Title: Faculty Senate Steering Committee meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091701/00032
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate Steering Committee meeting minutes
Uniform Title: Faculty Senate Steering Committee meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate Steering Committee, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate Steering Committee, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: September 6, 2007
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091701
Volume ID: VID00032
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

september%20minutes%20steering ( PDF )

Full Text

Senate Steering Committee
September 6, 2007
3:00-5:00 P.M.
226 Tigert

Rick Yost
Carol Murphy
Al Wysocki
John Leavey
Jerry Cutler
Mary Ann Ferguson
Carol Kem
Chris Snodgrass
Saeed Khan
Frank Bova
Janie Fouke
Sandra Chance

The meeting was called to order at 3:03 PM and the minutes of the August 9, 2007 meeting
were approved.


Chair's Report Rick Yost, Chair
Rick Yost announced that the AFTPRSC needs one additional person and nominations
should be sent to the Senate office within one week. All nominees must be tenured full
professors. A call for nominations will also go out to the Senate and the nominees will be
reviewed by the nominating committee.

Dr. Yost reviewed the changes to the Curriculum Committee and the General Education
Committee and asked for 5 nominees for Curriculum and 3 nominees for General
Education. The deadline for nominees is Sept. 11th.

Dr. Wubah is chairing a committee to look at the University Scholars Program and has
requested the names of three people willing to serve on the committee. Dr. Yost will look at
the University Scholars Web site for nominees, in order to find people who have served as
mentors in the past.

CLAS is beginning a search for a new dean. The committee is chaired by Dean
Khargonekar and has six faculty members, students and Dr. Frierson.

Nominations for Honorary Degrees, Distinguished Alumnus, Distinguished Achievement
and Distinguished Service awards must be received by October 1.

A proposal to change Tuesday/Thursday classes to 75 minute classes has been put forward.
The APC and Infrastructure council will look into the issue.

Janie Fouke, Provost

The Provost updated the Steering Committee on several issues including the kickoff for the
capital campaign on September 28. The goal of this year's campaign is to earn $1.5 billion.
The $2 million generated by the Academic Enhancement Program will go to hire 5 faculty
members. Students will have input as to where the remaining faculty hires will be placed.

Information Items:

Constitution Committee Mary Ann Ferguson, Constitution Committee Chair

Curriculum Committee, General Education Committee, Student members on councils

The constitutional language will go back to the Committee on Committees for clarification.
A system for creating balance on the committees must be determined.

Council Reports:

Budget Council Allen Wysocki, Chair
The Budget Council will be featured in the September Faculty Senate newsletter. The
council is posting information about the budget callbacks on the Web site.
Academic Policy Council Carol Murphy, Chair
The APC returned their concerns with the Gordon rule requirement to the general education
committee. The council is looking at the Strategic Work Plan, the textbook affordability bill
and faculty authored course materials.
Research and Scholarship Council Saeed Khan, Chair
o No report
Academic Infrastructure Council Jerry Cutler, Chair
The infrastructure council will look at campus security, major technology launches, the status
of the master plan, libraries, student fee on sustainability and class and laboratory support.
Welfare Council Rebecca Pauly, Chair
o No report

Action Item

Approve Senate Agenda for September 20, 2007
The September Senate agenda was approved with the removal of the constitution committee
information item. Rick Yost will talk to the President about providing a Budget related
information item. Dr. Yost will also give a BOT update.

The meeting adjourned at 5:10 PM

0Provost's Report

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs