A Graduate Saxophone Recital

Material Information

A Graduate Saxophone Recital
Barbay, Taylor A.
Place of Publication:
Gainesville, Fla
College of Fine Arts; University of Florida
Publication Date:
Physical Description:
Project in lieu of thesis


Subjects / Keywords:
Concertos ( jstor )
Electronics ( jstor )
Halls ( jstor )
Keyboard music ( jstor )
Music recitals ( jstor )
Orchestras ( jstor )
Piano concertos ( jstor )
Rooms ( jstor )
Saxophones ( jstor )
Sound pitch ( jstor )


At 5:00 pm on the 30th of March, 2013, a recital was presented with many different styles of saxophone music. It was given in the room 101 Recital Hall of the University of Florida Music Building. The first piece performed was Ingolf Dahl’s Concerto for Saxophone and Piano. This piece was originally composed in 1949 for saxophone and concert band and was later revised for saxophone and orchestra, and then saxophone and piano. The second piece on the program was Luciano Berio’s Sequenza IXb. This piece, while originally written for clarinet, is a standard in the classical saxophone repertory. The works presented on the second half of the program included the use of electronics – with both prerecorded tape and live electronic sounds. To end the concert, the piece Dracones Nursery was presented. The saxophone microphone created many different effects, changing things such as timbre, pitch, and adding reverberation to the alto saxophone sound. The pieces that were played were over fifty minutes in length. The repertoire explored the many facets of the saxophone’s flexible nature – virtuosic classical playing, polyphonic textures, jazz, saxophone with live electronics. This program also explores diverse aesthetics of the concert saxophone repertory.
General Note:
Music Performance terminal project

Record Information

Source Institution:
University of Florida Institutional Repository
Holding Location:
University of Flordia
Rights Management:
All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item is only available as the following downloads:

Full Text