Title: Ordinance of secession
Full Citation
Permanent Link: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/SA00000002/00001
 Material Information
Title: Ordinance of secession
Physical Description: 1 : ;
Language: English
Creator: Convention of the People of the State of Florida, (1861-1862
Subject: Secession   ( lcsh )
Politics and government -- Florida -- 1821-1865   ( lcsh )
Genre: Ordinances   ( aat )
Ordinances   ( aat )
Summary: The series contains a one page handwritten copy of the Ordinance of Secession passed on January 10, 1861 by the members of the Convention of the People of the State of Florida (commonly referred to as the Secession Convention).
Biographical: Pursuant to an Act of the Legislature approved November 30, 1860, Governor Madison S. Perry issued a proclamation calling an election on Saturday, December 22, 1860, for delegates to a Convention to address the issue of whether Florida had a right to withdraw from the Union. The Secession Convention met on January 3, 1861 in Tallahassee. John C. McGehee of Madison County was elected President. The Convention passed the Ordinance of Secession on January 10, 1861, declaring Florida to be "a sovereign and independent nation." The Convention ratified the Constitution adopted by the Confederate States of America on April 13 and adjourned sine die on April 27, 1861 unless convened by the president on or before December 25.
Publications: Journal of the proceedings of the Convention of the People of Florida, begun and held at the Capitol in the city of Tallahassee, on Thursday, January 3, A.D. 1861. Tallahassee : Office of the Floridian and Journal, 1861.
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: SA00000002
Volume ID: VID00001
Source Institution: Florida State Archives
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.
Resource Identifier: oclc - 32413375

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs