Group Title: Dateline : UVI
Title: Dateline : UVI. Vol. ix. No. 4.
Full Citation
Permanent Link:
 Material Information
Title: Dateline : UVI. Vol. ix. No. 4.
Series Title: Dateline : UVI
Physical Description: Serial
Language: English
Creator: University of the Virgin Islands.
Affiliation: University of the Virgin Islands
Publisher: University of the Virgin Islands.
Publication Date: 12/26/2003
Subject: Caribbean   ( lcsh )
Spatial Coverage: North America -- United States Virgin Islands
 Record Information
Bibliographic ID: CA01300565
Volume ID: VID00025
Source Institution: University of Florida
Holding Location: University of Florida
Rights Management: All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.


This item has the following downloads:

dlix4 ( PDF )

Full Text

jB i:UVI

April 28, 2003 vol ix, number 4

UVI Employees Honored at Service Awards

University ofthe Virgin Islands
faculty and staff were honored for
their years of service, retirement
and perfect attendance at Service
Awards Ceremonies on both cam-
"Thank you for your dedication
and demonstration to the core val-
ues of this institution," UVI's Presi-
dent LaVerne Ragster told the hon-
orees in her remarks at the St. Tho-
mas campus ceremony on April 9.
The St. Croix campus ceremony
was held on April 10. "Every single
one of you has touched the lives of UVIPresidentLaVerne Ra
hundreds or thousands of people in St. Thomas campus employ
the community and your time is bearing Rymer s name wh
well spent," she said.
Manuel Thomas, manager of UVI's human resources de-
partment, the area that organizes the service awards, said
employees' dedication and loyalty is "the framework that has
made this institution what it is today." Employees were rec-
ognized in five year intervals for their years of service, with
two people receiving awards for thirty-five years of service.
One employee on each campus was selected for the pres-
tigious "Employee of the Year" award. The employee of the
year on the St. Thomas campus is Riisa Rymer, a library


specialist in the Ralph M.
Paiewonsky Library. On the St.
Croix campus the employee of the
year is Yvonne Horton, an adminis-
trative specialist at the Agricultural
Experiment Station. Several special
awards were also given to exem-
play UVI employees.
President Emeritus Dr. Orville
Kean was the keynote speaker at
the St. Thomas campus ceremony.
Dr. Kean retired in August after 36
years of service to the University.
"Whatever contributions I
*terpresents Riisa Rymer, have made is because of the sup-
e oftheyear with plaque port I've had from many of the
e her husband looks on. people who are here being honored
today," Dr. Kean said. Other notable employees who have
retired and were being honored include: Dr. Gilbert Sprauve,
a humanities professor who worked on the St. Thomas cam-
pus for 36 years; Juanita Woods, the former St. Croix cam-
pus associate chancellor; and Dr. Erika Waters, founder and
former editor of The Caribbean Writer.
"We are fortunate to be working for one of the finest
institutions in the Virgin Islands. We are all part of a great
success story," said Carmelo Rivera, a UVI business profes-
sor, who was the keynote speaker on the St. Croix campus.

2002-2003 Service Awards Recipients

Franklyn Belle (STT) Mavis M. Gilchrist (STX)
Elridge Blake (STT) Jacqueline A. Sprauve (STT)
Orville Kean (STT) Utha O. Williams (STT)
Keith Moolenaar (STT)
Christopher Ramcharan (STX) 20-YEARAWARD

Jillean J.C. Webster (STX)

Velma A. Abramsen (STT)
John J. Ambrose (STT)

Mary A. Belgrave (STT)
Stafford M.A. Crossman (STX)
Kenneth Olasse Davis (STX)
Evans A. Henley (STT)
Continued on next page

Gilbert Sprauve (STT)
Marie T Traina (STT)
Erika Waters (STX)
Juanita Woods (STX)

Malcolm C. Kirwan (STT)
Noreen E. Stout (STT)

Doris C. Battiste (STT)
Adelle C. Belle (STT)
Sarah L. Dahl-Smith (STX)
Evannie A. E. Jeremiah (STX)
Blanche K. Mills (STT)
John Payne (STT)
Yvonne M. Phillips (STT)
Lynn E. Rosenthal (STT)

April 29 StudentAcademicAwards, STT/STX
April 29 Toxic Metals Workshop, STT
May 17,18 Commencement, STT/STX
May 30 Safe Diving Workshop, STT

Service Awards recipients continued

Ededet A. Iniama (STT)
Julien Maduro (STT)
Gwen-Marie Moolenaar (STT)
Agatha P. Nelson (STT)
Lydia H. Pickering (STX)
Jimmy Rogers (STT)
Judith V. Rogers (STX)
Annette U.S. Shuck (STT)
Roy A. Watlington (STT)
Lorna C. Young-Wright (STT)
Theresa V. Anduze-Parris (STX)

Suzanne F. Adrien (STT)
Betty J. Christian (STX)
Valerie A. Combie (STX)
William S. Hendrickson (STT)
Marie J. Hermann (STT)
Justina E. Joseph (STX)
Stuart R. Ketcham (STX)
Jacqueline A. Kowalski (STX)
Barbara E. Mark (STT)
Miriam V. Osbore-Elliott (STX)
Manuel C. Palada (STX)
Charmaine I. Smith (STX)
Linda V. Thomas (STT)
Julie A. Wright (STT)
Thomas W. Zimmerman (STX)

Emil Aska (STT)
Williams A. Gonzales (STX)
Stevie Henry (STT)
Alicea V. Joseph (STX)
Richard S. Nemeth (STT)
Adam W. Parr (STT)

2 John Brewer's Bay
St. Thomas, VI 00802

Samuel D. Salisbury (STT)
Mayra E. Suarez-Velez
Manuel C. Thomas (STT)
Nadine L. Williams (STT)
Marvin E. Williams (STX)

Rigmerie Finch-Ponteen
Mario Golden (STX)
Vancito E. Gumbs (STT)
Patricia Hector (STT)
Naomi L. Herbert (STT)
Lofton Holder (STT)
Joseph Mark (STX)
Ena Miller (STT)
Eugene Mitchell (STX)
Ellen W. Murraine (STT)
Joseph Philbert (STT)
Yvonne Rivera (STX)
Nurseen I. Rogers (STT)
Catherine Terrel (STX)
Mario Thomas (STX)

Michael E. Austrie (STX)
AiLun Joseph (STT)
Blanche K. Mills (STT)
Yvette E. Richards (STT)
Helen M. Smith-Ottley (STT)

(above) Edwardo Smith, production supervisor at
WTJX TV-Channel 12, explains to a student how to
use a television camera at a the 24th Annual Career
and Job Fair held on April 3, in the Sports and Fit-
ness Center on the St. Thomas campus. A health fair
was also held in the Sports and Fitness center that
day. (I1. i.,) A student gets his bloodpressure checked
by a volunteer nurse at the health fair.

,*et :UVI is a production of the UVI Public
Relations Office. Contact us by phone at (340) 693-1056
FAX: (340) 693-1055

I GETCONNECTEDTO n a s ad at at .. w ied

University of Florida Home Page
© 2004 - 2010 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.

Acceptable Use, Copyright, and Disclaimer Statement
Last updated October 10, 2010 - - mvs