Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00029
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Uniform Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: January 17, 2008
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00029
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

senate%20minutes%20january ( PDF )

Full Text

Faculty Senate Meeting
January 17, 2008
3:00 -5:00 P.M.
Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:05 PM

The December 13, 2007 minutes were approved.

Chair's Report Rick Yost, Chair
Rick Yost announced that an article on differential tuition, written by the Provost, will be in
the January issue of Academics. The deadline for nominations for committees has been
extended by one week.

President's Report Bernie Machen, President
President Machen reported on the University budget and possible legislative budget cuts.
The administration is asking deans to make proposals for possibilities program reductions.
The vice presidents are also creating proposals for possible program reduction. President
Machen will try to find programs that have a minimal impact on the strategic plan. The
reduction package will be presented to the Board of Trustees after it is vetted on campus.

Information Items

Healthy Gators 2010
Chris Machen, Healthy Gators 2010 steering committee chair and Jill Varnes, vice chair
Chris Machen and Jill Vares reported on the Health Gators 2010 program.

Report from the Ad-hoc Committee on a Civil, Safe and Open Environment
Kim Tanzer, Committee Chair
Kim Tanzer presented a report on the status of the Ad-hoc Committee on a Civil, Safe and
Open Environment. The committee will develop recommendations this spring.

Constitution committee language Cathy Martyniak, Constitution committee chair-elect
Council membership
Cathy Martyniak presented a proposal to clarify council membership language on behalf of
the constitution committee. The item will be presented as an action item at the February
Senate meeting.

Action Items

Curriculum Committee Items
Henry Frireson, Dean of the Graduate School
Request to change degree name from Turfgrass Science to Golf and Sports Turf
The motion was approved.

Sustainability Resolution Jeff Burkhardt, Sustainability committee chair
The resolution was approved with one opposed vote.

Constitution committee
Changes to the Constitution
The recommendations were approved.

Cathy Martyniak, Constitution committee chair-elect

Open Floor Discussion
Senators expressed a need to help people understand what impact the University of Florida
has on the state through teaching, extension and medical facilities.

The meeting adjourned at 4:12 PM

Alex Alberro
Nora Alter
Tom Auxter
Azra Bihorac
David Bloomquist
Elizabeth Bolton
Ashley Booth
Frank Bova
Eve Brank
Jane Brockmann
Pamela Brown
William Buhi
Regina Bussing
Judy Butterfield
George Christou
Jacob Chung
Chris Cogle
Stu Cohn
Donald Cohn
Elizabeth Creveling
David Criswell
Jean Crockett
Harry Daniels
Lawrence Datnoff
Mark Davis
Timothy Davis
Lori Deitte
Joseph Delfino
Julie Dodd
Mary Ann Ferguson
Ian Flood
Timothy Flynn
Joanne Foss
Elizabeth Frazier
Maria Gallo

George Gerencser
Martin Gold
Ellis Greiner
Dave Hackett
Jeffrey Harman
Alice Harmon
Edward Hart
Kirk Hatfield
John Haydu
Marc Heft
Marc Hoit
Shannon Holliday
David Janicke
Rebecca Jordi
Stan Kaye
Saeed Khan
James Klausner
Shawn Kneipp
Gail Kunkle
Tony Ladd
John Leavey
Henrietta Logan
Heather McAuslane
Sue McGorray
Robert McGovern
Gloria Miller
Deb Mitra
Bill Montgomery
Marjorie Moore
Andy Naranjo
Scott Nygren
Anthony Offerle
Dan O'Neill
Mark Orazem
Joe Pergola
Deborah Popovich

Kathleen Price
Rose Pringle
William Properzio
Tracy Rambo
Ron Randles
Roger Reep
Jaquelyn Resnick
Marilyn Roberts
Pamela Roberts
Leah Rosenberg
Victoria Rovine
Mary Beth Salisbury
Kirk Schanze
Miren Schino
Richard Segal
James Selph
Orit Shechtman
Wolfgang Sigmund
Susan Sinnott
Clay Smith
David Smith
Chris Snodgrass
Craig Stanley
Taylor Stein
Michael Sweat
Michele Tennant
Joseph Tepas
Sevan Terzian
Robert Thomas
Sharon Treen
Bryan Unruh
Jill varnes
Eric Wachsman
Sally Williams
Steve Willis
Naomi Young
Dana Zimmel
Barbara Zsembik

Student Senators
Charli Jane Walrond

H. Robert Kold
E Harvey
Brent Ransom
Cathy Martyniak
Pete Hansen
Lynn Sollenberger
Aragli Castaneda
Doug Jordi

Beth Layton

Ex officio
Janie Fouke
Henry Frierson
Dennis Jett
Carol Kem
Pramod Khargoenkar
Ruth Lowery
Carol Murphy
Rebecca Pauly
Michael Perri
Judith Russell
Danaya Wright
Allen Wysocki
Richard Yost

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs