Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00046
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: October 22, 2009
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00046
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

October2009senateminutes ( PDF )

Full Text

Faculty Senate Meeting
October 22, 2009
3:00 -5:00 P.M.
Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:01 PM

The minutes of the September 17, 2009 meeting were approved.


Chair's Report Jack Mecholsky, Faculty Senate Chair
Jack Mecholsky presented the new senate meeting format that will be tried out during the November Senate
meeting. He encouraged faculty to suggest topics for the directed discussion. This discussion will not be limited to

President's Report Bernie Machen, President
Bernie Machen reported that new Trustees were appointed.
He also reported on a recent meeting of the Presidents of the SEC universities and a meeting of the Presidents and
Chancellors of AAU schools. He discussed a federal study on the role of research universities. Machen announced
that the elimination of the sick leave payout proposal will be taken off the table and other options will be discussed.

Provost's Report Joe Glover, Provost
Joe Glover updated the Senate on the status of several searches including those for the Dean of PHHP, the SVP of
IFAS, the Ombudsperson, the COM dean and the CIO.

Information Items

Name Change from the Department of Communicative Disorders to the Department of Speech, Language, and
Hearing Sciences College of PHHP
Bernard Mair, University Curriculum Committee Chair

This item will be an action item at the November Senate meeting.

Action Item

College of Design, Construction and Planning Proposal for a New School
Chris Silver, Dean
This item was approved.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor

The meeting adjourned at 3:30 PM

Senators first. Three minute limit per speaker.

Monika Ardelt
Lorena Baccaglini
Azra Bihorac
David Bloomquist
Joy Borgman
Gijs Bosman
Amy Buhler
Eileen Buss
Regina Bussing
William Castleman
Louis Cattafesta
Donald Cohen
Mary Collins
Betsy Creveling
Oscar Crisalle
Jean Crockett
Barbara Curbow
Harry Daniels
Mary Ann Ferugson
Jason Ferrell
Ian Flood
Jane Gannon
George Gerencser
Joe Geunes
Malay Ghosh
David Groisser
Frederick Hamann
Brian Harfe
Jeffrey Harman
Michael Heckenberger
Marc Heft
Richard Hill
Shannon Holliday
David Janicke
John Kammeyer
Mike Katovich
Stan Kaye
James Keesling
William Kemr
James Klausner
Shawn Kneipp
Stephen Lewis
William Lindberg
Greg MacDonald
Tim Martin
Jack Mecholsky
Deb Mitra

Martha Monroe
Giusppe Morelli
Carol Murphy
Satya Narayan
Vasudha Narayanan
Scott Nygren
Anthony Offerle
Marc Ottenga
Anand Paul
Deanna Pelfrey
Nancy Poehlmann
Deborah Popovich
William Properzio
Emily Pugh
David Quillen
Patrick Reakes
Maria Rogal
Ruth Ron
Victoria Rovine
Sandra Russo
Richard Segal
Clay Smith
Stephen Smith
Keith Stanfill
Michael sweat
Mickie Swisher
Mark Tillman
Jill Varnes
Tom Wichman
Joel Yelich
Jennifer Zedalis
Dana Zimmel

Mark Bishop
Joe Glover
Bernie Machen
Michael Perri
Judith Russell
Jim Seale
Christopher Silver
Barbara Wingo

Carol Kem
Jacqueline Miller
Stephanie Hanson

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs