Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00023
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Uniform Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: April 19, 2007
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00023
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

02007%20April%20minutes%20senate ( PDF )

Full Text

Senate Minutes
April 19, 2007
3:00 5:00 P.M.
Constans Theater

The meeting was called to order at 3:03 PM

The minutes of the March 22, 2007 minutes were approved.

Chair's Report
Danaya Wright reported that the Honorary Degrees Committee met with the President,
Provost, General Counsel and the Chair of the Committee on Committees to look at ways to
maintain faculty participation, improve the process and maintain confidentiality. No
decisions have been made yet. The Senate will be consulted once a proposal has been
finalized. Senate elections have ended and more faculty need to vote. Concern was
expressed regarding conversations on the Senate listserv after the April meeting. The
steering Committee is discussing possible alternatives for discussion and is working with the
general counsel to find ways to allow for better communication of ideas between meetings.
The Student Senate passed a referendum favoring a fifty cent per credit hour energy
efficiency fee. The Senate was asked to endorse this fee, but the steering committee felt that
this decision was not up to the Senate to decide. There is language in the current proposed
regulations to change the college promotion and tenure committees. The current language
states that the committees must be composed of tenured full professors.

SPresident's Report Bernie Machen, President
The president discussed the current legislative session and the academic enhancement
program's progress through the legislature. Dr. Machen also stated that the University Police
Department has been looking at ways to upgrade security after the Virginia Tech incident.
All concerns about the textbook bill should be sent to the President so that our
representatives in Tallahassee can be notified of the concerns.

Chair Elect Presentations and Election 1st ballot
Frank Bova was elected Chair Elect

Information Items:

Regulations Report Tim Taylor, Constitution Committee Chair
Tim Taylor presented the Constitution Committee's report regarding proposed
regulation changes.
Nominating Committee Report Carol Kem, Chair Nominating Committee
Carol Kem presented the nominating committee's report on Committee and Council
Announcement of New Senators Danaya Wright, Chair
Danaya Wright presented the results of the Senator elections.
Strategic Work Plan Anita Spring, Chair Academic Policy Council
Anita Spring provided an update on the Strategic Work Plan. The APC revised the
document to correct typos and grammar. The document will be presented to the BOT in
June. The Plan is to review the document on a regular basis through the APC. The APC
will look at priorities and develop a system to address priorities and add new priorities.
Graduate council item
Laurence Alexander, Interim Associate Dean Graduate School
PhD in Epidemiology, College of Public Health and Health Professions

Laurence Alexander presented the proposal for a PhD in Epidemiology. Rich Segal
moved the item to action. The proposal was approved.

Action Items:

Graduate council item
Laurence Alexander, Interim Associate Dean Graduate School
o PhD in Biostatistics
The proposal for a PhD in Biostatics was approved.

University Curriculum Committee Sheila Dickison, Curriculum Committee Chair
Discontinuation of the CIS Major within the BSBA Program, College of
The proposal for the discontinuation of the CIS major was approved.

Faculty Budget Resolution Frank Bova, Budget Council Chair
The Faculty Budget Resolution was approved.
Committee on Committees Recommendations John Leavey, COC chair
o Student Memberships
o University Curriculum Committee and General Education Committee
Bryan Weber proposed an amendment to the recommendation. The motion to amend the
proposal failed. The original motion was approved. The recommendations will be sent to the
constitution committee for language.

Discussion from Floor:

Three minutes per speaker. The floor is open to Senators first.

Performance by the Florida MOD Project and Gator Tones followed by a
reception in the Lower Lobby

Amer Abu-Hanna
Chunrong Ai
Janaki Alavalapati
Joe Aufmuth
MaryLou Behnke
Linda Bloom
David Bloomquist
Elizabeth Bolton
Frank Bova
Jesse boyles
Jane Brockmann
Pamela Brown
Sam Brown
William Buhi
Regina Bussing
Judy Butterfield
Margaret Carr
Bill Chen
Kenny Cheng
Jacob Chung

John Cisar
Phillip Clark
Chris Cogle
Roxanne Connelly
Winfred Cooke
Elizabeth Creveling
Oscar Crisalle
Jerry Cutler
Harry Daniels
Mark Davis
Timothy Davis
Laura Eillis
Mary Ann Ferguson
Tim Flynn
Thomas Foster
Elizabeth Frazier
Stephen Futch
George Gerencser
Pete Giaccobi
Martin Gold
Ellis Greiner

Dave Hackett
Marc Heft
Marc Hoit
Forrest Howard
Rebecca Jordi
Henry Jowers
William Kemr
Saeed Khan
James Klausner
Shawn Kneipp
Pradeep Kumar
John Leavey
Robyn LeBoeuf
Christy Lemak
William Lindberg
Joseph Little
Henrietta Logan
Joseli Macedo
William McArthur
Jack Mechlosky
Bayard Miller
Gloria Miller
Jacqueline Miller
Bill Montgomery
Carol Murphy
Sven Norman
Scott Nygren
Yngve Ohm
Mark Orazem
Susan Percival
Joe Pergola
Steven Perz
Kathleen Price
Ron Randles
Roger Reep
Rolf Renne
Jaquelyn Resnick
Leah Rosenberg
Bhavani Sankar
Nancy Schaefer
Richard Segal
James Selph
Orit Shechtman
Pierre Sikivie
Sharleen Simpson
Wesley Smith
Chris Snodgrass
Anita Spring
Craig Stanley
Taylor Stein
Jim Taylor
Robert Thomas
Joseph Unruh
Thomas Vickroy
Kim Walsh-Childers

Susan Webb
Bryan Weber
Brenda Williams
Judith Williams
Patricia Woods
Danaya Wright
Rick Yost
Naomi Young
Barbara Zsembik

Student Senators:
Lindsey Collins
Yooni Yi for John Boyles

Ex officio:
Janie Fouke
Robert Frank
Carol Kem
Lucinda Lavelli
Bernie Machen
Kim Tanzer
Tim Taylor

Laurence Datnoff
Margaret Temple Smith
Sara Traylor
Stephen Hanson
Greg Shark
Elena Anderson
Mark Daniels
Linda Young
Mike Sweat
Jackie Ayers
Pierre Ramond
Laurence Alexander

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs