Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00047
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: November 19, 2009
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00047
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

senateminutesnovember09 ( PDF )

Full Text

Faculty Senate Meeting
November 19, 2009
3:00 -5:00 P.M.
Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 PM

The minutes of the October 22, 2009 meeting were approved.


Chair's Report Jack Mecholsky, Faculty Senate Chair
Jack Mecholsky reported that the nominations for university and senate committees are open
and that a report on RCM will be given at the December Senate meeting. Frank Bova
discussed RCM briefly and explained how the RCM plan was developed.

President's Report Bernie Machen, President
Bernie Machen presented the SERU report and noted that there is room to increase the
rigor of the undergraduate experience. He also announced that Student Government has an
interest in making changes to the student union and is asking for a $20 per semester fee to
cover the costs of remodeling the union. He requested that the Faculty Senate contact
Patricia Telles-Irvin or Jordan Johnson if the Faculty Senate is interested in participating in
these discussions.

Provost's Report Joe Glover, Provost
Joe Glover updated the senate on the status of ongoing searches and the interview process
for an ombuds person.

Action Item

Name Change from the Department of Communicative Disorders to the Department
of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences College of PHHP
Bernard Mair, University Curriculum Committee Chair
The proposal was approved.

Directed Discussion

Distance Education
Andy McCollough, Associate Provost for IT, E-Learning & Distance Education
Andy McCollough gave a presentation on distance education and the senate discussed the
issue. McCollough said that distance education can contribute to our primary mission if we
do it wisely and maintain the quality of what is delivered. He clarified that any for credit
course would still need to go through the University Curriculum Committee, but continuing
education courses are not part of that approval process. Faculty members expressed
concern over the quality of distance education, the integrity of tests, intellectual property and

the need to build help desk support as distance education grows. The Florida Museum of
Natural history offers courses, similar to continuing education courses, for non UF students.
One faculty member noted that online courses are very labor intensive but less emotionally
taxing and found that the online environment facilitated communication among students but
that the professor's enthusiasm for the subject does not translate well in such an
environment. A faculty member asked whether departments that can utilize distance
education would be favored over those that cannot effectively utilize distance education.

Information Items

Constitution Committee definition of a layoff unit and regulations update
Jim Seale, Constitution Committee Chair
Jim Seale presented the constitution committee's recommendation for language to define a
layoff unit. The language will be forwarded to the administration for consideration.
Seale also presented the constitution committee's regulations update.

Termination of M.S. in Poultry Science and Termination of M.S. in Dairy Science
College of Agricultural and Life Sciences
Ken Gerhardt, Associate Dean Graduate School
Ken Gerhardt presented two program termination proposals. These items will be an action
item at the December meeting.

Creative Campus Committee Update Lucinda Lavelli, Dean College of Fine Arts
Lucinda Lavelli gave a presentation on the creative campus committee.

Compensation Committee Report James Maruniak, Compensation Committee Chair
James Maruniak gave the compensation committee's report.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor

Senators first. Three minute limit per speaker.

The meeting adjourned at 5:05 PM

Jane Brockman Lily Elefteriadou
Attendees: Cheri Brodeur Mary Ann Feruson
Eileen Buss Jason Ferrell
Peter Adams Nina Caputo Joe Geunes
Wayne Archer George Christou Wayne Griffin
Manuel Arreola Nereyda Clark David Groisser
Tom Auxter Donald Cohen David Hahn
Lorena Baccaglini Mary Collins Frederick Hamann
Sammy Barkin Betsy Creveling Jeffrey Harman
Marylou Behnke Oscar Crisalle Alice Harmon
David Bloomquist Barbara Curbow Edward Hart
Gijs Bosman Harry Daniels Richard Hill

Pat Hogue
David Holmes
Mike Katovich
Stan Kaye
James Keesling
Saeed Khan
Michael Kladde
Stephen Lewis
William Lindberg
Greg MacDonald
Sue McGorray
Jack Mecholsky
Mike Meldrom
Deb Mitra
Martha Monroe
Satya Narayan
Vasudha Narayanan
Scott Nygren
Dan O'Neill
Marc Ottenga
Anand Paul
Nancy Poehlmann
Emily Pugh
David Quillen
Patrick Reakes
David Reed
Maria Rogal
Ruth Ron

Victoria Rovine
Sandra Russo
Richard Segal
Orit Shechtman
Susan Sinnott
Clay Smith
Stephen Smith
Keith Stanfill
Sevan Terzian
Kevin Thompson
Mark Tillman
Bruan Unruh
Tom Wichman
Henry Wihnyk
Sally Williams
Joel Yelich
Jennifer Zecdalis
Dana Zimmel

Cammy Abernathy
Mark Bishop
Frank Bova
Teresa Dolan
Henry Frierson
Paula Fussell
Joe Glover
Ellis Greiner

Lucinda Lavelli
Michael Perri
William Riffee
Jim Selae
Barbara Wingo
John Wright

Pamela Dickrell
Susan White
Jim Maryniak
Philip Laipis
Jim Seale
Margeaux Johnson
Kris Kirmse
Eileen Oliver
Linda Butson
Selml Erenguc
Karin Asghari
Joe Larkin
Andy McCollough
Sabine Grunweld
Peter Nbede-Kizza
Stephen Hanson
Melissa Johnson
Sherry Turmall
Gamie Turner

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs