Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00051
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: March 18, 2010
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00051
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

senateminutesmarch10_000 ( PDF )

Full Text

Faculty Senate Meeting
March 18, 2010
3:00 -5:00 P.M.
Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:01 PM

The minutes of the February Senate meeting were approved.

Jack Mecholsky, Faculty Senate Chair

Chair's Report Jack Mecholsky, Faculty Senate Chair
Jack Mecholsky asked Senators to submit nominations for the policy councils. He also reported that the Faculty
Senate is concerned about the wellbeing of faculty, staff and students and has charged the Welfare Council to
review the policies regarding the rights and responsibilities of the faculty in response to situations where students,
faculty or staff are acting in an unusual or threatening manner. The Academic Integrity Task Force has been formed
and charged.

President's Report Bernie Machen, President
The President reported that the University is waiting for the FDLE to complete its investigation on the Corry
village incident. The University is waiting on budget news from the legislature and is asking that the legislature allow
the university to manage the budget.

Provost's Report Joe Glover, Provost
The Provost reported that the Academic Integrity Task Force has been charged with assessing the academic
integrity situation on campus, identify problems, characterize the climate, make recommendations and identify
student, staff and faculty responsibilities.

Action Item

Elimination of the BA in American Studies Bernard Mair, UCC Chair
This item was approved.

Procedures for college and department constitutions/by-laws Jim Seale, Constitution Committee chair
This item was approved.

Directed Discussion

Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) Barbara Wingo, Deputy General Counsel
Barbara Wingo led a directed discussion of FERPA and answered questions from the faculty about the act.

Information Items

Faculty Enhancement Opportunity report Kathy Long, Associate Provost

Kathy Long presented a report of the FEO program for the 2009-2010 academic year.

PhD in Public Health, College of PHHP

The item will be an action item at the April meeting.

Ken Gerhardt, Associate Dean of the Graduate School

Proposal to consolidate the departments of operative dentistry and prosthodontics to create a new
department of restorative dental sciences in the college of dentistry
Bernard Mair, University Curriculum Committee Chair
The Faculty Senate recommended that a confidential vote occur in each department on this proposal. The item will
be an action item at the April meeting.

Council chair term limits
The item will be an action item at the April meeting.

Tenure and promotion criteria for merged departments
The item will be an action item at the April meeting.

Mark Bishop, COC chair

Mary Ann Ferguson, Welfare Council member

Open Discussion from Senate Floor

Senators first. Three minute limit per speaker.

The meeting adjourned at 4:37 PM

Peter Adams
Kevin Anderson
Wayne Archer
Monika Ardelt
Manuel Arreola
Steve Asare
Lorena Baccaglini
Marylou Behnke
David Bloomquist
Ashley Booth
Brent Boraddus
Gijs Bosman
Jane Brockmann
Cheri Brodeur
Amy Buhler
Eileen Buss
Regina Bussing
Nina Caputo
William Castleman
Nico Cellinese
Nereyda Clark
Betsy Creveling
Larry Duncan
Lily Elefteriadou
Mary Ann Ferguson
Jason Ferrell
Kelly Gray Eurom
Wayne Griffin
David Groisser

David Hahn
Brian Harfe
Jeffrey Harman
Alice Harmon
Richard Hill
David Holmes
Aida Hozic
David Janicke
Rebecca Jordi
Joihn Kammeyer
Stan Kaye
William Kem
Saeed Khan
James Klausner
Stephen Lewis
Greg MacDonald
Todd Manini
Tim Martin
Jack Mecholsky
Mike Meldrum
Bayard Miller
Deb Mitra
Martha Monroe
Marjorie Moore
Giuseppe Morelli
Carol Murphy
Vasudha Narayanan
Marc Ottenga
Anand Paul
Sue Percival

Nancy Poehlmann
Deborah Popovich
Emily Pugh
David Quillen
Patrick Reakes
David Reed
Maria Rogal
Victoria Rovine
Ron Rozensky
Sandra Russo
Mary Beth Salisbury
Richard Segal
Orit Shechtman
Susan Sinnott
Clay Smith
Keith Stanfill
Bruce Stevens
Ghatu Subhash
Michael Sweat
Sevavn Terzian
Kevin Thompson
Mark Tillman
Bryan Unruh
Tom Wichman
Henry Wihnyk
George Wilson
Jennifer Zedalis

Mark Bishop

Henry Frierson
Joe Glover
Ellis Greiner
Kathleen Long
Michael Perri
Judith Russell
Jim Seale

Carol Kem
Boyd Robinson
Jon Baxter
Jen Day Shaw
Ken Annusavice
Stephanie Hanson
Ashton Charles
Brian Keith
Grace Strawn
Elaine Turner

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs