Title: Graham names new members to water boards
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00052048/00001
 Material Information
Title: Graham names new members to water boards
Alternate Title: Kleman, Kim. "Graham names new members to water boards." Tampa Tribune
Physical Description: 1p.
Language: English
Creator: Kleman, Kim ( Author )
Spatial Coverage: North America -- United States of America -- Florida
General Note: Box 4, Folder 2 ( SF BASIN BOARD CONCEPT ), Item 72
Funding: Digitized by the Legal Technology Institute in the Levin College of Law at the University of Florida.
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: UF00052048
Volume ID: VID00001
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: Levin College of Law, University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.

Full Text

Graham names

new members

to water boards

The governor chose not to
reappoint two members involved
in the legal battle between their
local board and the district
governing board.
Tribune Staff Writer
A stockbroker, a biologist and an architect are New appointees are:
among 13 new members appointed to subdistricts of theBrandon president of a constr
Southwest Florida Water Management District, Gov. Bob Don Davis, of Brandon, president of a construction
Graham announced Tuesday. firm; Paul Major, of Litha, president of a broadcasting
Twelve candidates, whose terms had expired, have company; and Hank Varnum, also of Lithia, president of
been renamed to the subdistricts, or basin boards, the Sya welding fspi, to the Alafa River Basin Board.n-
governor announced. dez, a former lumber company owner, both of Tampa, to
But Graham chose not to reappoint two basin mem- the Hillsborough River Basin Board.
bers involved in the messy legal battle between their Robert Gadson, a Tampa real estate professional;
basin board and the district over taxation issues. and Nicholas Carullo, a psychologist with the Hilsbor-
"There are several people politically motivated. Ab- ough County School Board from Odessa; to the North-
solutely," said Allan Stone, a member of the Northwest west Hillsborough Basin Board.
Hillsborough Basin Board who wasn't reappointed. William Wilcox, of Punta Gorda, general manager
Charles Martin, the other man not renamed to the of a development corporation; Sherida Ferguson, a
basin, said he also was disappointed. Lakeland stockbroker, and James Layne, a biologist
"I expected to be reappointed because we dropped from Lake Placid; to the Peace River Basin Board.
the lawsuit," Martin said. "But I don't intend to fight it in Ed Rathke, of Florida Power and Light Co.; Calvin
any way," he said of Graham's decision. Bryant, a furniture store owner, and Anne Bishopric, a
former city commissioner, all of Sarasota, to the Mana-
sota Basin Board.
Reappointed basin board members are:
Robert Roderick, of Plant City, to the Alafla Basin;
Bobby Sapp, of Plant City, and A. Donald Bailey, of Seff-
ner, to the Hillsborough Basin; Frank Jackson of Tampa
to the Northwest Hillsborough Basin; C. Lamar Daniels
of Winter Haven to the Peace Basin; and John Whelan
^'/^ / ~and B.T. Longino, both of Sarasota, to the Manasotas
Also, John Grey of New Port Richey and Charles
Barnes of Crystal River to the Coastal River Basin; J.D.
Starkey of Odessa County and David Knowlton of St
Petersburg to the Pinellas-Anclote Basin; and Norvell
Hunt of Zephyrhills to the Withlacoochee Basin.
The terms of the northwest Hillsborough appointees
expire in 1987. All other terms expire in June 1988

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs