Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00048
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: December 17, 2009
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00048
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

senateminutesdecember09 ( PDF )

Full Text

Faculty Senate Meeting
December 17, 2009
3:00 -5:00 P.M.
Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 PM

The November 19, 2009 Senate minute will be on the agenda for approval in January 2010.


President's Report Bernie Machen, President

Bernie Machen reported that the administration is planning for a compensation plan for faculty, staff and teaching
assistants. Additionally, the legislature passed a bill requiring undergraduates on Bright Futures scholarships to pay
for classes that were dropped. The university is asking the legislature to recognize health insurance for graduate
students by providing funding.

Action Item

Termination of M.S. in Poultry Science and Termination of M.S. in Dairy Science College of Agricultural
and Life Sciences Ken Gerhardt, Associate Dean Graduate School

This item was approved.

Directed Discussion

Academic Freedom Barbara Wingo, Deputy General Counsel

Barbara Wingo presented information on academic freedom. Faculty members asked questions to clarify issues on
academic freedom.

Information Items

Orange Grove Presentation Meredith Babb, Director University Press of Florida
Meredith Babb presented information about the Orange Grove, an online book repository for open source

Bylaw changes for the Curriculum Committee and the General Education Committee compositions
Jim Seale, Constitution Committee Chair
Jim Seale presented information to change the composition of the Curriculum Committee and the General
Education Committee in the bylaws. This item will be an action item in January.

Academic Assessment Committee Proposal Mark Bishop, Committee on Committees Chair
Mark Bishop presented information about a proposed academic assessment committee. This item will be an action
item in January.

Onen Discussion from Senate Floor

A faculty member brought up the need for a faculty club at UF.

The meeting adjourned at 4:04 PM

Wayne Archer
Monika Ardelt
Tom Auxter
Lorena Baccaglini
Azra Bihorac
David Bloomquist
Gijs Bosman
Jane Brockmann
Cheri Brodeur
Amy Buhler
William Castleman
Nico Cellinese
George Christou
Nereyda Clark
Donald Cohen
Mary Collins
Robert Cook
Betsy Creveling
Oscar Crisalle
Jean Crockett
Mary Ann Ferguson
Jason Ferrell
lan Flood
Joe Geunes
Paul Gibbs
Wayne Griffin
David Groisser
David Hahn
Frederick Hamann
Brian Harfe
Jeffrey Harman
Alice Harmon
Edward Hart
Marc Heft
Richard Hill
Shannon Holliday
David Janicke
John Kammeyer
Mike Katovich
Stan Kaye
William Kem
James Klausner
Shawn Kneipp
Stephen lewis

William Lindberg
Greg MacDonald
Tim Martin
Heather McAuslane
Sue McGorray
Mike Meldrum
Bayard Miller
Deb Mitra
Giuspee Morelli
Scott Nygren
Mark Orazem
Marc Ottenga
Nancy Poehlmann
William Properzio
Tracy Rambo
Patrick Reakes
Maria Rogal
Victoria Rovine
Sandra Russo
Richard Segal
Susan Sinnott
Clay Smith
Keith Stanfill
Ghatu Subhash
Mickie Swisher
Sevan Terzian
Kevin Thompson
Tom Wichcman
Joel Yelich
Jennifere Zedalis
Dana Zimmel

Mark Bishopp
Henry Frierson
Micheal Perri
Judith Russell
Jim Seale

Carol Kem
J. Earley
Andy McCollough
Bruce Stephens

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs