Title: Environmental Efficiency Study Commission Meeting Minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/WL00000823/00001
 Material Information
Title: Environmental Efficiency Study Commission Meeting Minutes
Physical Description: Book
Language: English
Spatial Coverage: North America -- United States of America -- Florida
Abstract: Environmental Efficiency Study Commission Meeting Minutes
General Note: Box 7, Folder 2 ( Vail Conference 1987 - 1987 ), Item 99
Funding: Digitized by the Legal Technology Institute in the Levin College of Law at the University of Florida.
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: WL00000823
Volume ID: VID00001
Source Institution: Levin College of Law, University of Florida
Holding Location: Levin College of Law, University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.

Full Text



The Environmental Efficiency Study Commission met for
a workshop on Friday, November 21, 1986 at 10:00 a. m. at
the Holiday Inn Airport, Orlando Florida. The following
Members were present:

Joseph Landers Jr., Chairman
David Gluckman, Vice -Chairman
Dr. Leslie Bromwell
Marilyn E. Crotty
Dr. John DeGrove
James Lee LaFrenz
Susan R. Lubitz
Robert A. Mandell
Carol Rist
Bill F. Spann
Theodore C. Taub
Dr. Warren Viessman

Chairman Landers opened the meeting at 10:00 a.m. Ted
Taub moved that the minutes from the October 31 meeting be
approved as submitted and the motion passed without

David Gluckman, Chairman of the subcommittee on
budget, office space, and staff recommended a proposed
budget for the commission prepared by the subcommittee as
attached. Jim LaFrenz moved that the budget be approved as
submitted and the motion passed unanimously. Mr. Gluckman
reported that office space had been located in Tallahassee
on the corner of Monroe and Jefferson for $500 month with a
seven month lease. Dr. DeGrove moved that the office space
be approved. The motion unanimously passed. Mr. Gluckman
advised that ten applications had been received for the
position of Executive Director, that the deadline for
applications was November 26th, and interviews would be
December 1st in Tallahassee. Chairman Landers added two
Commission Members, Dr. DeGrove and Robert Mandell to the
subcommittee and gave the subcommittee the authority to hire
an Executive Director.

The Commission Members next discussed the role of the
Commission and each Member spoke briefly on what he or she
perceived the role of the Commission to be.

After discussion by the Members, the Chairman divided the
Members into the four subcommittees with the following

1. The Department of Environmental Regulation and Department
of Natural Resources
2. The Department of Environmental Regulation and The Water
Management Districts
3. Chapter 380, Florida Statutes, and its impact on various
4. The service capacity, including enforcement capabilities of
all other agencies

The Commission next discussed representation from
various agencies involved at different meetings. Chairman
Landers noted that he would ask each agency to designate a
liaison to work with the Commission and be at meetings when

The following dates and locations were set for future
meetings with the Public Hearing scheduled from 9:00 a.m.
til 12:30 p.m. and the Commission workshops and subcommittee
meetings from 1:30 p.m. til 4:30 p.m.:

December 12 Tampa

January 8 Orlando

January 9 Ft. Lauderdale

January 16 Ft. Myers

February 6 Jacksonville

February 12 Panama City

February 13 Panama City (Workshop only)

A tentative date of February 20th was also set for
Tallahassee if necessary.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:26 p.m.

SAlso in attendance:


Tom Atkinson
Tom Beck
Fred Breeze
Gary Clark
Bruce Congleton
David W. Fisk
Ellen Fournier
Cliff Guillet
Anna Marie Hartman
Barbara Henderson
Bill Hunter
Charles F. Justice
Cal Landau
Frank P. Lindrum
Rich McWilliams
Frank J. Meeker
Betty Miller
R. S. Murali
Richard Owen
Marcia Parker
Bruce Parker
Michael J. Perry
R. Dirk Schmidt.
Larry Sellers

Mary Smallwood
Rick Smith
Scott Thomson
Cliff Walters
John R. Wehle

DER/Div. of Pmtg.
Dept. Corn. Affairs
Florida Phosphate Council
Dept. of Commerce
East Cent. Fla. RPC
Collier Enterprises
Assoc. of Florida Community Developers
North Central Fla. RPC
Gen Dev Corp.
Orlando Central Park Inc.
Hillsborough Public Health Unit
General Development Corp.
Student, U of
Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council
Holland & Knight for/Florida Phosphate
DER/Div. of Pmtg.
Governor's Office
Orlando County Health Dept
Dade County, Environmental Resources Mgt.

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs