Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00050
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: February 25, 2010
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00050
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

senateminutesfebruary10_000 ( PDF )

Full Text

Faculty Senate Meeting
February 25, 2010
3:00 -5:00 P.M.
Reitz Union Grand Ballroom

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 PM

The January 2010 Senate Minutes were approved.


Chair's Report Jack Mecholsky, Faculty Senate Chair
Jack Mecholsky reported that nominations for chair elect of the Faculty Senate are now open. He also announced
colleges should be going through the nomination process for Senators within each college. The Academic Integrity
Task Force is being formed and will considering issues raised during last month's directed discussion. The
Academic Assessment Committee is also being finalized. Mecholsky encouraged faculty to be proactive and discuss
RCM with their Dean.

President's Report Bernie Machen, President
Bernie Machen reported on events at the Graham Center and the Water Institute. He also notified the Senate about
the upcoming Florida Legislative session and said budget information will be forthcoming as the session is

Provost's Report Joe Glover, Provost
The Provost reported on his trip to Saudi Arabia for the International Higher Education Exhibition. UF was one of
15 universities designated as an elite university, which means that the Saudi government fully fund students to study
at UF. Saudi universities are seeking research partners and collaborators. The university will work with departments
in order to process applications from international students who will be conditionally accepted to graduate school
based on language competencies.

Action Item

College of Education Shared Governance Resolution
Harry Daniels, College of Education Faculty Representative and Tracy Rambo, APC Co-Chair
This resolution was approved.

University Curriculum Committee Items Bernard Mair, UCC Chair

Discontinuation of the BSBA majors in Insurance, C.. of Business Administration
Termination of B.S. in Agronomy and Crop Science, Dairy Science, Plant Pathology and Poultry Science
C. ofAgricultural and Life Science
These proposals were approved

Senate officer terms start date change in the constitution Jim Seale, Constitution Committee Chair
This proposal was approved.

Directed Discussion

Faculty as Facilitators for Student Well-being
Wayne Griffin, Associate Director of the Counseling Center

Wayne Griffin presented information on student well-being and made suggestions for how faculty can facilitate
student well-being. He also provided resources for faculty to use if a student needs assistance.

Information Items

Cultural Plaza Presentation Rebecca Nagy, Ham Museum Director
Doug Jones, FLMNH Director and Michael Blachly, Phillips Center Director
The Cultural Plaza directors provided information about educational and research opportunities for faculty and
students with the Harn Museum of Art, the Florida Museum of Natural History and the Phillips Center for
Performing Arts.

Creative Summer B Project Lucinda Lavelli, Dean of the College of Fine Arts
Lucinda Lavelli presented information on the Creative Summer B project that will occur in Summer B 2010.

Elimination of the BA in American Studies Bernard Mair, UCC Chair
Bernard Mair presented this proposal. It will be an action item at the March Senate meeting.

Procedures for college and department constitutions/by-laws and regulations summary
Jim Seale, Constitution Committee chair
Jim Seale presented the procedure proposal and it will be an action item at the March Senate meeting. He also
presented a summary of proposed regulations.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor

Senators discussed FERPA and how it relates to letters of recommendations for students. Provost Glover
recommended that the Senate Parliamentarian and Deputy General Counsel, Barbara Wingo, present an
information item to the Senate on FERPA requirements.

The meeting adjourned at 4:49 PM

Wayne Archer
Monika Ardelt
Steve Asare
Lorena Baccaglini
David Bloomquist
Ashley Booth
Brent Boraddus
Joy Borgman
Gijs Bosman
Cheri Brodeur
Eileen Buss
Regina Bussing
Nina Caputo
William Castleman
Nico Cellinese
Nereyda Clark
Robert Cook
Betsy Creveling
Oscar Crisalle
Jean Crockett
Harry Daniels

Larry Duncan
Mary Ann Ferguson
Jason Ferrell
lan Flood
Jane Gannon
Kelly Gary-Eurom
Abe Goldman
Wayne Griffin
David Groisser
Frederick Hamann
Jeffrey Harman
Edward Hart
Marc Heft
Pat Hogue
Shannon Holliday
David Holmes
Gary Ihas
David Janicke
Rebecca Jordi
Mike Katovich
Saeed Khan
James Klausner

Shawn Kneipp
Stephen Lewis
William Lindberg
Chihray Liu
Todd Manini
Heather McAuslane
Sue McGorray
Jack Mecholsky
Mike Meldrum
Bayard Miller
Deb Mitra
Cynthia Morton
Carol Murphy
Vasudha Narayanan
Michael Nussbaum
Scott Nygren
Mark Orazem
Marc Ottenga
Deanna Pelfrey
Deborah Popovich
William Properzio
Emily Pugh

David Quillen
Tracy Rambo
Patrick Reakes
David Reed
Maria Rogal
Orit Shechtman
Wolfgang Sigmund
Susan Sinnott
Keith Stanfill
Bruce Stevens
Ghatu Subhash
Michael Sweat
Sevan Terzian
Barry Tillman
Mark Tillman
Bryan Unruh
Tom Wichman
Henry Wihnyk
Sally Williams
Joel Yelich
Dana Zimmel

Student Senators:
Chaz Pinna

Stephanie Hansen
Andy McCollough
Uma Scthuram
Jen Shaw
Michael Richards
Lauren Daley
Jim Webb
Julie Wang
Lynda Hayes
Laurence Alexander
Emmanuel Alex

Joe Glover
Ellis Greiner
Lucinda Lavelli
Bernie Machen
Jim Seale
John Wright

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs