacle.
"It is also recommended that each year from now until 1957 each Junior
Past Master prepare a brief account of the important activities which occurred
during his year as W. M., and a similar record of some other period, until
a complete history has been compiled, and deposit them in the chest with
other papers, objects or items of interest as are available.
"It is proposed at the end of this fifteen-year period, upon the One Hun-
dredth Anniversary, to permanently seal the receptacle and to store it in a
safe place of keeping. It is not to be opened until the year 2057, the Two
Hundredth Anniversary. The present Senior and Junior Wardens have agreed
to carry on the above instructions and it is sincerely hoped that future officers
will faithfully carry out the above instructions."
The Anniversary program in succeeding years was continued by each
successive Master, although there was some variation in how the different
Masters handled their particular programs. Since a number of the programs
were held in open meetings, there is no detailed report of them incorporated
in the minutes of the Lodge. In the main, it may be stated that each Master
carried out the spirit of the program, and without exception prepared a re'
port and deposited it in the chest at the Anniversary Meeting following the
close of his year.
The following tabulation gives the number, date, Master and type of
meeting held each of the years from 1942 through 1956.
86th-January 22, 1943: J. Frank Johnston, W. M. Open meeting with
87th-January 28, 1944: Ancil N. Payne, W. M. Open meeting with
88th-January 30, 1945: Charles S. Brooking, W. M. Special meeting
honoring M. W. Grand Master Warren S. Taylor who was a member of
Gainesville Lodge No. 41.
89th-January 29, 1946: Coleman J. Goin, W. M. A District meeting
was held by Special Dispensation of the Grand Master. The officers for the
meeting were representatives of the various lodges in the district and R. W.
Bro. T. J. Price, D. D. G. M., who served as Master.
90th-January 20, 1947: R. L. Shipp, W. M. Open meeting with visitors.
91st-January 23, 1948: James F. Bishop, W. M. Open meeting with
92nd-January 28, 1949: Curtis R. Williams, W. M. Open meeting with
93rd-January 23, 1950: David C. Kite, W. M. Open meeting with
94th-January 30, 1951: Walter P. Wynn, W. M. Open meeting with
95th-January 22, 1952: J. A. Gibbs, W. M. Regular meeting, Gaines-
ville Lodge No. 41.
96th-January 21, 1953: J. A. Grubbs, W. M. Open meeting with visitors.
97th-January 28, 1954: J. E. Stephens, W. M. Open meeting with visitors.
98th-January 31, 1955: Ronald L. Stanley, W. M. Open meeting with
99th-January 31, 1956-Henry W. Searcy, W. M. Open meeting with
The Brethren did not wait, however, until after the ninety-ninth meeting
to begin making plans to seal the chest at our Hundredth Anniversary Cele-
bration. In the preceding years a great deal of discussion had taken place
about ways and means of holding appropriate Anniversary ceremonies. This
discussion culminated its informal stages when, in 1955, W. M. Ronald L.
Stanley appointed the following committee to begin making plans for the
One Hundredth Anniversary: Earl V. Simpson, Chairman; Lee W. Clayton,
Jr., E. W. Garris, J. A. Gibbs, Coleman J. Goin, J. A. Grubbs, L. F. Latimer,
T. J. Price, Nile C. Schaffer, H. W. Searcy, Ronald L. Stanley, J. E. Stephens,
Wallace F. Zetrouer and C. B. Sheppard, honorary member.
This committee began making plans and appointing subcommittees to
take care of particular items on the agenda for the Hundredth Anniversary
Celebration. Among these committees was a Centennial Chest Committee,
composed of Coleman J. Goin, Chairman; William H. Chandler, Osee R.
Fagan, J. Frank Johnston and Wood Wester. This committee was charged
'ith the particular duty of seeing that appropriate items were placed in the
chest and the chest sealed with a fitting Masonic Ceremony.
Even while these plans were being made, however, murmurs were heard
of hopes for starting another chest for the next hundred years. Perhaps this
is Well, for after all, while a hundred years may seem a long time, it is but a
'oroment in the life of Masonry.
THE CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION
Discussion on the subject of having a Centennial Celebration started long
before we reached the one hundred year milestone. At least the idea began to
take shape with the inauguration of our Anniversary Chest ceremony in 1942,
fifteen years before time for the Centennial. During the year 1955, Worship-
ful Master Ronald L. Stanley appointed Past Master Earl V. Simpson to serve
as Chairman of a Centennial Committee, with authority to select such mem-
bers as he might find necessary. This appointment and authority was con-
tinued by Worshipful Masters Henry W. Searcy and Lee W. Clayton, Jr.
Too much credit cannot be given to W:. Brother Simpson for the amount
of thought and work put into this project. He first organized a general com-
mittee, composed of some twenty members, which held regular and lengthy
meetings to work out plans and arrangements for the desired events. Desiring
to follow the wishes of the majority of the membership, a questionnaire was
sent out to get their expression on suggested items. After these were returned
and tabulated, the committee then had a general guide to follow in making
their plans. Each member of the general committee was appointed as chairman
of a sub-committee to assist him in carrying out a particular project. When all
these had been selected and appointed, there were about eighty members of
the Lodge working on his own particular job, and all being coordinated by
W:. Brother Simpson and the general committee. The dates of January 19,
20 and 21, 1957, were selected almost a year in advance. Every committee
member put forth his best efforts in trying to make this the outstanding event
of our first century.
The first session of the Celebration was opened at 2:30 p.m. on Satur-
day, January 19, 1957. Recognition was given to distinguished guests, and
letters and telegrams of regrets were read from many Grand Lodge and State
officials. The principal event of the first session was the conferring of the
Master Mason Degree. The first section was conferred by a special team com-
posed of the following officers: T. J. Price, Worshipful Master; Ernest C.
Rhodes, Senior Warden; Wallace F. Zetrouer, Junior Warden; R. T. Schafer,
Chaplain; Lee W. Clayton, Jr., Senior Deacon; John G. F. Knight, Junior
Deacon; Gerald E. Helzel, Senior Steward; Frank H. Cope, Junior Steward.
The second section was conferred by various members of the Degree team,
with W:. Brother John A. Grubbs presiding in the East, W:. Brother R. L.
Shipp in the West, W:. Brother J. E. Stephens as Senior Deacon and Brother
Ernest C. Rhodes, Junior Deacon.
During this ceremony Brothers Ernest D. Manning, Jr., John H. Minnick,
Jr. of Gainesville Lodge, and Phillip A. Drake of Doric Lodge No. 140, Ft.
Lauderdale, Fla., were raised to the sublime Degree of Master Mason.
At 7:30 p.m. the Centennial Banquet was held in the dining room of the
Student Service Center on the University of Florida Campus, for members,
their wives, friends, members of the Order of Eastern Star, and guests. Broth-
er William H. Chandler, acted as Master of Ceremonies, and the Reverend
Brother U. S. Gordon, Pastor of the First Presbyterian Church, gave the prin-
cipal address to "the family." Entertainment and vocal selections were given
by Mr. and Mrs. Delbert Sterrett, and Mr. Russell Danberg, all from the
University of Florida Division of Music.
On Sunday morning, January 20, a Craftsmen's breakfast was served at
the Temple, with all Past Masters acting as cooks and waiters for other mem-
bers of the Craft. This meal, consisting of hotcakes, syrup, bacon and coffee,
was similar to the breakfasts served to members of the Armed Services during
World War II, while our service center was in operation. Twenty-seven of
our Past Masters were present, and about one hundred seventy-five members
and guests were served.
On Sunday afternoon, January 20, an open house was held at the Temple
for Masons, their families, friends and the general public. Approximately 700
persons signed the guest register. The Gainesville High School Band gave a
concert on the lawn, and guests were greeted by Brother and Mrs. D. Dash-
wood Hicks and members of the Order of Eastern Star, Lodge officers and
other members. Music in the Temple was furnished by Brothers Chas. R.
Couch, Senior and Junior. Guests were served punch and cookies and given
an opportunity to see an exhibit of Masonic relics, jewels and historical items,
arranged by W:. Brother Nile C. Schaffer.
Sunday night, January 20, was the occasion for holding religious serv-
ices in the First Baptist Church, in co-operation with the Gainesville Minis-
terial Association, and with Brother Walter L. (Red) Barber, internationally
known radio and television personality and a member of Sanford Lodge
No. 62, Sanford, Fla., as guest speaker. A capacity crowd of approximately
1,400 people heard Brother Barber, a licensed lay reader of the Episcopal
Church, give a stirring and forceful address on the topic "Confidence in
God," using numerous illustrations from his personal and broadcasting experi-
ences. Another feature of this service was the presentation of several vocal num-
bers by the Women's Glue Club from the University of Florida, directed by
Mr. Delbert Sterrett.
During Monday afternoon, January 21, a smoker and social period was
held in the Temple, followed by a pileau supper arranged by Brothers Curtis
R. Williams and Louie F. Latimer and served by ladies of the Order of
Eastern Star. Table decorations of camellias were given by Mrs. Mary George,
and arranged by Mrs. Hertice A. McDonald.
Following the evening meal, the Lodge was opened to observe the official
program of the Centennial Celebration. Distinguished guests were introduced,
followed by reception of Most Worshipful Charles R. Lucas, Grand Master of
Masons in Florida, and members of his official Grand Lodge family. The ad-
dress of welcome was given by W:. Brother E. W. Garris.
The Worshipful Master directed the Senior Deacon to escort W:. Brother
Roswell T. Schafer, Senior Past Master and Chaplain of the Lodge, and a
member of this Lodge for 53 years, to the East, where his son, Brother Theo-
dore R. Schafer, also a Life member of the Lodge, presented his father a cord
collar and Chaplain's jewel on behalf of the membership. Brother Burton J.
tte, representing Gainesville Chapter No. 2, Royal Arch Masons, also pre-
Sented W:. Brother Schafer a certificate for 50 years membership in that
ody of Masonry.
th orshipful Brother Searcy, reporting for the registration committee, gave
e following figures on the number of Masons registering for the Celebration:
Our m embers ................ ..... -- ......- ....-- .... 232
Other Florida Lodges ---- .......... ~~. .....- .. ....... 80
Foreign Jurisdictions .-..... .....--................ ......- ..... 21
Total registered ...------.... ---.............- ----- 333
W:. Brother Coleman J. Goin gave a brief history of the Anniversary
Chest, and the ideas and purposes for which it was originated. The Chairman
of the General Committee, W:. Brother Earl V. Simpson, expressed his ap-
preciation to all members for the efforts, enthusiasm, and fraternal good fel-
lowship which had been demonstrated in preparing for this occasion. A rising
vote of thanks was given W:. Brother Simpson for the leadership and direc-
tion he had give the Committee.
W:. Brother Ralph E. Page gave a most inspiring and eloquent address
on "The Future of Masonry in Gainesville," stating that while economic and
social changes would occur, the principles and adopted Landmarks of Masonry
must remain unchanged. He also presented ten "Landmarks of Life" for fu-
ture guidance. They are:
1. Wastefulness is wicked.
2. Indolence is unremunerative.
3. You can't get something for nothing.
4. Well-doing is the key to well-being.
5. Virtue, prosperity and happiness are not gifts but are personal achieve-
6. When Lodge members want rights without responsibilities, jobs without
work and freedom without self-restraint, there will soon be neither
rights, jobs or freedom.
7. When leanerss" outnumber "lifters," collapse is near at hand.
8. A Lodge "out of its orbit" could well mean social chaos.
9. Culture without conscience is a menace.
10. Educate a man who is mentally dishonest and you train a crafty
In conclusion, Bro. Page stated, "Society needs Masons much more than
than it needs members of the Masonic Lodge."
By means of a telephone hook-up arranged by W:. Brother J. E. Stephens
and Brother C. R. Perry, it was possible to hear the voice of W:. Brother
C. B. Shepherd from his home in Sanford, Fla., and he expressed his regrets
at being unable to attend the Celebration because of illness. With W:. Broth-
er Shepherd on the line, W:. Brothers Simpson, R. T. Schafer and J. Frank
Johnston deposited the various items of Masonic and historical interest 1i
the chest which was started in 1942 while W:. Brother Shepherd was Master
of the Lodge. The final deposit was made by Grand Master Lucas who stated
he was officially closing the Chest and gave directions that is be sealed for
re-opening the year A.D. 2057, A.L. 6057.
The Grand Master gave an address to the Lodge and extended the good
wishes of Grand Lodge as well as his own. After closing the Lodge in Ample
Form, the brethren retired to the dining room where the birthday cake was
served with other light refreshments.
Thus ended the official observance of the Centennial Celebration, but
memories of the occasion will long remain in the minds of those who at-
tended it. A wonderful feeling of good will, fellowship and brotherly love
was exhibited throughout the planning, preparation and observance of the
occasion. As our Brother "Preacher" Gordon said, "it was just like one big
family group." May this feeling continue for many centuries to come.
Upper-Copied from printed program arranged for the dedication of the
present Temple, April 28, 1909. The first known photograph of the building.
Lower-This picture was copied from a book entitled Scenes in Florida.
W. H. Parish Publishing Co., Chicago, 1894, and under the sub-title of
"Views of Gainesville from Courthouse." The view is generally northwest
showing West University Avenue from its intersection with Main Street. The
ground floor of the building in the foreground was occupied by Brother A. 0.
Steenburg's furniture store. The building with steeple, upper left of center,
was the old Presbyterian Church built in 1889 and demolished in 1955. The
three-story building bearing signs "Masonic Hall' and "H. F. Dutton & Co."
still stands on the northeast corner of West University Avenue and North-
west First Stret. The two-story brick building on extreme right was erected
by M:. W:. Brother Marcus Endel about 1882 and housed his clothing busi-
,ess. It is presently occupied by the F. W. Woolworth Co.
Upper-This building, sketched from a verbal description by R:. W:.
Bro. R. T. Schafer, was located on the site of the present fire station which
is the southwest corner of the intersection formed by Southeast Second Avenue
and Southeast First Street. Although Lodge minutes are vague about the first
meeting place, oldtime residents describe this weather-beaten building with
ramshackle outside stairway as the first known Masonic Hall in Gainesville.
It was bought by the Lodge from the Roper Estate in 1884 and finally sold
to the City of Gainesville in December, 1902, for five hundred dollars. (Re-
corded in Deed Book 58, page 245.) Because of the location of this building
and its use for Masonic purposes, Masonic Street (now Second Avenue, South)
was so named until the present quadrant system was adopted in 1950.
Lower-Tiler's horn used in bygone years to call the brethren at meeting
time. This horn is now in the Masonic Museum at Jacksonville.
Upper-M:. W:. Marcus Endel, Grand Master, 1893, Worshipful Mas-
ter of Gainesville Lodge for years 1878, 1879, 1880, 1888, 1900.
Lower left-M:. W:. Lamar G. Carter, Grand Master, 1925, affiliated
with this Lodge from Mayo Lodge No. 119 and served as secretary during the
Lower right-W:. W:. Warren S. Taylor, Grand Master, 1944-45, Wor-
shipful Master of Gainesville Lodge, 1930.
Upper left-First page of printed program. Following pages state that
Grand Lodge was to be opened in Special Communication at 3:30 p.m. Events
listed were: Prayer by Rt. Rev. H. S. Yerger, D.D.; Tender of Building to
the Lodge by Bro. Alonzo M. Cushman, Acceptance by Bro. Marcus Endel,
P.G.M.; Address, Rt. Rev. H. S. Yerger, D.D., Grand Orator.
Upper right-Printed By-Laws. Found among possessions of James Doig.
Lower left-The Past Masters' Chain, started in 1936.
Lower right-Past Master's Jewel.
aints ilt l iobt o. 41
aprnl 28, 190O
Upper-Framed list of charter members presented to the Lodge in behalf
of the brethren by Wor. J. C. Adkins during the eighty-third anniversary pro-
gram, January 15, 1940.
Lower-Wor. Bro. Horace F. Zetrouer welding his link into the Past
Masters' Chain, November 8, 1938. D. M. Tomkies is holding chain. Front
row, left to right: J. A. Vitatoe, W. M. Bullard, W. L. Hill, J. M. Scott,
H. E. Taylor, J. C. Adkins, R. G. Zetrouer, R. T. Schafer. Middle row: N. C.
Schaffer, W. S. Taylor, C. R. Couch, W. S. Perry, C. H. Willoughby, A. P.
Spencer. Back row: E. V. Simpson, W. R. Cheves, J. M. Leake, G. P. Hen-
drix, H. L. Gray, E. W. Garris. W. R. Cheves was an honorary member and
Grand Master in 1930.
6ainouillle ijadge Ro 41
Obharicr 6ratitco' laruarqy-0,185'1
UP~rRuc~ra. WA~dlla arn.r~
Dincl ilurpn.f a a abcar'k.;rc
e, 1Raquu.A qto. g 0 orantcwwcru.tO
I diameron '* if 0 Rainzu R p Onnott
Im temu W .00050 0. 9h abomas
0 61arl e. 6ou4tLarc. i a Itttko
a fts-4alqll 9 jf I&OW1. A To at he.50
COMPLETE ROSTER OF MEMBERSHIP
GAINESVILLE LODGE NO. 41, F. AND A. M.
(First date indicates year membership began, second date indicates year member-
ship was terminated.)
Chas. R. Abbott, 1886-1886; Fred Abbott, 1923-1932; J. K. Abrams, 1905-1908;
Neal Adams, 1925 -; Neal H. Adams, Jr. 1942 -; James C. Adkins, 1908-1953;
James C. Adkins, Jr., 1944 -; John T. Ainsworth, 1956 -; Henry Albert, 1899-?;
L. Alexander, 1857-1859; Robert F. Allen, 1946 -; Thomas Jones Allen, 1955 -;
E. H. Allen, 1911-1911; John E. Allen, 1949-1950; James Edward Anderson, Sr.,
1946 -; Jesse Whitley Andrews, 1955 -; Thadeous C. Andrews, 1953 -; Robert
T. Angel, 1951 -; Arthur A. Annis, 1947 -; Emerson J. Annis, 1948 -; William
T. Arnett, 1944 -; James V. Arnette, 1948 -; Roy L. Arnett, 1928-1936; J. Leslie
Arnow, 1914-1949; A. P. Ashurst, 1924 -; Archie B. Austin, 1926-1940; Cornelius
Avera, 1875-1880; William N. Avera, 1954 -; Wray B. Avera, 1951 -; Henry C.
Avary, 1869-1873; J. B. Avera, 1923-1930; Wray B. Avera, 1925-1931; Malcom H.
S. E. Babcock, 1858-1859; W. H. Babcock, 1857-1871; Allan O. Baer, 1948 -;
C. O. Bailey, 1869-1878; Thomas C. Bailey, Jr., 1951 -; Eberle Baird, 1893-1930;
James E. Baker, Sr., 1949 -; William E. Baker, 1909 -; Henry L. Baker, 1928-
1931; P. H. Baker, 1905-1925; Malcolm A. Baldwin, Jr., 1956 -; Hildreth C. Bald-
win, 1933-1938; Nicholas R. Baldwin, 1945 -; L. R. Ball, 1907-1914; Hugh Ballard,
1889-1894; S. R. Bandy, 1919-1937; Arch T. Banks, 1866-1873; George A. Barber,
1932 -; Byron G. Barfield, 1952-1954; Everett W. Barkwell, 1917-1918; Sam T.
Barnes, 1921 -; Jerome R. Barnes, 1924-1931; R. H. Barnett, 1871-1875; Frederick
Barrett, 1868-?; Joseph Barry, 1868-1874; Claud K. Barco, 1925-1929; Chas. W.
Bartleson, 1893-1928; John F. Bartleson, 1895-1905; Wilbur K. Bartleson, 1894-
1898; Warren K. Bartleson, 1887-?; W. R. Bartley, 1906-1954; Oscar Ray Bass,
1956-; Horace G. Bates, 1952 -; Hal C. Batey, 1921-1934; Reginald U. Baumgard-
ner, 1931-1934; E. G. Baxter, 1915-1938; Milton H. Baxley, 1920 -; William H.
Baxley, Jr., 1955 -; Pierce H. Beach, 1940-1945; John W. Beal, 1945-1951; D. B.
Beasley, 1912-1935; Wesley S. Bean, 1937 -; Robert B. Beard, Jr., 1928 -; Oscar
B. Beasley, 1931 ; D. P. Beattie, 1867-1868; Don H. Beck, 1948 -; Alfred H. Beck,
1923-1929; Walter H. Beck, 1952 -; Richard A. Becker, 1900-1905; Maxwell N.
Beeler, 1916-1919; James S. Beggs, 1925-1946; William G. Bell, 1916-1922; Morris
C. Bennett, 1932-1932; Nalton M. Bennett, 1952 -; English A. Bennett, 1945-1951;
D. H. Bennet, 1857-1865; H. E. Benson, 1907-1922; J. R. Benton, 1909-1930; Alfred
V. Benzie, 1948 -; M. L. Berlin, 1917-1928; C. O. Bernard, 1868-?; C. D. Berry,
1921.1922; H. M. Betts, 1923-1931; Alfred S. Beville, 1894-1911; R. Harper Bevill,
1860-1869; R. W. Bevill, 1873-?; Stephen C. Bevill, 1867-1887; Stephen P. Bevill,
1867-1894; Adolph H. Beyer, 1922-1942; F. F. Bickerstaff, 1943 -; Max R. Bien,
1925-1925; James F. Bishop, 1926 -; J. C. Bishop, 1922-1925; A. P. Black, 1921-
1928; David R. Black, 1857-?; D. L. Blake, 1865-1877; J. J. Blake, 1891-1894; J. I.
Blake, 1904-1917; Lee A. Blake, 1918-1928; J. B. Blake, 1869-1875; John F. Blake,
1909-1921; T. H. Blake, 1868-1869; William S. Blalock, 1956 -; A. H. Blanding,
1905-1934; John W. Blanding, 1909-1932; Jarrett A. Blasingame, 1947 -; Robert
V. Blaze, 1956 -; Loonis Blitch, 1943-1953; John M. Bliziotes, 1950 -; Leon M.
Bliziotes, 1948 -; Jefferson E. Blocker, 1921-1949; Alfred H. Bock, 1931-1933;
Alvin Bobroff, 1956 -; Wm. Bodiford, 1918-1922; W. G. Bolton, 1919-1940;
am. G. Bolton, Jr., 1946 -; George T. Bond, 1941 -; Louis S. Bonsteel, 1925-
1929; A. E. Booth, 1920-1925; J. W. Booth, 1918-1952; J. A. Boothby, 1930 -
Percy M. Boothby, 1935 -; Max Borenisky, 1881-1882; Richard M. Boring, 1920
1930; R. B. Bostick, 1914-1924; Samuel A. Bostick, 1948 -; B. P. Boulware, 1857.
1859; T. P. Boulware, 1857-1866; Robert C. Bowers, 1921-1952; R. T. Bower, 1920,
1929; Jos. H. Bowling, 1926-1933; Parker Bowling, 1890-1904; Chas. W. Boy4
1923-1929; James R. Boyd, Jr. 1936-1956; Marion D. Boyd, 1928-1937; Robert U,
Boyd, 1929-1933; Robert F. Bozart, 1948-1955; Bobby L. Bozeman, 1954 -; J
Frank Brabham, 1947 -; Ephrian Branch, 1954 -; C. R. Brandt, 1925-1940; Flaglq
H. Brannen, 1955 -; John T. Brasington, 1953 -; Homer E. Bratley, 1924-1936
Cyril O. Bratley, 1925-1929; Joe Breeden, 1956 -; Judson T. Brewer, 1920 --
Allan W. Bridges, 1923-1933; Jack K. Bridges, 1950 -; Paul P. Brinson, 1914-1934
William Brooker, 1928 -; C. S. Brooking, 1919 -; George K. Broome, 1'0.)-1933
James A. Brough, 1867-1868; J. Colvin Brown, 1924-1938; A. Ray Brown, 19,7 -
Eugene Brown, 1950 -; Ira W. Brown, 1919 -; Tullis E. Brown, 1950 -; Wood
row Wilson Browning, 1955 -; James F. Brown, 1945-1950; Erby U. Brown, 1934
1940; Arthur C. Brown, 1921-1937; Emory J. Brown, 1907-1924; J. F. Brown, 1920-?
Max T. Brown, 1894-1919; Merle R. Brown, 1928-1937; Richard J. Broyles, 1937 -
Frank M. Brumley, 1925-1933; Buford L. Brunson, 1954 -; Ollie C. Bryan, 1937
Thomas M. Bryan, 1943 -; C. H. Brush, 1866-1868; William Bryant, 1878-1878
William C. Bryan, 1934 -; Bronson W. Bryant, 1946 -; W. J. Buck, 1916-194
W. F. Buchannan, 1890-1892; George Bucklin, 1868-1873; A. P. Buie, 1919-1924
W. M. Bullard, 1907-1940; Cecil E. Bunker, 1926 -; Abraham Buns, 1922-1943; Fr
A. Buns, 1953 -; Seth H. Bunker, 1860-1879; M. F. Bunnell, 1923-1925; 0.
Burger, 1912-1928; Jeff A. Burgess, 1934 -; Harlan G. Burgett, 1948-1953; Adri
G. Burke, 1944 -; Henry C. Burke, 1944-1955; Louis J. Burkhim, 1918-1942; Jo
W. Burns, Jr. 1945-1956; L. R. Burnam, 1925-1929; Samuel J. Burnett, 1894-189
S. W. Burnett, 1866-?; William H. Busbey, 1948 -; James M. Butler, 1943 -; Jo
A. Butz, 1944-1944; Alvis A. Byers, 1948 --; John R. Bynum, 1929-1937.
C. C. Cagle, 1908-1909; E. S. Calvitt, 1869-?; J. L. Camcron, 1857-1883; N.
Cameron, 1868-1869; Samuel Cameron, 1867-1875; Bernard Campbell, 1917-19
Arthur Lee Campbell, 1950 -; E. Finley Cannon, 1917-1940; Wm. E. Cann
1926-1929; Boyd Carleton, 1921-1924; Alton C. Carlton, 1948 -; Julius A. Carli
1873-1899; J. M. Carlisle, 1919-1920; - Camel, 1860-1865; Thos. U. Carpen
1894-1933; W. J. Carpenter, 1903-1945; Theodore A. Carroll, 1876-1900; Wa
Lee Carson, 1956 -; Lamar G. Carter, 1923-1929; N. R. Carter, 1911-1934;
Larkin Carter, 1920-1930; Sydney L. Carter, 1889-1913; John L. Carter, 1930
Oscar G. Carter, 1943 -; Edwin P. Carter, 1879-1885; Noah D. Caton, 1926-19
William S. Cawthon, 1914 -; A. W. Chadwick, Jr., 1922-1925; S. O. Chadw
1920 -; Jeff Chaffin, 1917-1924; William H. Chandler, 1946 -; W. H. Chap
1868-?; Harry P. Casteen, 1952 -; Robert T. Cheatham, 1928-1938; F. L. Cheev
1859-?; James L. Cheeves, 1857-1859; Donald S. Chenowcth, 1942 -; J. Gibbs
nut, 1937 -; James W. Chesser, 1867-1873; W. T. Cheves, 1920-1948; Theod
M. Cheves, 1926 -; S. Christodoulow, 1936 -; John Chunig, ?-?; S. C.
1886-1873; Fred Clark, 1945 -; W. D. Clark, 1857-1865; John G. Clark, 1944
Washington A. Clark, 1943 -; Wm. R. Clary, 1925-1933; E. C. Clay, 1867- 1
F. E. Clayton, 1940 -; Lee W. Clayton, Jr., 1944 --; Wm. E. Clefton, 1940-1
J. B. Clements, 1919-1928; J. J. Cloar, 1911-1922; John Clowney, 1860-1865; R.
Clowney, 1861-1868; Homer W. Coalson, 1948 -; Wm. T. Coates, 1925-1943; J
F. Coates, 1928-1933; E. C. Cobb, 1891-1918; M. D. Cody, 1921-1930; Jesse
Cofley, 1943-1944; W. P. Coffey, 1920-1924; Benjamin A. Cogdill, 1929- 1
Francis W. Cogdill, 1931 -; Sam B. Cogdill, 1932-1938; A. G. Colclough, 18
1902; W. P. Colclough, 1869-1871; Roy M. Coleman, 1931-1934; Howard E.
man, 1952 -; George M. Coleman, 1869-1908; D. N. Coleman, 1871-?; Law
C. Coles, 1909-1928; Henry F. Collar, 1926-1928; Thomas J. Collins, Jr., 1954
Thomas J. Collins, 1956 -; Andrew J. Collins, ?-1890; S. E. Collison, 1913-1925;
H. H. Colson, 1858-1868; J. H. Colson, 1909-1935; H. J. Conant, 1914-1917; A. J.
Cone, 1920-1925; Andrew J. Cone, 1889-1892; Paul A. Conerly, 1954 -; LeeE.
Connor, 1943-1944; C. H. Conoley, 1899- 1900; Don A. Cooke, 1931-1947; Chas.
P. Cooper, 1867-1868; James A. Cooper, 1954 -; Frank H. Cope, 1956 -; J. M.
Corbett, 1897-1898; C. R. Couch, Sr., 1921 -; C. R. Couch, Jr. 1940 -; Louis
Coullias, 1927 -; John D. O. Courtney, 1945 -; James E. Cowart, 1948 -; D. R.
Cox, 1918-1933; J. O'Neal Cox, 1944 -; H. W. Cox, 1913-1930; R. Augustus Cox,
1928 -; N. H. Cox, 1909-1911; W. H. Cox, 1893-1921; John T. Creighton, 1946-
1955; Joseph M. Crevasse, Jr., 1947 -; Raymond Crews, 1947 -; Stafford H.
Crews, 1954 -; J. A. Crews, 1925-1931; Chas. J. Critics, 1929 -; George R.
Croft, 1893-1906; George C. Crom, 1888-1942; J. D. Cromwell, 1875-1893; A.
Crosby, 1867-1868; James P. Crosby, Sr. 1952 -; J. W. Crosby, 1900-1907; Orville
L. Crosier, 1945 -; R. T. Crouch, 1908; Albert E. Crown, 1947 -; W. E. Crozier,
1905-1907; A. O. Crum, 1902-1903; John F. Crum, 1954 -; Reuben T. Culpepper,
1944 -; A. M. Cushman, 1887-1915.
A. J. Dacosta, 1871-1873; William E. Dail, 1954 -; Chas. R. Dair, 1894-1896;
Jack K. Dale, 1945 -; Joe W. Dalton, 1920-1931; Henry Lee Daniel, 1926 -
Logan S. Daniel, 1945 -; B. E. Dasher, 1939 -; Geo. W. Davenport, 1910 -
Wm. M. Daughtrey, 1891-1905; John G. Davidson, Jr., 1952 -; Horace L. Davis,
1919-1934; Carl J. Davis, 1942 -; Curtis L. Davis, 1943 -; Robert W. Davis, ?-
1887; Jesse G. Davis, 1925 --; Joel B. Davis, 1954; Walter K. Davis, 1947 -;
James B. Dawkins, 1866-1883; Festus E. Day, 1948-1952; Edward Deane, 1925-1931;
J. Maxey Dell, Jr., 1936-1942; Philip Dell, 1868-1869; Eugene E. Dennis, 1951 -
Charles H. Denny, 1948 -; Henry C. Denton, 1865-1905; R. J. Denton, 1859-?;
M. H. DePass, 1909-1924; T. E. Dickenson, 1912-1915; James B. Dill, 1883-1892;
Hood R. Ditmar, 1941 -; James T. Doig, 1865-1924; Joseph T. Donalson, 1955 -;
James W. Dorsey, 1881-1884; Marvin L. Dorsey, 1947 -; J. B. Douglass, 1898-
1905; Mitchell E. Douglass, Jr., 1951 -; Henry D. Dowling, 1948 -; James H.
Dowling, 1942 -; Shellie C. Downs, 1948 -; George J. Dover, Jr., 1945 -; James
H. Dowling, 1949-1950; James C. Downing, 1930-1940; T. P. Downs, 1928-1945;
H. C. Dozier, 1867-1871; J. L. Dozier, 1867-1872; W. H. Drayton, 1915-1916;
Geo. W. Dreblow, Jr., 1939 -; C. E. Drink, 1869-?; Bynum Dudley, 1955 -;
Clarence R. Duffin, 1940-1944; William T. Duggan, Jr., 1950 -; Glen P. Duke,
1950 -; William P. Duncan, Jr. 1952 -; Francis B. Dunham, 1885-1888; Joe E.
Dunn, 1944 -; John C. Dunn, 1951 ; Carey I. Dunn, 1944-1947; Harvey B.
Dunn, 1934-1934; J. C. Dunn, 1919-1940; Ernest E. Dunnavant, 1946 -; Henry G.
Dupree, 1925-1940; W. Clarence Durham, 1944 -; O. L. Durrance, 1932-1940;
. B. Durst, 1916-1944; Bernard K. Durst, 1925-1931.
J. H. Earle, 1895-1911; Virgil W. Eddy, 1948 -; H. Edelstein, 1917-1922;
*m. Edelstein, 1925 -; Moses Edelstein, 1917-1918; Marcus Edelstein, 1928-1940;
Claud Edenfield, 1924-1928; John R. Eddins, 1886-1928; Andrew M. Edwards,
1914-1928; Carman H. Edwards, 1948 -; Oliver J. Edwards, Jr., 1950 -; R. H.
Rewards, 1913-1915; W. M. Edwards, 1920-1925; Emil Edward Ek, 1955 -; Nick
Ellades, 1936-1945; Louis Eliades, 1931 -; W. P. Ellette, 1900- 1904; Thomas B.
Ells, 1878-1892; Giles L. Ellis, 1952 -; T. B. Ellis, Jr., 1920-1930; William Ellis,
1869-1904; J. L. Emerson, 1921-1932; J. A. Emerson, 1866-1869; Elmer B. Emig,
1898 -; Charles W. Emory, 1952 -; Marcus Endel, 1876-1932; Albert M. Endel,
189-1916; Moses Endcl, 1877-1892; Frederick J. Engelke, 1941-1950; Rupirt H.
Efl ish 1944-1950; H. O. Enwall, 1921-1930; Arthur G. Erwin, 1925-1929; Arthur
Lsn "ger, 1913-1930; George T. Estabrock, 1914-1939; Odus R. Evans, 1947 -
Cas. G. Evans, Jr., 1950 -
Arthur G. Fabrick, 1931-1938; D. S. Fagan, 1927-1931; D. R. Fagan, 1927-1931;
Osse R. Fagan, 1949 -; Chas. A. Faircloth, 1907-1917; James R. Faircloth, 1885.
1890; John Falconer, 1888-1891; Joseph D. Farmer, 1949-1954; Chas. D. Farris, 1895.
1905; J. Rex Farrier, 1918 -; Ben Feinberg, 1920-1929; Jesse I. Felder, 1950 -
H. J. Fernald, 1923-1955; Carl A. Fetner, 1940 -; Seldon D. Feurt, 1952 -; Henry
Fewell, 1867-1870; Louis Fischer, 1931-1934; Harry C. Fisher, 1927-1929; Win. E.
Fitzgerald, 1928-1931; J. B. Fletcher, 1907-1908; Ward T. Fletcher, 1929-1934;
John T. Fleischman, 1956 -; Hess G. Florida, 1955 -; Baird F. Floyd, 1913-1945;
Allison E. Folds, 1945 -; Homer A. Ford, 1901-1925; Millard K. Forehand, 1946 -;
Everett L. Fouts, 1946 -; George R. Freeman, 1952 -; W. C. Fosshee, 1920-1924;
H. E. Forythe, 1867-1891; Thaddaes A. Foster, 1868-1885; J. R. Fowler, 1905.
1943; W. J. Fowler, 1922-1925; W. M. Fraser, 1857-1858; R. H. Frazee, 1938-
1940; Byrd C. Fryer, 1919-1936; W. H. Fulton, 1865-1891; Benjamin S. Fultz,
1947-1954; Chas. D. Furman, 1883-1884.
Parron G. Gallop, 1952-1956; Arthur F. Gamber, 1943-1956; Stuart D. Gamber,
1945 -; Geo. F. Gardner, 1925-1933; J. C. Gardner, 1865-1894; John B. Garland,
1950 -; Edward W. Garris, 1928 -; George F. Gaston, 1956 -; Henry C. Gates,
1881-1883; Jarrell O. Gay, 1952-1953; Wm. H. Geiger, 1874-1889; John Lear George,
1936 -; Spero E. Gianiotes, 1956 -; John A. Gibbs, 1919 -; John A. Gibbs, Jr.,
1951 -; James E. Gibson, 1924 -; Geo. N. Giffin, 1940-1952; Charles S. Giles,
1952 -; Francois A. Gilfillan, 1926-1950; Chas. A. Gilbert, 1871-1879; John A.
Gillis, 1924-1934; Dewitt C. Gillis, 1926-1954; Merrill E. Glisson, 1942 -;
Hermon Glogowski, 1877-1884; Horace F. Gobert, 1911-1936; D. E. Godwin, 1901-
1910; Coleman J. Goin, 1938 -; Newbold C. Goin, 1917 -; Sanford W. Goin,
1937 -; James B. Goodson, 1928-1955; James C. Goodwin, 1917-1929; Herman
Gorab, 1954-1955; Ulysses S. Gordon, 1929 -; D. H. Grace, 1916-1949; Luther
Cecil Gracy, 1930-1940; J. B. Gracy, 1921-1928; F. F. Graham, 1891-1893; Allen
Graham, 1911 -; James M. Graham, 1888-1917; Klein H. Graham, 1911 -; W. S.
Graham, 1910-1917; Lee M. Graham, 1907 -; Thomas S. Graham, 1949 -; Julius
Granier, 1871-1876; Henry L. Gray, 1917-1922; Henry L. Gray, 1929 -; John Gray,
1923-193'; Lucian M. Gray, 1926-1935; Thos. L. Green, 1919-1933; A. A. Green,
?-1919; Ernest Green, 1946 -; Kirby B. Green, Jr., 1953 -; Oscar J. Green, 1953-
1956; Arthur R. Greene, Jr., 1947-1951; Percy E. Greene, 1944 -; A. Gleenberg,
1918-1932; John W. Gregory, 1947-1947; K. H. Greive, 1908-1911; Jesse I. Griffin,
1880-1912; Julius B. Griffin, 1947 -; Ewell A. Griffis, 1950 -; Jules Griner, 1885-
1892; John R. W. Grisson, 1859-1907; John A. Grubbs, 1946 -; N. Rice Gruelle,
1881-1888; Francis D. Guerry, 1926 -; Jackson K. Guerry, 1952 -; Pierce S. Guerry,
1948; Louis A. Guessaz, Jr. 1929- 1936; J. M. Guilliams, 1903- 1904; Colin D. Gunn,
1944 -; William H. Gunz, 1907-1929; Layton E. Gwinn, 1942 -
George O. Hack, 1940 -; Milton B. Hadley, 1917-1918; David L. Haddock
1894-?; Arch Hague, 1890-1892; Evans Hale, 1891-1934; Hugh D. Hale, 1922-
1929; James L. Hales, Jr., 1952 -; Harvey A. Hall, 1924-1933; Irving B. Hall, 1928'
1932; J. F. Hall, 1921-1925; R. W. Hall, 1921-1939; Bernt G. Halverson, 1954 --
T. D. Hamilton, 1866-1868; A. P. Hampton, 1868-1870; Tompie S. Hampton, Jr.
1944 -; Win. Wade Hampton, III, 1939 -; E. B. Hampton, 1921-1931 W. W
Hampton, Jr., 1910-1924; W. W. Hampton, Sr. 1898-1928; Robert C. Hancock
1948 -; Wayne H. Hand, 1955-1956; John L. Hannon, 1926-1936; Joseph W. IHa"
non, 1925 -; L. N. Hansell, 1919-1925; C. J. Hardee, 1921 -; S. F. Hardee, 1908"
1918; Henry K. Hardee, 1946 -" Hugh W. Harling, 1948 ; Chas. B. Harma"
1913-1918; Gco. W. Harmony, 1917-1917; Sam P. Ham, 1919-1930; Edward II
Harned, 1952 -; Leonard A. Harper, 1944-1956; 0. N. Harper, 1923-19-13; Falph
K. Harris, 1925-1934; John Harris, 1871-1874; Chester S. Harrold, 1927 -; Chester
S. Harrold, Jr., 1950 -; Joshua G. Harrold, Jr., 1954 -; Reginald Hart, 1924-
1930; David C. Hart, 1877-1877; Merton T. Hartman, Jr., 1946 -; F. R. Hartsfield,
1920-1922; Herman Paul Harvey, 1956 -; Lyman G. Haskill, 1929-1939; Fritz
Hatcher, 1917-1919; Meyer R. Haven, 1956 -; H. E. Houser, 1925-1926; George
Hays, 1952 -; Godfrey M. Hayes, 1944 -; Maston S. Hayes, 1933 -; J. J. Hay-
mans, 1912-1922; Hoyt Haymans, Jr., 1953 -; Lonnie Haymans, 1923-1932; A. E.
Haynie, 1922-1937; John D. Haynie, 1938 -; Paul L. Hayward, 1944 -; Jack Hazle,
1868-1869; Fred H. Heath, 1928-1952; Joseph L. Hechinger, 1942 -; Patrick M.
Heckard, 1949 -; Gerald E. Helzel, 1951 -; Calvin C. Hemphill, 1955 -; Leon
N. Henderson, 1949-1951; Marion C. Henderson, 1924-1933; Warren W. Hendricks,
1925-1931; Wilson W. Hendricks, 1944 -; Theodore M. Hendricks, 1947 -; George
P. Hendrix, 1923-1948; George P. Hendrix, Jr., 1939-1942; Winton E. Henson,
1952 -; John F. Hepner, 1930-1938; V. J. Herlong, 1947 -; Carl B. Heron, 1954
-; G. L. Herrington, 1919-1921; William Hess, 1908-1913; H. C. Hewitt, 1868-
1868; Everett G. Hicks, 1931-1948; D. Dashwood Hicks, 1948 -; James E. Hicks,
1868-1869; W. B. Higdon, 1902-1912; Charles R. Hill, 1927-1936; C. S. Hill, 1909-
1914; J. Fletcher Hill, 1924-1942; Lawson E. Hill, 1924-1939; Lawson L. Hill, 1875-
1922; William L. Hill, 1897-1951; W. Logan Hill, 1930-1932; Robert H. Hill, 1935-
1949; Elmer D. Hinckley, 1924 -; A. H. Hinson, 1915-1921; J. W. Hitch, 1916-
1935; Edwin D. Hodges, 1937-1956; W. M. Hodgson, 1919-1921; Richard W. B.
Hodgson, 1868-1869; John A. Hogan, 1948 -; Ellis W. Holder, 1929 -; Wilbur
F. Holder, 1950 -; W. H. Holland, 1868-1868; L. M. Hollingsworth, 1952 -;
Joe B. Hollingsworth, 1944-1953; W. W. Hollingsworth, 1925-1928; A. T. Hollin-
rake, 1923-1928; Rufus P. Hollis, 1930 -; Wm. M. Holloway, 1893-1916; Emmett
E. Holloway, 1938 --; James T. Holman, 1946-1956; Thomas J. Holmes, 1946-1955;
Arthur B. Holmes, 1950 -; Jonathon H. Holt, 1927-1940; Luther H. Hook, Sr.,
1952-1954; Cecil R. Hook, 1940 -; Charles D. Hooker, 1955 -; James F. Hope,
1956 -; Perry C. Hopkins, 1949 -; J. Harvey Hord, 1939 -; Hester C. Horn,
1943 -; Card C. Horn, 1927-1934; C. R. Home, Jr., 1940-1953; William R. Home,
1947 -; J. W. Hosmer, Jr., 1949 -; George A. Hough, 1887-1890; A. E. House-
holder, 1916-1918; H. A. Howard, 1925 -; J. J. Hubbard, 1921-1927; Roy E. Huff-
man, 1905-1928; Russell V. Hughes, 1949-1954; John C. Huhn, 1867-?; A. F. Hull,
1859-?; Y. M. Hulme, 1905-1915; W. T. Hundley, 1895-1906; D. B. Hundley, 1924
-; C. N. Hunt, 1918-1922; J. C. Hurst, 1921-1929; R. F. Hyatt, 1925-1928; George
W. Hyde, 1891-1910.
T. Ingram, 1857-1869; Ed. S. Ivey, 1919 -
M. D. Jackson, 1927-1952; Wm. C. Jackson, 1895-1902; S. K. Jackson, 1931-
1935; J. E. Jacobsen, 1914-1931; A. E. Jacobson, 1917-1919; J. T. James, 1868-1869;
\ayne O. Jefferson, 1934-1950; James G. Jenkins, 1858-1866; W. W. Jervis, 1859-
1866; Louis J. Johns, 1945-1946; Francis D. Johnson, 1954 -; Howard L. Johnson,
1955 ; Lenwood P. Johnson, 1954 -; Roderick O. Johnson, 1948 -; Harry W.
Johnson, 1945-1948; J. W. Johnson, 1919-1921; Wash M. Johnson, 1919-1932;
James E. Johnston, 1950 -; J. Frank Johnston, 1938 -; Jasper N. Joiner, 1950 -;
. S. Jolly, 1906-1914; Calvin M. Jones, 1952 -; Frank W. Jones, 1946 --; Frederick
Jones, 1955 -; William H. Jones, Jr., 1952 -; A. R. Jones, 1909-1916; Edmand
ones, 1873-1878; J. K. Jones, 1919-1928; Karl M. Jones, 1925-1935; W. J. Jones,
1928-1934 J. B. Jordon, 1939-1944; Robert D. Jordan, 1952 -; C. J. Joseph,
Paul D. Kalb, 1954 -; John W. Kalway, Jr., 1956 -; George W. Harelas,
1951 -; John J. Kates, Jr., 1946-1955; Charles P. Keeter, 1946 -; A. T. Kelley,
06-1915; J. L. Kelly, 1909-1922; John E. Kelley, 1927-1947; John G. Kelley,
1925-1926; Clinton A. Kennedy, 1952 -; Charles M. Kephart, Jr., 1947-1953;
B. Kessler, 1918-1922; Roy B. Keyes, 1948 -; Wm. C. King, 1924-1944; T. F.
Kinnon, 1924-1930; Henry G. Kirkland, 1921-1931; W. A. Kirkwood, 1928 -
H. M. Kichen, 1925-1927; David Kite, 1869-1877; David C. Kite, Sr., 1939 -;
David C. Kite, Jr., 1949 -; Wm. D. Klinepeter, 1927-1932; F. K. Knight, 1924-
1931; Conrad W. Knight, 1954 -; John G. F. Knight, 1954 -; Paul B. Knight,
1947-1954; Robert A. Knight, 1927-1935; Orris E. Knox, 1923-1942; William A.
Kolger, 1954 -; S. D. Koon, 1920-1922; Christ Kostas, 1931-1944; Arthur C.
Krisher, 1955 -; E. C. Kuehn, Jr., 1940 --; Ralph B. Kyle, 1931-1944.
W. L. LaGrande, 1911-1922; William T. Laird, 1945-1953; Charles S. Lamb,
1948-1954; John E. Lambeth, 1889-1912; Ralph E. Lane, 1954-1956; R. G. Lanier,
1906-1919; A. M. Larsen, 1906-1912; C. Wesley Larson, 1952 -; Charles Wesley
Larson II, 1956 -; Hugh C. Lashley, 1927-1936; Burton G. Lasseter, 1889-1891;
Wilburn Lassiter, 1913 -; Allen L. Lastinger, 1946 -; Louie F. Latimer, 1943 -;
James M. Leake, 1924-1956; George LeBanc, 1933-1937; F. H. Lecks, 1920-1929;
S. A. Ledbetter, 1908-1911; Frank I. Lee, 1929-1950; Clarence A. Lee, 1927 -;
G. W. Lee, Jr., 1873-1877; .Robert E. Lee, 1913-1934; G. W. Lee, 1875-?; Robert
Leibowitz, 1930-1944; Herman Leibowitz, 1923 --; Alfred W. Leighton, 1889-1927;
E. R. Leighton, 1902-1914; J. McWilliam Lemon, 1925-1947; Clarence C. Lemon,
1899-1914; Norris K. Levis, 1918 -; Norris Levis, 1915-1930; Solomon A. Levy,
1891-1894; Robert R. Lewis, 1925-1940; J. H. Lewis, 1857-1868; Charles E. Lewis,
1950 -; O. P. Lewis, 1859-1866; W. B. Lewis, 1857-1859; Condie I. Lewis, 1948-
-; Harry L. Lewis, 1905-1914; W. W. Lewis, ?-1874; Manning S. Lewis, 1928-1930;
Rudolph Lieberts, 1894-1897; John W. Lindsey, 1930-1938; Joseph Link, 1860-
1868; James W. Lipscomb, 1948-1953; Clyde B. Lipscomb, 1945 -; Leland D.
Litchfield, 1947 -; Allyn C. Litherland, 1946 -; George D. Litherland, 1946 -:
Myron E. Litherland, 1945 -; C. W. Little, 1873-?; J. G. Little, 1873-?; J. W.
Little, 1857-1866; N.W. Littlefield, 1900-1905; William T. Loften, 1944 -; Augus-
tus W. Lohmann, 1878-1880; Samuel C. Lokman, 1927-1930; John B. Long, 1921 -;
William N. Long, 1952 -; George P. Long, 1910-1919; Nicholas Long, 1878-1904;
George G. Longhurst, 1885-1889; Jack R. Lowry, 1956 -; Frank M. Lucius,
1953 -; Proctor W. Lucius, 1956 -; Clifford A. Lyle, 1946-1950; E. L. Lyle,
1921-1926; C. D. Lyman, 1920-1926; Daniel R. Lynn, 1950 -; Daniel Lynn,
1857-1869; William F. Lytle, 1880-1887.
Alexander T. Macnab, 1954 -; John E. Mains, Jr., 1929-1937; 0. M. Maines,
Sr., 1938 -; Marvin N. Malphurs, 1949-1955; Robert H. Mann, 1923-1925;
William T. Markam, 1952 -; Jesse P. Marshall, 1927 -; Roe M. Martin, 1936
-; Dell Martin, 1944-1945;'Thomas A. Martin, 1932 -; James A. Martin, 1949-
1954; Chas. A. Martini, 1915-1930; A. C. Mason, 1917-1917; James H. Mason,
?-1866; J. P. C. Massey, 1857-1859; Walter J. Matherly, 1947-1954; A. Matheson,
1858-1868; Cecil W. Mathews, 1921 -; W. C. Mathews, 1925-1936; Jackson C.
Mathews, 1925-1930; J. D. Matheson, 1869-1888; Robert S. Matthew, Sr., 1932 -;
D. J. Mathis, 1920-1932; A. R. Mathews, 1919-1929; R. D. B. Matthews, 1913-
1914; Joseph Manasse, 1889-1925; A. A. Maulding, 1858-1866; William D. May,
1945 -; D. B. Maxwell, 1870-1873; Fred F. May, 1925-1942; Thomas J. May,
1871-1874; William May, 1857-1868; Hiner F. Mayes, 1931-1934; John Henry
McAden, 1945-1951; Gerald A. McAllister, 1955 -; A. G. McArthur, 1924-1948;
James P. McCall, 1930-1946; Douglas McCallum,. 1948 -; James D. McCallua,
1950 -; Robert C. McCall, 1880-1888; McKenna'n F. McCook, 1878-1892; T. V.
McCaul, 1922 -; H. E. McClain, 1923-1924; M. H. McClamrock, 1903-1915;
Robert McClellan, 1878-1930; George F. McCollister, 1949 -; Lucius M. McCormidn
1917-1931; J. C. McCraw, 1916-1928; Edwin B. McCuen, 1878-1886; John J-
McCutchen, 1951 -; Hertice A. McDonald, 1952 -; P. McDonald, 1859-1866;
Wm. S. McDowall, 1889-1897; T. A. McDonnel, 1859-1869; William J. McElwain,
Jr., 1952 -; Marvin R. McGilvray, 1935 -; Clifford A. McGriff, Jr., 1952 -;
J. E. Mcllvaine, 1907-1931; Jason W. McIntosh, 1924-1932; Fulwood G. Mclntosh,
1933-1948; T. I. McIntosh, 1919-1937; Donald H. McKee, 1950 -; Jefferson Mc-
Keever, 1885-1915; James C. McKibbon, 1888-1897; J. F. McKinstry, Jr., 1894-
1917; Howard E. McLain, 1922-1937; W. E. McLane, 1923-1924; John A. Mc-
Lean, 1868-?; Lean S. McLean, 1933-1945; Ezra C. McMahan, 1884-1928; J. D.
McMillan, 1923-1929; James B. McMillan, 1951 -; John D. McMillan, Jr., 1953
-; Hilton B. McQuarrie, 1933-1940; Thomas H. McRorie, 1945 -; J. W. McRae,
1868-?; R. D. Meader, 1868-1869; Lawrence E. Means, Jr., 1924-1930; E. W.
Meaney, 1880-1883; Robert F. Meaney, 1881-1883; C. A. Means, 1921 -; Samuel
A. Means, Jr., 1948 -; J. D. Medcalf, 1922-1925; Aubrey E. Melton, 1944 -; Robley
B. Melton, 1952 -; James E. Mercer, 1950 -; George S. Merchant, 1920-1933;
G. S. Merchant, 1889-1913; George B. Merrill, 1922 -; J. Webster Merritt, 1927-
1933; Herbert B. Messic, 1924-1936; Cecil Meyer, 1921-1928; T. J. Meyers, 1857-
1866; F. Miaskoski, 1869-1897; John G. Mickel, 1948-1949; Joseph Michael, 1917-
1918; George S. Middleton, 1947 -; James A. Miller, 1917 -; Albert H. Miller,
1946 -; Harry M. Miller, 1953 -; John M. Miller, 1893-1893; Paul D. Miller,
1943-1944; James W. Miller, Jr., 1951 -; Merrill M. Miller, 1936 -; Phillip
Miller, 1898-1939; Raymond D. Miller, 1953 -; Mosely F. Miller, 1877-1888;
Marion E. Mills, 1931-1940; N. R. Mills, 1889-1897; Merlin S. Minkel, 1953 -;
Sam. M. Mixson, 1919-1940; Rufus W. Mixson, 1950 -; C. G. Mixson, 1921-1928;
Ellis Mize, 1938 -; Gordon S. Mobley, Jr., 1947-1954; J. B. Mobley, Jr., 1927 -
Jacob S. Model, 1928-1947; H. C. Money, 1920-1932; William Lee Monk, 1948 -
L. D. Montgomery, 1857-1866; Isaac I. Moody, 1944 -; Joel A. V. Moon, 1945 -;
Jack Moore, 1950 -; L. W. Moore, 1903-1905; Harry L. Mooty, 1917-1919; E.
Fitzhugh Moratto, 1944 -; J. F. Morgan, 1918-1922; Edsen L. Morgan, 1943 -;
Samuel F. Morgan, 1930-1931; W. W. Morgeson, 1956 -; D. B. Morris, 1921-
1925; James D. Morris, Jr., 1954 -; Ray E. Morris, 1951 --; Donald Morrison,
1923-1932; J. G. Morton, 1900-1901; W. Hayes Morton, 1938-1956; George R. Mosley,
1918-1928; A. M. Muckenfuss, 1935-1938; Forest H. Munger, 1931-1934; W. W.
Murkee, 1873-1874; Albert A. Murphree, 1924-1927; Keith M. Musgrove, 1956 -;
Adlai A. Musseau, Jr., 1955 -.
J. R. Neller, 1945 -; Eugene B. Nelson, 1924-1927; Lauren S. Nelson, 1948
-; Wilmon Newell, 1916-1943; J. C. Newman, 1894-?; Ray W. Newman, 1956
-; Johnnie W. Newsome, 1956 -; Chester S. Niblo, 1918-1929; Linwood J. Nilson,
1916-1917; Jake Nimovitz, 1918-1936; J. Thomas Nixon, 1906-1945; Ahsolem Nobles,
1890-1896; James F. Noland, 1875-1885; J. W. Norman, 1918-1930.
T. M. O'Byrne, 1914-1925; Theodore R. O'Donnell, 1948 -; N. B. O'Kelley,
1919-1946; W. J. Olivenbaum, 1945-; George Orton, Jr., 1953 -; Ray W. Orville,
1925-1926; George C. Osborn, 1956 -; Richard J. Ostrander, 1953 -; R. V. Ott,
1908 -; Burton J. Otte, 1927 -; Richard B. Otte, 1951 -; C. R. Overly, 1929-
1947; Wm. G. Overby, 1925-1929; George W. Overstreet, 1923-1930; G. B. Overton,
1923-1937; J. Erwin Owen, 1948 -.
James E. Pace, 1944 -; Eugene S. Pace, 1917-1919; Thomas A. Pack, 1947-
953; Ralph E. Page, 1949 -; Charles A. Palmer, 1936-1939; L. L. Palmer, 1919-
926; Hugh R. Papy, 1952-1955; Henry E. Pardee, 1860-1874; Chester L. Parker,
1956 -; Flake A. Parker, 1950 -; Dewitt J. Parrish, 1925 -; Douglas T. Parrish,
1947-1950; Phil H. Parrish, 1922-1930; D. J. Parrish, 1934-1939; J. J. Parrish,
1918-1933; Frederick Pasco, 1883-1903; Timothy M. Paulk, 1949-1951; Walter D.
Payne, 1916-1917; Ancil N. Payne, 1939 -; Henry H. Peerson, 1948 -; J. C. Pelot,
1858-1859; Richard K. Penn, 1949 -; George A. Pennay, 1867-1869; R. M. Penny,
1859-1859; A. R. Perry, 1921-1925; Charles R. Perry, 1952 -; Carl E. Perry, 1920.
1946; W. S. Perry, 1918 -; B. F. D. Perry, 1868-1873; E. W. Perry, 1868-1869;
Joe Peters, 1925 -; William H. Peterson, 1950 -; W. S. Peterson, 1925-1932;
G. P. Pettaway, 1925-1928; D. B. Pettengill, 1950 -; Marion A. Pettit, 1948 -;
J. A. Phifer, 1910-1946; A. D. Phillips, 1948 -; Robert E. Philpot, 1946-1955;
Dick T. Philyaw, 1925-1952; W. H. Pickett, 1914-1919; Roland S. Pike, 1905-1905;
H. A. Pillsbury, 1937-1946; Charles Pinkson, 1917-1937; Abraham Platt, 1932-1936;
James M. Platt, 1889-1894; Chas. A. Poekel, 1938-1950; Frank Pond, 1868-?; Watson
Porter, 1869-1911; C. Addison Pound, 1918-1931; J. M. Pound, 1906-1906; W. T.
Pound, 1905-1917; Robert T. Powell, 1880-1889; Elmer D. Powell, 1946 -; Zeb V.
Powell, 1946 -; Richard Preece, Jr., 1922-1952; Ford L. Prescott, 1946 -; Virgil E.
Prestley, 1944 -; Benjamin S. Preston, 1929-1931; D. A. Prevatt, 1908-1908; J.
I. Prevatt, 1908-1929; Randall Q. Price, 1950 -; Thomas J. Price, 1937 -; C. A.
Price, 1914-1914; Fay H. Price, 1930-1931; Kermit L. Prime, 1952 -; John W. Pring,
1935 -; James F. Pritchard, 1945 -; R. M. Pritchett, 1927-1950; Robert E. Proctor,
1953 -; Ivy H. Proctor, 1931-1934; James Proud, 1900-1904; George H. Putman,
1954 -; H. W. Pyne, 1924-1926.
Thomas H. Quigley, 1919 -
David Rabinowitz, 1913-1941; Henry C. Rain, 1950 -; W. H. Rainey, 1919-
1920; W. C. Rainey, 1857-1859; C. Rains, 1858-1869; C. A. Ramsey, 1858-1866;
Perry G. Ramsey, 1922-1933; Ben J. Rape, 1929-1937; Hardy B. Raulerson, 1938 -;
Clyde H. Ray, 1936-1950; T. C. Ray, 1912-1914; W. Orville Ray, 1917-1927;
Robert E. Read, 1951-1953; Elbert L. Reams, 1927 -; Earl S. Reams, 1927-1936;
Lawrence B. Reed, 1926 -; Percy L. Reed, 1921 -; C. A. Reess, ?-1925; Edward
M. Reichert, 1954 -; Joseph C. Reichart, 1944 -; Harry Reigel, 1894-1899; D.
M. Reinhart, 1858-1866; James E. Relihan, 1930-1933; Earnest C. Rhodes, 1947 -;
E. M. Rhodes, 1927-1932; L. B. Rhodes, 1859-1869; S. D. Rice, 1919-1931; Joseph D.
Rice, 1929 -; Wilbur F. Rice, 1870-1897; George H. Rich, 1878-1885; Kenneth 0.
Richard, 1946 -; Clyde J. Richardson, 1939 -; Orville E. Richardson, 1954 -;
C. W. Richburg, 1861-1868; G. C. Richwood, 1860-1868; Robert E. Ricks, 1945 -;
Manning C. Rider, 1928-1931; D. W. Ridgell, 1870-1871; Franklin C. Ridgeway,
1943 -; John F. Ridlon, 1917-1928; I. M. Riles, 1904-1930; Henry E. Ringling,
1928-1955; Russell H. Robarts, 1945-1952; R. L. Robb, 1901-1902; John A. Robbins,
1928 -; Isaac Roberts, 1868-1883; H. R. Roberts, 1919-1929; John A. Roberts,
1906-1931; R. E. L. Robinson, 1908-1943; Walter H. Robinton, 1930 -; Charles M.
Robinton, 1930-1956; William M. Rodgers, 1948-1956; Joseph Roemer, 1923-1927;
S. B. Rogers, 1905-1916; J. H. Roper, 1867-1883; John W. Ross, 1936-1936; Louis
T. Roux, 1885-1944; Edward R. Rowe, Jr., 1947-1950; M. H. Rowe, 1857-1859;
A. L. Royster, 1905-?; James M. Rulong, 1928-1931; Leo S. Rush 1943 -; J. D.
Russell, 1891-1914; J. C. Ryder, 1921-1936; John C. Ryder, 1883-1893.
Henry S. Sadlo, 1951 -; William S. Sanford, Jr., 1952 -; G. A. Sanders, 1930-
1932; Jack A. Santerfeit, 1955 -; Jack A. Sapp, 1932-1934; Leo J. Sapp, 1949 -;
Ellis T. Satcher, 1934-1941; Minot B. Saunders, 1891-1919; George Savage, 1869
1873; C. A. Scarborough, 1925-1931; Theodore R. Schafer, 1918 -; Roswell T'
Schafer, 1903 -; Nile C. Schaffer, 1927 -; F. P. Schargus, 1908-1922; John
Schnabel, 1912 -; W. L. Schock, 1934 -; William C. Schofield, 1949 -; Lucas
E. Schoonmaker, 1954; Louis B. Schulting, 1925-1934; Mitchel Schwartz, 1875-1877;
F. H. Sconiers, 1921-1931; John M. Scott, Sr., 1908 -; John M. Scott, Jr., 1935 -;
P. W. Scott, 1867-1873; William M. Scott, 1887-1891; Rawley W. Scotten, 1925'
1936; H. F. Scruggs, 1908-1912; Augustus R. Scruggs, 1895-1906; Frank V. Seagle,
1875-1888; Henry W. Searcy, 1948 -; William H. Seaver, 1949-1952; Harold E.
Seckinger, 1948-1955; Clyde B. Seckinger, 1947 -; Herman Seigal, 1924 -; William
L. Seigler, 1894-1907; James S. Shands, 1954 -; Joseph W. Shands, 1917-1922;
W. A. Shands, 1916 -; J. S. Shands, 1909-1929; T. W. Shands, 1906-1915; Gordon
J. Shannon, 1956 -; Ernest W. Sharpe, Jr., 1951-1956; Cleveland E. Shaver, 1915-
1938; Robert L. Shaw, 1954-1954; A. T. Sharp, 1892-1894; D. A. Shaw, 1925-1930;
A. L. Shealey, 1922-1949; Bennie S. Shearouse, 1953 -; William N. Sheats, 1892-
1906; L. O. Sheffield, 1934 -; Charles B. Shepherd, 1937 -; J. M. Sheppard,
?-1925; John S. Shipp, Jr., 1944 -; Royce L. Shipp, 1943 -; Oma A. Short, 1943-
1953; Joe F. Short, 1947 -; Karl Y. Shuford, 1952 -; W. H. Sibley, 1904-1907;
James Sideris, 1953 -; Morton H. Silver, 1949-1952; G. Ballard Simmons, 1945 -;
Hugh G. Simmons, 1951 -; S. E. Simpson, 1925-1934; Thos. M. Simpson, 1925-
1929; W. J. Simpson, 1924-1930; Earl V. Simpson, 1929 -; Donald M. Sizemore,
1943-1950; Perley F. Skofield, 1949 -; H. G. Slaton, 1925 -; E. A. Slayton, 1925-
1929; Charles F. Smith, 1892 -; Edgar R. Smith, 1944 -; Edgar W. Smith, 1944
-; Henry E. Smith, 1954 -; John E. Smith, 1951 -; D. C. Smith, 1934-1935;
George G. Smith, 1944-1946; George H. Smith, 1931-1935; John H. Smith, 1928-
1929; K. D. Smith, 1867-1869; L. C. Smith, 1893-?; Allen B. Smith, 1956 -; Belon
B. Smith, 1891-1897; Thomas B. Smithers, 1867-1883; A. H. Smythe, 1869-1874; H.
V. Snell, 1867-?; G. Earnest Snow, 1943 -; William Sobol, 1918-1937; William G.
Solomons, 1935-1938; J. L. Sommese, 1955 -; James L. South, 1953 -; John Spark-
man, 1861-1865; W. L. Spears, 1933-1939; Herbert L. Speer, 1923-1925; Harvy D.
Spell, 1917-1945; Wm. B. Spell, 1927-1934; Thomas E. Spencer, 1951 -; A. P.
Spencer, 1914 -; Samuel Spencer, 1867-1883; M. V. Springstun, 1922 -; M. A.
Spruill, 1919-1953; Ronald L. Stanley, 1947 -; James M. Stanley, 1953 -; Harold
C. Stanfield, 1927-1938; John W. Stanford, 1953 -; Brian O. Stapleton, 1924 -
Carl Stapleton, 1927 -; Julius Stark, 1877-1890; William C. Starling, 1946 -
John M. Steadham, 1942 -; W. R. Steckert, 1908-1932; Lafayette D. Stephens,
1946-1946; James E. Stephens, 1931 -; Robert W. Stephens, 1946 -; Allen M.
Steen, 1923-1933; Arthur O. Steenburg, 1892-1919; Carl E. Stengel, 1928-1931;
Joseph D. Stewart, 1946 -; Jackson E. Stewart, 1927-1939; Thomas O. Stewart,
1867-1872; T. O. Stewart, 1907-1911; W. S. Stewman, 1921-1928; John Stillians,
1886-1929; Frank Stirling, 1919-1932; Otto F. Stock, 1918 -; S. H. Stoddard,
1867-1869; 0. T. Stone, 1923-1931; William S. Stoney, 1927 -; Lawrence E. Storey,
1949 -; Ralph Stoutamire, 1921-1953; John Earl Stover, 1956 -; William C.
Strickland, 1947 -; T. J. Strickland, 1918-1936; William Strickland, 1867-1878;
Thurnton B. Stringfellow, 1885-1889; Hart R. Stringfellow, 1919 -; Ernest A.
Strunk, 1909-1939; E. T. Stuhr, 1927 -; Morris E. Stults, 1944 -; Frank C. Summer,
1940-1945; F. M. Swanson, 1921-1925; Albert R. Swartz, 1944 -; C. R. Swartz,
1921-1946; U. G. Swartz, 1921-1928; Fred G. Swartz, 1921-1928; Edward M. Swear-
Igen, 1927 -; A. W. Sweet, 1922-1935.
William S. Talbot, 1953 -; Richard G. Tallman, 1950 -; Milton J. Tankersly,
1945 -; Charles E. Taylor, 1944 -; Herbert E. Taylor, 1909-1941; H. Leroy Taylor,
1909-1935; John M. Taylor, 1877-1890; Richard B. Taylor, 1878-1885; R. F. Taylor,
1871-1894; Warren S. Taylor, 1927-1947; Rufus B. Templeton, 1898-1955; J. W.
Teach, 1920-1926; Benjamin M. Tench, Jr., 1946 -; Ernest T. Tenley, 1930 -;
Troy 0. Thames, 1946 -; Roy A. Thames, 1946 -; Paul C. Thames, 1939 -;
James H. Thames, 1946 -; D. F. Thomas, 1918-1935; G. P. Thomas, 1857-1883;
J S. Thomas, 1866-1868; J. T. Thomas, 1857-1878; Wm. Clarke Thomas, 1931-
1943; William R. Thomas, 1904-1931; Cecil A. Thompson, 1930-1932; Clinton A.
Tompson, 1931 -; E. M. Thompson, 1871-1874; George E. Thompson, 1952 -;
I- .Thompson, 1857-1869; Lannie H. Thompson, 1944 -; Barton H. Thrasher,
1878-1882; B. K. Thrower, 1908-1912; Roy E. Thunquest, 1943 -; John J. Tigert,
1946-1953; John E. Tilleakos, 1937-1939; Roy Mack Tillis, 1938 -; G. C. Tillman,
1919-1945; A. J. Tinsley, 1894-1895; T. D. Tinnin, 1909-1930; J. O. Todd, 1920
-; Walton C. Toland, 1948 -; T. H. Tomkies, 1873-1878; David M. Tomkies, 1898.
1943; Templeton Tomkies, 1897-?; James Tomlinson, 1888-1894; Earl W. Tonjes,
1946 -; Emile W. Tonjes, 1954 -; Earl H. Toole, 1943 -; Horace G. Toole,
1927-1947; Warren M. Torlay, Jr., 1944 -; Joseph G. Torrey, 1901-1911; Harry
Towson, 1920-1931; T. B. Tower, 1906-1913; William H. Traxler, 1953 -; Spencer
T. Trice, 1927-1931; James H. Trimm, 1952 -; McKendree Tucker, 1919 -; D.
A. Tucker, 1920-1937; D. J. Tucker, 1922-1925; James A. Tucker, 1946-1950;
Elbert S. Tullock, 1925-1937; G. Manning Turbeville, 1921 -; James E. Turbeville,
1909-1924; Daniel W. Turner, 1947-1952; Robert T. Turner, 1925-1944; W. B.
Turner, 1908-1911; James M. Turner, 1898-1905; Carl P. Turlington, 1954 -; P. B.
Turpin, 1901-?; George O. Tyre, 1946 -; Norris W. Tyree, 1933-1944.
Herbert T. Uthlaut, 1945-1948.
C. Carl Vansickle, 1945 -; Wilfred C. Varn, 1947-1951; John P. Varnum,
1879-1883; John Vaughn, 1858-1868; J. J. Vernon, 1911-1915; Joe P. Verri, 1949
-; Charles M. Vick, 1949 -; Albert Vidal, 1919-1939; Jesse A. Vitatoe, 1932 -;
Harold W. Vories, 1943 -; Elbert Voss, 1955 -; Edmond E. Voyle, 1887-1889;
Joseph Voyle, 1880-1893.
N. G. Wade, Jr., 1921-1932; H. E. Wade, 1896-1899; J. E. Wainwright, 1901-
1922; H. W. Waits, 1922-1935; George N. Wakefield, 1925-1934; Francis B. Wake-
field, 1945 -; George S. Waldo, 1909-1926; Selden F. Waldo, 1943-1940; Seth S.
Walker, 1917-1918; William E. Walker, Jr., 1953 -; I. H. Wallace, 1928 -; John
L. Wann, 1929-1930; E. D. Warren, 1921-1953; Frank D. Warner, 1889-1915;
Howard W. Waterhouse, 1946-1953; Wm. B. Watson, Jr., 1930-; Herbert J. Watts,
1948-1952; Charles H. Watts, 1932-1949; Joseph E. Waugh, Sr., 1888-1936; Joseph
E. Waugh, Jr., 1928 -; T. R. Weathersby, 1945-1945; Donald W. Webb, 1884-
1891; Sidney A. Webb, 1933 -; G. P. Webb, 1874-1892; George F. Weber, 1923-
1932; Irving E. Webster, 1880-1927; Frank J. Wedekemper, 1925-1934; Martin
Weiss, 1925-1935; John P. Wells, 1892-1897; 0. P. Wells, 1937-1951; George W.
Welch, 1950-1953; H. F. Wesley, 1921-1955; Erdman West, 1925-1933; Wood A.
Wester, 1954 -; Joe W. Wetherington, 1949 -; James C. Wetherington, 1947 -;
Wooda G. Wheeler, 1953 -; Samuel E. Wherritt, 1932-1955; Frank C. Whiddon,
1955 -; Frederick A. White, 1950 -; Isaac White, 1891-1899; J. H. White, 1891-
1894; George H. White, 1955 -; James H. White, 1925-1936; James H. White, Jr.,
1953 -; Oscar L. White, 1889-1897; Marion C. White, 1943 -; William A. White,
1888-1890; W. G. White, 1902-1921; Eddie D. Whitehead, 1925-1930; James 0.
Whiteman, Jr., 1949 -; C. E. Whiting, 1900-1905; C. T. Whiting, 1921-1941;
Earnest E. Whiting, 1936-1951; Ralph W. Whiting, 1945 -; J. H. Whitney, 1912-
1925; Chas. H. Whitney, 1890-1897; Frank E. Wigelius, 1948-1951; H. E. Wiig,
1925-1944; Paul O. Wiig, 1923 -; Donald B. Wilcox, 1954 -; Loran A. Wilcox,
1956 -; O. C. Wilkerson, 1941-1950; Sidney R. Wilkinson, 1948 -; Howard H.
Wilkowshe, 1953 -; George A. Will, 1951 -; Curtis R. Williams, 1940 -; Dehral
A. Williams, 1948 -; Don P. Williams, 1947 -; James M. Williams, Jr., 1928 -;
Johnnie C. Williams, 1928, -; Josiah A. Williams, 1944 -; Robert Joy Williams,
1930 -; Theodore R. Williams, 1950 -; William, R. Williams, 1923 -; Chas. L.
Williams, 1886-1902; Herbert M. Williams, 1917-1941; J. E. Williams, 1922-1947;
Robert E. Williams, 1943-1952; W. R. Williams, 1922-1934; C. H. Willoughby,
1919 -; Robert L. Wilson, 1953 -; Alfred E. Wilson, 1928-1932; John W. Wilson,
1932-1934; J. E. Wilson, 1921-1926; R. E. Wilson, 1919-1922; Vern W. Wilson,
1923-1925; Wm. N. Wilson, 1889-1897; Evans C. Wimberley, 1887-1903; Clarence
F. Winchester, 1949 -; Tidal Windham, 1943 -; John W. Wincy, 1938-1943;
Byron M. Winn, 1930 -; William H. Winseman, 1950 -; R. Y. Winters, 1910-
1914; C. A. Worley, 1919-1953; Frank A. Wrench, Jr., 1923-1945; George R. Wright,
1927-1950; Walter P. Wynn, 1944 -; S. G. Wynn, 1869-1878.
G. H. Yancey, 1909-1915; George A. Yapp, 1929-1947; Oscar L. Yark, 1890-
1902; W. J. Yarnoff, 1921-1932; William Yatman, 1892-1894; George H. Young,
1949 -; Canning K. M. Young, 1956 -; David Levy Yulee 1868 -?
Horace F. Zetrour, 1917 -; Albert T. Zetrour, 1869-1898; E. R. Zetrour, 1909-
1929; Wallace F. Zetrour, 1952 -; John R. Zetrour, 1905-1916; John R. Zetrour,
1890-1897; R. Guy Zetrour, 1903-1948; Pennywell M. Zipperer, 1948 -.
The following figures show the distribution of members by year for the first
hundred years: 1857-24; 1858-31; 1859-36; 1860-36 (estimated); 1861-36
(estimated); 1862-29 (estimated); 1863-29 (estimated); 1864-29 estimated);
1865-27; 1866-23; 1867-71; 1868-54; 1869-64; 1870-64; 1871-65; 1872-
46; 1873-46; 1874-40; 1875-44; 1876-44; 1877-43; 1878-49; 1879-48;
1880-55; 1881-59; 1882-56; 1883-48; 1884-48; 1885-48; 1886-49; 1887
-53; 1888-55; 1889-66; 1890-66; 1891-70; 1892-70; 1893-69; 1894-68;
1895-69; 1896-71; 1897-59; 1898-61; 1899-58; 1900-68; 1901-73; 1902
-74; 1903-77; 1904-76; 1905-75; 1906-83; 1907-88; 1908-102; 1909-
118; 1910-124; 1911-117; 1912-117; 1913-123; 1914-123; 1915-113; 1916
-115; 1917-129; 1918-151; 1919-184; 1920-206; 1921-241; 1922-248;
1923-265; 1924-286; 1925-292; 1926-318; 1927-359; 1928-357; 1929-338;
1930-326; 1931-306; 1932-289; 1933-269; 1934-262; 1935-253; 1936-236;
1937-230; 1938-233; 1939-232; 1940-220; 1941-217; 1942-223; 1943-
241; 1944-275; 1945-302; 1946-339; 1947-367; 1948-411; 1949-438; 1950
-454; 1951-463; 1952-496; 1953-507; 1954-528; 1955-536; 1956--554.
The longest membership was that of George Knox Broome who was a member
for sixty-three years, from 1870 to 1933.
In the following, when the Station is followed by a dash it means that there is no
record as to who filled that Station for the year indicated.
1857-W.M., T. J. Meyers; S.W., Daniel Lynn; J.W., P. C. Massey; Tr., T.
Ingram; Sec'y, W. H. Babcock; Chap.,-; Mar.,-; S.D.,-; J.D.,-; S.S.,- J.S.,
1858-W.M., T. J. Meyers; S.W., W. H. Babcock; J.W., H. H. Colson; Tr.,
T. Ingram; Sec'y, L. D. Montgomery; Chap.,-; Mar.,-; S.D.,-; J.D.,-; S.S.,,
J. L. Cameron; J.S., J. T. Thomas; Tyler, L. Alexander.
1859-W.M., T. J. Meyers; S.W., F. L. Cheeves; J.W., A. F. Hull; Tr., John
L. Cameron; Sec'y, A. A. Maulden; Chap.,-; Mar.,-; S.D., W. D. Clark; J.D., M.
Row; S.S., D. Black; J.S.,-; Tyler, D. M. Reinhart.
1860-W.M., Daniel Lynn; S.W., G. P. Thomas; J.W., A. A. Maulden; Tr.,
John L. Cameron; Sec'y, T. A. McDonald; Chap.,-; Mar.,-; S.D.,-; J.D., D. M.
Reinhart; S.S.,-; J.S.,-; Tyler, D. R. Black.
1861-W.M., John Clowney; S.W., T. A. McDonald; J.W., W. D. Clark; Tr.,
John L. Cameron; Sec'y, Henry Pardee; Chap.,-; Mar.,-; S.D., T. J. Meyers; J.D.,
G. Richwood; S.S.,-; J.S.,-; Tyler, D. R. Black.
1862-War year no record.
1863-War year no record.
1864-War year no record.
1865-War year no record.
1866-War year no record.
1867-W.M., J. C. Gardner; S.W., E. W. Perry; J.W., H. V. Snell; Tr., W.
Strickland; Sec'y, H. C. Dozier; Chap., -; Mar., -;S.D., I. E. Thompson; J.D., S. G.
Wynn; S.S., -; J.S., -; Tyler, -
1868-W.M., J. C. Gardner; S.W., James Chesser; J.W., S.P. Beville; Tr., W.
Strickland; Sec'y, H. C. Dozier; Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D., Isaac Roberts; J.D., W. P.
Scott; S.S., -; J.S., -; Tyler, D. L. Blake.
1869-W.M., B. F. D. Perry; S.W., Thad Foster; J.W., S. P. Beville; Tr., W.
Strickland; Sec'y, H. C. Dozier; Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D., Isaac Roberts; J.D., J. A.
McLane; S.S., J.S., -; Tyler, S. G. Wynn.
1870-W.M., B. F. D. Perry; S.W., J. C. Gardner; J.W., W. P. Colclough; Tr.,
George Savage; Sec'y, H. C. Dozier; Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D., Geo. K. Broome; J.D.,
J. A. McLane; S.S., A. P. Hampton; J.S., H. Avary; Tyler, S. D. Wynn.
1871-W.M., B. F. D. Perry; S.W., A. H. Smythe; J.W., Geo. K. Broome; Tr.,
W. F. Rice; Sec'y, H. C. Dozier; Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D., D. W. Ridgell; J.D.,
D. N. Coleman; S.S., -; J.S., -; Tyler, F. Miaskoshi.
1872-W.M., J. C. Gardner; S.W., J. H. Roper; J.W., S. P. Beville; Tr., G. P.
Thomas; Sec'y W. F. Rice; Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D., T. O. Stewart; J.D., Isaac
Roberts, S.S., -; J.S., -; Tyler, D. Blake.
1873-W.M., J. D. Matheson; S.W., Thad Foster, J.W., S. W. Burnett; Tf-
G. P. Thomas; Sec'y, J. C. Gardner; Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D., -; J.D., -; SS.,
-; J.S., -; Tyler, Isaac Roberts.
1874-W.M., S. H. Bunker; S.W., J. H. Roper; J.W., J.C. Gardner; Tr., G. P
Thomas; Sec'y, G. W. Lee; Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D., S. G. Wynn; J.D., J. R.
Grissom; S.S., J. D. Matheson; J.S., R. F. Taylor; Tyler, Isaac Roberts.
1875-W.M., S. H. Bunker; S.W., J. R. W. Grissom; J.W., W. H. Geiger; T'"
G. P. Thomas; Sec'y, G. W. Lee; Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D., G. P. Webb; J.D., S.
Wynn; S.S., Thad Foster; J.S., J. A. Carlisle; Tyler, Isaac Roberts.
1876-W.M., J. C. Gardner; S.W., J. H. Roper; J.W., S. C. Beville; Tr., G. ,
Thomas; Sec'y, F. V. Seagle. Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D., Cornelius Avera; J.D., S. G.
Wynn; S.S., L. L. Hill; J.S., James Doig; Tyler, Isaac Roberts.
1877-W.M., James H. Roper, S.W., James D. Cromwell; J.W., Marcus Endel;
Tr., Thad Foster; Sec'y, James F. Noland; Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D., S. H. Bunker;
J.D., Cornelius Avera; S.S., -; J.S., -; Tyler, Isaac Roberts.
1878-W.M., Marcus Endel; S.W., S. H. Bunker; J.W., Mosely F. Miller; Tr.,
Moses Endel; Sec'y, James F. Noland; Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D., Herman Glogowski;
J.D., Cornelius Avera; S.S., Julius Stark; J.S., T. A. Carroll; Tyler, Isaac Roberts.
1879-W.M., Marcus Endel; S.W., Julius Stark; J.W., Augustus W. Lohmann,
Tr., Mosely F. Miller; Sec'y, Edwin B. McCuen; Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D., Mc-
Kendree F. McCook; J.D., Cornelius Avera; S.S., -; J.S., -; Tyler, Isaac Roberts.
1880-W.M., Marcus Endel; S.W., Mosely F. Miller; J.W., Herman Glogowski;
Tr., Robert McClellan; Sec'y, Julius Stark; Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D., Edwin B. Mc-
Cuen; J.D., T. A. Carroll; S.S., McKendree F. McCook; J.S., G. P. Webb; Tyler,
1881-W.M., Herman Glogowski; S.W., Edward W. Meanye; J.W, Robert C.
McCall; Tr., George H. Rich; Sec'y, Mosely F. Miller; Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D.,
Robert McClellan; J.D., Robert T. Powell; S.S., Irving E. Webster; J.S., Andrew J.
Collins; Tyler, Isaac Roberts.
1882-W.M., Herman Glogowski; S.W., Edward W. Meaney; J.W., Irving E.
Webster; Tr., James Doig; Sec'y, Max Boremsky; Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D., Marcus
Endel; J.D., T. A. Carroll; S.S., A. J. Collins; J.S., G. P. Webb; Tyler, Isaac Roberts.
1883-W.M., Mosely F. Miller; S.W., Irving E Webster; J.W., Robert McClellan;
Tr., James Doig; Sec'y, Marcus Endel; Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D., Herman Glogowski;
J.D., T. A. Carroll; S.S., McKendree F. McCook; J.S., Thomas B. Ellis; Tyler, James
1884-W.M., Irving E. Webster; S.W., Frederick Pasco; J.W., Theodore A.
Carroll; Tr., James Doig; Sec'y, Mosely F. Miller; Chap., -; Mar., -; S.D., Marcus
Endel; J.D., James B. Dill; S.S., Robert McClellan; J.S., George H. Rich; Tyler, Ezra
1885-W.M., Julius Stark; S.W., Robert McClellan; J.W., Donald W. Webb;
Tr., Marcus Endel; Sec'y, Irving E. Webster; Chap., Frederick Pasco; Mar., Joseph
Voyle; S.D., Mosely F. Miller; J.D., Ezra C. McMahan; S.S., Theodore A. Carroll;
J.S., Thomas B. Ellis; Tyler, John R. Eddins.
1886-W.M., Robert McClellan; S.W., Donald W. Webb; J.W., Ezra C. Mc-
Mahan; Tr., Marcus Endel; Sec'y; Julius Stark; Chap., Francis B. Dunham; Mar., -;
S.D., Mosely F. Miller; J.D., James R. Faircloth; S.S., Irving E. Webster; J.S., Louis
T. Roux; Tyler, Jefferson McKeever.
1887-W.M., Donald W. Webb; S.W., Ezra C. McMahan; J.W., John Stillians;
Tr., Julius Stark; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., Francis B. Dunham; Mar., Mosely
F. Miller; S.D., Marcus Endel; J.D., Louis T. Roux; S.S., John R. Eddins; J.S., Jef-
ferson McKeever; Tyler, Jefferson McKeever.
1888-W.M., Marcus Endel; S.W., Wm. K. Bartleson; J.W., Julius Stark; Tr.,
Alonzo M. Cushman; Sec'y, Evans C. Wimberly; Chap., Francis B. Dunham; Mar.,
Mosely F. Miller; S.D., Donald W. Webb; J.D., John Stillians; S.S., Edmund E.
Voyle; J.S., John R. Eddins; Tyler, Jefferson McKeever.
1889-W.M., Robert McClellan; S.W., John Falconer; J.W., Alonzo M. Cush-
nan; Tr., Edmund E. Voyle; Sec'y, Julius Stark; Chap., Joseph E. Waugh; Mar., Irving
E. Webster; S.D., Wm. A. White; J.D., John R. Eddins; S.S., George C. Crom; J.S.,
vans C. Wimberly; Tyler, Jefferson McKeever.
1890-W.M., John Falconer; S.W., A. M. Cushman; J.W., George C. Crom;
Tr., Julius Stark; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., George M. Coleman; Mar., Joseph
E. Waugh; S.D., George P. Webb; J. D., Burton G. Lasseter; S.S., Oscar L. White;
J.S., Joseph Manassee; Tyler, Jefferson McKeever.
1891-W.M., A. M. Cushman; S.W., Syd L. Carter; J.W., George P. Webb; Tr.,
John R. Eddins; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., George M. Coleman; Mar., Irving E.
Webster; S.D., W. F. Buchannon; J.D., Joseph Manassee; S.S., Albert M. Endel; J.S.,
Jefferson McKeever; Tyler, -.
1892-W.M., Syd L. Carter; S.W., George W. Hyde; J.W., George S. Merchant;
Tr., John R. Eddins; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., George M. Coleman; Mar.,
Irving E. Webster; S.D., Marcus Endel; J.D., Joseph Manassee; S.S., Joseph E. Waugh;
J. S., E. C. Cobb; Tyler, Minot B. Saunders.
1893-W.M., George W. Hyde; S.W., George S. Merchant; J.W., Joseph E.
Waugh; Tr., John R. Eddins; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., George M. Coleman;
Mar., Irving E. Webster; S.D., A. M. Cushman; J.D., Louis T. Roux; S.S., William
W. Wilson; J. S., Charles F. Smith; Tyler, Minot B. Saunders.
1894-W.M., George W. Hyde; S. W., Joseph E. Waugh; J. W., Joseph Manas-
see; Tr., John R. Eddins; Sec'y Robert McClellan; Chap., Rev. A. T. Sharp; Mar.,
Irving E. Webster; S. D., A. M. Cushman; J. D., Louis T. Roux; S.S., Charles F.
Smith; J.S., Eberle Baird; Tyler, Minot B. Saunders.
1895-W.M., A. M. Cushman; S.W., Joseph Manassee; J.W., Max T. Brown;
Tr., John R. Eddins; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., George M. Coleman; Mar.,
Irving E. Webster; S.D., Syd. L. Carter; J.D., Harry Reigel; S.S., Eberle Baird; J.S.,
Evans Haile; Tyler, Minot B. Saunders.
1896-W.M., A. M. Cushman; S.W., Max T. Brown; J.W., Minot B. Saunders;
Tr., John R. Eddins; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., George M. Coleman; Mar.,
Irving E. Webster; S.D., W. C. Jackson; J.D., Louis T. Roux; S.S., Evans Haile; J.S.,
John F. Bartleson; Tyler, O. L. York.
1897-W.M., Max T. Brown; S.W., Minot B. Saunders; J.W., W. C. Jackson;
Tr., John R. Eddins; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., George M. Coleman; Mar.,
Irving E. Webster; S. D., George W. Hyde; J.D. J. H. Earle; S.S., C. D. Farriss;
J.S., Marcus Endel; Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1998-W.M., George W. Hyde; S.W., Joseph E. Waugh; J.W., J. H. Earle;
Tr., John R. Eddins; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., Rev. W. T. Hundley; Mar.,
Irving E. Webster; S.D., A. M. Cushman; J.D., Max T. Brown; S.S., John F.
Bartleson; J.S., E. C. Cobb; Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1899-W.M., Joseph E. Waugh; S.W., W. C. Jackson; J.W., Joseph Manassee;
Tr., John R. Eddins; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., George M. Coleman; Mar.,
Irving E. Webster; S.D., A. M. Cushman; J.D., W. L. Hill; S.S., John F. Bartleson;
J.S., Evans Haile; Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1900-W.M., Marcus Endel; S.W., W. C. Jackson; J.W., D. M. Tomkies; Tr.,
John R. Eddins; Sec'y Robert McClellan; Chap., Rev. C. C. Lemon; Mar., Irving E.
Webster; S.D., A. M. Cushman; J.D., Joseph Manassee; S.S., George W. Hyde; J.S.,
W. L. Hill; Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1901-W.M., A.M. Cushman; S.W., W. C. Jackson; J.W., N. W. Littlefield;
Tr., John R. Eddins; Sec'y Robert McClellan; Chap., Rev. W. T. Hundley; Mar,
Irving E. Webster; S.D., George W. Hyde; J.D., E.C. McMahan; S.S., Marcus Endel;
J.S., Minot B. Saunders; Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1902-W.M., A. M. Cushman; S.W., J. G. Torrey; J.W., R. A. Becker; T.,
John R. Eddins; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., W. W. Hampton; Mar., Irving E
Webster; S.D., N. W. Littlefield; J.D., R. L. Robb; S.S., Marcus Endel; J.S., W. L
Hill; Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1903-W.M., George W. Hyde; S.W., A. O. Crum; J.W., W. B. Higdon; ',
John R. Eddins; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., W. W. Hampton; Mar., Irving
Webster; S.D., A. M. Cushman; J.D., C. E. Whiting; S.S., J. G. Torrey; J.S., J.
Wainwright; Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1904-W.M., W. B. Higdon; S.W., N. W. Littlefield, J.W., J. E. Wainwrigb;
Tr., J. G. Torrey; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., W. J. Carpenter; Mar., A.
Cushman; S.D., R. T. Schafer; J.D., Louis T. Roux; S.S., W. L. Hill; J.S., M
McClamrock; Tyler, Minot B. Saunders.
1905-W.M., W. B. Higdon; S.W., J. I. Blake; J. W., D. M. Tomkies; Tr.,
J. G. Torrey; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., W. W. Hampton; Mar., Marcus Endel;
S.D., R. A. Becker; J.D., A. M. Cushman; S.S., Joseph Manassee; J.S., Eberle Baird;
Tyler, Minot B. Saunders.
1906-W.M., W.B. Higdon; S.W., D. M. Tomkies; J.W., R. T. Schafer; Tr.,
J. G. Torrey; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., Rev. S. B. Rogers; Mar., Irving E.
Webster; S.D., Roy E. Huffman; J.D., A. M. Cushman; S.S., Louis T. Roux; J.S.,
M. H. McClamrock; Tyler, Minot B. Saunders.
1907-W.M., D. M. Tomkies; S.W., R. T. Schafer; J.W., W. T. Pound; Tr.,
A. M. Cushman; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., Rev. S. B. Rogers; Mar., Irving E.
Webster; S.D., W. B. Higdon; J.D., A. M. Larsen; S.S., George W. Hyde; J.S., A.
T. Kelly; Tyler, Minot B. Saunnders.
1908-W.M., R.T. Schafer; S.W., W. T. Pound; J.W., Lee Graham; Tr., A. M.
Cushman; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., Rev. S. B. Rogers; Mar., Irving E. Webster;
S.D., D. M. Tomkies; J.D., A. M. Larsen; S.S., W. B. Higdon; J.S., J.I. Prevatt;
Tyler, W. H. Gunz.
1909-W.M., W. T. Pound; S.W., Lee Graham; J.W., Roy V. Ott; Tr., A. M.
Cushman; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., Rev., S. B. Rogers; Mar., Irving E. Webster;
S.D., R. G. Zetrouer; J.D., J. C. Adkins; S.S., R. T. Schafer; J.S., K. H. Grieve;
Tyler, W. H. Gunz.
1910-W.M.,Roy V. Ott; S.W., R.G. Zetrouer, J.W., J. C. Adkins; Tr., A. M.
Cushman; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., Rev. S.B. Rogers; Mar., Irving E. Webster;
S.D., George S. Waldo; J.D., G. H. Yancy; S.S., W. T. Pound; J.S., F. P. Schargus;
Tyler, W. H. Gunz.
1911-W.M., R.G. Zetrouer; S.W., J. C. Adkins; J.W., H. E. Taylor; Tr., A.
M. Cushman; Sec'y. Robert McClellan; Chap., Joseph E. Waugh; Mar., Irving E.
Webster; S.D., R. T. Schafer; J.D., L. C. Coles; S.S., Roy V. Ott; J.S., George W.
Davenport; Tyler, W. H. Gunz.
1912-W.M., J.C. Adkins; S.W., H. E. Taylor; J. W., H. F. Gobert; Tr., A.
M. Cushman; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., Rev. J. J. Cloar; Mar., Irving E. Web-
ster; S.D., J. M. Scott; J.D., George W. Davenport; S.S., R. G. Zetrouer; J.S., J.
S. Shands; Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1913-W.M., H. E. Taylor; S.W., J. M. Scott; J.W., E. A. Strunk; Tr., A. M.
Cushman; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., Joseph E. Waugh; Mar., John W. Bland-
ing; S.D., Irving E. Webster; J.D., J. I. Blake; S.S., O. F. Burger; J.S., John Schnabel;
Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1914-W.M., J. M. Scott; S.W., E. A. Strunk; J.W., B. F. Floyd; Tr., A. M.
Cushman; Sec'y; Robert McClellan; Chap., Joseph E. Waugh; Mar., Irving E. Webster;
S.D., R. T. Schafer; J.D., D. Rabinowitz; S.S., S. E. Collison; J.S., John Schnabel;
Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1915-W.M., B. F. Floyd; S.W., S. E. Collison; J.W., Paul P. Brinson; Tr.,
I. E. Taylor; Sec'y, Irving E. Webster; Chap., Robert McClellan; Mar., Joseph E.
Waugh; S.D., R. T. Schafer; J.D., Wilburn Lassiter; S.S., A. M. Edwards; J.S., G.
B. Harman; Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1916-W.M., S. E. Collison; S.W., Paul P. Brinson; J.W., Wilburn Lassiter; Tr.,
H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, Irving E. Webster; Chap., Robert McClellan; Mar., Roy V. Ott;
SD., B. F. Floyd; J.D., W. L. Hill; S.S., J. R. Fowler; J.S., R. E. Lee; Tyler, Louis
1917-W.M.,W. L. Hill; S.W., Wilburn Lassiter; J.W., W. M. Bullard; Tr.,
e E. Taylor; Sec'y, Irving E. Webster; Chap., Robert McClellan; Mar., Irving E.
ebster; S.D., S. E.Collison; J.D., W. G. Bell; S.S., D. B. Beasley; J. S., E.G. Baxter;
S yler, Louis T. Roux.
1918-W.M., Wilburn Lassiter; S.W., W.M. Bullard; J.W., W. G. Bell; Tr.,
1- E Taylor; Sec'y, Irving E. Webster; Chap., Robert McClellan; Mar., R. T.
Schafer; S.D., M. B. Hadley; J.D., A. P. Spencer; S.S., B. F. Floyd; J. S., E. Finley
Cannon; Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1919-W.M., W. M. Bullard; S.W., W. G. Bell; J.W., A. P. Spencer; Tr., H.
E. Taylor; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; thap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., B. F. Floyd; S.D.,
S. E. Collison; J.D., George R. Mosely; S.S., H. M. Williams; J.S., L. J. Burkham;
Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1920-W.M., W. G. Bell; S.W., A. P. Spencer; J.W., George R. Mosely; Tr.,
H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., W. M. Bullard;
S.D., S. E. Collison; J.D., H. M. Williams; S.S., T. I. McIntosh; J.S., H. L. Davis;
Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1921-W.M., A. P. Spencer; S.W., C. H. Willoughby; J.W., H. M. Williams;
Tr., H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., Rev. N.B. O'Kelly; Mar., Irving
E. Webster; S.D., R. T. Schafer; J.D., H. L. Davis; S.S., F. Sterling; J.S., A. Vidal;
Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1922-W.M., C. H. Willoughby; S.W., H. M. Williams; J.W., Jeff Chaffin;
Tr., H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., Rev. R. B. Templeton; Mar.,
Irving E. Webster; S.D., R. T. Schafer; J.D., T. B. Ellis, Jr.; S.S., J. 0. Todd; J.S.,
S. O. Chadwick; Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1923-W.M., W. M. Bullard; S.W., Jeff Chaffin; J.W., J. L. Emerson; Tr., H.
E. Taylor; Sec'y, Robert McClellan; Chap., Rev. T. V. McCaul; Mar., J. C. Adkins;
S.D., A. W. Sweet; J.D., Henry G. Kirkland; S.S., A. P. Black; J.S., George B.
Merrill; Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1924-W.M., J. L. Emerson; S.W., W. S. Perry; J.W., A. W. Sweet; Tr., H.
E..Taylor; Sec'y, Lamar G. Carter; Chap., Rev. R. B. Templeton; Mar., J. C. Adkins;
S.D., C. H. Willoughby; J. D., C. R. Couch, Sr.; S.S., G. B. Overton; J. S., Orris E.
Knox; Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1925-W.M., W. S. Perry; S.W., A. W. Sweet; J.W., C. R. Couch, Sr.; Tr., H.
E. Taylor; Sec'y, Jesse L. Emerson; Chap., Rev. T. V. McCaul; Mar., J. C. Adkins;
S.D., Herbert L. Speer; J.D., S. E. Simpson; S.S., D. B. Hundley; J.S., G. M. Turbe-
ville; Tyler, Louis T. Roux.
1926-W.M., A. W. Sweet; S.W., C. R. Couch, Sr.; J.W., D. B. Hundley; Tr.,
H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, Jesse L. Emerson; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., W. M. Bullard;
S.D., J. M. Leake; J.D., W. B. Baker; S.S., O. T. Stone; J.S., T. M. Simpson; Tyler,
Louis T. Roux.
1927-W.M., C. R. Couch, Sr.; S.W., D. B. Hundley; J.W., J. M. Leake; Tr.,
H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, Lamar G. Carter; Chap., J. Fletcher Hill; Mar., W. M. Bullard;
S.D., W. E. Baker; J.D., Karl M. Jones; S.S., C. R. Swartz; J.S., J. S. Beggs; Tyler,
Louis T. Roux.
1928-W.M., D. B. Hundley; S.W., Henry G. Kirkland; J.W., J.M., Leake; Tr.,
H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, Lamar G. Carter; Chap., J. Fletcher Hill; Mar., W. M. Bullard;
S.D., Warren S. Taylor; J. D., C. R. Swartz; S.S., George P. Hendrix; J.S., Cecil E.
Bunker; Tyler, H. L. Davis.
1929-W.M., Henry G. Kirkland; S.W., Warren S. Taylor; J.W., Clarence A.
Lee; Tr., H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, Lamar G. Carter; Chap., J. Fletcher Hill; Mar., C. R.
Couch, Sr.; S.D., Nile C. Schaffer; J. D., George P. Hendrix; S.S., W. T. Coates;
J.S., J. Ed. Williams; Tyler, H. L. Davis.
1930-W.M., Warren S. Taylor; S. W., Nile C. Schaffer; J.W., Edward W-
Garris; Tr., H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, D. B. Hundley; Chap., J. Fletcher Hill; Mar., C. R.
Couch, Sr.; S.D., George P. Hendrix; J.D., W. E. Baker; S.S., Theo. M. Cheves;
J.S., Earl V. Simpson; Tyler, H. L. Davis.
1931-W.M., Nile C. Schaffer; S.W., Edward W. Garris; J.W., Henry L. Gray.
Tr., H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, D. B. Hundley; Chap., J. Fletcher Hill; Mar., C. R. COUn'
Sr.; S.D., R. T. Schafer; J.D., J. A. Robbins; S.S., Earl V. Simpson; J.S., Theo. -
cheves; Tyler, E. S. Tullock.
1932-W.M., Edward W. Garris; S.W., Henry L. Gray; J.W., George P. Hendri";
Tr., H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, D. B. Hundley; Chap., Don. A. Cook; Mar., W. M. Bullard;
S.D,, Earl V. Simpson; J.D., Theo. M. Cheeves; S.S., B. A. Cogdill; J.S., J. B. Good-
son; Tyler, E. S. Tullock.
1933-W.M., Henry L. Gray; S.W., George P. Hendrix; J.W., Earl V. Simpson;
Tr., H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, D. B. Hundley; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., W. M. Bullard;
S.D., Don. A. Cook; J.D., B. A. Cogdill; S.S., Marion E. Mills; J.S., Everett G.
Hicks; Tyler, E. S. Tullock.
1934-W.M., George P. Hendrix; S.W., J. M. Leake; J.W., Earl V. Simpson;
Tr., H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, D. B. Hundley; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., W. M. Bullard;
S.D., Horace F. Zetrouer; J.D., Jesse A. Vitatoe; S.S., Everett G. Hicks; J.S., Jonathan
R. Holt; Tyler, E. S. Tullock.
1935-W.M., J. M. Leake; S.W., Earl V. Simpson; J.W., Horace F. Zetrouer;
Tr., H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, D. B. Hundley; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., W. M. Bullard;
S.D., Jesse A. Vitatoe; J.D., Jonathan R. Holt; S. S., H. B. McQuarrie; J.S., E. U.
Brown; Tyler, E. S. Tullock.
1936-W.M., Earl V. Simpson; S.W., Horace F. Zetrouer; J.W., Jesse A. Vitatoe;
Tr. H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, C. R. Couch, Sr.; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., W. M. Bullard;
S.D., Jesse P. Marshall; J.D., E. U. Brown; S.S., I. H. Wallace; J.S., W. O. Jefferson;
Tyler, E. S. Tullock.
1937-W.M., Horace F. Zetrouer; S.W., Jesse A. Vitatoe; J.W., Jesse P. Marshall;
Tr,. H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, C. R. Couch, Sr.; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., W. M. Bullard;
S.D., Earl V. Simpson; J.D., Roe M. Martin; S.S., P.M. Boothby; J. S., C. H. Ray;
Tyler, E. S. Tullock.
1938-W.M., Jesse A. Vitatoe; S.W., Jesse P. Marshall; J.W., Roe M. Martin;
Tr., H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, C. R. Couch, Sr.; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., W. M. Bullard;
S.D., Thomas J. Price; J.D., Sanford W. Goin; S.S., P. M. Boothby; J.S., C. B.
Shepherd; Tyler, J. A. Burgess.
1939-W.M., Jesse P. Marshall; S.W., Roe M. Martin; J.W., Thomas J. Price;
Tr., H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, C. R. Couch, Sr.; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., W. M. Bullard;
S.D., C. B. Shepherd; J.D., Sanford W. Goin; S.S., Nile C. Schaffer; J.S., John W.
Wincey; Tyler, J. A. Burgess.
1940-W.M., Roe M. Martin; S.W., Thomas J. Price; J.W., C. B. Shepherd;
Tr., H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, C. R. Couch, Sr.; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., W. M. Bullard;
S.D., J. Frank Johnston; J.D., B. E. Dasher; S.S., Ancil N. Payne; J.S., David C.
Kite; Tyler, J. A. Burgess.
1941-W.M., Thomas J. Price; S.W., C. B. Shepherd; J.W., J. Frank Johnston;
Tr., H. E. Taylor; Sec'y, C. R. Couch, Sr.; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., Earl V. Simpson;
S.D., B. E. Dasher; J.D., Ancil N. Payne; S.S., David C. Kite; J.S., J. Harvey Hord;
Tyler, J. A. Burgess.
1942-W.M., C. B. Shepherd; S.W., J. Frank Johnston; J.W., B. E. Dasher; Tr.,
Horace F. Zetrouer; Sec'y, C. R. Couch, Sr.; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., Earl V.
Simpson; S. D., Ancil N. Payne; J.D., David C. Kite; S.S., E. C. Kuehn, Jr.; J.S.,
Curtis R. Williams; Tyler, J. A. Burgess.
1943-W.M., J. Frank Johnston; S.W., Ancil N. Payne; J.W., Charles S. Brook-
ilg; T., Horace F. Zetrouer; Sec'y, C. R. Couch, Sr.; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar.,
arl V. Simpson; S.D., Curtis R. Williams; J.D., Layton E. Gwinn; S.S., E. C. Kuehn,
Jr.; J.S., Merill E. Glisson; Tyler, J. A. Burgess.
1944-W.M., Ancil N. Payne; S.W., Charles S. Brooking; J.W., Coleman J.
Goin; Tr., Horace F. Zetrouer; Sec'y, C. R. Couch, Sr.; Chap. R. T. Schafer; Mar.,
arl V. Simpson; S.D., Layton E. Gwinn; J.D., E. C. Kuehn, Jr.; S.S., H. W. Vories;
J.S., Paul C. Thames; Tyler, J. A. Burgess.
1945-W.M., Charles S. Brooking; S.W., Coleman J. Goin; J.W., Layton E.
GCin; Tr., Horace F. Zetrouer; Sec'y, Thomas J. Price; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar.,
"ile C. Schaffer; S.D., Royce L. Shipp; J.D., Carl J. Davis; S.S., Walter P. Wynn;
J.S., Warren M. Torlay, Jr.; Tyler, J. A. Burgess.
1946-W.M., Coleman J. Goin; S.W., Royce L. Shipp; J.W., James F. Bishop;
Tr., Horace F. Zetrouer; Sec'y, Thomas J. Price; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., C. B.
Shepherd; S.D., Curtis R. Williams; J.D., Walter P. Wynn; S.S., Hester O. Horn;
J.S., Carey I. Dunn; Tyler, J. A. Burgess.
1947-W.M., Royce L. Shipp; 9.W. James F. Bishop; J.W., Curtis R. Williams;
Tr., Horace F. Zetrouer; Sec'y, Thomas J. Price; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., John A.
Gibbs; S.D., David C. Kite; J.D., Walter P. Wynn; S.S., Hester C. Horn; J.S., Carey
I. Dunn; Tyler, J. A. Burgess.
1948-W.M., James F. Bishop; S.W., Curtis R. Williams; J.W., David C. Kite;
Tr., Horace F. Zetrouer; Sec'y, Thomas J. Price; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., Royce
L. Shipp; S.D., Walter P. Wynn; J.D., John A. Gibbs; S.S., John A. Grubbs; J.S.,
James A. Stephens; Tyler, J. A. Burgess.
1949-W.M., Curtis R. Williams, S.W., David C. Kite; J.W., Walter P. Wynn;
Tr., Horace F. Zetrouer; Sec'y, Thomas J. Price; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., James
F. Bishop; S.D., John A. Gibbs; J.D., John A. Grubbs; S.S., James E. Stephens; J.S.,
Ronald L. Stanley; Tyler, J. A. Burgess.
1950-W.M., David C. Kite; S.W., Walter P. Wynn; J.W., John A. Gibbs; Tr.,
Horace F. Zetrouer; Sec'y, Thomas J. Price; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., Curtis R.
Williams; S.D., John A. Grubbs; J.D., James E. Stephens; S.S., Ronald L. Stanley;
J.S., Samuel A. Means, Jr., Tyler, J. A. Burgess.
1951-W.M., Walter P. Wynn; S.W., John A. Gibbs; J.W., John A. Grubbs;
Tr., Horace F. Zetrouer; Sec'y, Thomas J. Price; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., David C.
Kite; S.D., James E. Stephens; J.D., Ronald L. Stanley; S.S., Samuel A. Means, Jr.;
J.S., Lee W. Clayton, Jr.; Tyler, W. R. Williams.
1952-W.M., John A. Gibbs; S.W., John A. Grubbs; J.W., James E. Stephens;
Tr., Horace F. Zetrouer; Sec'y, Thomas J. Price; Chap. R. T. Schafer; Mar., Walter
P. Wynn; S.D., Ronald L. Stanley; J.D., Lee W. Clayton, Jr.; S.S., Henry W. Searcy;
J.S., Louie F Latimer; Tyler, W. R. Williams.
1953-W.M., John A. Grubbs; S.W., James E. Stephens; J.W., Ronald L
Stanley; Tr., Horace F. Zetrouer; Sec'y, Thomas J. Price; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar.,
John A. Gibbs; S.D., Lee W. Clayton, Jr.; J.D., Henry W. Searcy; S.S., Louie F.
Latimer; J.S., Wallace F. Zetrouer, II; Tyler, W. R. Williams.
1954-W.M., James F. Stephens; S.W., Ronald L. Stanley; J.W., Henry W.
Searcy; Tr., Horace F. Zetrouer; Sec'y, Thomas J. Price; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar.,
John A. Grubbs; S.D., James F. Bishop; J.D., Louie F. Latimer; S.S., Wallace F.
Zetrouer, II; J.S., Walter H. Beck; Tyler, W. R. Williams.
1955-W.M., Ronald L. Stanley; S.W., Henry W. Searcy; J.W., Lee W. Clayton,
Jr.; Tr., Horace F. Zetrouer; Sec'y, Thomas J. Price; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar., James
E. Stephens; S.D., Louie F. Latimer; J. D., Wallace F. Zetrouer, II; S.S., Oscar G.
Carter; J.S., Gerald E. Helzel; Tyler, W. R. Willams.
1956-W.M., Henry W. Searcy; S.W., Lee W. Clayton, Jr.; J.W., Louie F. Lati-
mer; Tr., Horace F. Zetrouer; Sec'y, Thomas J. Price; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Mar.,
Ronald L. Stanley; S.D., Wallace F. Zetrouer, II; J.D., Ernest C. Rhodes; S.S., Robert
T. Angel; J.S., Gerald E. Helzel; Tyler, W. R. Williams.
1957-W.M., Lee W. Clayton; S.W., Louie F. Latimer; J.W., Wallace F. Zet
rouer, II; Tr., Horace F. Zetrouer; Sec'y, Thomas J. Price; Chap., R. T. Schafer; Marf,
Henry W. Searcy; S.D., Ernest C. Rhodes; J. D., Gerald E. Helzel; S.S., Robt. *
Angel; J.S., J. A. Cooper.
SERVICES OF GAINESVILLE LODGE MEMBERS
IN GRAND BODIES
Gainesville Lodge No. 41 has been fortunate in having Brethren who have dis-
tinguished themselves in Masonry to the extent that they have been elected to become
the head of the Grand Body which they served. We can be justly proud of the fact
that Gainesville Lodge No. 41 has produced three Grand Masters, three Grand High
Priests, one Grand Emminent Commander, two Grand Worthy Patrons and has provided
many lesser Grand Officers.
In this section of our history we are attempting to compile a list of Brethren who
have been recognized by a Grand Body of Masons. However, we realize with regret
that, due to the span of time involved, and the inadquacy of our records, the list is
S. H. BUNKER
Senior Grand Deacon, 1865-66
Our records show that Brother Bunker was the first member of Gainesville Lodge
to serve in Grand Lodge. He was Master of Gainesville Lodge No. 41 in 1874 and
1875, Senior Warden in 1878, Senior Grand Stward, 1860, Senior Grand Deacon,
1865, Grand Lecturer, 1867, and Grand Steward, 1878.
He was raised to the Degree of Master Mason in Madison Lodge No. 11 in 1854.
Grand Master, 1893-94
Brother Endel was born in Richmond, Virginia, July 23, 1854 and at the age of
thirteen moved to Gainesville, Florida. He was raised to the Degree of Master Mason
in Gainesville Lodge No. 41 March 8, 1876, elected Junior Warden December 27,
1876, Worshipful Master December 27, 1877 and High Priest of Gainesville Chapter
No. 2 on December 27, 1878. He served as Grand High Priest in 1888 and 1889.
He served as Grand Treasurer of the Grand Chapter for thirty-four years-1898
to 1923. In 1893 he was elected Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Florida.
His official record in Masonry was one of continuous service. From 1904 until
his death he was a member of the Board of Trustees of the Masonic Home and was
also its Treasurer. From its organization in 1880, he was a member of the Grand
lodge Committee on Work, serving continuously until his death. He assisted in the
establishment and the exemplification throughout the Grand Jurisdiction of the system
of esoteric work now in existence in this state.
From 1912 he served continuously as a member of the Board of Trustees and as
Treasurer of the Grand Lodge Temple in Jacksonville, Florida. In 1929 Brother
Edel attended his fifty-third consecutive session of Grand Lodge and the same year
barked his fifty-fourth attendance of the Grand Chapter.
In addition to his Masonic career, which was one of the most notable in the
United States, Brother Endel was most successful as a business man and was a faithful
and devoted member of the church of his faith.
Brother Endel died in Jacksonnville, Florida, March 28, 1932.
SIDNEY L. CARTER
Deputy Grand Master, 1899-1900
Brother Carter was born near Meridian, Mississippi, November, 1850, and came
Florida when he was twenty-five years of age. He located at Bronson, Florida,
lre he practiced law and was elected Representative of Levy County. He moved
Gainesville where he became known as one of the ablest lawyers in the state. He
fved eleven years as State Attorney for the sixth Judicial Circuit. He was a delegate
the State Constitutional Convention in 1885 and was elected three times to the
House of Representatives from Alachua County. He was raised to the Master's Degree
in Gainesville Lodge No. 41 September 11, 1889 and was Worshipful Master in
1892. He served as Junior Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge from 1895 to 1896,
Senior Grand Warden in 1897 and 1898, and Deputy Grand Master in 1899 and 1900.
Brother Carter died February 25, 1913.
IRVING ELROY WEBSTER
Grand High Priest, Royal Arch Masons, 1892
Grand Commander, Knight Templars, 1906
Grand Worthy Patron, Order Eastern Star, 1914
Brother Webster was born in Hartland, Vermont, February 13, 1852 and moved
to Gainesville, Florida in 1874.
He was initiated, passed and raised to Master Mason in Gainesville Lodge No.
41 on July 14, 1880 and served as Worshipful Master in 1884.
He served as Grand Commander of Knight Templars in 1906, as Grand High
Priest, Royal Arch Masons, in 1892 and as Grand Worthy Patron, Order of Eastern
In business life his earlier activities were banking in the city and county. Colonel
Webster, as he was most generally called, became a charter member of the "Gaines-
ville Guards" in 1878 and was in continuous service until 1903 when he retired as
Colonel. He served as Lt. Colonel, 1st Florida Volunteers, during the Spanish American
Brother Webster died April 20, 1827 and was buried in Evergreen Cemetery.
LAMAR G. CARTER
Grand Master, 1925-1926
Brother Carter was born August 11, 1877, in Levyville, Florida. He moved to
Mayo, Florida, in 1911.
He was raised to the Degree of Master Mason in Mayo Lodge No. 119 on
December 1, 1902. In 1922 he moved to Gainesville, Florida, and affiliated with
Gainesville Lodge No. 41 in 1923, serving as secretary in 1924, 1927, 1928 and 1929.
After faithfully serving in the various offices and stations of the Grand Lodge
he was elected Grand Master in 1925 and awarded the distinctive honor of following
the example of his illustrious father, Noville R. Carter, who served as Grand Master
Brother Carter was for many years a distinguished figure in Florida Masonry.
He became interested especially in the esoteric work as taught by the Grand Lodge
Committee on Work. He prevailed upon the Brethren of this Lodge to practice the
esoteric work of the various degrees and organized our first Degree Team.
Brother Carter died December 29, 1929 and was buried in Evergreen Cemetery,
Gainesville, Florida. His grave is marked by a Grand Lodge Memorial Stone.
WARREN SHERMAN TAYLOR
Grand Master, 1944-46
Brother Taylor was born in Franklin, Heard County, Georgia, May 1, 1887. He
was raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Mason, July 9, 1910, in Centralhatcher
Lodge No. 408, Centralhatcher, Georgia. He dimitted to Gainesville Lodge No. 41
from W. D. Lucky Lodge, Atlanta, Georgia, 1927. He served as Worshipful Master
of Gainesville Lodge No. 41 for the year 1930. He was elected Grand Master of
Masons in Florida in 1944. He had a distinction few masons have achieved in recent
years-that of serving two years as Grand Master.
During his tenure of office as Grand Master, Brother Taylor was extremely io
terested in the establishment of service centers for military personnel throughout the
State. It was through his efforts while Grand Master that it was made possible fo
Gainesville Lodge No. 41 to receive funds that enabled it to operate successfully th
Service Center for members of the armed forces.
Brother Taylor passed away at the Roosevelt Hotel, Jacksonville, Florida, on
September 16, 1947 and his remains were intered in Evergreen Cemetery, Gainesville,
Florida. His grave is marked by an impressive Grand Lodge Memorial Stone.
T. E. DICKENSON
Grand Commander, 1943-44
Brother Dickenson was a member of Gainesville Lodge during the period of 1912-
15. He eventually affiliated with Marion-Dunn Lodge No. 19, F. and A. M. of Ocala,
and the York Rite Bodies of that city. He served as Right Eminent Grand Commander
for the term 1943-44 and as Most Excellent Grand High Priest for the term 1954-55.
APPOINTIVE GRAND LODGE OFFICERS
District Deputy Grand Master: Bishop, J. F., 1955; Brewer, J. T., 1925, 1926
(Ira Carter No. 150); Bullard, W. M., 1921, 27, 30, 31; Collison, S. E., 1920;
Cushman, A. M., 1905, 1906, 1912; Higdon, W. B., 1907, 1908, 1909; McClellan,
Robert, 1915, 1916, 1917, 1918, 1919; Price, T. J., 1944, 1945; Schafer, R. T., 1911;
Schaffer, N. C., 1933, 1934, 1935, 1936, 1940; Shipp, R. L., 1947, 1948; Simpson,
E. V., 1938, 1939, 1951; Webster, I. E. 1915.
Grand Marshall: Cushman, A. M., 1904.
Grand Orator: Garris, E. W., 1944, 1945; Matherly, Walter J., 1950; Murphree,
Albert A., 1925, 1926.
Senior Grand Deacon: Schaffer, N. C., 1944, 1945.
Junior Grand Deacon: Bullard, W. M., 1934.
Grand Sword Bearer: Garris, E. W., 1947; Higdon, W. B., 1905; Schaffer, N.
Senior Grand Steward: Higdon, W. B., 1905, 1906.
Junior Grand Steward: Schaffer, N. C., 1937, 1938.
Grand Pursuivant: Bullard, W. M., 1955.
GRAND LODGE COMMITTEE MEMBERS
Returns and Credentials: Higdon, W. B., 1906; Webster, I. E., 1915, 1917.
Propositions and Grievances: Baker, W. E., 1913; Cushman, A. M. 1909; Price,
T. J., 1943.
Finances and Accounts: Bullard, W. M., 1921, 1928, 1929, 1930, 1931, 1933,
1934, 1935, 1937, 1939; Cushman, A. M., 1904, 1905, 1910, 1911, 1912, 1913,
1914, 1915; Garris, E. W., 1941, 1942; Hundley, D. B., 1934, 1935, 1936, 1937;
Schaffer, N. C., 1940, 1941.
Dispensations and By-Laws: Leake, J. M., -; Schaffer, N. C., 1937, 1938.
Masonic Jurisprudence: Price, T. J., 1948.
Printing: Shepherd, C. B., 1944.
Distribution: Sweet, A. W., 1926; Willougby, C. H., 1955.
Past Master's Degree: Higdon, W. B., 1905; McClellan, Robert, 1912.
Foreign Correspondence: Price, T. J., 1954; Willoughby, C. H. -; Bullard,
W. M., .
Board of Trustees, Masonic Home: Garris, E. W., 1942-47.
Masonic Museum: Schaffer, N. C., 1944 to present.
Masonic History: Leake, J. Miller, 1944; Willoughby, C. H., 1947.
District Instructor: Price, T. J., 1949-50; Bishop, J. F., 1951-54, 1956; Grubbs,
J. A., 1955.
Bullard, W. M.-North Dakota; Carter, Lamar G.-New South Wales; Carter,
Sydney L.-Louisiana; Cushman, A. M.-South Australia; Endel, Marcus-Arizona;
Garris, E. W.-District of Columbia; Price, T. J.-Alberta; Schaffer, Nile C.-Ken-
tcky and Massachusetts; Taylor, Warren S.-Nebraska and Georgia; Webster, Irving
SERVICE OF GAINESVILLE LODGE MEMBERS IN CIVIC AFFAIRS
Although this publication is essentially a history of Gainesville Lodge No. 41,
F. and A.M., the account would not be complete without due recognition being given to
those individual brethren who have distinguished themselves in fields other than
Masonry. Among our members, past and present, can be found a generous variety of
vocations, occupations, skills and professions. The fact that our Lodge is located in
close proximity to the University of Florida accounts for the inclusion of many edu-
cators and scientists on the roll of membership. The brethren herein listed or eulogized
are those, to our best knowledge, who have become outstanding in their respective
civilian fields of endeavor and, hence, have contributed to the prestige of the fraternal
order they represent.
DR. ALBERT ALEXANDER MURPHREE
Dr. Murphree, President of the University of Florida, 1909 to 1927, was born
April 29, 1870, near Chepultepec in northeast Alabama.
Dr. Murphree was an active and prominent member of the Masonic Order. At
ont time or another he held every office in Jackson Lodge No. 1 at Tallahassee, includ-
ing the office of Worshipful Master. He transferred his membership from Jackson
Lodge to Gainesville Lodge No. 41 on March 25, 1924. Because of his great responsi-
bilities and many duties as head of the University, Dr. Murphree was able to devote
but very little time to lodge work in Gainesville but was quite regular in his attendance
at lodge meetings and took a great interest in the Commandary, of which he was
also a member. In 1926 he served as Grand Orator of the Grand Lodge of the
State of Florida.
Dr. Murphree was a religious man and lived his religion. He was a member
of the First Baptist Church, serving as a faithful and active deacon. He was also
teacher of the Men's Bible Class for several years and Superintendent of the Sunday
He also served for several years as President of the State Baptist Convention of
Florida and was honored with the position of Vice-president of the Southern Baptist
Convention. He was also a trustee of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary at
Louisville, Kentucky, for a number of years. He also served as a member of the Edu-
cation Board of the Southern Baptist Convention.
In 1909 Dr. Murphree became President of the University of Florida in which
capacity he served until his death December 20, 1927. The University of Florida,
under the leadership of Dr. Murphree, experienced a rapid and tremendous growth
from 186 students at the beginning of his term of office to 2167 at the time of his
Dr. Murphree was a leader in a wide field. He represented the University o
Florida in the Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools of the Southern States
and in the National Association of State Universities in the United States. Here his
leadership among educators of both the South and the Nation stood out in bold
perspective. He was serving his third year as a member of the Executive Committee
of the Southern Association and as President of the National Association at the tio
of his death. His opinion was sought and respected by educational leaders the co00"
try over in connection with the affairs of these bodies.
He passed away at his home in Gainesville, December 20, 1927, and was buried in
the family lot at Tallahassee.
DAVID LEVY YULEE
Brother Yulee is listed in Combined Grand Lodge Proceedings (1860-1867) as
a member of Hayward Lodge No.7, F. and A. M., Gainesville. The account of this
lodge was related in a previous chapter of this History. He was also listed as a mem-
ber of Gainesville Lodge No. 41 in 1868.
David Levy Yulee was born on the Island of St. Thomas, West Indies, in 1810.
His father was a former member of the nobility of Morocco, his mother was English.
He was sent to a private school in Virginia in 1819 where he remained for six
years; he then went to one of his father's plantations at Micanopy, Florida. He studied
law at St. Augustine under Judge R. R. Reid, but later abandoned the profession for
a political career. He was elected Territorial delegate to the United States Congress
in 1841 and again in 1843. When Florida was admitted to the Union, he was
elected one of the first Senators, holding office from 1845 to 1851. He was defeated
for re-election in 1851, but was returned again as Senator in 1855. In 1861 he re-
signed as Senator to support the cause of the Confederacy. During the years 1851
to 1861 he worked on the building of the Cross Florida Railroad from Fernandina to
Cedar Key. During this time his headquarters were in Gainesville. In 1861 he moved
his family to Homosassa, Florida, for the duration of the Civil War. He was arrested
by Federal officers in Gainesville in May, 1865, and sent as prisoner to Fort Pulaski,
Georgia. He was released by order of General Grant early in 1866 and returned to
Florida. In 1880 he went to Washington, D.C., to live with his daughter's family.
He died while on a visit to New York City on October 10, 1886.
DR. JOHN JAMES TIGERT
Brother Tigert petitioned Gainesville Lodge No. 41, July 11, 1944. His petition
followed the usual course. After the ballot was taken, his Masonic progress was
arrested by Most Worshipful Warren S. Taylor, Grand Master, for the purpose of
making him a Mason-At-Sight. This rare ceremony was conferred by a Gainesville
Lodge degree team during the Grand Lodge Communication of 1946, Jacksonville,
with M. W. Brother Taylor presiding.
John James Tigert, a descendent of an illustrious line of educators and church-
men, was born in Nashville, Tennessee, Feburary 11, 1882. After his early education
in the public schools of Tennessee and at Vanderbilt University, he was selected to
receive the first Rhodes Scholarship award from Tennessee for study at Oxford Uni-
( He served as President of Wesleyan College, Kentucky, and as Professor of
Philosophy and Psychology, University of Kentucky. In 1921 he was appointed
United States Commissioner of Education. He served until 1928 when he was ap-
pointed President of the University of Florida. He served in that position until 1947.
On his retirement after nineteen years as President of the University, he was
designated President Emeritus, and by authority of the Board of Control, the degree
of Doctor of literature was conferred upon him by his successor, Dr. J. Hillis Miller,
with the following cititation:
"Because of your great achievement and contributions to American Education
as Administrator, Author, Teacher, Philosopher, and 'Friend of Youth' it is a singular
honor for me to confer upon you the degree of Doctor of Literature and I now pre-
sent to you this diploma and appropriate hood to be placed on your shoulders."
After his retirement as president he became Visiting Professor of Philosophy,
University of Miami, Florida, 1949-55.
Dr. Tigert received many distinguished honors during his varied career. Among
Others, he has been made: Life Trustee, Vanderbilt University; Fellow, Royal Society
of Arts (London); member, National Association of State Universities; Newcomer,
Society of North America.
Dr. Tigert has published many articles on education as well as several books on
higher education, child welfare and rural life, and related subjects.
KLEIN HARRISON GRAHAM
Dr. Klein Harrison Graham had a long and distinguished career at the University
of Florida, having forty-one years and two months of continuous service, longer than
that of any other person.
Klein Harrison Graham was born at Deer Park, Maryland, October 24, 1884.
He attended private and public schools in Piedmont, West Virginia. He came to Ala-
chua County in 1889, at which time his father was Cashier of the First National
Bank of Gainesville. He attended East Florida Seminary in 1899-1900 and from 1900
to 1902 was a student of the University of West Virginia.
The University of Florida opened its doors in Gainesville for the first time in
September, 1906, having been moved from Lake City, and Dr. Graham became
associated with the University as Auditor in December of that year. In 1915 his
title was changed to that of Business Manager, in which capacity he served until his
retirement in February, 1948.
Dr. Graham has also been very active in several civic and social organizations.
He has been a member of Gainesville Lodge No. 41, F. and A. M., since 1911 and
is a Past High Priest of Gainesville Chapter No. 2, Royal Arch Masons. He has
also served as Exalted Ruler of the Gainesville Lodge of Elks. He is a member and
former president of the Gainesville Rotary Club and past president of the Association
of Southern Educational Buyers. He belongs to the Beta Theta Pi and the Pi Gamma
Mu Fraternities. Dr. Graham is a member of the Episcopal Church and has served his
church as vestryman and also as senior warden.
WILLIAM REUBEN THOMAS
Brother Thomas was an active member of Gainesville Lodge No. 41, F. and A.
M., from 1904 until 1931. During that time he joined all bodies of the Masonic
Order as well as the Shrine.
Major W. R. Thomas was one of Gainesville's outstanding citizens. He was born
and reared in Gainesville, the date of his birth being May 24, 1866. His vision,
means and influence wrought tremendous changes in the city's development. He
erected and owned the Thomas Hotel and the Hotel White House.
After receiving his AB degree from Vanderbilt University in 1888, Major
Thomas engaged in educational work for six years. He was principal of the Fort
Meade School for two years, occupied the Chair of Language at the East Florida
Seminary at Gainesville and for two years was principal of the Gainesville High School.
He began his long and successful business career in 1894. He became associated
with the Thomas Hardware Co. and afterwards became interested in several large
enterprises, serving as president of the Gainesville Furniture Company, president of
the Dutton Bank, president of the Gainesville National Bank. He was also connected
with various other important concerns.
Major Thomas served GAnesville as Mayor for six consecutive years from April,
1901 until April, 1907. He also represented Alachua County in the State Senate for
several terms. To Major Thomas goes a large share of the credit for the lovely modern
city of Gainesville that came up from a straggling village.
SELDON FENNELL WALDO
Brother Waldo was raised in Gainesville Lodge No. 41, F. and A. M., in 1943
and was an active member until his death in 1950.
Seldon F. Waldo was one of the most outstanding young men of the nation.
He lived in Gainesville all of his life, being born in the city March 1, 1915. He at-
tended Gainesville public schools and the University of Florida. He received his A. DB
degree in 1937 and Law Degree with high honors ih 1939, both from the University
Immediately after graduation, Mr. Waldo began to practice law, being a mem .
of the firm of Gray, Waldo and Chandler. He served as president, junior section, f
the Florida Bar Association in 1944 and 1945. A year later he served as president
of the Eighth Judicial Bar Association. He was Municipal Judge of Gainesville from
1942 to 1944 and served part time as professor of law at the University of Florida.
Mr. Waldo was a member of the Kiwanis Club, the Jaycees, a past Exalter Ruler
of the Elks, member of the Boys' Club, Chamber of Commerce, Florida State Chamber
of Commerce, and the Methodist Church. He served several terms on the Board of
Stewards of the Methodist Church and was Chairman for one term. Mr. Waldo was
known throughout the country for his outstanding work in the Junior Chamber of
Commerce. He joined the Gainesville Jaycees in the mid 1930's, later was president
of the local club and then served as president of the State Jaycees. Following the war
he was named president of United States Junior Chamber of Commerce. He was
cited as the outstanding national director of the United States Junior Chamber of
Commerce in 1944 and 1945.
WILLIAM LUTHER HILL
Worshipful Brother Hill was raised in Gainesville Lodge No. 41, F. and A. M.,
in 1897 and served as Worshipful Master in 1917. During his tenure as Worshipful
Master he accepted the position of secretary for United States Senator Duncan U.
Fletcher and served in this capacity until the death of Senator Fletcher in June 1936.
On July 1 of that year he was appointed United States Senator for Florida by
Governor David Scholtz to fill the unexpired term of Senator Fletcher or until No-
vember 3, 1936. At that time he returned to Gainesville to practice law. Brother Hill
was born in Gainesville on October 17, 1873 and died here January 5, 1951. He was
a graduate of the East Florida Seminary and the University of Florida. He received
his life membership in our lodge in 1947.
JAMES B. DAWKINS
Brother Dawkins joined the lodge in 1866 after prior membership in Hayward
Lodge No. 7, Gainesville. He represented Alachua County at the Secession Conven-
tion at Tallahassee in 1861 and was a member of the Confederate Congress, being
elected from Gainesville in February, 1862, and serving until the end of the War
Between the States. During the period of 1877 to 1883 he was Judge of the Fifth
Judicial Circuit. He remained a member of the lodge until the time of his death in
WILLIAM STANMORE CAWTHON
Brother Cawthon was raised a Master Mason in Escambia Lodge No. 15, F. and
A. M., Pensacola, in 1913 and dimitted to Gainesville Lodge No. 41 the same year.
He remained a member of the latter lodge throughout the years and received a life
membership. Jackson Lodge No. 1, Tallahassee, made him an honorary member in
1918. He was also a Scottish Rite Mason and a member of the Shrine.
He was born near Alberton, Alabama, October 30, 1871, the son of a Confed-
erate Army Captatin. Brother Cawthon came to Florida to attend the State Normal
School at DeFuniak Springs, graduating in 1890. He taught in small, one-teacher
schools in West Florida until 1898 and the following year taught mathematics in the
High School at St. Augustine. He later taught at Madison and at summer schools for
teachers at Milton, Chipley and Bristol.
Brother Cawthon did his collegiate work at Southern University (Alabama),
Cornell University, Peabody College, University of Chicago, University of Wisconsin
and the University of Florida where he received his M. A. degree and also taught
mathematics. In 1916 he became State High School Inspector and served as State
Superintendent of Public Instruction from 1922 to 1937. He again returned to the
University of Florida to teach until his retirement in 1942. Brother Cawthon is the
father of four sons and two daughters and at present lives in Tallahassee.
WILLIAM NICHOLAS SHEATS
Brother Sheats was born at Auburn, Georgia, in 1851. He won his A. B. degree
at Emory College in 1873 and his A. M. degree at the same institution in 1876. After
moving to Florida in 1886 he served as the principal of several high schools in the
State, including Gainesville. He became Superintendent of Alachua County schools
in 1880 and remained in that capacity until 1892. The following year he became
Superintendent of Public Instruction of Florida. In 1913 he obtained his LL.D. de-
gree at Stetson University and the same year he again became State Superintendent,
serving as such until his death in July, 1922. He was an active member of Gaines-
vill Lodge No. 41 from 1892 to 1906.
WILLIAM M. HOLLOWAY
Brother Holloway was born at Lake Butler, Florida, July 8, 1862. During the
period 1883-1893 he taught in various high schools about this State and served as
Superintendent of Alachua County Schools from 1893 to 1905. He became State
Superintendent of Public Instruction of Florida in 1905 and held this office for two
terms. Brother Holloway was an active member of Gainesville Lodge from 1893 to
DEANS AND DIRECTORS, UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA
Arnett, William T., College of Agriculture; Benton, J. R., College of Engineer-
ing; Cater, Edwin P., Superintendent, East Florida Seminary; Cox, Harvey W., Col-
lege of Education, University of Florida and President, Emory University, Atlanta,
Georgia; Guilliams, J. M., Superintendent, East Florida Seminary and founder of the
Normal School, Jasper, Florida; Matherly, Walter J., College of Business Administra-
tion; Newell, Wilmon, College of Agriculture; Norman, J. W., College of Education;
Page, Ralph E., College of Arts and Sciences; Reed, P. L., College of Engineering;
Scott, J. M., Vice Director, Agricultural Experiment Station; Simmons, G. Ballard,
College of Education; Simpson, Thomas M., Dean of Graduate School; Spencer, A.
P., Director Emeritus, Agricultural Extension Service; Vernon, J. J., College of
HEADS OF DEPARTMENTS, UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA
Black, A. P., Department of Chemistry; Brown, Arthur C., State Plant Commis-
sioner; Bryan, O. C., Department of Agronomy; Burger, O. F., Department of Plant
Pathology; Chaffin, Jef, Inspection Service, State Plant Board; Cody, M. D., De-
partment of Botany; Colison, S. E., Department of Chemistry; Emig, Elmer B., Head
Professor of Journalism; Enwall, H. O., Department of Philosophy; Floyd, .B. F.,
Division of Plant Physiology; Fouts, Everett L., Head of Department of Dairy Science;
Garris, E. W., Department of Agricultural Education; Graham, Klein H., Business
Manager; Hadley, Milton B., Head Librarian; Haskell, Lyman G., Department of
Physical Education; Haynie, E. A., Head of Vocational Agriculture, State of Florida;
Herrington, G. L., Head of Boys 4-H Club Work, State of Florida; Hinckley, Elmer
D., Department of Psychology; Leake, J. Miller, Department of History; Merrill,
G. B., Entomologist, State Plant Board; Price, T. J., Comptroller; Shealy, A. L.,
Department of Animal Husbandry; Weber, George F. Plant Pathologist, School of
Forestry; Willoughby, C. H., Department of Animal Husbandry.
PROFESSORS, UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA
Brumley, Frank W.; Cawthon, W. S.; Clark, Washington A.; Creighton, John
T.; Goin, Coleman J.; Grey, John; Health, Fred H.; Henderson, Leon N.; Loften,
W. T.; Miller, James W., Jr.; O'Bryne, F. M.; Otte, B. J.; Payne, Ancil N.; Perry,
W. S.; Prescott, Ford L.; Quigley, Thomas H.; Roemer, Joseph; Shoonmaker, L. E.;
Stoutamire, Ralph (Editor, Agriulture and Extension Publications); Sweet, A. W.;
Vitatoe, J. A.; Voss, Elbert; Walker, Seth S.; Wann, John L.; West, Erdman; Winters,
Allen, Robert F.; Austin, Archie B.; Barnett, R. H.; Broyles, Richard J.; Camp-
bell, Bernard; Carpenter, W. J.; Cloar, J. J.; Cooke, Don A. ; Day, Festus E.; Dun-
ham, Francis B.; Edwards, R. H.; Gordon, U. S.; Hough, George A.; Householder,
A. E.; Hundley, W. T.; Jackson, M. D.; Keyes, Roy B.; Leman, Clarence C.; Lips-
comb, Clyde B.; McCaul, Thomas V.; Moore, L. W.; Newman, J. C.; Nixon, J. T.;
O'Kelley, N. B.; Perry, B. F. D.; Rape, Benjamin T.; Rogers, S. B.; Sharp, A. T.;
Sheffield, L. O.; Spears, W. L.; Stoney, William S.; Strickland, William C.; Temple-
ton, R. B.; Thompson, Cecil A.; Thrower, B. K.; Tomkies, J. H.; Wakefield, Francis
B.; Wesley, H. F.
OFFICIALS, CITY OF GAINESVILLE
Mayor: Bartleson, John F.; Batey, Hal C.; Baxley, M. H.; Brooking, Charles S.;
Burnett, Samuel J.; Butler, James M.; Colson, Dr. J. H.; Fowler, J. R.; Graham, Lee;
Steadham, John; Thomas, Major W. R.; Waldo, Dr. George S.
Member, City Council or Commission-Council: Benson, H. E.; Bullard, W. M.;
Burkham, L. J.; Ott, Roy V.; Shands, W. A.; Webster, Irving E. Commission: Goin,
Sanford W.; Harrold, Chester S.; Brooking, Charles S.
Others: Boothby, J. A., City Council, Cedar Key, Florida; Boyd, James Robert,
City Council, Jacksonville, Florida.
OFFICIALS, ALACHUA COUNTY
Sheriff: Burnett, S. W.; Crevasse, Joseph M. Jr.; Pinkoson, Charles; Ramsey,
Member, Board County Commissioners: Bevill, Stephen P.; Burnett, S. W.;
Clark, W. D.; Hague, Arch; Lynn, Daniel; Matheson, J. D.; McDonnell, T. A.;
Rains, C.; Ramsey, Perry G.; Strickland, William; Todd, J. O.
Clerk Circuit Court: Benton, H. C.; Bevill, Stephen P.; Burnett, S. W.
County Tax Collector: Arnow, J. Leslie; Hodges, Edwin D.
County Tax Assessor: Booth, John W.; Davis, Robert W.; Gardner, J. C.
Member, Board of Public Instruction: Baird, Eberle; Kelly, Dr. J. L. ; Parker,
Flake A. ; Stoutamire, Ralph.
County Agricultural Agent: Blitch, Loonis.
County Attorney Douglass J. B.; Fagan, Osee R. 1
County Judge: Carlisle,, J. A.; Gardner, J. C.
County Superintendent of Public Instruction: Holloway, William M.; Kelly, Dr.
J. L.; Sheats, William M.; Zetrouer, Horace F.
OFFICIALS, STATE OF FLORIDA
State Attorney: Adkins, J. C.; Buie, A. P.; Carter, Sidney L.; Farrier, J. Rex.
State Senator: Colson, Dr. J. H.; Shands, W. A. (President of the Senate);
Thomas, W. R.
Member, State House of Representatives: Adkins, J. C.; Barrett, Frederick; Carlisle,
J. A.; Carter, Sidney L.; Dell, James B.; Dell, Phillip; Edwards, A. M.; Ingram, T.;
Shipp, John S. Jr.
State Superintendent of Public Instruction: Cawthon, W. S.; Holloway, William
M.; Sheats, William M.
United States Senator: Hill, William L.; Yulee, David L.
In addition to the officials listed above, members of the lodge have in the years
Past, held numerous other positions with the city, county and state governments.
SERVICE OF GAINESVILLE LODGE MEMBERS IN THE ARMED FORCES.
As a fraternal order, Masonry has no interest in wars since it is chiefly con-
cerned with the uplifting of mankind. Its methods of teaching involve symbols and
allegorical figures. Yet, when mortal conflicts strike, the individual members, as loyal
citizens take their respective places in the service of their country. Among the nation's
military leaders are many members of the fraternity, some have been made Masons at
sight during or after success in the armed services. Masons have served in all ranks
and in all branches of the services, in all major wars and conflicts. During the War
Between The States, Masons were loyal to their respective convictions without re-
This attitude of loyalty and willingness to sacrifice for a common cause is re-
flected in the actions of many members of Gainesville Lodge No. 41. Numerous
brethren entered military service as conditions dictated throughout the one hundred
years of our existence. Some made the supreme sacrifice, many returned to render
valued service to this lodge and the community. To recognize them by placing their
names in the following lists is but a feeble tribute to brethren of our lodge who
dutifully served as guardians of our country.
GENERAL ALBERT HAZEN BLENDING
Among the many brethren of our lodge who have served in various military
capacities, probably Brother Albert Blanding has been most outstanding. As a mem-
ber of the Florida National Guard, he rose from the rank of Captain to that of Colonel
during the period of 1899-1917. He joined the regular army in 1917 and was com-
missioned a Brigadier General, serving in France with that rank during World Warl.
In 1924, he was appointed Major General, National Guard, and was made Chief
of the National Guard Bureau in 1936. He was retired in 1940 with the rank of
Lieutenant General, National Guard.
Brother Blanding was awarded the Distinguished Service Medal and the Florida
Cross. He was further honored by the naming of Camp Blanding for him. He was an
Incorporator of the American Legion and the first Commander of the Department
He graduated from the East Florida Seminary in 1894 and received his LL.D.
Degree at the University of Florida in 1942. While a resident of Gainesville and
vicinity he was associated with lumber and phosphate enterprises. During his public
service career he served as a member of the Board of Control of Florida and the
Florida State Plant Board for the period 1922-36.
Brother Blanding was a member of our lodge from 1905 to 1934. He was
originally from Iowa and presently resides in Bartow, Florida.
(In the following lists, the highest rank of career is indicated if known.)
IN SERVICE OF THE CONFEDERACY
D. H. Bennett, Cpl.; R. H. Beville; T. H. Blake; T. P. Boulware; George Kno0
Broome; William Bryant; S. W. Burnett; E. P. Cater, Col.; R. C. Clowney, Cpl.
W. P. Colclough; Dr. J. D. Cromwell; Robert W. Davis, Col.; H. C. Denton; Rober
J. Denton; H. C. Dozier; Thad. Foster, Capt.; James M. Graham; L. L. Hill; J. W
Little; Dr. James McKinstry; J. D. Matheson; T. J. Meyers, Capt.; G. C. Richwood;
P. W. Scott; John Sparkman; John M. Taylor; Dr. G. P. Thomas; B. H. Thrasher
Rev. J. H. Tomkies; John J. Vaughn, Sgt.; E. C. Wimberly.
SPANISH AMERICAN WAR
B. D. Beasley, A.; Syd. L. Carter, A.; Francis D. Guerry, Sgt. A.; George D.
Litherland, Lt. A.; J. F. Morgap, A.; Irving E. Webster, Col. A.
MEXICAN BORDER CAMPAIGN
G. A. Barber, Pfc. A.; Joseph L. Hechinger, Sgt. A.
WORLD WAR I
Neal Adams, Sr., A.; Wray B. Avera, Col. A.; James E. Baker, Sgt. A.; G.
A. Barber, Pfc. A.; J. F. Bishop, Cpl. A.; A. H. Blanding, Gen. A.; J. W. Bland-
ing, Maj. A.; Percy M. Boothby, Cpl. A.; Rev. Richard J. Broyles, Capt. A.; Dr.
W. J. Buck, Capt. A.; Cecil E. Bunker, Cpl. A.; R. A. Cox, Sic. N.; Jesse G. Davis,
Sgt. A.; R. Hood Dittmar, Pvt. 4.; J. Rex Farrier, Sgt. A.; Hess G. Florida, Lt. A.;
Everett L. Fouts, Pvt. A.; J. A. Gibbs, Pvt. A.; Ed. Gibson, Pfc. A.; Newbold C.
Goin, W.O. A.; Rev. U. S. Gordon, Pfc. A.; Dr. Allen Graham, Capt. A.; A. A.
Green, A.; L. E. Gwinn, Pfc. A.; W. W. Hampton, II, Capt. A.; Edward H.
Harnel, Sgt. A.; Joseph L. Hechinger, Sgt. A.; Ellis W. Holder, Sic. N.; Harold
A. Howard, Lt. A.; D. B. Hundley, Col. A.; Wm. D. Klinepeter, Col. A.; C. A.
Lee, Sgt. A.; Morris K. Levis, A.; George D. Litherland, Lt. A.; Rev. T. V. McCaul,
Religious Secretary of Army Y. M. C. A.; M. R. McGilvray, Cpl. A.; Sam Mixson,
Lt. A.; Ray E. Morris, Pvt. A.; W. H. Morton, Lt. A.; J. A. Neller, Cpl. A.F.; B.
J. Otte, Cpl. A.; Ralph E. Page, Pfc. A.; Carl (Tootie) Perry, A.; Dick T.
Philyaw, A.; W. W. Picket, Capt. A.; W. O. Ray, N.; Ben T. Rape, N.; Percy L.
Reed, Lt. A.; T. R. Schafer, A.; Lucas E. Schoonmaker, Col. A.; J. W. Shands, A.;
Arthur Shealy; G. Ballard Simons, SK3c. N.; Brian O. Stapleton, Sgt. A.; Morris
E. Stults, Pvt. A.; C. R. Swartz, N.; H. Leroy Taylor, A.; Clinton A. Thompson,
Sgt. A.; John J. Tigert, A.; Dr. G. C. Tillman, A.; James O. Todd, Lt. Col. A.;
Albert Vidal, N.; Jesse A. Vitatoe, Capt. A.; Rev. Francis B. Wakefield, Lt. A.;
Dr. G. S. Waldo, Capt. A.; O. P. Wells, N.; J. A. Williams, Sgt. A.; R. J. Williams,
Cpl. A.; Wm. H. Winsemann, Capt. M.C.; Horace F. Zetrouer, Lt. A.
Lee W. Clayton, EMlc. N.
WORLD WAR II
Neal Adams, Jr., M.C.; James C. Adkins, Jr., -Pvt. A.; Thomas J. Allen,
MOMM2c. N.; Jesse W. Andrews, N.; Wm. T. Arnett, Lt. Col. A.; Wm. N. Avera,
N.; Wray B. Avera, Col. A.; Malcom A. Baldwin, A.; H. C. Baldwin, A.; Horace
G. Bates, Capt. A.F.; Wm. H. Baxley, Jr. A.F.; R. B. Beard, Jr., N.; Oscar B. Beasley,
Col. A.; Nalton M. Bennett, Capt. M.C.; F. F. Bickerstaff, A.; John M. Bliziotes,
Lt. A.; Leon M. Blizitoes, Capt. A.F.; Samuel A. Bostick, Sgt. A.; Flagler H. Bran-
aen, MOMM2c. N.; A. Ray Brown, Sgt. A.; Buford Brunson, Sgt. A.; W. C. Bryan,
CPO. N.; Fred A. Buns, N.; Alvis A. Byers, CMlc. N.; John Carter, N.; O. G.
Carter, N.; Harry P. Casteen, N.; Don Chenoweth, Sgt. A.F.; Howard E. Coleman,
Sgt. A.; Don A. Cook, Chap. A.; Thomas J. Collins, Jr., Capt. A.F.; C. R. Couch,
Jr., Sgt. A.; Albert E. Crown, Pfc. A.; John F. Crum, Sgt. M.C.; William E. Dail,
N.; Joel B. Davis, N.; Joseph T. Donalson, Pfc. A.; Geo. J. Dover, Jr., Maj. A.;
Janes H. Dowling, Pfc. A.; Geo. Dreblow, Jr., A.; Bynum Dudley, CMoMM. N.;
wnm. T. Duggan, Jr., Sgt. A.F.; Oliver J. Edwards, Cpt. A.; E. E. Ek, Lt. N.A.C.;
Giles L. Ellis, Cpl. A.; Osee R. Fagan, Sgt. A.; Jesse I. Felder, Sgt. A.F.; Carl Fetner,
Sgt. A.C.; Seldon D. Feurt, N.; Millard K. Forehand, N.; Geo. R. Freeman, Lt.
Col. A. F.; Spero E. Geaniotes, A.; J. A. Gibbs, Jr. Lt. A.; George M. Giffin, A.;
Charles S. Giles, Sgt. A.; M. E. Glisson, N.; Sanford W. Goin, CCM. N.; H. L.
Gray, Lt. Col. A.; Earnest Green, SK3c. N.; J. Benjamin Griffin, Lt. Col. M.C.; J.
A. Grubbs, Sgt. M.A.C.; James L. Hales, Jr., Pvt. A.F.; Wm. Wade Hampton, III,
Capt. A.; Tompie S. Hampton, Jr., Lt. A.F.; Robert C. Hancock, Sgt. A.; Hugh W.
Harling, PO3c. N.; Chester S. Harrold, Jr., RTlc. C.G.; Merton T. Hartman, Jr.,
Capt. A.; D. Dashwood Hicks, Pfc. M.C.; George Hayes, Cpl. A.; Godfrey M.
Hayes, Capt. A.F.; Calvin C. Hemphill, A. Winton E. Henson, MoMM3c. N.; Geo.
P. Hendrix, Jr., A.; Charles D. Hooker, N.; Perry C. Hopkins, Maj. A.; C. R.
Home, N.; D. B. Hundley, Lt. Col. A.; W. 0. Jefferson, A.; James E. Johnson,
Rlc. N.; Francis D. Johnson, A.; Calvin M. Jones, PO2c. N.; Paul E. Kalb, A.; John
W. Kalway, Jr., Ens. C.G.; David C. Kite, Sr., Pfc. A.F.; David C. Kite, Jr., CT3c.
N.; Wm. D. Klinepeter, Col. A.; Conrad W. Knight, N.; John G. F. Knight, Cpl.
A.; Wm. A. Kolger, Sgt. A.F.; Arthur C. Krisher, N.; C. A. Lee, L.O. A.; Condie
I. Lewis, Lt. A.; Rev. Clyde B. Lipscomb, Lt. N.; Allyn C. Litherland, Capt. A.;
Wm. N. Long, Sgt. A.; Daniel R. Lynn, Sgt. A.; Gerald A. McAllister, A. F.;
James D. McCullum, S. N.; Wm. J. McElwain, Jr., Cadet, N.A.C.; C. A. McGriff,
Jr., A.; John D. McMillan, Jr., Pfc. M.C.; Roe M. Martin, CDR. N.; Dell Martin,
N.; Geo. S. Middleton, Sr., Lt. N.; Harry M. Miller, Pvt. A.; Albert H. Miller,
Maj. A.; W. Lee Monk, E. N.; Jack Moore, Lt. N.; James D. Morris, Jr., M.C.;
A. A. Musseau, Jr., A.; James E. Pace, A.; Flake A. Parker, Sgt. A.; Henry H.
Peerson, Sgt. A.F.; Richard K. Penn, Maj. A.; R. Preece, Jr. A.; Kermit Lee Prime,
Sgt. A.; R. M. Prichett, A.; Robert E. Procter, N.; Lawrence B. Reed, Maj. A.; J.
C. Reichart, Po3c. N.; Earnest C. Rhodes, SKVlc. N.; Joseph D. Rice, Lt. A. F.;
Kenneth O. Richard, Sgt. A.; Clyde J. Richardson, GM3c. N.; H. E. Ringling, A.,
Henry S. Sadlo, A.; Jack A. Santerfeit, Sgt. A.; W. L. Schock, N.; Wm. C. Schofield,
A.; Lucas E. Schoonmaker, Col. A.; John M. Scott, Jr., Lt. Col. A.; H. W. Searcy,
P.O. N.; Rev. L. O. Sheffield, Chap. A.; Bennie S. Sherouse, Flc. N.; John S. Shipp,
Jr., Lt. N.; D. M. Sizemore, A;. Edgar W. Smith, Maj. A.; John E. Smith, SP3c. N.;
Henry E. Smith; Joe Somnese, Cpl. A. F.; James L. South, Sic. N.; Robert W.
Stephens, Ens. N.; John E. Stover, A.F.; E. M. Swearinger, ChEM. N.; Richard G.
Tallman, Sgt. A.; Charles E. Taylor, Capt. A.; Milton J. Tankersley, Maj. A.; B.
M. Tench, Jr., Maj. A.; Troy O. Thames, AR2c. N.; J. Howard Thames, Ylc. N.;
Roy A. Thames, Rm2c. N.; Roy M. Tillis, A.; James O. Todd, Lt. Col. A.; Geo. O.
Tyre, ACMM. N.; Wm. H. Traxler, A.; Carl P. Turlington, A.; Jesse A. Vitatoe,
Capt. A.; J. E. Waugh, Jr., N.; Joe W. Wetherington, Lt. A.; James C. Wethering-
ton, Pfc. A.; George H. White, M. C.; James H. White, Jr., ADic. N.; M. C.
White, A.; Dr. Paul O. Wiig, A.; Donald B. Wilcox, Capt. A.; O. C. Wilkerson,
A.; S. R. Wilkinson, GMlc. N.A.C.; H. H. Wilkowshe, Lt. N.; Curtis R. Williams,
Sgt. A.; Robert L. Wilson, N.; John W. Wincey, A.; Wm. H. Winsemann, Capt.
M.C.; C. F. Winchester, Capt. A.F.; George H. Young, T-5. A.
Nalton M. Bennett, Capt. M.C.; Samuel A. Bostick, Sgt. A.; W. C. Bryan,
CPO. N.; Howard E. Coleman, Sgt. A.; Thomas J. Collins, Jr., Capt. A.F.; George
J. Dover, Jr., Maj. A.; Wm. T. Duggan, Jr., Sgt. A. F.; Oliver J. Edwards, Capt.
A.; E. E. Ek, Lt. N.A.C.; J. A. Gibbs, Jr., Lt. A.F.; J. Benjamin Griffin, Lt. Col.
M.C.; Godfrey M. Hayes. A. F.; Perry C. Hopkins, Maj. A.; Lenwood P. Johnson,
Sgt. A. F.; David C. Kite, Jr., CT3c. N.; Condie I. Lewis, Lt. A.; Keith Musgrove,
Cpl. M.C.; Edgar W. Smith, Maj. A.
Wm. T. Arnett, Lt. Col. A.; Rev. Richard J. Broyles, Capt. A.; Alvis A. Byer,
CMlc. N.; George J. Dover, Jr., Lt. Col. A.F.; Wm. H. Jones, Lt. A.; John D-
McMillan, Jr., Pfc. M.C.; George S. Middleton, Sr., Lt. N.; W. B. Watson, Jr., Lt.
N.; Horace F. Zetrouer, Lt. A.
Percy M. Boothby, Sgt.; G. A. Barber, Pfc.; E. W. Garris, Pvt.; James L. 1Hals,
Jr., Sgt.; Jesse P. Marshall; W. H. Morton, Capt.; Clyde J. Richardson, Sgt.
FLORIDA STATE GUARD
(World War II Period)
G. A. Barber, Maj.; C. B. Shepherd, Sgt.
Louis J. Burkhim, Lt.; Charles F. Smith, Sgt. (1893-4).
Ellis W. Holder, Lt. Cmdr.; John W. Kalway, Jr., Pilot.
Ralph E. Page, Capt.
CAREER SERVICE MEN
Wray B. Avera, Col. A.; Oscar B. Beasley, Col. A.; Nalton M. Bennett, Capt.
M. C.; A. H. Blanding, Gen. A.; Samuel A. Bostick, Sgt. A.; Howard E. Coleman,
Sgt. A.; Thomas J. Collins, Jr., Capt. A.F.; Bynum Dudley, A. N. C.G.; John A.
Gibbs, Jr., Lt. A. F.; Perry C. Hopkins, Maj, A.; D. B. Hundley, Lt. Col. A.;
Wm. D. Klinepeter, Col. A.; Condie I. Lewis, Sgt. A.; Geo. D. Litherland, Lt. A.;
Edgar W. Smith, Maj. A.; John E. Stover, A.F.; Charles E. Taylor, Capt. A.; Milton
J. Tankersley, Maj. A.; James O. Todd, Lt. Col. A.; Jesse A. Vitatoe, Capt. A.;
James H. White, Jr., ADic. N.
John W. Pring, 1899-1901, Queen's Own Royal West Kent Regiment.
Alfred V. Benzie, Cpl., World War I.
J. T. Brewer, NFlc. N.; Theo. M. Cheves, N.; John F. Crum, Sgt. M.C.; J.
Benjamin Griffin, Lt. Col. M.C.; Joseph L. Hechinger, Sgt. A.; Wm. T. Mark-
ham, Pfc. A.; Richard J. Ostrander, Lt. A.F.; Kenneth O. Richard, Sgt. A.; Earnest
Willie Sharpe, Maj. A.F.; Bennie S. Sherouse, Flc. N.; Morris E. Stults, Capt. A.;
Troy O. Thames, AL2c. N.; Joe W. Wetherington, Lt. A.
A BRIEF HISTORY OF THE YORK RITE IN GAINESVILLE
The York Rite had its beginning in Gainesville during January of 1878 when
a Chapter of Royal Arch Masons U. D. was formed by dispensation from the Grand
Chapter of Florida. One year later, on January 22, 1879, a charter was issued to
Gainesville Chapter No. 2, Royal Arch Masons at Gainesville. The first officers of
this Chapter were: Ed. P. Carter, High Priest; Marcus Endel, King; Stephen P. Bevill,
Scribe; W. H. Geiger, Treasurer; M. T. Cook Secretary.
At the end of the first year the membership of the Chapter was twenty and the
total for fees for the degrees was twenty dollars.
The Chapter has prospered through the years and 'at the end of 1955 had a
total membership of 242. Gainesville Chapter No. 2 has also had several Grand
Officers. Marcus Endel served as Most Excellent Grand High Priest during the years
1888 and 1889. Irving E. Webster, A. M. Cushman and Robert McClellan held that
high office for the years 1892, 1901 and 1912 respectively. Irving E. Webster served
as Right Excellent -Grand Treasurer for three years and Marcus Endel held the same
office for a total of thirty-three years.
The second of the York Rite Bodies to be chartered in Gainesville was Pilgrim
Commandery No. 7, Knights Templar. This Commandery was chartered by the
Grand Commandery of Florida at its annual conclave at Jacksonville, May 11, 1899.
This charter was issued to Sir Knights A. M. Cushman, George W. Hyde, C. J.
Joseph, Irving E. Webster, A. P. Morrow, E. J. Baird, George V. Crum, A. L.
Glass, J. M. Corbett and George F. Sickles.
On July 13, 1899, the first meeting of this Commandery was held and Right
Eminent Grand Commander of Florida, Elmer E. Haskel, was present to institute
and organize Pilgrim Commandery No. 7. He then installed officers as follows:
Eminent Commander, A. M. Cushman; Generalissimo, George W. Hyde; Captain
General, C. J. Joseph; Treasurer, E. J. Baird. The Order of Knighthood was then con-
ferred on a class of applicants consisting of Robert McClellan, H. E. Taylor, W. W.
Hampton, M. B. Saunders, C. W. Scott, W. R. Steckert, H. B. Lloyd and J. H. Earle.
The membership of the Commandery at the end of 1955 was 205, the fee for
the Orders was fifty-five dollars and dues were five dollars.
Pilgrim Commandery has had several Grand Officers among its members. Irving
E. Webster served as Right Eminent Grand Commander in 1906 and also served
as Grand Prelate for five years. Robert McClellan was Excellent Grand Standard
Bearer for the year 1907. J. A. Tucker served as Excellent Grand Sword Bearer during
1950 but resigned because of ill health. At present, J. W. Carter is serving as Ex-
cellent Junior Grand Warden.
The last of the York Rite Bodies to be chartered was Gainesville Council No. 27,
Royal and Select Masters. At a Special Assembly of the Grand Council of Royal and
Select Masters of Florida, held in Gainesville April 10, 1948, Gainesville Council
U. D. was instituted. Most Illustrious Companion Spencer L. Houston, Grand Illus
trious Master of Florida, presided over the meeting. Immediately after the opening
of the Grand Council a petition for dispensation to form a Council of Royal and
Select Masters wes presented; this was granted and petitions for the degrees were
received and balloted on. The degrees were conferred by the degree team of Miami,
The officers appointed by the Most Illustrious Grand Master were: H. W. Vories,
Illustrious Master; Warren M. Torlay, Illustrious Deputy Master; Arch J. Thomas, Jr.,
Principal Conductor of Work; Ancil N. Payne, Treasurer; J. C. Reichert, Recorder;
Charles E. Cook, Chaplain; Carl J. Davis, Captain of the Guard; T. H. McRorie,
Conductor of Council; James A. Tucker, Steward; and J. A. Burgess, Sentinel.
At the Annual Assembly of the Grand Council held in Winter Haven, May 18,
1948, a charter was granted to Gainesville Council No. 27.
At the end of the year 1955, the total membership of the Council was 109, the
fee for the degrees was ten dollars and annual dues were three dollars.
The chartering of this Council made the York Rite complete in Gainesville.
A BRIEF HISTORY OF GAINESVILLE CHAPTER 44
ORDER OF THE EASTERN STAR
On October 20, 1910, there was born in the City of Gainesville a new Star
Child; a member of the great family of Eastern Stars, its many brothers and sisters
watched with keen interest and anticipation the development of this prodigy.
On this date Sister Cora R. Franz, worthy Grand Matron of The Grand Chapter
of Florida, instituted Gainesville Chapter U. D., with the following charter members:
Mrs. Emma Saunders, Colonel Irving E. Webster, Mrs. Mae Coles, Mr. John J. Shands,
Mrs. Anna C. Shands, Mrs. Maude Huffman, Mrs. Gertrude Davenport, Miss Ethel
Webster, Miss Julia Wainwright, Mrs. Viola Palmer, Mr. Roy V. Ott, Mrs. Hosea
Bullard, Mr. John M. Scott, Mr. Lawrence C. Coles, Mrs. Harriet Vernon, Mr. John
W. Blanding, Miss Bertha Eves, Mrs. Lula Tompkies, Mrs. Mary S. Taylor, Mr.
James C. Adkins, Mr. Alonza M. Cushman, Mr. Robert Guy Zetrouer.
Some of the members were not present at the time Sister Franz made her visit for
the institution and a number of brothers were installed as star points: Roy Ott as
Adah, J. C. Adkins as Ruth, and Guy Zetrouer as Esther. Sister Franz commented
that she never saw so many brothers installed as Heroines of our Order. We under-
stand, however, they made very creditable sisters for the occasion.
The Gainesville Chapter had to struggle for its existence during its first five
years, although the last year of that period, 1915, we saw one of our charter members
installed as Worthy Grand Patron of the Grand Chapter of Florida. The next five
years saw the Chapter through the war years of World War I, and the Chapter was
well on its way to success.
The year 1925 saw the first husband and wife as presiding officers-Sister
Annie and Brother George Estabrook. Since that time the team of husband and wife
has presided over this Chapter nine times. This year our own Sister Verna Bullard,
now Sister Verna Brice, was elected Associate Grand Conductress of the Grand
Chapter of Florida.
Although the first few years were a struggle for existence, the Chapter, guided
by faithful workers, grew. From its start with 23 charter members, the Gainesville
Chapter has grown to a membership of over 290 members. The success of the Chapter
has been greatly due to the helping hands of its Past Matrons and Patrons who have
always been ready to advise and assist the new Matrons and Patrons.
The past forty-six years have seen many changes and many new faces in the
Chapter room. During these years Gainesville Chapter has furnished the Grand
Chapter of Florida with the following Grand Officers: Verna B. Brice, Worthy Grand
Matron; Irving E. Webster, Edward W. Garris and Vincent Brice, Worthy Grand
Patrons; Annie Estabrook, Susie Morrison and Erma Garris, Grand Chaplains; Ethel
Brown and Mary Laura Johnson, Grand Marshals; Emma Saunders, Grand Electa;
Maggie Olmstead, Grand Warder; Clifford Mathews, Grand Ruth; Ima Williams,
With the leadership and advice of these sisters and brothers and many others,
not listed, it is small wonder that Gainesville Chapter has often been called the
"Little Grand Chapter of Florida."
The fraternal love and fellowship that exist between the members of the Eastern
Star and their Masonic brothers is one of the many prides of Gainesville Chapter.
It is easy to see why a Chapter whose members practice in daily life the teachings
of this great order which is based on love of one another, charity to the needy, faith
to the demands of honor and justice, loyalty to its obligations and obedience to the
divine word of God should prosper and grow.
A BRIEF HISTORY OF THE GAINESVILLE SHRINE CLUB
The Shrine has often been called a playboy organization. This is true because
the founders of the Shrine wanted a romping ground that would keep alive the
spirit of the boy in man and generate good cheer and good fellowship. Yet, there is
no ceremony that is any more meaningful or so beautiful to watch as the ritualistic
section of the Shrine Degree.
The "playboy" idea prevailed for many years but with the opening of the first
Shriner's Hospital for Crippled Children in the city of Shreveport, Louisiana, on
September 16, 1922, the Shrine had found another way to vent a portion of its energy.
Today, eighteen Shriner's Hospitals for Crippled Children are in operation with eleven
hundred patients and 375,000 crippled children have been cured or materially helped
to become happy useful citizens.
The Shrine was founded in New York City in 1872 by thirteen charter mem-
bers. From that first Temple, known as Mecca and having a membership of thirteen,
the Shrine has grown to 166 Temples and more than 760,000 Nobles.
A letter dated March 25, 1888, from the Imperial Chief Rabban, James H.
Thompson, to Noble Henry S. Ely of Jacksonville, stated that the name Morocco had
been designated for a Temple in that city. Thus the 45th Temple in Shrinedom came
into existence. The charter was issued on June 25, 1888, under the guidance of its
first Potentate, Charles H. Mallett, with a membership of sixteen Nobles.
At this time the jurisdiction of Morocco Temple included the states of Florida,
Georgia and Alabama. With the creation of Yaarab Temple No. 51 at Atlanta, Geor-
gia, in 1889 and Zamora Temple No 56 at Birmingham, Alabama, in 1890, Morocco's
jurisdiction dwindled to the boundaries of the State of Florida. With the creation
of Egypt Temple No. 143 at Tampa in 1917, Mahi Temple No. 152 at Miami in
1921 and Bahi Temple No. 166 at Orlando in 1955, Morocco Temple's boundaries
were reduced to thirty-nine counties in North Florida, with an all-time high member-
ship of over 5,200.
In 1945 Potentate Norman C. Edwards of Morocco Temple decided to increase
the interest in Shrinedom by creating "Clubs" in the outlaying districts. During this
year and 1946, when Potentate Paul C. Tanner appointed him Organizational Chair-
man for Shrine Clubs, Edwards sponsored twenty-one Clubs.
On Friday, March 22, 1946, a group of twenty-eight Shriners, under guidance
of R. A. (Gus) Cox, met at the Thomas Hotel for the purpose of forming a Shrine
Club in Gainesville. At this meeting Neal Adams was elected as the first president
with Cox and E. D. Hague serving as vice-presidents. T. J. Price was elected secre-
tary-treasurer. On May 15, 1946, the Gainesville Shrine Club received its charter,
making it the eleventh club under Morocco Temple.
Although the first Wednesday of each month was designated the regulate meet-
ing night the club met only upon call by the president for the first several years.
At its second meeting a motion was made and passed that "a committee be appointed
consisting of J. C. Adkins, Horace Zetrouer, Gus Cox, E. D. Hague and Fred Clay-
ton to investigate the possibility of securing a location and erecting a club building,"
but it was not until 1954, under the guidance of President E. C. (Curly) Kuehn,
Jr., that this objective materialized.
In 1947, with Earl Simpson at the helm, the Club brought to Gainesville its
first Shrine ceremonial in twenty-seven years. Also in 1947 the Club sponsored the
Morocco Minstrels, the proceeds of which helped to buy new uniforms for the
Gainesville High School Band. The year 1950 brought the organization of a ladies'
auxiliary which flourished until Imperial Edict No. 5 of 1954 eliminated it as such.
Since then the ladies have operated without portfolio.
The year 1956 was a banner one for the Gainesville Shrine Club. The building
which was purchased in 1954 had been completely renovated and painted on the
outside. Much of this was made possible in 1955 by the fine work of President W. D.
(Pat) Padgett. President George H. Putnam has had solid assistance from Vice-presi-
dents Leonard E. Swanson and Dozier Dowling in cementing the fellowship of the
Note.-Although William R Steckert (Gainesville Lodge No. 41, F. and A. M.,
1908-1932) passed away before the formation of the Gainesville Shrine Club, it is
worthy of note that he served as Illustrious Potentate of Morocco Temple in Jackson-
ville in 1917 and is the only known non-Jacksonville resident to be elected Potentate
of this Temple.
GAINESVILLE LODGE NO. 41, F. & A. M.
JANUARY 19-20-21, 1957
Henry W. Searcy ..
Earl V. Simpson ....
T. J. Price ...
J. A. G ibbs .......
Lee W Clayton, Jr. ..............
Ralph E. Page .
Charles R. Couch, Sr. .....
C. B. Shepherd ....
Registration and Reception
E. W. Garris, Chairman
Walter P. Wynn
Charles R. Couch, Sr.
Robert T. Angel
W. T. Loften
Thomas J. Allen
Henry E. Smith
John A. Grubb, Chairman
Milton H. Baxley
Percy M. Boothby
Emil E. Ek
A. T. Macnab
Jackson K. Guerry
H. C. Horn
Ralph E. Page
J. A. Gibbs, Chairman
T. J. Price
Lee W. Clayton, Jr.
Henry W. Searcy
J. E. Stephens, Chairman
Warren M. Torlay, Jr.
Wm. S. Sanford, Jr.
George R. Freeman
Coleman J. Goin, Chairman
William H. Chandler
Osee R. Fagan
J. Frank Johnston
Wood A. Wester
*Deceased since appointment.
.... ..............Worshipful Master, 1956
................................... G general Chairm an
. ....................... .. .. .... Secretary
............................ Committee Treasurer
.. ....... .... .......... .... H otel Reservations
...... ............. ............ ........ A dvisor
..... ........ ...... ...... .........A dvisor
..... ..... ....................Honorary M ember
Niles C. Schaffer, Chairman
Coleman J. Goin
Charles R. Couch, Sr.
T. J. Price
Royce L. Shipp
D. B. Hundley
J. C. Reichert
Ronald L. Stanley
Earl V. Simpson
Warren M. Torlay, Jr.
Charles S. Brooking
Fred A. White
C. H. Willoughby
A. P. Spencer
H. F. Zetrouer
R. T. Angel
A. N. Payne
E. W. Garris
R. T. Schafer
*James M. Leake
Wallace F. Zetrouer II, Chairman
Gerald E. Helzel
J. F. Bishop
Henry W. Searcy
Fred A. White
James M. Stanley
J. F. Bishop, Chairman
David C. Kite
J. A. Gibbs