Title: Faculty Senate Steering Committee meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091701/00053
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate Steering Committee meeting minutes
Uniform Title: Faculty Senate Steering Committee meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate Steering Committee, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate Steering Committee, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: April 8, 2004
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091701
Volume ID: VID00053
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

20040408steeringminutes ( PDF )

Full Text

Members present: Tony Brennan, Bob Cousins, Kim Emery, Gene Hemp, Saeed Khan,
Bernie Machen, Jack Mecholsky, Pierre Ramond, Kim Tanzer, Barbara Wingo
Members absent: Jean Larson, Barbara McDade
Guests: Dave Bloomquist, Sheila Dickison, Steve Pritz, Tom Walker

Tony Brennan convened the Faculty Senate Steering Committee at 3:00 p.m. in 202 Tigert Hall.

Minutes: Minutes of the February 26, 2004 meeting were approved.

Chair's Report: Tony Brennan suggested that it might be necessary to schedule an additional
Faculty Senate meeting would be held April 29. The committee agreed to schedule a Senate
meeting for April 29.

President's Report: President Machen said he met with Angel Kwolek-Folland, chair of the
Quality of Life Committee, to discuss the campus climate survey. He has secured the services of a
professional company that administers surveys in the private sector. He plans to have the campus
survey on the Web in mid-April and keep it there for approximately a month. Ranked faculty will
be asked to complete the survey first as many will leave campus when the summer break arrives.
The results and follow-up will be made public.

Dr. Machen said he will research and address the sustainability issue. The need to address this topic
was not identified during the presidential transition.

Several position searches are underway or will soon be in place. The search for a vice president of
student affairs is in progress. Searches for a provost and a vice president of IFAS will begin soon.

New Business:
Open floor period at Senate meetings: Jack Mecholsky began a discussion on establishing
an open floor period at the end of Senate meetings. This period would allow faculty to ask
questions or address issues of interest. The Steering Committee agreed to place a ten-minute
open floor period on the agenda of upcoming Senate meetings. Individuals will be limited
to two minutes each.
Chair-elect nominations: Tony Brennan announced the nominations for 2004-2005
Faculty Senate chair-elect. They are Kim Tanzer and Jack Mecholsky. The election will be
held at the April 29 Senate meeting.
Master Plan Steering Committee: Tony Brennan needs nominations for the Master Plan
Steering Committee.

Steering Minutes 040804.doc

Faculty Senate Steering Committee
April 8, 2004
3:00 P.M. to 5:03 P.M.
202 Tigert Hall
Chair: Anthony B. Brennan

SSW 24th Avenue focus group: Margaret Carr sent Tony Brennan a slightly different
version of the SW 24th Avenue amendment that was originally presented at the last Senate
meeting. Professor Carr will present the motion at the next Senate meeting.

Committee Reports:
Intercollegiate Athletics Committee: Dave Bloomquist, Chair of the Intercollegiate
Athletics Committee, delivered the committee's semi-annual report. He emphasized the
graduation rate report. He reported that committee members will no longer receive
complimentary tickets to athletic events.
Tenure Committee: Mary Ann Ferguson (Journalism), Tim White (IFAS), John Eyler
(CLAS), Ben Dunn (Medicine), Neil Sullivan (CLAS) and Joe Glover (Office of the
Provost) have been selected for the Tenure Committee.
University Curriculum Committee: Sheila Dickison, Chair of the University
Curriculum Committee, introduced a proposal to change the Center for Criminology and
Law to the Department of Criminology, Law and Society. This item will be placed on
the April 29 Senate agenda.
Nominations Committee: Saeed Khan, Chair of the Nominations Committee, said the
announcement of candidates for the Senate committee vacancies will take place at the
April 15 Senate meeting. Elections will be online. Results of the election will be
announced at the April 29 Senate meeting.
Constitution Committee: Kim Tanzer, Chair of the Constitution Committee, reported
the committee has reviewed the pending rules and made recommendations as to which
should be moved forward, which need further study and which are not relevant for
Senate review. The policy councils will work with future rules and rule changes.

Professor Tanzer said there will be five proposed changes to the UF Constitution and
two proposed changes to the bylaws that will be up for vote at the April 15 Senate
meeting. These proposals have been distributed to the senators and discussed at
previous Senate meetings.

The meeting adjourned at 5:03 p.m.

Steering Minutes 040804.doc

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs