Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00091652/00015
 Material Information
Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Uniform Title: Faculty Senate meeting minutes
Physical Description: Newspaper
Language: English
Creator: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Publisher: Faculty Senate, University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: May 4, 2006
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00091652
Volume ID: VID00015
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

May4minutes ( PDF )

Full Text

Senate Minutes
Special Meeting
May 4, 2006
3:00 -5:00 P.M.
130 BRY


Information Items:

Report on Alfred P. Sloan Awards
Debra Walker King, Associate Provost for Faculty Development

Debra Walker King reported on the Alfred P. Sloan Awards process. The award is for
Faculty Career Flexibility and recognizes universities who implemented good programs
and strategies for faculty welfare and development. Dr. King updated the Senate on the
process for the award selection and notified the Senate of UF's current standing in the
awards process. In order to continue in the process there needs to be a 40 percent
response rate to a survey regarding faculty development.

Report of the Senate Council on Research and Scholarship on the Statement
on 1UF Research and IDC Distribution Rick Yost, Council Chair

Rick Yost reviewed the proposed guidelines for 1UF Research and IDC distribution drafted
by the Senate Council on Research and Scholarship. This will be an action item in the fall
after a potential workshop or additional discussions.

Action Items:

Strategic Work Plan Resolution Kim Tanzer, Chair
Kim Tanzer reviewed the process through which faculty input was gathered and
considered for inclusion in the strategic work plan recommendations. The Faculty
Senate will have three representatives work with the President's office to incorporate the
Senate's recommendations into a document to present to the Board of Trustees. The
Academic Policy Council used 5 principles of make recommendations based on the
faculty input: 1. Recognize top 10 universities have a strong core of traditional excellence
based on a broad academic background 2. identify thematic areas of excellence rather
than thematic system of implementation by not singling out specific units or colleges 3.
importance of placing the mission and vision statements in preamble 4. recognition of
support necessary to achieve excellence in expanding the staff section to make the work
plan inclusive of all stakeholders 5. underline importance of international and
interdisciplinary work.

Dr. Machen stated that the Board of Trustees wants input into this document at the June
Board of Trustees meeting. Dr. Machen stated that one possibility for presentation to
the Trustees would be to submit the original draft and the recommendations and then
work to incorporate together after the Fall semester.

Frank Bova moved to endorse the resolution. Eric Wachsman moved to amend the
resolution to endorse the recommendations of the work plan. Frank Bova accepted this
amendment. The motion passed unanimously as amended.

*Consideration of motion taking from the table the motion to approve the
proposal to create a department of epidemiology and biostatistics in the
College of Public Health and Health Professions
Kim Tanzer, Chair

Dr. Frank made a presentation regarding the proposal to create the department of
epidemiology and biostatistics.

Bryan Weber moved to take the motion off of the table.
The motion to create a department of epidemiology and biostatistics in the college of
Public Health and Health Professions passed.

The meeting adjourned at 4:30 P.M.

Senator Attendees:
Janaki Alavalapati
Jean Andino
Samin Anghaie
Jerry Bartz
Russell Bauer
David Bloom
David Bloomquist
Kenneth Boote
Frank Bova
Jesse Boyles
Lawrence Brock
William Buhi
Mary Ann Burg
Regina Bussing
Douglas Cenzer
Sandra Chance
Carlene Chase
Bill Chen
Patrick Colahan
Maureen Conroy
Oscar Crisalle
Harry Daniels
Timothy Davis
Julie Dodd
Joanne Foss
Elizabeth Frazier
Martin Gold
Donald Graetz
Jesse Gregory
Ellis Greiner

Curt Hannah
Carrie Haskell-Luevano
Marc Heft
Marjorie Hoy
Mike Katovich
Kristen Kemple
Saeed Khan
Peter Kima
James Klausner
Shawn Kneipp
Pradeep Kumar
Ary Lamme
Jodi Lane
Christy Lemak
William Lindberg
Joseli Macedo
Cathleen Martyniak
Jacqueline Miller
David Mulkey
Carol Murphy
June Nogle
Rebecca Pauly
Kaythleen Price
Jaquelyn Resnick
Leah Rosenberg
Alan Sawyer
Orit Shechtman
Richard Segal
James Selph
Mark Sheplak
Stephen Smith
Chris Snodgrass

Anita Spring
Laura Sutton
Thomas Vickroy
Eric Wachsman
Bryan Weber
Michael Weigold
Steven Willis
George Wilson
Danaya Wright
Allen Wysocki
Rick Yost

Ex-officio attendees:
Robert Frank
Ken Gerhardt
Carol Kem
Bernie Machen
Stephen Pritz

William Riffee
Kim Tanzer

Myra Brown
Mary Sheps
Elena Andresen
Nabrh Asul
Yung Sung Joo
Linda Young
Deb Burr
Debra Walker King
Sven Normann
Babette Brumback
Yumiko Hulvey
Paul Duncan
Tom Walsh
Florence Babb

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs