Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00054
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: August 26, 2010
Copyright Date: 2010
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00054
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

senateminutesaugust2010 ( PDF )

Full Text

Faculty Senate Meeting

August 26, 2010
3:00 -5:00 P.M.
Reitz Union Grand Ballroom

The meeting was called to order at 3:02 PM

Mary Ann Ferguson welcomed senators and guests to the Faculty Senate meeting and introduced Dr. Machen to
present the State of the University Address.

State of the University Address Bernie Machen, President
Bernie Machen presented the 2010 State of the University address.

2010-2011 Faculty Senate Agenda Mary Ann Ferguson, Faculty Senate Chair
Ferguson met with deans and vice presidents over the summer and reported the concerns raised during those
meetings. She proposed the following issues be addressed by the Senate this academic year, and asked Senators to
provide suggestions for other agenda items:

Administrative reports on unintended effects of RCM
Distance learning workshops
K~eys of successful interdisciplinary programs
Review of effectiveness of shared governance
Academic freedom challenges

Information Items

Distance Education Partners Andy McCollough, Associate Provost for IT, E-Learning and Distance Education

Andy McCollough reported on the process of selecting a preferred vendor for distance education initiatives to work
with colleg-es that want to deliver distance education content. The University put out an invitation to negotiate in
May. Six companies submitted proposals. McCollough described the committee review process and services that
the various vendors offer. Some criteria utilized to evaluate the proposals were: proven experience in market and
demand analysis at university and program level, international perspective, and experience with large universities
with a multitude of disciplines. Senators stated that all types of curriculum should be considered and the
Infrastructure council should be consulted as the process moves forward.

Action Item

Approval of the May 2010 Minutes Mary Ann Ferguson, Faculty Senate Chair
The minutes of the May 2010 meeting were approved with the addition of the words "he said" in the chair's report
between which and demonstrate in the sentence: Jack Mecholsky presented an overview of the Senate's
accomplishments this year, which demonstrates that shared governance is working.

Constitution Changes regarding departments Jim Seale, Constitution Committee Past-Chair
The committee requested to postpone this item so that the committee can look at other potential changes to the
language. The motion to remove the item from the action agenda was approved. The item will be brought forward
as an information item when the committee has finished revisions.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor
Senators first. Three minute limit per speaker.

Scott Nygren proposed a resolution that the Faculty Senate shall declare that September 11, 2010 will be officially
be "diversity appreciation and interfaith harmony day"

A motion was made to move the resolution to the information agenda. The motion was approved.
A motion was made to move the resolution to the action agenda. The motion t was approved.

A motion was made to approve the resolution. The motion was approved.

The meeting adjourned at 4:09 PM


Peter Adams
Amanda Adimoolah
Manuel arreola
Monika Ardelt
Steve Asare
Lorena Baccaglini
Alexander Berkovich
Ashley Booth
Gijs Bosman
Jane Brockmann
Amy Buhelr
Eileen Buss
William Castleman
Louis Cattafesta
George Christou
Nereyda Clark
Maria Coady
Donald Cohen
Betsy Creveling
Oscar Crisalle
Jerry Culen
Florin Curta
Harry Daniels
John Dobson
Michael Dukes
Larry Duncan
K~evin Farmer
Liz Felter
Mary Ann Ferguson
Jason Ferrell
Jane Gannon
Lauren Garber-Lake
K~elly Gary-Eurom
Robyn Gleason
Abe Goldman

Renee Goodrich
Wayne Griffin
David Groisser
Charles Haddad
David Hahn
Brian Harfe
Edward Hart
Galia Hatav
Marc Heft
Pat Hogue
Shannon Holliday
Phil Kaufman
James K~lausner
Mirka K~oro-Ljungberg
John Leavey
Greg MacDonald
Rob MacI~ay
Tim Martin
Renwei Mei
Mike Meldrum
Martha Monroe
Cynthia Morton
Paul Mueller
Vasudha Narayanan
Michael Nussbaum
Scott Nygren
Mark Orazem
David Ostrov
Deanna Pelfrey
Emily Pugh
Neta Pulvermarcher
David Quillen
David Reed
Beverly Roberts
Ruth Ron
Andrew Rosalsky
Sasndra Russo
Vicki Sarajedini

K~enneth Sassaman
Greg Sawyer
Orit Shechtman
SA Sherif
K~atie Sieving
Susan Sinnott
Daniel Siragusa
Stephen Smith
Maya Stanfield-Mazzi
K~eith Stanfill
John Stevely
Bruce Stevens
Jake Streit
Ghata Subhash
Joseph Tepas
K~evin Thompson
Mark Tillman
Sonal Tuli
Jay Watkins
Lori Waxenberg
Tonia Werner
K~aren Whalen
Bernard Whiting
Tom Whichman
Henry Wihnyk
Joe Wilson
Jennifer Zedalis

Joel Haupthad
Carol K~em
Andy McCollough
Jay Benharst
Pamela Dickrell
Cathy Cavanaugh
Rick Yost
Jen Day Shaw
Mary Peoples Aheys

K~eith Schneider
John Yelton
William Properzio
Satya Narayan
David Miller
Elane Turner
Mary K~ay Caradine
Bill K~em
Jim Seale

Robert Jerry
Lucinda Lavelli
Jack Payne
Michael Perri
Win Phillips
David Sammons
Margaret Temple Smith
Barbara Wingo
John Wright

Cammy Abernathy
K~irby Barrick
Teresa Dolan
Henry Frierson
Paula Fussell
Joe Glover
Michael Good

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs