Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00036
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Uniform Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: October 16, 2008
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00036
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

Octobersenateminutes ( PDF )

Full Text

Faculty Senate Meeting
October 16, 2008
3:00 -5:00 P.M.
Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:02 PM

The minutes of the September 18 Senate meeting were approved.

Chair's report Frank Bova, Chair
Frank Bova reported that the Budget Council is drafting guiding principles for future budget cuts. The principles
will be posted on the Senate Web site and will be presented to the Senate as an information item when they are
available. Bova update the Senate on the responsibility center management site visit to Ohio State University. This
item will be an information item to the Senate when the RCM committee has created a proposal.

Bova also reported on the work group on distance education and the work group on self funded courses. Reports
from both groups will be made available when they are finalized.

President's Report Bernie Machen, President
Bernie Machen reported on the budget including projections for the state of Florida's budget. Machen will be in
Iran in November and will not be able to attend the November Senate meeting.

Information Items

Faculty Enhancement Opportunity Kathy Long, Associate Provost
Kathy Long presented information about the faculty enhancement opportunity.

Intercollegiate Athletics Update Jill Varnes, Faculty Athletics representative
Jill Varnes presented the 2007-2008 annual intercollegiate athletics update.

Proposed Constitution Changes Cathy Martyniak, Constitution Committee Chair
Cathy Martyniak presented proposed constitution changes. This item will be an action item at the November

Proposal to Create a Department of Dermatology at the University of Florida College of Medicine

Michael Good presented this item on behalf of the College of Medicine- Jacksonville. The item will be an action
item at the November meeting.

Action Items

Proposal to reorganize the Jacksonville campus Department of Otolaryngology as a division of the
Jacksonville campus Department of Surgery

Frank Bova presented this item on behalf of Henry Frierson. The proposal was approved.

The meeting adjourned at 4:00 PM


Sean Adams
Chunrong Ai
Nora Alter
Theresa Antes
Wayne Archer
Marylou Behnke
Elizabeth Bolton
Ashley Booth
Pamela Brown
Judy Butterfield
Kenny Cheng
Maria Coady
Donald Cohen
Robert Cook
Elizabeth Creveling
Oscar Crisalle
David Criswell
Jean Crockett
Harry Daniels
Timothy Davis
Joseph Delfino
Bruce Edwards
Lily Elfteriadou
Mary Ann Ferguson
Thomas Foster
Stephen Futch
Maria Gallo
George Gerencser
Paul Gibbs
Kelly Gary-Eurom
Wayne Griffin
Jeffrey Harman
Alice Harmon
Michael Heaney
Richard Hill
David Janicke
Rebecca Jordi
Henry Jowers
Stan Kaye
James Keesling
William Kem

Saeed Khan
Michael Kladde
James Klausner
Shawn Kneipp
Tony Ladd
John Leavey
Lora Levett
Stephen Lewis
Jenshan Lin
William Lindberg
William McArthur
Heather McAuslane
Sue McGorray
Robert McGovern
Jack Mecholsky
Mike Meldrom
Bayard Miller
Gloria Miller
Jacqueline Miller
Deb Mitra
Cynthia Morton
Carol Murphy
Satya Narayan
Sven Normann
Scott Nygren
Anthony Offerle
Marc Ottenga
Joe Pergola
Nancy Poehlmann
Deborah Popovich
David Quillen
Tracy Rambo
Ron Randles
Eileen Raynor
Patrick Reakes
David Reed
Marilyn Roberts
Victoria Rovine
Sandra Russo
Mary Beth Salisbury
Richard Segal
Orit Shechtman
Wolfgang Sigmund

Sharleen Simpson
Susan Sinnott
Daniel Siragusa
Brenda Smith
Clay Smith
David Smith
Craig Stanley
Taylor Stein
Micahel Sweat
Sevan Terzian
Bryan Unruh
Jill Varnes
Susan Webb
Henry Wihnyk
Brenda Williams
Sally Williams
George Wilson
Naomi Young
Jennifer Zedalis
Barbara Zsembik

Jacob Chung
Paul D'Anieri
Teresa Dolan
Michael Good
Ellis Greiner
Pramod Khargonekar
Lucinda Lavelli
Kathleen Long
Cathleen Martyniak
Sue Percival
Micahel Perri
Richard Yost

Carol Kem
Kevin Reiley
Rae Jesano
Yooni Yi
Susan Mary
Paige Crandall

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs