Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00021
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Uniform Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: February 15, 2007
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00021
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

02007%20February%20minutes%20senate ( PDF )

Full Text

Senate Minutes
February 15, 2007
3:00 5:00 P.M.
Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:04 PM.
The minutes of the January 18, 2006 meeting were approved.


Chair's Report
Dr. Wright reported that the April Senate meeting will be in the Constans Theater. The
nominating committee is still accepting nominations for committees and councils. The chair
elect nomination period opened today and will close on March 1. Chair statements are due
March 31 and the chair elect will be elected at the April Senate meeting. A graduate student
forum will be held on April 4 and the Graduate Student Council is looking for faculty
members to lead a roundtable discussion on balancing research, teaching and service.

President's Report
The BOG commissioned Pappas Report is available on the Senate Web site. The governor
proposed no new increases in undergraduate in-state tuition. The BOG and the BOT can
still set out of state and graduate and professional tuition. The Climate Survey is now
available online. Dr. Machen reviewed admissions figures for African American students
(increased 19 percent over the past year) and Hispanic students (increased 27 percent over
the past year). Dr. Machen is seeking input from the UCC and students on the minus grades
The administration is looking into ways to increase minority faculty numbers at UF.

Information Items:

County Extension Agents
Dr. Pauly presented an information item proposing a three year pilot program for reviewing
county extension agent tenure and promotion packets. The proposed pilot program would
have the county extension agent packets bypass the APB on their way to the President.

Sustainability Committee Report and Resolution
Eva Czamecka-Vemer presented information on the Sustainability committee's initiatives.
The Provost will be offering mini-grants in sustainability and the committee is working to
implement certificates in sustainability.
The Sustainability committee would like the university to sign onto the Focus the Nation
initiative to help stop global warming. Dr. Machen has already signed onto the project. Dr.
Czamecka-Vemer presented a resolution in support of the Focus the Nation initiative.

Proposed Regulations Changes
Tim Taylor presented proposed regulation changes with the constitution Committee's
recommendations on those changes. The regulations will be posted for public comment
beginning on February 27, 2007.

Action Items:

Resolution on the Academic Enhancement Program
The AEP resolution passed unanimously.

Graduate Council Items
Migration of Nutritional Sciences concentration to PhD in Nutritional Sciences
The degree proposal passed unanimously.

Discussion from Floor:

Three minutes per speaker. The floor is open to Senators first.

The meeting adjourned at 4:24 PM.


Amer Abu-Hanna
Robert Adelson
Janaki Alavalapati
Paul Blaser
Linda Bloom
David Bloomquist
Kenneth Broadway
Pamela Brown
William Buhi
Regina bures
Regina Bussing
Judy Butterfiled
Dale Campbell
Bill Chen
Jacob Chung
John Cisar
Phillip Clark
Chris Cogle
Winfred Cooke
Elizabeth Creveling
Oscar Crisale
Harry Daniels
Laura Ellis
Mary Ann Ferguson
Elizabeth Frazier
Stephen Futch
Maria Gallo
Geroge Gerencser
Malay Ghosh
Martin Gold
Paul Goldstein
Ellis Greiner
Cynthia Griffin
Steve Hagen

Marc Hoit
Alice Holmes
Forrest Howard
Marjorie Hoy
Henry Jowers
William Kem
James Klausner
Shawn Kneipp
Pradeep Kumar
Jodi Lane
John Leavey
Robyn LeBoeuf
Christy Lemak
Jenshan Lin
Joseph Little
Henrietta Logan
Joseli Macedo
Cathleen Martyniak
Jack Mecholsky
Bayard Miller
Jacqueline Miller
Bill Montgomery
Stephen Mulkey
Carol Murphy
Satya Narayan
June Nogle
Sven Norma
Yngve Ohm
Joe Pergola
David Quillen
Ron Randles
Roger Reep
Rolf Renne
Jaquelyn Resnick
Leah Rosenberg
Nancy Schaefer

Richard Segal
James Selph
Pierre Sikivie
Wesley Smith
Stephen Smith
Chris Snodgrass
Taylor Stein
Lewis Sussman
Jim Taylor
Robert Thomas
Pham Tiep
Thomas Vickroy
Susan Webb
Bryan Weber
Brenda Williams
Steven Willis
Danaya Wright
Rick Yost
Naomi Young
Barbara Zsembik

Ex officio
Janie Fouke
Carol Kem
Bemie Machen
Rebecca Pauly
Kim Tanzer
Tim Taylor

Student Senators
Lindsey Collins

Guigin Ye
Hong Fang Su
Lawrence Alexander
Elaine Turner
Eva Czamecka-Vemer
Jackie Ayers
Nan Bin

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs