Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00049
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: January 21, 2010
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00049
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

senateminutesJanuary10_000 ( PDF )

Full Text

Faculty Senate Meeting
January 21, 2010
3:00 -5:00 P.M.
Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 PM

The November and December 2009 minutes were approved.


Chair's Report Jack Mecholsky, Faculty Senate Chair
Jack Mecholsky reported that the entire university is now eligible for the FEO program. Information is available on
the Provost's Web site. Mecholsky also reported that the retirement incentive has been extended.

Action Item

Honorary Degree candidate Pradeep Kumar, Honorary Degrees Committee Member
Howard Lance was unanimously approved for an honorary degree.

Bylaw changes for the Curriculum Committee and the General Education Committee compositions
Jim Seale, Constitution Committee Chair
The bylaw changes were approved.

Academic Assessment Committee Proposal Mark Bishop, Committee on Committees Chair
The proposal to create an academic assessment committee was approved.

Directed Discussion

Academic Integrity Angela S. Lindner, Associate Dean for Engineering Student Affairs
Angela Lindner gave a presentation on academic integrity.
Faculty discussed academic integrity and stated that going to the honor court takes time away from teaching and
research, catching and prosecuting students is a disincentive to receiving positive scores on evaluations, the
incentive is to teach students to do well on the exam and not necessarily understand the subject. The purpose of the
task force on academic integrity that is being created is to identify problems and address concerns. Academic
integrity starts with faculty who must uphold teaching standards too. It is extremely important to have faculty on
committees who understand the circumstances of texts and exams. Have to establish a culture of academic integrity.

Information Items

RCM Presentation Matt Fajack, CFO and Frank Bova, RCM Committee Member
Matt Fajack and Frank Bova presented information on RCM. Dr. Glover provided an introduction to the topic.

IT Security on Campus Mike Conlon, Director of Data Infrastructure
Mike Conlon presented information in IT security on campus.

College of Education Shared Governance Resolution Danaya Wright, APC Co-Chair
Harry Daniels from the College of Education presented this resolution on behalf of the APC. It will be an action
item at the February Senate meeting.

University Curriculum Committee Items

Mirka Koro-Ljungberg, UCC Co-Chair

Discontinuation of the BSBA majors in Real Estate and Insurance, C. ..-ofBusiness Administration
Termination of B.S. in Agronomy and Crop Science, Dairy Science, Plant Pathology and Poultry Science
C. ofAgricultural and Life Science
Mirka Koro -Ljungberg presented these degree programs for termination. They will be an action item at the
February Senate meeting.

Senate officer terms start date change in the constitution Jim Seale, Constitution Committee Chair
Jim Seale presented an information item on a proposed senate officer term start date change from May 15 to June 1.
This item will be an action item at the February meeting.
Open Discussion from Senate Floor

A faculty member expressed interest in creating a faculty club on campus.
Another faculty member stated that there is a lack of classrooms for classes with enrollment of over 100. Her class
of 183 students has been assigned to a classroom for 40 students and it has happened to a number of classes in her
department. There are currently 37 sections with enrollments of over 100 that have no classrooms.

The meeting adjourned at 5:01 PM


Peter Adams
Kevin Anderson
Monika Ardelt
Manuel Arreola
Steve Asare
Tom Auxter
Marylou Behnke
Azra Bihorac
David Bloomquist
Ashley Booth
Brent Boraddus
Joy Borgman
Gijs Bosman
Jane Brockmann
Cheri Brodeur
Amy Buhler
Eileen Buss
Regina Bussing
Louis Cattafesta
Nico Cellinese
George Christou
Nereyda Clark
Donald Cohen
Mary Collins

Robert Cook
Betsy Creveling
Oscar Crisalle
Harry Daniels
Lily Elefteriadou
Mary Ann Ferguson
Jason Ferrell
Ian Flood
Malay Ghosh
Wayne Griffin
Davidd Groisser
David Hahn
Frederick Hamann
Brian Harfe
Jeffrey Harman
Edward Hart
Marc Heft
Richard Hill
Shannon Holliday
David Holmes
John Kammeyer
Mike Katovich
Stan Kaye
James Keesling
James Klausner
Tony Ladd

Stephen Lewis
Chihray Liu
Greg MacDonald
Tim Martin
Heather McAsulane
Jack Mecholsky
Carol Murhpy
Satya Narayan
Michael Nussbaum
Scott Nygren
Anthony Offerle
Mark Orazem
Marc Ottenga
Anand Paul
Nancy Poehlmann
Deborah Popovich
Emily Pugh
David Quillen
Patrick Reakes
David Reed
Victoria Rovine
Sandra Russo
Mary Beth Salisbury
Orit Shechtman
Susan Sinnott
Daniel Siragusa

Clay Smith
Keith Stanfill
Ghatu Subhash
Mickie Swisher
Joseph Tepas
Sevan Terzian
Kevin Thompson
Jill Varnes
Tom Wichman

Joel Yelich

Student Senators:
Chaz Pinna

Pradeep Kumar
Stephanie Hansen
Elaine Turner

Tom Dana
Andy McCollough

Mark Bishop
Ellis Greiner
Judith Russell
Jim Seale
Barbara Wingo

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs