Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00031
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Uniform Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: March 20, 2008
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00031
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

Senateminutesmarch_000 ( PDF )

Full Text

Faculty Senate Meeting
March 20, 2008
3:00 -5:00 P.M.
Reitz Union Auditorium

Approval of the February 21, 2008 Senate minutes

Chair's Report Rick Yost, Chair
Rick Yost reported that faculty members should be involved in budget reduction discussions
at the college level. Yost reported that the Budget council met with several deans to discuss
budget reduction procedures in various colleges. Yost also reported that a Senate meeting
has been scheduled for May.

President's Report Bernie Machen, President
President Machen discussed issues surrounding the budget reduction initiatives. Machen
also reported that he hopes to receive and review the final report of the Ad Hoc Committee
on a Civil Safe and Open Environment by the end of this academic year.
Machen answered questions from Senators regarding administrative reorganization, budget
reduction initiatives, and the CLAS dean search.

Information Items

Proposed Bachelor of Science in Sustainability and the Built Environment in the
College of Design, Construction and Planning
Daniel Wubah, University Curriculum Committee Chair
This item will be presented as an action item at the April meeting.

Sabbatical and Professional Development Leave Recommendations
Saeed Khan, Research and Scholarship Council Chair
This item will be presented as an action item at the April meeting.

University Curriculum Committee and General Education Committee
Recommendations Jack Mecholsky, Ad Hoc Committee Chair
This item will be presented as an action item at the April meeting.

Vehicle Management Plan Jerry Cutler, Infrastructure Council Chair

Sunset proposal: PhD and EdD in Student Personnel in Higher Education
Henry Frierson, Dean of the Graduate School
This item will be presented as an action item at the April meeting.

Action Items

Sunset Proposal Graduate Council Henry Frierson, Dean of the Graduate School
Master of Health Science in Physical Therapy (MHS) Process Graduate Degree Program
The proposal was approved.

Honorary degree candidates
The candidates were approved.

Gordon Rule Proposal
The proposal was approved.

David Denslow, Honorary Degrees Committee Chair

Andy McCollough, General Education Committee Chair

Committee on Committees Preservation of Historic Buildings and Sites Committee
membership revision proposal John Leavey, Committee on Committees Chair
The proposal was approved.

Open Floor Discussion
Floor is open to Senators first. Three minute limit per speaker.

The Senators discussed Shared Governance initiatives at the college level.
Senators from the colleges of Veterinary Medicine, Public Health and Health Professions,
Engineering, Fine Arts, Education, Journalism and Liberal Arts and Sciences discussed their
college's efforts towards implementing the shared governance model at the college level.

The meeting adjourned at 4:21 PM.

Chunrong Ai
Alex Alberro
Nora Alter
Tom Auxter
Marylou Behnke
Azra Bihorac
Linda Bloom
David Bloomquist
Elizabeth Bolton
Ashley Booth
Frank Bova
Eve Brank
Jane Brockmann
Pamela Brown
Sam brown
Regina Bussing
Judy Butterfield
Youjin Choi
George Christou
Jacob Chung
Chris Cogle
Donald Cohen
Elizabeth Creveling
Oscar Crisalle
David Criswell
Jean Crockett
Lawrence Datnoff
Timothy Davis
Joseph Delfino

Julie Dodd
lan Flood
Timothy Flynn
Joanne Foss
Thomas Foster
Elizabeth Frazier
Stephen Futch
Maria Gallo
George Gerencser
Ellis Greiner
Dave Hackett
Jeffrey Harman
Alice Harmon
Edward Hart
Carrie Haskell-Luevano
John Haydu
Marc Heft
Marc Hoit
David Janicke
Christopher Janiszewski
Rebecca Jordi
Henry Jowers
James Keesling
Saeed Khan
Shawn Kneipp
Pradeep Kumar
Gail Kunkle
Tony Ladd
Jodi Lane
John Leavey

William Lindberg
Henrietta Logan
Joseli Macedo
William McArthur
Heather McAuslane
Sue McGorray
Robert McGovern
Jack Mecholsky
Bayard Miller
Jacqueline Miller
Stephen Mulkey
Andy Naranjo
Satya Narayan
Phil Neuhoff
Sven Norman
Anthony Offerle
Dan O'Neill
Mark Orazem
Joe Pergola
David Pharies
Deborah Popovich
Kathleen Price
Rose Pringle
David Quillen
Tracy Rambo
Ron Randles
Eileen Raynor
Patrick Reakes
Roger Reep
Marilyn Roberts

Pamela Roberts
Leah Rosenberg
Mary Beth Salisbury
Miren Schino
Richard Segal
James Selph
Orit Shechtman
Wolfgang Sigmund
Sharleen Simpson
Brenda Smith
Clay Smith
David Smith
Chris Snodgrass
Taylor Stein
Michael Sweat
Joseph Tepas
Robert Thomas
Jane Townsend
Sharon Treen
J. Bryan Unruh
Jill Vames
Thomas Vickroy
Susan Webb
Brenda Williams
Sally Williams
Naomi Young
Dana Zimmel

Jane Adams
Jerry Cutler
Janie Fouke
Henry Frierson
Joe Glover
Pramod Khargonekar
Lucinda Lavelli
Bemie Machen
Cathleen Martyniak
Carol Murphy
Rebecca Pauly
Michael Perri
Judith Russell
Christopher Silver
Richard Yost

Andy McCollough
Kim Tanzer
John Yelton
Timothy Bragsby
Ross Volonec

Marie Zeglen
Daniel Wubah
Michael Martinez
D Bohn
Allan Burns
John Ingram
Justin Davis
Amy Buhler
Gene Zdziarski
Eva Czamecka-Vemer
Elaine Turner

Student Senators:
Dan Cicenia
Kevin Riley
Caroline Stone

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs