Digitization of this item is currently in progress.
J. S. Bach’s Cello Suites: Composing an Idiomatic Equivalent for the Trombone
Full Citation
Permanent Link:
 Material Information
Title: J. S. Bach’s Cello Suites: Composing an Idiomatic Equivalent for the Trombone
Series Title: Journal of Undergraduate Research
Physical Description: Serial
Language: English
Creator: van Duuren, Alexander
Jennings, Arthur ( Mentor )
Publisher: University of Florida
Place of Publication: Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date: 2008
Abstract: Around the year 1720, J. S. Bach composed a series of six suites for solo violoncello. These suites are a very popular component of Bach’s extensive repertoire and consequently have been transcribed for various instruments, including the trombone. However, since the performance capabilities of the cello differ greatly from those of the trombone, it is difficult or nearly impossible to play the suites in their original form. The purpose of this research was to compose an original, unaccompanied suite for the trombone that encapsulates both the essence of Bach’s cello suites as well as idiomatic writing for the trombone. The product is a set of six movements (Prelude, Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Bourrée I/II, and Gigue) in the Baroque style. The combination of technical exercises for the trombone with the popular and established style of Bach results in a musical etude that is interesting and effective.
 Record Information
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.
System ID: UF00091523:00555

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2011 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated May 24, 2011 - Version 2.9.11 - mvs