Citation
Search for yesterday

Material Information

Title:
Search for yesterday a history of Levy County, Florida
Creator:
Levy County Archives Committee (Fla.)
Place of Publication:
Bronson, Fla
Publisher:
Levy County Archives Committee
Publication Date:
Language:
English
Edition:
Chapter 2, 1977
Physical Description:
28 volumes : ; 28 cm +

Subjects

Subjects / Keywords:
History -- Levy County (Fla.) ( lcsh )
Biography -- Levy County (Fla.) ( lcsh )
Genealogy -- Levy County (Fla.) ( lcsh )
Florida -- Levy County ( fast )
Genre:
Biography. ( fast )
Genealogy. ( fast )
History. ( fast )
non-fiction ( marcgt )
Biography ( fast )
Genealogy ( fast )
History ( fast )

Notes

General Note:
Cover title.
General Note:
Includes index as v.29.
General Note:
"A Bicentennial publication."
General Note:
Chapter three has title: Slowpoke. Chapter nine has title: The High Sheriff.

Record Information

Source Institution:
University of Florida
Holding Location:
University of Florida
Rights Management:
Copyright Levy County Archives Committee. Permission granted to University of Florida to digitize and display this item for non-profit research and educational purposes. Any reuse of this item in excess of fair use or other copyright exemptions requires permission of the copyright holder.
Resource Identifier:
024053741 ( ALEPH )
06316718 ( OCLC )
00711645 ( LCCN )
Classification:
F317.L6 S44 1977 ( lcc )
975.9/77 ( ddc )

UFDC Membership

Aggregations:
Florida Family and Community History

Downloads

This item has the following downloads:


Full Text
S earc I 2or yesterday,
A History
of
Levy County, Florida
Chapter Two
Published By The
Levy County Archives Committee
Sponsored by the Levy County Board of Commissioners Bronson, Florida
A Bicentennial Publication




Copyright 0 1977
Levy County Archives Committee




i5he ~vyj County~ Commi33ion
Introduction by S. E. Gunnell to understand that when the typical frontiersman thought
something, he said so. The Clerk dutifully recorded what he
Instead of taking the usual route of strict adherence to heard. These old timers were blunt and spoke directly to dates and chronological sequences and trying to present a the point, all this is a little different from the verbal fencing massive sweep of all people and events year by year, it is and tactfulness of today's polite society. We hope that our our plan to take one family or one class of events and bring readers get the point; that Is just the way they were, they that facet of history across the years. We believe that our made no apologies for It and neither do we. After all, what approach will promote understanding of how one we publish from the old minutes Is a matter of public
happening led to and blended into the next happening, and record. that the cause and effect relationships will appear with
more coherence. Too, we hope that our readers will sense We do not intend to publish the entire records, but we
the spirit and philosophy of the old times, the old people, will present condensations, edited versions, and occasionand come to feel closer to them. ally, direct quotations. Road locations going by residences
will be given in detail, some of our readers may be trying to
With the above approach in mind, we are presenting locate exactly where an ancestor lived. Some extensive excerpts from the records of the Levy County Commission. jury lists will be included as they prove that a specific These records are called minutes. Although the County was person was a legal resident of the county at that time. organized in 1845, the minutes of the first five years are
lost, probably destroyed in the Civil War burn-out at For some years, the Commission was also known as
Levyville. The book of minutes started in 1850 was still in the probate court and the Commission Chairman was use during the Civil War and survived, probably because it called the Probate Judge. These titles were used was not at the Courthouse, but at the Clerk's residence. concurrently until the probate court designation gradually This book was found by Norwood Ishie in 1958, and Ernest disappeared. Stephens, Circuit Clerk at the time, had it rebound and
carefully preserved. These two gentlemen were at the right Levy County began its existence in 1845 with Thomas place at the right time and thanks to their alertness, we E. Barrow as Probate Judge. He was followed by J1. B. still have this old record of inestimable value. Blanton, Hezekiah E O'Steen, and Simeon Harvey.
In the minutes there are cryptic references to Starting in 1850, here are the minutes....
dramatic occurrences, human foibles, and it is necessary
MINUTES OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS collect 25 pct. on the state tax to raise a fund to defray the
OF LEVY COUNTY, BOOK A Expenses of the County of Levy.
APRIL 1850- DECEMBER 1878 John R. Hatcher Pres-t of this Board C. C.
By Jean Cooper 3rd ordered by the court that there be an order given to
Robert Watterson to call on George H. Tresper to pay over
The minutes of the first session of the Board of Levy him as County treasurer Six dollars and 02 cents remaining County Commissioners available to us make it clear this in his hands of the County funds last year. was not the first meeting of that body. Because we found John R. Hatcher Pres-t of Board C. Coin.
the wording of the records so different from the wording of
today's minutes of that Board, we thought it might be 4th ordered by the Court that there be a public road cut the interesting to you to quote the entire entry for the first most direct way from fort fanning to Mary V. Andrews' meeting we have record of. It reads thus; quotes, plantation and that the said Thomas E. Barrow be one of
punctuation etc., theirs: said commissioners of said road or roads In the County to
act with A. Mooney and P. H. Davis, road Commissioners
"Order book of the Court of County Commissioners of of said County.
Levy County Florida. 1st session, 5th April 1850. John R. Hatcher Pres-t of Board of Coin.
1st the board of County Commissioners In persuance of an 5th The Court held by Joseph WIlIkerson, James C. Barco, act of thte general assembly, met in session at the house of lssaac Highsmith and John R. Hatcher, who they elected P. H. Davis for the purpose of Examining the state tax as president of said Board do vote themselves $2.00 per day book, and it was found correct with the exception of four for their services on the 5th day April 1856. cents in favor of the state. John R. Hatcher Pres-t of the Board"
John R. Hatcher Prest of the Board of C. C.
2nd moved and ordered by the court that Robert Watterson
3




The above entry appears on the first page of Book A, and the road from Z. Davises to NewnansviIle that was cut Minutes of the County Commission, Levy County. This out last winter, the following lands:
page, along with several others had been carefully cut John B. Webster Daniel B. Hogans
from the bound book, and replaced carefully inside the Sebastian Tomlinson Stephen W. Hogans
front cover, where they seem to be no worse for the abuse. William Buie William Tomlinson"
The script is smooth, flowing and easily read, though the entire book Is yellowed with age. Discrepancies appear For an undisclosed reason the Board at its next
now and then, one of which is very noticeable in the first meeting declared on Feb. 22, 1851 "that the road leading entry made by this Board, that is in the dates 5th of April from Fort Fanning to Fort Jennings be void and nule." 1850, which appears in the introducton at the beginning of the record and the closing entry "this 5th day of April, However, at the September 1, 1851 meeting the road
1856." Both dates are distinctly legible so we can only from Fort Fanning to Fort Jenning was reviewed, ordered surmise this may have been a copy of the original or an restored and to go thence to Marion County line. Also overlooked human error in the original. One thing is ordered cut was a road inland from Clay Landing along
certain: subsequent entries assure the actual date was Greens' Trail to intersect the road leading to Micanopie. April 5, 1850,
On March 8, 1852 election returns were determined. On July 1, 1850 a special meeting of the Commission James McGee of the Wekiva Precinct and Robert W. was called to consider an application from William Randall of Cedar Key were present. New Commissioners
Thompson "for the purpose of ordering the precincts of elected were Daniel A. Morgan, Enoch Daniel, J. J. said County, and we therefore make and ordain a precinct Webster and Sebastian Tomlinson. A proposal to build a at the house of F. F. Thompson in the Wekives Hammock court house 20'x30' was made but no action taken. The ...that there be a precinct at the Court House (Hatchers Sheriff was ordered to furnish the Board with paper, one Place) ...at Clay Landing (Margaret Blantons place) and bottle of ink and one dozen pens. Elijah Hunter was paid at Cedar Key at the usual place on said Island." $1.00 for rent of his house for the use of the Court.
On November 2, 1850 In what was noted to be the third June 7, 1852 Election Precinct No. 5 was established at session of the Board a $3.19 assessment was credited and the home of Joseph F. Prevate (Prevatt). the books balanced, with $2.21, 60 cents shown as "Amt. due the State." On November 8, 1852 the right of way order for the
road from Clay Landing to Levyville was amended to Other business transacted was the establishment of a direct that it should go by Highsmith's Store, but on road to run from Fanning "the most direct way to Fort December 13, that year the order was rescinded. Jennings, having the following lands, towit: Thomas C. Barrow Henry Lancaster In order to understand the obvious dissention and
Robert Waterson I. P. Hardee indecision about the routes roads were to take, we have to
Thomas Love Silvester Bryant, Sr.
Simeon Harvey Silvester Bryant, Jr.
John Flichete George H. Tresper A:
Benjamin Brownlow William Mayo
David Brownlow
Also "the roaa laid out by the former County ...
Commissioners, from Zacharlah Davis's to Cedar Key was neglected to designate the proper lands," so they designated these: -'-"'i'
"Samuel Clyatt L. J. Walker 'Jackson Clyatt James C. Barco
(?) L. Moore Thomas Parsons
A. H. Smith Josiah Oglisby
Walter C. Tresper William Wilson
C. Hunter John Miller
A. Jones Joseph Cavop .?)
J. G. Daniels Peter Welch
James Daniels E. H. Richards
A. Steele'
Also "Another road neglected to intersect the Fort Fanning and Green road running nearly East, the best way to Micanopie having the following lands: Willis Medlin Joseph Wilkerson ... ...
Aaron Weeks John R. Hatcher 4
Edward Weeks William R. Hatcher .. .
E. M. Studstile Daniel A. Morgan i
Simion Lee
Carter and Clyatt Store in Judson about 1880.
4




Simeon Edwards were appointed Road Commissioners for the road.
On May 26, 1855 J. F. McDonald, Isaac Highsmith, Daniel F. Holder and Miles Shepherd appeared before the board to urge that a road be cut from the "Levy County Court House to the Marion County line the most nearest and best way to Shell Pond". It was so ordered by the commission and the four men making the petition were appointed Road Commissioners for that road district.
August 27, 1855 the commissioners accepted the r N resignation of Jos. A. Everette and Thomas L. Winn as
~ ~ road commissioners and accepted their recommendation
of R. J. Godwin as a suitable person to serve on the board with Gilbert Reeves and H. H. Johnson for the road from the Courthouse to Joseph Everettes Ferry on the Withiacoochee River.
This was a time of Increasing numbers of settlers 4 ~ pushing to the south and west, homesteading in the wild but
fertile areas of the county. Land was being cleared and one v or two pen log cabins were being raised farther and farther
back out In the more Isolated areas. Quite a few flourishing and productive plantations were already sending cotton, tobacco and resin from the port of Cedar Key. Citrus and cattle both showed promise of great economic importance The Meredith Commissary about 1885. to the County.
With the coming of the railroad tourism, Industry,
remember that in 1850 Levy County was one vast forest of and shipping all added to the prospect of greater things to
gian toerig pne ad hrdwod rees Th saingandcome. And with each of these assets to the economy came
hauling of the timbers was a mammoth undertaking so peoplenTs o ean whytthis reastsing needs alowte
what might seem at first glance to be selfish or politically tomopolize ebinests fralmstn eey meeting.we
expedient changes may have actualIly been the practicalI ortomnplzthbuiesfamstvry etng
most economically sound course. With 1856 came indications of the speed with which the
On Mrch1A,185 th Comissones aree tobuyarea was beginning to boom. The railroad was nearing MossCn' rhos i4, 1853 th e Comsone ageed touy completion and already was making Its impact felt as more
MoseuCr housee in Leyia asa f150 th e Levy Cntye and more freight was being shipped Into and out of Its Courlmthosfrattlo.150 ob adi he southernmost terminus. New names began making their
appearance In hitherto unmentioned communities. April 17, 1853 W. W. Stevens was appointed to serve on
the Cedar Key Road commission with Samuel W. In the January 1856 minutes Calvin Nobles, Granville
Worthington and James G. Daniels. W. Worthington, are road commissioners on the Levyville
Cedar Key road and a reference Is made to Atsena Otie. A. August 29, 1853 the County Commissioners were J. J. J. Clyatt, Win. W. Stevens and Sylvester Bryant are
Webster, D. A. Morgan, Sebastian Tomlinson, Clerk Isaac commissioners for the Levyville Clay Landing road; Highsmith, Sheriff Robert Waterston. Joseph F. Hardee, and Joseph Phelps, the road from
Levyville to the Monroe Morgan place; Isaac Highsmith, In November 1853 J. W. Pearson and Charles F. Shine Daniel F. Holder and Win. Hunt, the Levyville.- Shell Pond
were released from a tax payment on land they had bought road on the County Line. Gilbert Reeves, H. H. Johnson and from the state. Jefferson Godwin were representing the road from the ford
of Otter Creek to the Withiacoochee River at J. A. In April 1854 it was declared by the commission "the Everette's Ferry. 1. P. Hardee brought the election returns
courthouse lots shall hereinafter be known as Mount from Clay Landing. It was also noted that the County
Pleasant and NOT the name of SODOM." The Courthouse Commission "ordered that the County Site be, henceforth
property was for sale at the time. One acre lots were sold known as 'Levyvilll .... anything to the contrary,
to: notwithstanding.''
Daniel A. Morgan W. R. Medlin
John C. Calhoun John R. Hatcher In April 1856 Win. Hunt, Moses Cason were named to
N. L. Turner Isaac Highsmith the road commission for the road to Fort Fanning. A. J.
J. J. Gillette Robert Waterston Collins, T. C. Love and Daniel B. Hogans were also named,
P. H. ,Davis J. Wilkerson but WHY is not clear. At this meeting Silas B. Turner was
William Hunt elected Treasurer, and Levi Wright, Transcriber or Clerk,
October 28, 1854 Enoch Daniels, Samuel Cowdon and and at a meeting in November the same year John T.




Prevatt and Solomon Godwin were named to the lists Silvester Bryant and S. A. Edwards from Atsena Otie,
commission for the road to "Camp Fannin." and Thomas Clyatt.
At a meeting in January it is mentioned that John J. In June 1858 J. F. Prevatt "took the senses" as did Webster has a gin house on the Levyville -Clay Landing Elias Turner who was to follow the Clay Landing Road by road. At that meeting, Joseph F. Prevatt was paid for A. Martins, to intersect that road at Cedar Key road by "taking the senses of the poor children" and John F. Joseph Hardee's, I. P. Hardy's, and Peter Lastinger. Ogilsby was there from Cedar Key. James F. Thompson October 1858: Permission was granted Dr. James C.
was appointed as commissioner for the road "from
Levyville to Fort Waccasassa enroute to Garnesville." Howard to cut timber from the public square-In Levyville, (Gainesville) in Alachua County. "yellow pine excepted." At this meeting they formally
established road districts, numbered them and appointed
At the July 1857 meeting it was determined that when commissioners, to wit:
the courthouse lots were sold, "W. R. Medlin had bid on lot No. 1: John J. Wester, Joseph Phelps and Jessup Hagans. #8 while in a state of intoxication," so lot #8 was taken back No. 2: Silvester Bryant, Isaac P. Hardee and George for later resale. James F. Prevatt was Levy County Phelps.
Sheriff. George A. Hires lived on the road to Clay Landing No. 3: 0. H. P. Kirkland, Samuel H. Worthington and and Benjamin Brownlow lived at Clay Landing. Bids were Benjamin B. Lane. ordered for a jail to be built at Levyville. No. 4: Moses Keen, Bryant Smith, and Jeremiah Brown.
No. 5: Jonathan Garner, Emanuel Studstile, and Elijah
At the same meeting Joseph P. Phelps, Emanuel Sanchez.
Studstile, and George E. Colson were mentioned as being No. 6: Simeon Jones, James C. Barco and James F. on the commission for the road to Otter Creek, and Elijah Thompson. Tucker, Peter H. Davis, and Wm. F. Smith were on the Present at this meeting of the County Commission were road by "Old Fort Waccasassa enroute to Gainesville." John Marcum from precinct No. 4, and John Watterson James C. Green had a plantation on the Fort White road. from Alligator. Discussed at the meeting was "Martins' Island" and Edmond Kelsey is mentioned.
In October 1857 the commissioners were named as By May 1859, social and educational needs are being
Issac P. Hardee, John F. Wester (Webster?), Robert considered and the plight of the "needy" is noted. "His
Watterson, and Thomas N. Clyatt. At this meeting George Honor, S. Scarborough" is on the scene. A road is ordered Dyals and Calvin Nobles from Chunky Pond were fined from Levyville by way of Chunky Pond, taking the foot of
S20.00. the Sand Hills on to Everitts Ferry, the road
Commissioners named were Thomas Starling (?), Moses
January 1858 listed J. Wilkerson and William Yearty Keen and Elisha Walker, (Dist. 4) and Joshua Harwire (?) present without a quorum. The February 1858 meeting also Simeon Jones and Benjamin B. Brooks, (Dist. 6).
The Levy County Board of Commissioners in 1977: Billy R. Sharp, Charles Hardee, Billy Butler, Sam Standridge. Not shown, Donald Holmes. They passed the ordinance creating an Archives Committee.
6




September 1859: Schools were ordered established at
a place known as the "Little Rawlerson Field" and at Levyville. Road was ordered from Waccasassa bridge to intersect the "Old Military Road", thence to Everett's Ferry. Also from Levyville, by way of Chunky Pond, as previously ordered, and one from Levyville, "following the old road" by way of George H. Hyer's and James Parrish's, thence to the depot on the Florida Railroad at
the foot of the sand hills.
November 1859 is worthy of mention only because
some new names are mentioned. E. J. Tyner from precinct 5, Samuel Morgan from precinct 4, H. B. Kelsey and Jackson D. Westbrooke are mentioned. Also a road from Bronson by way of Chunky Pond to intersect the old road at
J. Brown's is approved.
December 1859 the Board ordered a school to be
established in Dist. 5 at a place to be known as the
Waccasassa School House, and that a school be established
in Bronson in Dist. 4.
In January 1860 the Commission ordered that Dist. 4
be divided by the road from "Fort Ginnings" to Stafford's, with the South portion to be known as Dist. no. 8. Precincts were ordered to be established at "...Bronson in Dist. 4 ...at
house of Beni. Brooks in Dist. 8 and at Roseville (or "AOL
Rossville) in Dist. 3 Henry Holland and 0. H. P. Kirkland were appointed commissioners for Dist. 3. James Willis
was named commissioner for 5. James P. Lewis was paid Old Williston Schoolhouse.
for building the bridge across the Waccasassa River.
In March 1859, Road Commissioners Thomas
nMoses Keen, ad lishaiWal wer ho d appear to face charges of neglect of duty; the
Starling, Moses Keen, and Elisha Walker were ordered to complaintant, Peter H. Davis. David A Hiers of Dist. 5 and
Lewis Daniels attended this meeting, at which concern for Everitt Jefferson, an invalid man at Starling Garners', was voiced.
The political and economic uneasiness of the times is hinted here in the fact that now the County Commission Is meeting every month, while before this, they were meeting three or four times a year. In March it was also decided
that "Election of Military Officers" would be held near "The ford of Otter Creek, known as the lower ford." The qnD Tpr date of the proposed election and the prospective officers'
names are not mentioned.
r r' April 1860, It was decided that "the charges against
#'T Tthe above road commission be dismissed. In another meeting at a later date in April, the County Commissioners r "ordered that we proceed to build a Court House at the
R"~ P-77, ~present County Site in Levyville, and that the same be let
out, etc., and published in the Cedar Key Telegraph and Florida Dispatcher." The above action apparently aroused
4 the citizenry, for on April 21, 1860 the Commission was back
in session again and "...voided the order to build a Court house until the voice of the people of the county can be heard."
Another issue was being discussed throughout the area, prompted no doubt, by the establishment of schools in other areas a year before. A more comprehensive public
school system had been formulated and in July 1860 the This memorial to Confederate soldiers from Florida is on the plans for this system were formally adopted and schools Vicksburg National Park in Mississippi. established, with their respective trustees to wit:
7




I would like to point out that sometimes our research team has understood from the record that a certain man did a thing, or that an incident happened ONE way for weeks or months of reading and fact finding, only to learn we were mistaken. One word omitted, or mis-spelled can cast entirely different meanings and one LETTER omitted or ADDED to a name such as WESTER, and a man of historical significance becomes some one ELSE!
On January 1, 1861, John J. Webster and Joseph Wilkinson are listed as members of the Board of Commissioners, with Douglas O'Neil, President of the Board and Elias Turner, Clerk. At this meeting it was noted that 0. P. H. Kirkland had taken a "large rifle gun" from a "Negrow of Thomas Belkeass, amounting to $51.85 on July 16, 1860, and deposited the same with Joseph P. Phelps, ESQ., who was then acting Justice of the Peace. A road was ordered cut, "Fort Fanning to the Depo on the Fernandina R. R. at Otter Creek, and leave said road at a place known as Hallow Rock."
-A school was ordered at the Bronson School House at or near Bronson, Elisha Walker, Allen Osteen,and Littleton Smith to serve as Trustees; ordered school at the Waccasassa School house at or near the Sawgrass Church
=_House with George W. Hires, Bryant Smith and ? Shepherd
-----to serve as Trustees; ordered school at Bivens Hammock Nanny E. and Peter 0. Sneller, parents of Mr~s. Agnes at or near Blackneck, trustees to be T. B. Stokes, Samuel Sheffield of Morriston. H. Worthington, Granville H. Worthington.
Elisha Walker was paid for bringing election returns from Bronson in 1860, and James J. Prevatt from Cedar Bronson: Trustees ... D. R. Holden, E. Walker, and Key. Mentioned as Commissioners from Dist. 4 are, Elisha Brlnson ruSmite. DWalker, Allen Osteen and Allen Hinton, J. E. M. Tedder; William F. Smith. commissioners from Dist. 2, L. B. Lewis, Gilbert Reeves,
Wekiva: Trustees ... John Marcomb, Samuel White, Allen Roberts; commissioners from Dist. 8, Thomas
Daniel A. Morgan.
Waccasassa (Copp~er Springs) Trustees: Willis :::::::'4- .
Medlin, A. B. Wood and Thomas W. Ashley. A "
A school was also established near Blackneck. This 4 school to be known as Willow Oak Grove: Trustees ... James B. Hudson, Allen Rodenberry, and Benjamin B. Lane.
In the same minutes Henry Lancaster was noted as living in Dist. 2, that George E. Coulsen killed and used a certain cow belonging to the county. George H. Hires did the same with a certain steer, and Isaac Highsmith in like manner, a certain steer.
October 1860 Edmun Kelsey from Atsena Otie, Elisha
Walker, Bronson and H. M. Holland from Clay Landing are .. mentioned and the Board ordered that the "...old road from Levyville to Bronson, by way of Mr. Hatcher's be reopened." This road was described as "crossing the Waccasassa at the upper ford, and runs by the land of Joseph Wilkinson." Here it ccomes clear that a man whose name has been shown earlier as Wester or Webster is correctly "Wester".
December 1860. Alfred Mooning (?) from Atsena
Otie and Calvin Nobles of Bronson came before the board Isabell Abney McGrew Carter (1835-1924), married N. R. with a big dispute about the charge for passage on the ferry Carter, Sr., October 26, 1857. from Cedar Key to Way Key and to Number Four.
8




Patrick in Dist. 7. Trustees for "Pasimons" School are At the September 2 meeting it is solemnly noted that
named as Peter McGuiness, John Waterston and John "We recommend that the citerzens of Levy County pay an
Wester. extra tax to wit: Eighteen per cent Advalidum for the
purpose of raising funs for the soldiers belonging to the 2nd
April 1861. The school now being taught at Cedar Ridgimentof Florida Volunteers." Thus begins the cryptic Key's School House is to be a public school. Trustees are references to the hardships, privations and sheer poverty Joseph G. Jenkins, Edmun Kelsey and S. H. Edwards. The the war brought to those who were here then. As the school taught at Number Four by James C. Howard is months pass, the commission meets more and more
ordered to be a public school, Trustees A. E. Geiger, S. E. haphazardly and more and more concern is shown for Price, and Elihis (?) Oglesby. Ordered that precinct those in need. The meetings of October 28, 1861 and of Number 3 is to be located at Magbee (Magee) Station in December 1861 dealt with nothing of importance so far as Otter Creek. Mr. Wm. N. Smith was directed to "turn road the records show, but were likely spent in discussion of the running through his land, around said land." Call for bids war news and its effect on Levy County and its people. to build the Courthouse was made, said building to be 36
feet square and two stories high. Meetings in January and March seem equally run of
the mill, but in a meeting July 7, 1862, the minutes report
May 13, 1861, a meeting was held to count the votes of the Commission "...received from David L. Yulee one an election on May 6, 1861, to select the site of the hundred dollars for the relief of soldiers wifes whos Courthouse. This election was the result of heated husband is now in the service of the Confederate States or
controversy among the citizens of the county, as to which who may have died or been killed in said service." was the most logical place to build it. In the election three
sites were considered with the votes being divided thus: October 20, 1862 N. S. Cobb is mentioned as Levyville82, Number Four 80, and Bronson Depo 48. It was Commission President and Dr. A. E. Hodges from Black noted at this meeting that the call for bids had already been Dirt Precinct (Dist.?) is mentioned. in The Florida Dispatch of Newnansville.
January 10, 1863 the meeting was concerned with the
September 2, 1861 J. H. Brock was appointed to fill the widespread destitution in the countryside, and the Justices road commission seat of J. J. Wester, deceased, and J. T. of the Peace were ordered to "canvass the county for Jackson for the vacancy of Isaac Highsmith. Simeon Jones number of families and disabled soldiers in need." School was declared a public school with "Said Simeon
Jones to serve as trustee," along with J. ? N. Jones and June 1863, "It was ordered that weeach take a portion Cornelius Williamson. Trustees at Bronson are named as of the county and draw one portion of the Relief funds and Allen Hinters (?), Elisha Walker, and James Starlin (?). attend to the needs and wants of those who are in need." For the Rosville (?) School trustees' names are B. B. Lane, Silas Scarborough, Pro. Judge. Samuel Worthington, and B. T.. Stokes.
r
Part of the original Main Street in Old Bronson. When the railroad opened in 1859, most of
Main Street relocated along the tracks.
9




July 1863, Silas Scarborough went to Gainesville to "obtain the Countys' share of Relief funds."
January 1864, it is recorded that S. Scarborough was fired, and was replaced by T. N. Clyatt. John J. Jackson was appointed "agent for procuring provisions and care for the Soldiers' families of Levy County." The Commissioners are named as: Thomas C. Love, Daniel B. Hogans, I. P. Hardee, Simon Jones, and T. N. Clyatt, Pro. Judge.
February 1864, "Ordered that the County Commissioners meet at Bronson on February 13, 1864, for the :
purpose of distributing corn to the most needy of the county." Voted to reestablish the "Posimmon Grove School" at Levyville, James S. Turner, Emanuel Studstill, and J. L. Hogan, Trustees. Order was given to reestablish the old road from Levyville to Shell Pond.
October meeting was spent in discussion and ordering
"the purchase of corn for the needy families of our ,
soldiers," and at the December 1864 meeting they had lost the list of poor soldiers' families.
January 1, 1865, the Justices of the Peace were directed to assemble a new list.
May 3, 1865, potatoes were furnished to a Mrs. Beck
from the Soldiers Relief Fund. Confederate Veteran Sol Osteen, his wife, who was Sarah
Medlin, daughter Lora. Back row, son Kias (Hezikiah) and February 15, 1866, the commission directed the Clerk nephew Oscar Markham. of the Court, George S. Leavitt, to procure new books for his office to replace those which had been destroyed. The commission was now composed of I. P. Hardee, John W. "No tax shall be levied on dogs in Levy County and .... that Quincey, and J. F. Prevatt. At this time they decreed that: no debts contracted by the county during the late war and yet unpaid, shall be paid and that all persons who may be IN ... ....indebted to the which indebtedness originated
,,,,.idete to the ~ county oiiae
between the 10th day of January, 1861 and the 25th day of S. .:,..,, : October, 1865, shall be released from payment of same."
....... ..May 7, 1866, the commission revoked the license to carry firearms for Pompey Ance Edwards, and Norris
..reman.
,-'/ 4 : :June 18, 1866, the Commission was presented a "list of indigent soldiers, their widows and orphans which included
~ George W. Hopkins and one child, Lewis Apple, Adult,
Jesse Lofton, Phebe Strawn, Widow of James Strawn, and 3 children, Silas Weeks, P. A. Parrish, widow of T. S. . .Parrish and 9 children, Matilda Garner, Widow of John Garner and 2 children, Sarah A. Thomas, widow of James C. Thomas, and 4 children, Misiah Whirter, Widow of Daniel Whirter and 3 children, The three orphan children of S J. R. Hatcher, Margaret Corregon, widow of Owen
Corregon."
July 1866, A. V. Clark was appointed road commissioner of the road from Otter Creek to Stafford's Folly. Bids were called to finish the court house.
The August meeting was highlighted by a decision to 011 change some of the roads- again. By this time the changing
of roads had become a very commonplace thing at these meetings, but the picturesque description of the landmarks James S. Turner, long-time businessman of Levyvile, is ever-changing. It was directed "that the road from Ft.
arrived there from Georgia in 1847 with a wagon load of Fanning to No. Four be changed to leave the old road a few calico for sale. miles south of Ft. Fanning at a certain notorious crooked
10




oak, thence south by W. R. Hodges, then to intersect the old planned such an election with the following election road at the black jack ridge just below the Green Chairs' officials appointed: Levyville No. 1: D. B. Hogans, Jos. T. plantation." Also, the sheriff turned over to the Phelps, and W. W. Clyatt. Bronson No. 2: Moses Keen, W.
Commissioners, a "certain negroe man" convicted of A. Shands, and J. D. Peacock. Way Key No. 3: Franklin
larceny and fined $89.25. A note payable was given by Wade Jordon, J. A. Mason, Sr. and M. N.(?) Downie. Black E. Balknight. The courthouse had been finished by James District No. 4: J. B. Faircloth, Stephen Barco, and Joel M. Janney sometime earlier. Hodge. Wekiva No. 5: James F. Thompson, P. A. Pressler
(?), and D. A. Morgan.
On May 4, 1867, however it was noted that D. B. Lewis
was contracted to "finish the courthouse and build the April 12, 1869: "We ... do say that there was illegal
jail." votes cast in every precinct ... a new election ... in thirty
days." The election officials in the precincts were changed September 6, 1867, an inquest was held concerning the to: Levyville No. 1: D. B. Hogans, T. N. Clyatt, and W. A. body of Anderson Philpot and the body of a child, name (M. A. ?) Jones. Bronson No. 2: T. F. Jackson, W. A. unknown. Shands, and J. D. Peacock. Way Key No. 3: M. W. Downey,
R. W. B. Hodgeson and Franklin Jordon. Black District No. December 17, 1867, the commission was troubled 4: J. B. Faircloth, Joel Hodges, Stephen Barco. Wekiva No.
about "certain families said to be in a state of sufferance 5: D. A. Morgan, John Marcum, and S. W. B. Stephens. and starvation." Otter Creek No. 6: James F. Thompson, P. H. Davis and L.
B. Lewis.
April, 1868, the road from Levyville to Bronson was
changed. The establishment of a precinct at Otter Creek was
ordered at this meeting.
July 16, 1868, they obtained an opinion of the Attorney
General regarding paying for the county jail which had April 14, 1869: At a meeting of the Board of County
burned. Commissioners "HELD THIS DAY AT THE COURTHOUSE IN TOWN OF BRONSON an order was made July and August seems to have been a time of rescinding the order for a new election as we decide that
beginning turmoil in the County, apparently continuing Bronson is the County-Site-by-vote-of -the-people on the 29th over a period of several years. The minutes indicate bitter day of March A. D. 1869 and permanently locate the County division in the body of commissioners. There were Site in, Bronson under an act of the last legislature".
murmurings and grumblings around the county about the location of the county site. The county was struggling with May 3, 1869: It was declared that the County heavy indebtedness, and the citizens of the entire county Courthouse should be situated at a site described thus: were so destitute as to be a physical or moral burden to the governing body. Just and humanitarian decisions required real soul-searching and more strength of character than .
most of us have. Men of honorable intentions and conscientious conviction debated amid moving and often temperamental appeals and passionate pleas of reason to determine the issues and provide the physical needs of the settlers. It becomes vividly clear that this was a province of genuine heroes whether they fought their battles in the precarious houses of government, or against the elements of the swamps and forests ekeing out an uncertain ..
existence.
August 31, 1868 shows some new faces. Samuel H. Worthington is President, Joseph Oglesby, Wm. R. Hodges and James B. Hudson are Commissioners. John ..........
(The last name here is repeated time and time again, and in no instance can we be sure, the name is TYRE, BYRE, FYAR, or possibly FYES.) was tax collector.
November 2,1868: John F. Jackson, former treasurer
was ordered to turn over the County Funds to the new i
treasurer, Joseph H. Phelps, and ordered L. B. Lewis paid for completing the jail which had already been burned. Road commissioners appointed included 0. H. P. KirklanA'll and M. A. Beck in District 3, M. R. Medlin (W. R.?) in District 5, Allen Roberts, A. B. Crutchfield, and T. C. Stanley in District 6.
February 20, 1869: A recent act of the legislature of Ira Judson Carter (1842-1891), Norvell R. Carter Sr.'s the State of Florida ordered the County Commissioners to brother, was born at Lauderdale, Miss., and named the let the people vote on the location of the County Site so they extinct town of Judson after his own middle name.
11




Oscar Quinton Markham (1897-1972), Joseph A. Markham (1882-1958), Arthur P. Markham (1887-1963), Jills Alexander Markham, all children of Andrew Jackson Marhkam and Susie O'steen Markham. The family moved to Romeo from the flatwoods.
"Commencing at the S. E. corner of N. W. 1/4 of N. W. 114 of dissolved by the Hon. Jesse H. Goss, 5th Judicial Court, we Sec. 17, T. S. 12, R. 17 S. & E. running N. 3 chains & 56 links, therefore now order the old court house at Levyville thence E. 41 Links, making a stationary corner thence N. 70 sold... yds., thence W., 70 yds., thence S. 70 yds., thence E. 70
yds., containing one acre square -" this land being granted November 13, 1869: "Ordered that J. F. Jackson and by W. R. Coulter, Esq., of the County of Levy. W. A. Shands be appointed In place of Elisha Walker and
George A. Hiers both of whom claim to be overage..." Road
Ordered contract let for tearing down, hauling, and to Ft. Fanning to intersect at Col. Hiers; road rebuilding the courthouse now situated at Levyville. commissioners to be Joseph Wilkinson, Garrett Swindel, and Joseph F. Preva"t... old courthouse sold November 1,
June 7, 1869: All bids rejected ... called for new bids. 1869 to Brown Lodge No. 51, Free and Accepted Masons ......,
Franklin Jordan paid for services as coroner. Petition The victory had not healed the embattled Commissioners presented by Joel Hodges for road from Bronson to Hdges wounds however, for after announcing the old building Ferry on the Withlacoochee River. Wekiva Church is sold, they directed Attorneys Coulter and Jackson to
mentioned. "Investigate the possibility of the board suing James L.
Turner..." Turner had been Instrumental in the issuance of
August 1869: Voided all proceedings of this board the Injunction against selling the courthouse. during the meeting held July 9, 1869 at the home of Joseph
C. Phelps', and ordered that "hereafter, any board January 30, 1870: Levy County Commissioners sent a
member absent from meeting without satisfactory excuse resolution to the State Legislature stating In part ... The shall be fined exactly $50.00H! Committee to draft plans facts of conditions of things In our County are these: The for the new courthouse are to be W. A. Shands, J. Phelps, county Is severely and heavily In debt; so much so that our and J. Hogans. The old courthouse was ordered sold to the scrip Is almost worthless except to pay taxes .... highest bidder. Leavitt was county clerk.
February 12, 1870: It is established that the county
September 7, 1869: "It appearing that an injunction had a Board of Public Instruction as it is noted that "A. R. has been served on the board of County Commissioners Carter is a member..." restraining from disposal of the Courthouse in Levyville,
we therfore employ Col. W. R. Coulter & J. F. Jackson to March 7, 1870: The County Commission received a defend..." Wm. C. Jones was awarded a $2,200.00 contract petition signed by 150 voters asking that ANOTHER to build the new courthouse, and ordered by the board that election to "establish a Permanent County Site", as the a committee of three discreet persons be appointed to last election was alleged to be "illigal." Petition denied. revise the tax books...
April 4, 1870: Resolution that, hereafter, the board
October 6, 1869: "The writ of injunction having been will not listen to any petition presented at a called meeting
12




when such petition seeks to undo action of the Board at a and the following were ordered built: across Otter Creek on regular meeting. Levyville Otter Creek road, across Wekiva, Mule Creek,
Wacassa (sp), and Mud Slue on road from Otter Creek by June 6, 1870: A tax was imposed to pay for the Prester (Forester?) place, Across Ten Mile Creek, Sand
courthouse. Slew and Cow Creek on road from Staffords Folly by Price
place.
July 4, 1870: Again the name Ayer (Possibly Ayes,
Tyes, or Tyer) is mentioned. This time he is Sheriff. Thus An election was ordered held April 4, 1871 for the far It is difficult to decipher the handwriting to be sure of purpose of making amendments to the constitution. (One this name, a frustrating thing, as this was a prominent months notice, mind you!) fellow, and the name keeps coming up! One thing is now certain ... his first name was John. Also mentioned were Precinct and officials were: No. 1: Bronson, W. A.
Road Commissioners, John Marcum, C. R. McGraw, and Shands, James F. Sykes, Moses Keen. No. 2: Levyville, J.
A. U. Clark. Also W. R. Armor and C. P. Chaires. F. Phelps, D. B. Hogans, John Waterston. No. 3: Otter
Creek, P. H. Davis, L. B. Jewis, W. R. Armor. No. 4: Way At the October 3rd meeting the County judge Key, F. Haile, A. E. Williard, H. P. Jovering. No. 5: Black
requested the Board to pay him per diem allowance, which District, T. Faitour (?), S. Barco, H. H. Johnson. the board refused to do, pointing out that, as a State official, he should look to the state for his pay. April 3, 1871: Henry S. Rogers, Tax Collector; Geo.
Leavitt Assessor.
January 23, 1871: This meeting was devoted to debate
over re-issuing scrip in the county -- scrip was a negotiable May 1, 1871: Levyville courthouse sold to W. F. Smith note or bill of certification issued by the county. It's ... (?) Silas Niblacks'scrip to be redeemed. Mrs. W. Caskill primary usewas for the payment of public indebtedness, I. awarded scrip for garnishment of L. B. Lewis. e., taxes, liens, mortgages or property assessment but usually accepted as a medium of exchange in areas where June 26, 1871: N. R. Carter appointed cattle inspector
both the holder and the issuing agency was recognized. west of the Waccasassa River. W. A. Shands and Thos. Re-issue meant recalling all scrip in circulation at the Faitour (? ? This name MAY be Faitonte.) Henry was time, reissuing, counter-signing and recording the entire acting coroner. procedure. Considering the communication problem it is clearly evident this was an undertaking to be well thought September 4, 1871: A. J. Clyatt was County Judge. The out;. No action was taken, but the issue was to be studied building contract awarded to W. A. Jones was declared more. Other matters taken care of was payment to S. B. forfeited and was given to Thomas H. Davis. The old road Folks and T. B. Laitunte (?) for the keep of Joseph Price... from Levyville to A. J. Clyatts was declared to no longer be from the poor fund, and the abolishment of all Road Districts and the cancellation of appointments of all road commissioners. New designations were made as follows:
"No. 1: West of the railroad to the Suwannee River, Commissioners: Emanuel Studstill, Wm. E. Smith, L. B. Lewis, 0. H. P. Kirkland, M. F. Clyatt.
No. 2: East of Railroad, Commissioners: W.R. Medlin and P. H. Davis. Declared the following roads to be
public ... One from Bronson, via Col. C. F. Hiers, to Fort. M/
Fanning. One from Bronson via Levyville to Clay Landing, one from Otter Creek through Levyville to the county line, one from Levyville to Number Four, one from Bronson by the place known as the Prester place, (but now the .
Hodgson place) ... One from Otter Creek, by the Prester place, thence ten miles to Blind Horse Ferry. The road by H. H. Johnson place to Faitants (?) Ferry, and one from Beas. (Beasley?) Landing to Black District and on to County Line."
40
"Blind Horse" was the original name of Port Inglis. The name Is explained by two stories ... the ferry was once powered by a blind horse. The other version is that a blind hoss once fell off the ferry. Take your pick!
March 6, 1871: 1. P. Hardee, R. N. B. Hodgson, Y. P. C. Lovering, Thos. B. Faitoute (?) and E. B. Stidham are named as being commissioners. Marlah Whitehurst was Rev. Elias Turner, grandfather of ex-Sheriff James Turner paid $25.00 in provisions and the auditor directed to charge of Fowler's Bluff was the first Master of the Brown Lodge same against her land. Board of Public Instruction budget No. 51 when it was organized in 1867 at Levyville. This was $2,500.00. Bridges declared in "dangerous condition Lodge was later moved to Chiefland.
13




considered a public road. Payment "in money" was made Brannen, S. A. Shepherd, and J. R. Sutton. No. 4: Cedar to W. S. Rawls, Henry Clark and D. Bram. Keys, J. E. Williams, H. S. Rogers, and S. A. Edwards. No.
5: Cow Creek, S. P. T. (?) Stephens, S. J. Handley, and 0.
November 6, 1871: Scrip issued earlier to E. B. B. Edwards. No. : ......... T. B. Faitout (?), H. H.
Stedham was redeemed. Decision made to pay Stephen Johnson, and S. B. Folks. No. 7: Palmetto, J. B. Hudson, F.
Barco and P. W. B. Stephens $350.00 in scrip for building M. Ingram, and James A. Farnell. bridges across Ten Mile, Sand Slew and Cow Creek, said
scrip to be redeemed when they finished the bridges. November 8, 1872: John E. M. Tedder and H. B.
Lovering elected to board.
February 19, 1872: The minutes of this meeting are so
faded as to be completely illegible. December 23, 1872: Notable only for mention that
John F. Jackson was County Solicitor at a salary of $300.00
April 1, 1872: The commissioners were h. P. Hardee,
R. W. B. Hodgson, and J. E. M. Tedder. Bridge contracts per year. were let to: D. A. Morgan for bridges across Wekiva. S. A. For a period of six months, from December 23, 1872 to Shepherd was awarded the contracts for bridges across July 3, 1873 there were no meetings held by the County Waccasassa and Otter Creek. Payment for some obscure Commissioners. We can only surmise that these days of
services was ordered made to T. R. King, Joseph Price, reconstruction were indeed times which tried the and T. B. Failonte. W. B. Wimberly was ordered to hire pursestrings of the county as well as the souls of the "someone to clean around the courthouse, for thirty feet struggling pioneers.On July 3, 1873 a decision was made to on each side, for which he shall receive $5.00 In script." reorganize the Board of Commissioners.
July 8, 1872: A routine meeting with little of
significance. It may be interesting to note that W. B. August 8, 1873 the reorganization meeting was held
Wimberly was then Sheriff. Also our friend "Failonte" with John E. M. Tedder sitting as President of the Board, seems to be spelled "Tailout" here. One has to wonder if we with A. E. Williams, S. S. Sails (or S. S. Sails) Parrish will EVER be sure of some of the names no longer in the Jackson ... or Jackson Parrish as members. Mrs. public limelight. We owe an apology to these civic minded Margaret Turner was paid at this meeting, $15.00 for the men of yesterday and invite persons who may be able to board of Joseph Price. J. M. Gophin was hired to do a shed some light on the correct names to enlighten us. County audit. All persons holding scrip were required to bring it in to be counter-signed and recorded before it could
September 31, 1872: Voting precinct was established be used to pay taxes. A. E. Willard was clerk for the board. at Station 12, to be called "Palmetto". Elections inspectors
appointed were: No. 1: Bronson, H. P. Jackson, W. J. September 6, 1873 it was noted that Max. Blumenthal
Jones, and G. W. Hodge. No. 2: Levyville, J. T. Phelps, W. was treasurer. On October 14,1873 James Junden was paid W. Clyatt, and J. E. M. Tedder. No. 3: Otter Creek, H. M. $10.00 for the board of Rena Lewis. It was voted that any
.......... /~
/ A
4,',
Among the several hotels in old Cedar Key was the Betteini House, opened in 1878.
14




member of the board missing a meeting would be fined $10.00.
October 20, 1873: The taxes of Messers Hood and Quin was reduced from $4,000.00 to $2,000.00.
February 25, 1874: W. B. Wimberly is shown as Chairman of the board. Mike Young, J. F. Prevatt and Parris(?) Jackson, members. It was mentioned that the courthouse In Bronson still had not been completed by T. Davis.
April 6, 1874: Very little of this meeting's minutes could be read, but it does show that a bid to build a jail at Bronson was let to Morgan Anderson.
July 6, 1874: The county orders that taxes are to be paid "...in U. S. Greenbacks" while it is obvious the County still pays In scrip, for Mike Young was paid $10.00 (scrip) for "board and lodge of J. J. Meeks and his wife."
September 7, 1874: Miss Fletcher "was paid $10 for board of Joseph Price, T. B. Factocete (?) for J. J. Meeks, L. M. Hogans, for D. Somertime." Election. inspectors F r
were appointed for an election to be held November 3, and are listed as: No. 1: Bronson, H. P. Jackson, T. B. Faitonte,
F. M Smth.No.2: evyilie Ths. Cyat, P M. Mr. Douglas M. McKoy, presently Levy County's Clerk of Hogans, E. Studstill. No. 3: Otter Creek, W. R. Medlin, the Court, is providing enthusiastic help and cooperation in
Simon Shepherd, James Stephens. No. 4: Cedar Keys, F. E. the publication of this history. He lives near his childhood Hale, S. A. Edward, Jeff McQueen. No. 5: Cow Creek, S. M. home, the outskirts of the extinct town of Meredith. Mr. B. Stephens, L. C. Standley, John H. Lanier. No. 6: Black McKoy is a descendant of the pioneer Medlins and Osteens. District, Stephen Barco, S. B. Folks, H. H. Johnson. No. 7: Palmetto, S. H. Wingo (?) J. B. Hudson.
J. B. Foitinte was Justice and Coroner. Some one was At this time W. A. Stands was County Judge. Sylves- paid as a guard but just who is not clear. The entry reads ter Sistrunk was paid for the board of J. Coleman thus, "Paid as Guard, J. A. Mitchell (not guard), Beni.
terloistrunkowaes paufid for tod of Jame Cla Oliver Sanford Mitchell, Thos. Webster, Morris Jordon,
(Colored). Fowlers Bluff is mentioned by name (a
reference not noticed before this.) Other specifications of Isaac Westemet (Westervelt?). precinct boundaries were that "....number three lay August 2,1875: G. H. Lyles paid for board of "Smiley"
between the lines of precincts No. 1 and No. 2, and the and W. W. Cole was paid for board of J. Price ... wonder Gulf. No. 4 was composed of 'the islands of Cedar Key', an indication that this was a booming community. Bronson (precinct No. 4), 'lay between Waccasassa, Wekivi, and the
County lines.' ""August 7, 1875: It is established they were still using
'script'.
November 2, 1874: The order was made to have M. J. October 4, 1875: W. Hogan paid for the board of
Jones procure eight good chairs for the attorneys. Daniel Somerlin and J. J. Meeks. Samuel Harrell paid for
board of J. Price and G. W. Hodge for Adam ,.'vin and J.
December 5, 1874: Mrs. Fletcher was still caring for Parker. J. Price and W. J. McGrath and George W. Arnow (Amor?) were paid for something ... but we are not told 'What fer'. October 15, 1875: J. M. Jackson paid for examining
Isaac Parker. Jos. Prevatt was paid for board of Charles March 1, 1875: Mrs. Fletcher was paid for the boardLodApeionwsrsntdeqsigaradfm
and lodging of J. Price, J. J. Meeks, and C. Loya. (Love?) Loyd. A petition was presented requesting a road from Cedar Key to the mainland. The Commissioners April 6, 1875: County Officers were: G. W. Hodge, apparently were E. J. Lutterloh, J. A. Wolfe and A. E. Sheriff; 1. P. Hardee, Collector of Revenue; and Max. Williams. Blumenthal, Treasurer.
November 15, 1875: Henry Smith asked to have his July 6, 1875: It appears F. E. Hale is a County taxes reduced, and Rock Wilder wanted the public road Commissioner. Paid for Jury service at this meeting were changed to his place. Relief from the poor fund granted to the following jurors: Allen Osteen, Hamp Smith, B. A. Amelia and Eliza Horn, Lamar (?) Johnson; Mrs. Fletcher Coachman, E. Walker, Wm. Manns (?) H. Ratliff, W. J. was paid for keep of Jos. Price, and S. Liles for Jno. G. Jones, W. A. Crills, J. F. Osteen, A. D. Osteen, John Tyer, Smiley. J. Y. Westervelt was paid for the account of the and Sol Osteen. State vs. John Roberts, and J. S. McDonald was paid for
15




work done on the courtroom. At this time B. A. Coachman At this meeting they agreed to contract for a bridge
was Deputy Clerk, and A. R. Coulter, tax assessor. across the Otter Creek at Black Neck.
January 4, 1876: No Business. February 1877: A petition for a "road beginning at
Tyer Alley in Bronson ... was rejected.
January 10, 1876: Road districts set up and
commissioners assigned: No. 1: Wacassassa to Wekiva, L. February 5, 1877: Members E. F. O'neal, Mike Young
B. Lewis, Isaac Munden, Hamp Smith. No. 2: Wacassassa and T. B. Louis, (Pres.) Bondsmen for county officers were to Suwannee, N. R. Carter, 0. P. H. Kirkland, J. A. listed as: N. R. Carter, Treasurer: W. R. Medlin, G. D.
Overstreet. No. 3: Wekiva to Withlacoochee, Gus Bierce, Eaton, and I. P. Hardee. J. G. McGrew, Tax Collector: W. Ish. Stephens, Z. B. Matthews. No. 4: Otter Creek to W. Clyatt, Garrett Swindle, T. N. Clyatt, M. E. Clyatt, C.
Whites' Folly: W. B. Hodgson, W. R. Medlin, S. D. Eason. I. Studstill, W. R. Medlin, W. F. Smith, J. R. Smith, and C. C.
D. McDonell painted jail. Drummond. H. P. Jackson, Sheriff: W. H. Sebring, L. B.
Louis, J. M. Jackson and H. Smith.
Pauper list: ..... Sumerlin, "Smiley", J. J. Weeks,
Joseph Price, Chas. Dade. County officers: G. P. Fowler, March 7, 1877: W. R. Coulter was appointed as Cattle Probate Judge; T. B. Faitonte, Sheriff; I. P. Hardee, Brand inspector, and J. M. Barco as CATTLE inspector. L. Deputy. E. H. Hampton drew up a deed. B. Lewis was "...appointed as a committee of one to see
that a privy is built for the courthouse, for the convenience June 11, 1876: Resolved that "...the frequent murders of the court and the officials thereof." Granted to "L. B. in our county call for the action as well as notice of this Lewis the privilege of building a gate on his premises on board, being productuous of material injury to our the road from Bronson to Levyville." Public road
county..." that $300.00 reward be posted for apprehension ordered ... "..commencing at Otter Creek Station and of the person or persons guilty of assassination of James running South to Whites Folly on Gulf Hammock, there to G. Patterson on the ..... night of December. It was decided connect with a road running from Bronson to Barco's to contact the land Commissioner about turpentine Ferry on the Withlacoochee." Road Commissioners G. C.
distillers homesteading land near the Alachua County line Priest, I. J. Stanley, and John Ricks were granted a "in the name of persons of color." requested road, "Commencing at a point East of the
railroad station at the crossing of public highway over said July 3, 1876: Paid for the inquest into the railroad, in the town of Bronson thence to. run
assassination of G. Pellicier, Thomas F. King professional northwesterly through Tyre's Alley to the intersection of services. W. J. Epperson reported the loss of $20.00 scrip, the section line between 17 and 18 ... then due north..." Bram Williams added to the poor list. Taxes of Jos. Carpenter and G. X. Miller reduced. J. D. Bell, Sheriff.
September 4, 1876: Petition presented by J. M. Barco and others to change precinct of Black District to Haste Johnson's, granted. Petition presented by E. J. Lutterloh, on behalf of citizens of Atsena Otle, for a precinct over there as "at times it is impossible to cross channel to Way Key" .. Petition tabled for later consideration.
October 2,1876: Witnesses In State vs. Fowler: E. F. <'7O'Neil and W. Rodgers. John Stockman put on poor list at -.
$2.00 per month. Election managers were: Bronson: W. B. A .
Wimberly, G. B. Faltonte, H. P. Jackson. Way Key: John MR
G. Williams, B. W. Wiley, C. B. Rogers. Levyville: J. E. M. Tedder, I. S. Hardee, S. W. Hogans. Haste Johnson V"! 4l ; i-.4
(Precinct): H. Johnson, Steve Barco, S. B. Folks.
They agreed to establish precincts at Rosewood and Cow Creek. After discussion, it was decided that "whereas county Script has been hawked on the streets at twenty-five cents on the dollar," etc., etc., "there it is agreed that the Commissioners won't accept their own script for payment of county taxes." The Florida State Journal was mentioned. The Commissioners were William Canty, J. E. Miller, and W. B. Wimberly, and I. B. (P.?) Hardee was Clerk.
December 1876: Changes made in the Election
Managers were: L. B. Hamlin and D. T. Stroble in place of John Allen (1855-1919) and Jane Ruth Worthington Creech W. B. Wimberly and G. B. Faitonte for the Bronson (1856-1942), daughter of Samuel H. Worthington, were the
precinct and J. D. Mason in place of Otter Creek manager, great grandparents of Kay Francis Hudson Hall of Daniel Strong. Chiefland, one of the writers of this history.
16




Declared public was the road from Bronson Station to the McLeod Place on Chunky Pond, thence to Hampton Smith's place. Road commissioners at this time were John Robinson and Hampton Smith from Bronson District. Samuel Quincey, Stephen Hogans and C. Studstill of Levyville District. 0. H. Kirkland, James Collier, and C. Shepherd of Otter Creek District.
L. B. Lewis was still keeping Joseph Price.
A partial list of Jurors for the Spring term of courtI included: Arnold, J. H.; Adams, James C.; Anderson, B.
H.; Burnsed, B.; Burford, Thomas; Berrill, F. S.; Brooks, _4W
J. G.; Bradshaw, C. J.; Bozeman, L.; Bozeman, Sam.
Also Batty, W. H.; Batty, E.; Bushwell, F. S.; Benton, H. M.; Cook, H. D.; Cobb, N. S.; Cannon, Henry; Cannon, James; Collier, Henry; Collier, James.
Also Cameron, Madison; Craig, C. D.; Creech, J. H.; Clark, W. H.; Cain, Jerry; Drummond, Wade; Drummond, C. C.; Davis, B.'J.; Drummond, E. L.; Dixon, James M.
Also Dupree, Frank; Demere, John; Douglas, Kemp; Epperson, W. J.; Ellis, W. B.; Faircloth, John; Friedman, Ben; Flemming, John; Faircloth, Dan; Flemming, L.
Mrs. Henry Powell of Cedar Key, first woman to serve as a Also Ford, J. G.; Fields, G. H.; Abraham, David; jury foreman in Levy County and Mr. Ernest Stephens of Geiger, Enoch; Gill, A. M.; Gore, J. B.; Gaines, Bronson, who was Clerk of the Court at the time. Mr.
Columbus; Hurst, H. H.; Hardee, J. P.; Harrison, Calvin. Stephens is a native of Inglis and served with distinction as Circuit Clerk from 1953 until his retirement in 1977. Also Hamlin, L. W.; Hardee, H. J.; Hardee, J. A.; Highsmith, Sol. F.; Hires, David;. Hudson, G. V.; Hudson, J. M.; Hogans, L. J.; Hill, Henry L.; Highsmith, Saul. Harrison; Blitch, Jesse; Bateman, H.; Brooks, Tom.
Also Higginbotham, C.; Hinton, M. N.; Hudson, W. J.; Also Brooks, Munt; Hawkins, J. P.; Tyner, Ben; Howard, C. R.; Hale, W. H.; Havens, J. S.; Hall, Col. Brewer, E.; Willis, Jesse; Willis, George; Sistrunk, S. J.; Henry; Hodges, Joel; Ingram, W. F.; Ingram, Samuel. Biggum, M.; McDonnell, George; Sheperd, J. D.
Also Keen, Moses; Keen, Jacob; Kirkland, 0. H. P.; Also Schmidt, H. H.; Tindale, John; Thompson, JaKeen, W. W.; King, James H.; Lee, E. L.; Lewis, James; cob; Walker, Elias; Walker, D. S.; Wood, Leroy; WilkLyles, S. H.; Lancaster, George; Lancaster, Wm. erson, J. H.; Ward, E.; Watson, W. J.; Worthington, S. R.
Also Lancaster, Henry; Levy, M. C.; Lutterloh, E. C.; Also Wheeler, William; Winfield, Mack; White, W. R. Lang, David; Lee, C. H.; Lewis, Jack; Langey, Thomas; Lofton, Jesse; Hale, C. P.; Oglesby, J. J. May 7, 1877: Location of Tyre's Alley: "N. W. from
crossing of public highway over railroad, that being a point Also Prevatt, J. F.; Pinner, James; Perryman, H. D.; East of Railroad Station. Goes to interesection of section Phelps, J. P.; Quincey, A. B.; Quincey, Samuel; Ricks, J. lines between 17 and 18, thence due North between 7 and 8 M.; Robinson, W. D.; Ratliff, H.; Rush, E. W. and 5 and 6, continues on section lines between 31 and 32,
and 29 and 30 of T. 11, R. 17 due North to a point on section Also Rogers, C. B.; Rams, D.; Rogers, W.; Reese, J. line between 19 and 20, about 31/2 miles from Bronson near H.; Stephens, Isham; Strobe, D. H.; Smith, Hampton; the Hartman Settlement: then West about 500 yds. to a
Sutton, J. R.; Mathews, J. B.; McLeod, H. S. traveled road leading from Old Station Pond to Bronson..."
Also McGown, D. L.; Money, J. H.; Munden, Isaac; Petition from Stafford Pond Neighborhood for a
Medlin, E. H.; Medlin, W. R.; Mcllvane, R. H.; public road from Bronson to intersect with Archer and
McGonegal, H.; Murphy, I.; Mitchell, J. R.; Moore, Steve. Ocala road and passing by Sistrunks and Epperson's.
Petition for road from Bronson, East by Wolf Springs, to Also Morton, W. J.; McQueen, Fred; Jones, W. J.; Archer, Ocala road, to Jesse Willis' place. Mr. Christ Johnson, James; Nobles, Wm.; Overstreet, J. H.; Hafele as road Commissioner, Bronson District, as H. J.
Overstreet, J. W.; Oglesby, L. H.; Oman, J. M.; O'Conner, Breeden refused to serve. Levy County had Just acquired D. territory from Marion County, and H. P. Jackson was
sheriff. The Florida State Journal was being printed and Also Wilson, Jerome; Walker, J. W.; Winter, H.; published at Cedar Key.
Weeks, James; Yeates, Barrett; Blitch, F. W.; Blitch,
17




June 4, 1877: Stipulation made by Commissioners that Schmidt, D. A. Stroble, John Tooke, L. G. Tooten, J. L. above road by Wolf Spring is to go South of old road by Turner, George Washington, W. C. White. Balknight place.
Also B. F. Willis, George Willis, J. W. Willis, Jerome
July 9, 1877: The County still Is having scrip problems. Wilson, John Wilson, Win. Wilson, Mark Winfield.
August 6, 1877: Received a petition for a road from Ben Friedman was constable, and summoned the Bronson to Staffords Folly. Report read from G. C. Priest, following witnesses: C. C. Harris, Abraham Dyson, and S. J. Stanley and J. M. Ricks, who had earlier been James Green. Jurors were: James Oman, Dave Mazeek, appointed to lay out a road from Otter Creek to White's Thomas Burford, C. E. Taylor, S. S. Moore, Jerry Folly. Mrs. Petty listed as a pauper. Paupers Smiley and Goldwire, B. Burnsed and D. Graham. Smiley's mite was Meeks still receiving help. John Allen, road Commissioner, raised back to $8.00 per month. Levyville District. Haston Johnson District is described
as "...all areas south of Cow Creek". Central District (No. April 16, 1878: Mr. G. Swindall granted permission to 7, lately ceded from Marion county) will hold election at put a gate across the road from Bronson to Ebenezer the Willis School House. Church.
September 3,1877: R. H. McElvaine paid for printing, June 3, 1878: S. H. Stroble paid for work on and James Adams paid for arresting and guarding a Courthouse. Dr. Jackson paid for medicine for prisoner
prisoner (Fletcher) in 1876. Buzzell.
October 11, 1877: Judge W. H. Sebring declared the
condition of a Mrs. Johnson "lunatic". Miss Florence July 2, 1878: The County was having problems
Mclivaine awarded a scholarship to East Florida collecting taxes from Florida Land and 'Emigration'
Seminary situated in Gainesville. Company. Dr. R. H. Mcllvane was editor of the Florida
State Journal in Cedar Key. Tax equalization was
undertaken, but for most taxpayers it was an increase of
December 3, 1877: Petition for a road from Rosewood taxation. Among those affected were: Miss Josie Carter, to Levyville. $500; N. R. Carter, Agent for Waterston, 400; Ira J.
Carter, Levyville lots, $500, J. C. Chambers, 320; Dan
July 9, 1877: Assessment changes largely increased. Faircloth, 80; R. M. Fugate, 160; Lee Hilliard, 40; C. Partial: Mrs. S. E. Atkinson, Max Blumenthal, J. J. Hill, Hafele, 50; Mrs. E. Huber, 120; C. G. McCormick, Cedar Frank McDonald, W. R. Medlin, H. P. Mattair, J. B. Key lot, $500; E. H. Medlin, 40; J. B. Mendenhall, 1080;
Mendenhall, T. E. Parsons, Isham Stephens, Leroy Woods, Mrs. E. Mixon, 160; Pompey Norris, 80. W. E. Yearty.
Assessment of lots in Cedar Key, owned by Florida
January 14, 1878: Mrs. Petty and Angus McLead Town Improvement Company, reduced to $66.75 each.
removed from Pauper list. Smiley's grant reduced from
$10.00 a month to $5.00. J. J. Meeks still on aid list, but Smiley seems to have
been dropped.
February 4, 1878: C. Hafele appointed to road
commission, District #1. July 9, 1878: The tax list continues: Derrick Primus,
80; J. G. Smith, 480; Sam Styles, 180; John 1. Strait, of the
March 4, 1878: L. B. Lewis, President; Mike Young, Tresper estate, 400 (?); Emma Watterson, 80; Jannice John Tindall and J. P. Hawkins members County Watterson, 80; J. H. Wilkerson, 120; P. H. Tooten Estate,
Commission. Partial jury list included: John Beck, M. A. 400; John J. Williams, 160; George W. Willis, 120; E. B. Beck, G. M. C. Butler, S. B. Bryant, Win. Batty, W. H. Wingate, 60; H. H. Whitehead, 40; S. Worthington, 80; Mrs.
Blitch, Munt Brooks, James Chace, H. Cannon, James S. Worthington, 80; S. Hussey, 40.
Collier.
July 11, 1878: Taxes on land owned by Gulf Atlantic
Also Madison Cannon, C. J. Craig, Harley J. Cason, J. and West India Transit Company declared delinquent. H. Creech, D. B. Caldwell, J. W. Crevasse, E. A.
Champlain, K. E. Connant, A. G. Days, L. S. Dawes. August 4, 1878: J. Barco was Clerk, A. R. Carter, J. P.
Wingles, S. H. Wingles guarded and fed three prisoners.
Also A. Debrusk, John Delano, Hade Drummonds, W. Angus McLeod on Pauper list. H. V. Snell and J. F. B. Ellis, W. J. Epperson, W. D. Finlayson, John Flemming, McDonnell were also Justices of the Peace. F. S. J. A. Futch, Columbus Gaines, D. Golden. McDonnell was Constable and H. P. Jackson was Sheriff.
Also Jerry Goldwire, Win. Gomm, H. K. Haize, W. H. September 2, 1878: Road approved from S. E. corner
Hale, J. G. Heagy, Sol Highsmith, John Hill, M. A. Hinton, of Dr. Allen's Place to intersect the Old Gulf Hammock Robert Houston, L. W. Jackson. Road at Hamp Smiths. Road leading south of Bronson to
be moved east of the Girling Place.
Also Moses Keen, B. A. McAllister, E. H. Medlin, J. A.
Mooney, James Pinner, H. J. Pruden, L. J. Purdum, C. C. September (?) 7, 1878: Scholarships to East Florida Pedrick, F. W. Peterson, Joe Plummer. Seminary awarded to "Master James P. Jackson and Miss
Florence Mcllvaine."
Also W. W. Potts, S. C. Reddick, J. Roach, Henry H.
18







UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA 3 1262 097709876




Full Text

PAGE 1

A History of Levy County, Florida & & & Chapter Two & & & Published By The Levy County Archives Committee Sponsored by the Levy County Board of Commissioners Bronson, Florida A Bicentennial Publication

PAGE 2

Copyright 1977 Levy County Archives Committee

PAGE 3

^JheczCevty (bounty, C^i ommiddion Introduction by S. E. Gunnell Instead of taking the usual route of strict adherence to dates and chronological sequences and trying to present a massive sweep of all people and events year by year, it is our plan to take one family or one class of events and bring that facet of history across the years. We believe that our approach will promote understanding of how one happening led to and blended into the next happening, and that the cause and effect relationships will appear with more coherence. Too, we hope that our readers will sense the spirit and philosophy of the old times, the old people, and come to feel closer fo fhem. With the above approach in mind, we are presenting excerpts from the records of fhe Levy County Commission. These records are called minutes. Although the County was organized in 1845, the minutes of the first five years are lost, probably destroyed in the Civil War burn-out at Levyville. The book of minutes started in 1850 was still in use during the Civil War and survived, probably because it was not at the Courthouse, but at the Clerk's residence. This book was found by Norwood Ishie in 1958, and Ernest Stephens, Circuit Clerk at the time, had it rebound and carefully preserved. These two gentlemen were at the right place at the right time and thanks to their alertness, we still have this old record of inestimable value. In the minutes there are cryptic references to dramatic occurrences, human foibles, and it is necessary to understand that when the typical frontiersman thought something, he said so. The Clerk dutifully recorded whaf he heard. These old timers were blunt and spoke directly to the point, all this is a little different from the verbal fencing and tactfulness of today's polite society. We hope that our readers get the point; that is just the way they were, they made no apologies for it and neither do we. After all, what we publish from the old minutes is a matter of public record. We do not infend to publish the entire records, but we will present condensations, edited versions, and occasion ally, direct quotations. Road locations going by residences will be given in detail, some of our readers may be trying to locate exactly where an ancestor lived. Some extensive jury lists will be included as they prove that a specific person was a legal resident of the county at that time. For some years, the Commission was also known as the probate court and the Commission Chairman was called the Probate Judge. These titles were used concurrently until the probate court designation gradually disappeared. Levy County began its existence in 1845 with Thomas E. Barrow as Probate Judge. He was followed by J. B. Blanton, Hezekiah E. O'Steen, and Simeon Harvey. Starting in 1850, here are the minutes.... MINUTES OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF LEVY COUNTY, BOOK A APRIL 1850DECEMBER 1878 By Jean Cooper The minutes of the first session of the Board of Levy County Commissioners available to us make it clear this was not the first meeting of that body. Because we found the wording of the records so different from the wording of today's minutes of that Board, we thought it might be interesting to you to quote the entire entry for the first meeting we have record of. It reads thus; quotes, punctuation etc., theirs: "Order book of the Court of County Commissioners of Levy County Florida. 1st session, 5th April 1850. 1st the board of County Commissioners in persuance of an act of the general assembly, met in session at the house of P. H. Davis for the purpose of Examining the state tax book, and it was found correct with the exception of four cents in favor of the state. John R. Hatcher Pres-t of the Board of C. C. 2nd moved and ordered by the court that Robert Watterson collect 25 pet. on the state tax to raise a fund to defray the Expenses of the County of Levy. John R. Hatcher Pres-t of this Board C. C. 3rd ordered by the court that there be an order given to Robert Watterson to call on George H. Tresper to pay over him as County treasurer Six dollars and 02 cents remaining in his hands of the County funds last year. John R. Hatcher Pres-t of Board C. Com. 4th ordered by the Court that there be a public road cut the most direct way from fort fanning to Mary V. Andrews' plantation and that the said Thomas E. Barrow be one of said commissioners of said road or roads In the County to act with A. Mooney and P. H. Davis, road Commissioners of said County. John R. Hatcher Pres-t of Board of Com. 5th The Court held by Joseph Wilkerson, James C. Barco, Issaac Highsmith and John R. Hatcher, who they elected as president of said Board do vote themselves $2.00 per day for their services on the 5th day April 1856. John R. Hatcher Pres-t of the Board" 3

PAGE 4

The above entry appears on the first page of Book A, Minutes of the County Commission, Levy County. This page, along with several others had been carefully cut from the bound book, and replaced carefully inside the front cover, where they seem to be no worse for the abuse. The script Is smooth, flowing and easily read, though the entire book is yellowed with age. Discrepancies appear now and then, one of which is very noticeable in the first entry made by this Board, that is in the dates 5th of April 1850, which appears in the introducton at the beginning of the record and the closing entry "this 5th day of April, 1856." Both dates are distinctly legible so we can only surmise this may have been a copy of the original or an overlooked human error In the original. One thing Is certain: subsequent entries assure the actual date was April 5, 1850. On July 1, 1850 a special meeting of the Commission was called to consider an application from William Thompson "for the purpose of ordering the precincts of said County, and we therefore make and ordain a precinct at the house of F. F. Thompson in the Wekives Hammock ...that there be a precinct at the Court House (Hatchers Place) ...at Clay Landing (Margaret Blantons place) and at Cedar Key at the usual place on said Island." and the road from Z. Davises to Newnansville that was cut out last winter, the following lands: John B. Webster Daniel B. Hogans Sebastian Tomlinson Stephen W. Hogans William Buie William Tomlinson" For an undisclosed reason the Board at its next meeting declared on Feb. 22, 1851 "that the road leading from Fort Fanning to Fort Jennings be void and nule." However, at the September 1, 1851 meeting the road from Fort Fanning to Fort Jenning was reviewed, ordered restored and to go thence to Marion County line. Also ordered cut was a road inland from Clay Landing along Greens' Trail to intersect the road leading to Micanopie. On March 8, 1852 election returns were determined. James McGee of the Wekiva Precinct and Robert W. Randall of Cedar Key were present. New Commissioners elected were Daniel A. Morgan, Enoch Daniel, J. J. Webster and Sebastian Tomlinson. A proposal to build a court house 20'x30' was made but no action taken. The Sheriff was ordered to furnish the Board with paper, one bottle of ink and one dozen pens. Elijah Hunter was paid $1.00 for rent of his house for the use of the Court. On November 2,1850 in what was noted to be the third session of the Board a $3.19 assessment was credited and the books balanced, with $2.21, 60 cents shown as "Amt. due the State." Other business transacted was the establishment of a road to run from Fanning "the most direct way to Fort Jennings, having the following lands, towit: Thomas C. Barrow Henry Lancaster Robert Waterson I. P. Hardee Thomas Love Silvester Bryant, Sr. Simeon Harvey Silvester Bryant, Jr. John Filchete George H. Tresper Benjamin Brownlow William Mayo David Brownlow Also "the road laid out by the former County Commissioners, from Zachariah Davis's to Cedar Key was neglected to designate the proper lands," so they designated these: L. J. Walker James C. Barco Thomas Parsons Josiah Oglisby William Wilson John Miller Joseph Cavop (?) Peter Welch E. H. Richards "Samuel Clyatt Jackson Clyatt (?) L. Moore A. H. Smith Walter C. Tresper C. Hunter A. Jones J. G. Daniels James Daniels A. Steele' Also "Another road neglected to intersect the Fort Fanning and Green road running nearly East, the best way to Micanopie having the following lands: Willis Medlin Joseph Wilkerson Aaron Weeks John R. Hatcher Edward Weeks William R. Hatcher E. M. Studstile Daniel A. Morgan Simion Lee June 7,1852 Election Precinct No. 5 was established at the home of Joseph F. Prevate (Prevatt). On November 8, 1852 the right of way order for the road from Clay Landing to Levyville was amended to direct that it should go by Highsmith's Store, but on December 13, that year the order was rescinded. In order to understand the obvious dissention and indecision about the routes roads were to take, we have to Carter and Clyatt Store in Judson about 1880. 4

PAGE 5

The Meredith Commissary about 1885. remember that in 1850 Levy County was one vast forest of giant towering pine and hardwood trees. The sawing and hauling of the timbers was a mammoth undertaking so what might seem at first glance to be selfish or politically expedient changes may have actually been the practical or most economically sound course. On March 14, 1853 the Commissioners agreed to buy Moses Cason's house in Levyville as the Levy County Courthouse, for a total of $175.00 to be paid in three installments. April 17,1853 W. W. Stevens was appointed to serve on the Cedar Key Road commission with Samuel W. Worthington and James G. Daniels. August 29, 1853 the County Commissioners were J. J. Webster, D. A. Morgan, Sebastian Tomlinson, Clerk Isaac Highsmith, Sheriff Robert Waterston. In November 1853 J. W. Pearson and Charles F. Shine were released from a tax payment on land they had bought from the state. In April 1854 it was declared by the commission “the courthouse lots shall hereinafter be known as Mount Pleasant and NOT the name of SODOM." The Courthouse property was for sale at the time. One acre lots were sold to: Daniel A. Morgan John C. Calhoun N. L. Turner J. J. Gillette P. H. Davis William Hunt October 28, 1854 Enoch Daniels, Samuel Cowdon and W. R. Medlin John R. Hatcher Isaac Highsmith Robert Waterston J. Wilkerson Simeon Edwards were appointed Road Commissioners for the road. On May 26, 1855 J. F. McDonald, Isaac Highsmith, Daniel F. Holder and Miles Shepherd appeared before the board to urge that a road be cut from the "Levy County Court House to the Marion County line the most nearest and best way to Shell Pond". It was so ordered by the commission and the four men making the petition were appointed Road Commissioners for that road district. August 27, 1855 the commissioners accepted the resignation of Jos. A. Everette and Thomas L. Winn as road commissioners and accepted their recommendation of R. J. Godwin as a suitable person to serve on the board with Gilbert Reeves and H. H. Johnson for the road from the Courthouse to Joseph Everettes Ferry on the Withlacoochee River. This was a time of increasing numbers of settlers pushing to the south and west, homesteading in the wild but fertile areas of the county. Land was being cleared and one or two pen log cabins were being raised farther and farther back out in the more isolated areas. Quite a few flourishing and productive plantations were already sending cotton, tobacco and resin from the port of Cedar Key. Citrus and cattle both showed promise of great economic importance to the County. With the coming of the railroad tourism, industry, and shipping all added to the prospect of greater things to come. And with each of these assets to the economy came demands for more and better roads to serve needs of the people. This explains why this pressing need was allowed to monopolize the business of almost every meeting. With 1856 came indications of the speed with which the area was beginning to boom. The railroad was nearing completion and already was making its impact felt as more and more freight was being shipped into and out of its southernmost terminus. New names began making their appearance in hitherto unmentioned communities. In the January 1856 minutes Calvin Nobles, Granville W. Worthington, are road commissioners on the Levyville Cedar Key road and a reference is made to Atsena Otie. A. J. Clyatt, Wm. W. Stevens and Sylvester Bryant are commissioners for the Levyville Clay Landing road; Joseph F. Hardee, and Joseph Phelps, the road from Levyville to the Monroe Morgan place; Isaac Highsmith, Daniel F. Holder and Wm. Hunt, the Levyville Shell Pond road on the County Line. Gilbert Reeves, H. H. Johnson and Jefferson Godwin were representing the road from the ford of Otter Creek to the Withlacoochee River at J. A. Everette's Ferry. I. P. Hardee brought the election returns from Clay Landing. It was also noted that the County Commission "ordered that the County Site be henceforth known as 'Levyville' ....anything to the contrary, notwithstanding." In April 1856 Wm. Hunt, Moses Cason were named to the road commission for the road to Fort Fanning. A. J. Collins, T. C. Love and Daniel B. Hogans were also named, but WHY is not clear. At this meeting Silas B. Turner was elected Treasurer, and Levi Wright, Transcriber or Clerk, and at a meeting in November the same year John T. b

PAGE 6

Prevatt and Solomon Godwin were named to the lists Silvester Bryant and S. A. Edwards from Atsena Otie, commission for the road to “Camp Fannin." and Thomas Clyatt. At a meeting in January it is mentioned that John J. Webster has a gin house on the Levyville -Clay Landing road. At that meeting, Joseph F. Prevatt was paid for “taking the senses of the poor children" and John F. Ogilsby was there from Cedar Key. James F. Thompson was appointed as commissioner for the road “from Levyville to Fort Waccasassa enroute to Garnesville." (Gainesville) in Alachua County. At the July 1857 meeting it was determined that when the courthouse lots were sold, "W. R. Medlin had bid on lot #8 while in a state of intoxication," so lot #8 was taken back for later resale. James F. Prevatt was Levy County Sheriff. George A. Hires lived on the road to Clay Landing and Benjamin Brownlow lived at Clay Landing. Bids were ordered for a jail to be built at Levyville. At the same meeting Joseph P. Phelps, Emanuel Studstile, and George E. Colson were mentioned as being on the commission for the road to Otter Creek, and Elijah Tucker, Peter H. Davis, and Wm. F. Smith were on the road by “Old Fort Waccasassa enroute to Gainesville." James C. Green had a plantation on the Fort White road. In June 1858 J. F. Prevatt "took the senses" as did Elias Turner who was to follow the Clay Landing Road by A. Martins, to intersect that road at Cedar Key road by Joseph Hardee's, I. P. Hardy's, and Peter Lastinger. October 1858: Permission was granted Dr. James C. Howard to cut timber from the public square in Levyville, "yellow pine excepted." At this meeting they formally established road districts, numbered them and appointed commissioners, to wit: No. 1: John J. Wester, Joseph Phelps and Jessup Hagans. No. 2: Silvester Bryant, Isaac P. Hardee and George Phelps. No. 3: O. H. P. Kirkland, Samuel H. Worthington and Benjamin B. Lane. No. 4: Moses Keen, Bryant Smith, and Jeremiah Brown. No. 5: Jonathan Garner, Emanuel Studstile, and Elijah Sanchez. No. 6: Simeon Jones, James C. Barco and James F. Thompson. Present at this meeting of the County Commission were John Marcum from precinct No. 4, and John Watterson from Alligator. Discussed at the meeting was "Martins' Island" and Edmond Kelsey is mentioned. In October 1857 the commissioners were named as Issac P. Hardee, John F. Wester (Webster?), Robert Watterson, and Thomas N. Clyatt. At this meeting George Dyals and Calvin Nobles from Chunky Pond were fined $20.00. January 1858 listed J. Wilkerson and William Yearty present without a quorum. The February 1858 meeting also By May 1859, social and educational needs are being considered and the plight of the "needy" is noted. "His Honor, S. Scarborough" is or) the scene. A road is ordered from Levyville by way of Chunky Pond, taking the foot of the Sand Hills on to Everitts Ferry, the road Commissioners named were Thomas Starling (?), Moses Keen and Elisha Walker, (Dist. 4) and Joshua Harwire (?) Simeon Jones and Benjamin B. Brooks, (Dist. 6). The Levy County Board of Commissioners in 1977: Billy R. Sharp, Charles Hardee, Billy Butler, Sam Standridge. Not shown, Donald Holmes. They passed the ordinance creating an Archives Committee. 6

PAGE 7

September 1859: Schools were ordered established at a place known as the "Little Rawlerson Field" and at Levyville. Road was ordered trom Waccasassa bridge to intersect the "Old Military Road", thence to Everett's Ferry. Also trom Levyville, by way ot Chunky Pond, as previously ordered, and one from Levyville, "following the old road" by way of George H. Hyer's and James Parrish's, thence to the depot on the Florida Railroad at the foot of the sand hills. November 1859 is worthy of mention only because some new names are mentioned. E. J. Tyner from precinct 5, Samuel Morgan from precinct 4, H. B. Kelsey and Jackson D. Westbrooke are mentioned. Also a road from Bronson by way of Chunky Pond to intersect the old road at J. Brown's is approved. December 1859 the Board ordered a school to be established in Dist. 5 at a place to be known as the Waccasassa School House, and that a school be established in Bronson in Dist. 4. In January 1860 the Commission ordered that Dist. 4 be divided by the road from "Fort Ginnings" to Stafford's, with the South portion to be known as Dist. no. 8. Precincts were ordered to be established at "...Bronson in Dist. 4 ...at house of Benj. Brooks in Dist. 8 and at Roseville (or Rossville) in Dist. 3 Henry Holland and O. H. P. Kirkland were appointed commissioners for Dist. 3. James Willis was named commissioner for 5. James P. Lewis was paid for building the bridge across the Waccasassa River. Old Williston Schoolhouse. In March 1859, Road Commissioners Thomas Starling, Moses Keen, and Elisha Walker were ordered to r in TRIBUTE TO ; j the ’jT.mo 3 pd. mmm tnmmy i mmmn mmnm m coim j o vrcRiH bud the I mmm cm.mnm ev i?.o T’SSISSI PPI DURiriG UIPR 8ETUJE c r THE STBTE5 fi$ k PRRT OF STORY'S BPIGPMM BRECKmWCE'S OF EEHERRl JpSTOfTS RPTiy in 1863 FMCW)B~ nmim mmn umm daughters O f the conf£D£p Q c y 1954 This memorial to Confederate soldiers from Florida is on the Vicksburg National Park in Mississippi. appear to face charges of neglect of duty; the complaintant, Peter H. Davis. David A Hiers of Dist. 5 and Lewis Daniels attended this meeting, at which concern for Everitt Jefferson, an invalid man at Starling Garners', was voiced. The political and economic uneasiness of the times is hinted here in the fact that now the County Commission is meeting every month, while before this, they were meeting three or four times a year. In March it was also decided that "Election of Military Officers" would be held near "The ford of Otter Creek, known as the lower ford." The date of the proposed election and the prospective officers' names are not mentioned. April 1860, it was decided that "the charges against the above road commission be dismissed. In another meeting at a later date in April, the County Commissioners "ordered that we proceed to build a Court House at the present County Site in Levyville, and that the same be let out, etc., and published in the Cedar Key Telegraph and Florida Dispatcher." The above action apparently aroused the citizenry, for on April 21,1860 the Commission was back in session again and "...voided the order to build a Court house until the voice of the people of the county can be heard." Another issue was being discussed throughout the area, prompted no doubt, by the establishment of schools in other areas a year before. A more comprehensive public school system had been formulated and in July 1860 the plans for this system were formally adopted and schools established, with their respective trustees to wit: 7

PAGE 8

Nanny E. and Peter 0. Sneller, parents of Mrs. Agnes Sheffield of Morriston. Bronson: Trustees ... 0. R. Holden, E. Walker, and William F. Smith. Wekiva: Trustees ... John Marcomb, Samuel White, Daniel A. Morgan. Waccasassa (Copper Springs) Trustees: Willis Medlin, A. B. Wood and Thomas W. Ashley. A school was also established near Blackneck. This school to be known as Willow Oak Grove: Trustees ... James B. Hudson, Allen Rodenberry, and Benjamin B. Lane. In the same minutes Henry Lancaster was noted as living in Dist. 2, that George E. Coulsen killed and used a certain cow belonging to the county. George H. Hires did the same with a certain steer, and Isaac Highsmith in like manner, a certain steer. October 1860 Edmun Kelsey from Atsena Otie, Elisha Walker, Bronson and H. M. Holland from Clay Landing are mentioned and the Board ordered that the "...old road from Levyvilie to Bronson, by way of Mr. Hatcher's be reopened." This road was described as "crossing the Waccasassa at the upper ford, and runs by the land of Joseph Wilkinson." Here it ^comes clear that a man whose name has been shown earlier as Wester or Webster is correctly "Wester". December 1860. Alfred Mooning (?) from Atsena Otie and Calvin Nobles of Bronson came before the board with a big dispute about the charge for passage on the ferry from Cedar Key to Way Key and to Number Four. I would like to point out that sometimes our research team has understood from the record that a certain man did a thing, or that an incident happened ONE way for weeks or months of reading and fact finding, only to learn we were mistaken. One word omitted, or mis-spelled can cast entirely different meanings and one LETTER omitted or ADDED to a name such as WESTER, and a man of historical significance becomes some one ELSE! On January 1, 1861, John J. Webster and Joseph Wilkinson are listed as members of the Board of Commissioners, with Douglas O'Neil, President of the Board and Elias Turner, Clerk. At this meeting it was noted that O. P. H. Kirkland had taken a "large rifle gun" from a "Negrow of Thomas Belkeass, amounting to $51.85 on July 16, 1860, and deposited the same with Joseph P. Phelps, ESQ., who was then acting Justice of the Peace. A road was ordered cut, "Fort Fanning to the Depo on the Fernandina R. R. at Otter Creek, and leave said road at a place known as Hollow Rock." A school was ordered at the Bronson School House at or near Bronson, Elisha Walker, Allen Osteen,and Littleton Smith to serve as Trustees; ordered school at the Waccasassa School house at or near the Sawgrass Church House with George W. Hires, Bryant Smith and ? Shepherd to serve as Trustees; ordered school at Bivens Hammock at or near Blackneck, trustees to be T. B. Stokes, Samuel H. Worthington, Granville H. Worthington. Elisha Walker was paid for bringing election returns from Bronson in 1860, and James J. Prevatt from Cedar Key. Mentioned as Commissioners from Dist. 4 are, Elisha Walker, Allen Osteen and Allen Hinton, J. E. M. Tedder; commissioners from Dist. 2, L. B. Lewis, Gilbert Reeves, Allen Roberts; commissioners from Dist. 8, Thomas Isabell Abney McGrew Carter (1835-1924), married N. R. Carter, Sr., October 26, 1857. 8

PAGE 9

Patrick in Dist. 7. Trustees for "Pasimons" School are named as Peter McGuiness, John Waterston and John Wester. April 1861. The school now being taught at Cedar Key's School House is to be a public school. Trustees are Joseph G. Jenkins, Edmun Kelsey and S. H. Edwards. The school taught at Number Four by James C. Howard is ordered to be a public school, Trustees A. E. Geiger, S. E. Price, and Elihis (?) Oglesby. Ordered that precinct Number 3 is to be located at Mag bee (Magee) Station in Otter Creek. Mr. Wm. N. Smith was directed to “turn road running through his land, around said land." Call for bids to build the Courthouse was made, said building to be 36 feet square and two stories high. May 13, 1861, a meeting was held to count the votes of an election on May 6, 1861, to select the site of fhe Courthouse. This election was the result of heafed controversy among the citizens of the county, as to which was the most logical place to build it. In the election three sites were considered with the votes being divided thus: Levyville82, Number Four 80, and Bronson Depo 48. It was noted at this meeting that the call for bids had already been in The Florida Dispatch of Newnansville. September 2,1861 J. H. Brock was appointed to fill the road commission seat of J. J. Wester, deceased, and J. T. Jackson for the vacancy of Isaac Highsmith. Simeon Jones School was declared a public school with "Said Simeon Jones to serve as trustee," along with J. ? N. Jones and Cornelius Williamson. Trustees at Bronson are named as Allen Hinters (?), Elisha Walker, and James Starlin (?). For the Rosville (?) School trustees' names are B. B. Lane, Samuel Worthington, and B. T. Stokes. At the September 2 meeting it is solemnly noted that "We recommend that the citerzens of Levy County pay an extra tax to wit: Eighteen per cent Advalidum for fhe purpose of raising funs for the soldiers belonging to the 2nd Ridgiment of Florida Volunteers." Thus begins the cryptic references to the hardships, privations and sheer poverty the war brought to those who were here then. As the months pass, the commission meets more and more haphazardly and more and more concern is shown for those in need. The meetings of October 28, 1861 and of December 1861 dealt with nothing of importance so far as the records show, but were likely spent in discussion of the war news and its effect on Levy County and its people. Meetings in January and March seem equally run of the mill, but in a meeting July 7, 1862, the minutes report the Commission "...received from David L. Yulee one hundred dollars for the relief of soldiers wifes whos husband is now in the service of the Confederate States or who may have died or been killed in said service." October 20, 1862 N. S. Cobb is mentioned as Commission President and Dr. A. E. Hodges from Black Dirt Precinct (Dist.?) is mentioned. January 10, 1863 the meeting was concerned with the widespread destitution in the countryside, and the Justices of the Peace were ordered to "canvass the county for number of families and disabled soldiers in need." June 1863, It was ordered that we each take a portion of the county and draw one portion of the Relief funds and attend to the needs and wants of those who are in need." Silas Scarborough, Pro. Judge. Part of the original Main Street in Old Bronson. When the railroad opened in 1859, most of Main Street relocated along the tracks. 9

PAGE 10

July 1863, Silas Scarborough went to Gainesville to "obtain the Countys' share of Relief funds." January 1864, it is recorded that S. Scarborough was fired, and was replaced by T. N. Clyatt. John J. Jackson was appointed "agent for procuring provisions and care for the Soldiers' families of Levy County." The Commissioners are named as: Thomas C. Love, Daniel B. Hogans, I. P. Hardee, Simon Jones, and T. N. Clyatt, Pro. Judge. February 1864, "Ordered that the County Commis sioners meet at Bronson on February 13, 1864, for the purpose of distributing corn to the most needy of the county." Voted to reestablish the "Posimmon Grove School" at Levyville, James S. Turner, Emanuel Studstill, and J. L. Hogan, Trustees. Order was given to reestablish the old road from Levyville to Shell Pond. October meeting was spent in discussion and ordering "the purchase of corn for the needy families of our soldiers," and at the December 1864 meeting they had lost the list of poor soldiers' families. January 1, 1865, the Justices of the Peace were directed to assemble a new list. May 3, 1865, potatoes were furnished to a Mrs. Beck from the Soldiers Relief Fund. February 15,1866, the commission directed the Clerk of the Court, George S. Leavitt, to procure new books for his office to replace those which had been destroyed. The commission was now composed of I. P. Hardee, John W. Quincey, and J. F. Prevatt. At this time they decreed that: James S. Turner, long-time businessman of Levyville, arrived there from Georgia in 1847 with a wagon load of calico for sale. Confederate Veteran Sol Osteen, his wife, who was Sarah Medlin, daughter Lora. Back row, son Kias (Hezikiah) and nephew Oscar Markham. "No tax shall be levied on dogs in Levy County and .... that no debts contracted by the county during the late war and yet unpaid shall be paid and that all persons who may be indebted to the county which indebtedness originated between the 10th day of January, 1861 and the 25th day of October, 1865, shall be released from payment of same." May 7, 1866, the commission revoked the license to carry firearms for Pompey Ance Edwards, and Norris Freedman. June 18,1866, the Commission was presented a "list of indigent soldiers, their widows and orphans which included George W. Hopkins and one child, Lewis Apple, Adult, Jesse Lofton, Phebe Strawn, Widow of James Strawn, and 3 children, Silas Weeks, P. A. Parrish, widow of T. S. Parrish and 9 children, Matilda Garner, Widow of John Garner and 2 children, Sarah A. Thomas, widow of James C. Thomas, and 4 children, Misiah Whirter, Widow of Daniel Whirter and 3 children, The three orphan children of J. R. Hatcher, Margaret Corregon, widow of Owen Corregon." July 1866, A. V. Clark was appointed road commissioner of the road from Otter Creek to Stafford's Folly. Bids were called to finish the court house. The August meeting was highlighted by a decision to change some of the roads again. By this time the changing of roads had become a very commonplace thing at these meetings, but the picturesque description of the landmarks is ever-changing. It was directed "that the road from Ft. Fanning to No. Four be changed to leave the old road a few miles south of Ft. Fanning at a certain notorious crooked 10

PAGE 11

oak, thence south by W. R. Hodges, then to intersect the old road at the black jack ridge just below the Green Chairs' plantation." Also, the sheriff turned over to the Commissioners, a "certain negroe man" convicted of larceny and fined $89.25. A note payable was given by Wade E. Balknight. The courthouse had been finished by James M. Janney sometime earlier. On May 4,1857, however it was noted that D. B. Lewis was contracted to "finish the courthouse and build the jail." September 6,1867, an inquest was held concerning the body of Anderson Philpot and the body of a child, name unknown. December 17, 1867, the commission was troubled about "certain families said to be in a state of sufferance and starvation." April, 1868, the road from Levyville to Bronson was changed. July 16, 1868, they obtained an opinion of the Attorney General regarding paying for the county jail which had burned. July and August seems to have been a time of beginning turmoil in the County, apparently continuing over a period of several years. The minutes indicate bitter division in the body of commissioners. There were murmurings and grumblings around the county about the location of the county site. The county was struggling with heavy indebtedness, and the citizens of the entire county were so destitute as to be a physical or moral burden to the governing body. Just and humanitarian decisions required real soul-searching and more strength of character than most of us have. Men of honorable intentions and conscientious conviction debated amid moving and often temperamental appeals and passionate pleas of reason to determine the issues and provide the physical needs of the settlers. It becomes vividly clear that this was a province of genuine heroes whether they fought their battles in the precarious houses of government, or against the elements of the swamps and forests ekeing out an uncertain existence. August 31, 1868 shows some new faces. Samuel H. Worthington is President, Joseph Oglesby, Wm. R. Hodges and James B. Hudson are Commissioners. John. (The last name here is repeated time and time again, and in no instance can we be sure, the name is TYRE, BYRE, FYAR, or possibly FYES.) was tax collector. November 2,1868: John F. Jackson, former treasurer was ordered to turn over the County Funds to the new treasurer, Joseph H. Phelps, and ordered L. B. Lewis paid for completing the jail which had already been burned. Road commissioners appointed included O. H. P. Kirkland and M. A. Beck in District 3, M. R. Medlin (W. R.?) in District 5, Allen Roberts, A. B. Crutchfield, and T. C. Stanley in District 6. February 20, 1869: A recent act of the legislature of the State of Florida ordered the County Commissioners to let the people vote on the location of the County Site so they planned such an election with the following election officials appointed: Levyville No. 1: D. B. Hogans, Jos. T. Phelps, and W. W. Clyatt. Bronson No. 2: Moses Keen, W. A. Shands, and J. D. Peacock. Way Key No. 3: Franklin Jordon, J. A. Mason, Sr. and M. N.(?) Downie. Black District No. 4: J. B. Faircloth, Stephen Barco, and Joel Hodge. Wekiva No. 5: James F. Thompson, P. A. Pressler (?), and D. A. Morgan. April 12, 1869: "We ... do say that there was illegal votes cast in every precinct ... a new election ... in thirty days." The election officials in the precincts were changed to: Levyville No. 1: D. B. Hogans, T. N. Clyatt, and W. A. (M. A. ?) Jones. Bronson No. 2: T. F. Jackson, W. A. Shands, and J. D. Peacock. Way Key No. 3: M. W. Downey, R. W. B. Hodgesonand Franklin Jordon. Black District No. 4: J. B. Faircloth, Joel Hodges, Stephen Barco. Wekiva No. 5: D. A. Morgan, John Marcum, and S. W. B. Stephens. Otter Creek No. 6: James F. Thompson, P. H. Davis and L. B. Lewis. The establishment of a precinct at Otter Creek was ordered at this meeting. April 14, 1869: At a meeting of the Board of County Commissioners "HELD THIS DAY AT THE COURT HOUSE IN TOWN OF BRONSON an order was made rescinding the order for a new election as we decide that Bronson is the County-Site-by-vote-of-the-people on the 29th day of March A. D. 1869 and permanently locate the County Site in Bronson under an act of the last legislature". May 3, 1869: It was declared that the County Courthouse should be situated at a site described thus: Ira Judson Carter (1842-1891), Norvell R. Carter Sr.Â’s brother, was born at Lauderdale, Miss., and named the extinct town of Judson after his own middle name. 11

PAGE 12

Oscar Quinton Markham (1897-1972), Joseph A. Markham (1882-1958), Arthur P. Markham (1887-1963), Jills Alexander Markham, all children of Andrew Jackson Marhkam and Susie Osteen Markham. The family moved to Romeo from the flat woods. "Commencing at the S. E. corner of N. W. Vi of N. W. 'A of Sec. 17, T. S. 12, R. 17 S. & E. running N. 3 chains & 56 links, thence E. 41 Links, making a stationary corner thence N. 70 yds., thence W., 70 yds., thence S. 70 yds., thence E. 70 yds., containing one acre square -" this land being granted by W. R. Coulter, Esq., of the County of Levy. Ordered contract let for tearing down, hauling, and rebuilding the courthouse now situated at Levyville. June 7, 1869: All bids rejected ... called for new bids. Franklin Jordan paid for services as coroner. Petition presented by Joel Hodges for road from Bronson to Hodges Ferry on the Withiacoochee River. Wekiva Church is mentioned. August 1869: Voided all proceedings of this board during the meeting held July 9,1869 at the home of Joseph C. Phelps', and ordered that "hereafter, any board member absent from meeting without satisfactory excuse shall be fined exactly $50.00!! Committee to draft plans for the new courthouse are to be W. A. Shands, J. Phelps, and J. Hogans. The old courthouse was ordered sold to the highest bidder. Leavitt was county clerk. September 7, 1869: "It appearing that an injunction has been served on the board of County Commissioners restraining from disposal of the Courthouse in Levyville, we therfore employ Col. W. R. Coulter & J. F. Jackson to defend..." Wm. C. Jones was awarded a $2,200.00 contract to build the new courthouse, and ordered by the board that a committee of three discreet persons be appointed to revise the tax books... October 6, 1869: "The writ of injunction having been dissolved by the Hon. Jesse H. Goss, 5th Judicial Court, we therefore now order the old court house at Levyville sold...!" November 13, 1869: "Ordered that J. F. Jackson and W. A. Shands be appointed in place of Elisha Walker and George A. Hlers both of whom claim to be overage..." Road to Ft. Fanning to intersect at Col. Hiers; road commissioners to be Joseph Wilkinson, Garrett Swindel, and Joseph F. Prevatt... old courthouse sold November 1, 1869 to Brown Lodge No. 51, Free and Accepted Masons...." The victory had not healed the embattled Commissioners wounds however, for after announcing the old building sold, they directed Attorneys Coulter and Jackson to "investigate the possibility of the board suing James L. Turner..." Turner had been instrumental in the issuance of the injunction against selling the courthouse. January 30,1870: Levy County Commissioners sent a resolution to the State Legislature stating in part ... The facts of conditions of things in our County are these: The county is severely and heavily in debt; so much so that our scrip is almost worthless except to pay taxes.... February 12, 1870: It is established that the county had a Board of Public Instruction as it is noted that "A. R. Carter is a member..." March 7, 1870: The County Commission received a petition signed by 150 voters asking that ANOTHER election to "establish a Permanent County Site", as the last election was alleged to be "illigal." Petition denied. April 4, 1870: Resolution that, hereafter, the board will not listen to any petition presented at a called meeting 12

PAGE 13

when such petition seeks to undo action of the Board at a regular meeting. June 6, 1870: A tax was imposed to pay for the courthouse. July 4, 1870: Again the name Ayer (Possibly Ayes, Tyes, or Tyer) is mentioned. This time he is Sheriff. Thus far it is difficult to decipher the handwriting to be sure of this name, a frustrating thing, as this was a prominent fellow, and the name keeps coming up! One thing is now certain ... his first name was John. Also mentioned were Road Commissioners, John Marcum, C. R. McGraw, and A. U. Clark. Also W. R. Armor and C. P. Chaires. At the October 3rd meeting the County judge requested the Board to pay him per diem allowance, which the board refused fo do, pointing out that, as a State official, he should look fo the state for his pay. January 23, 1871: This meeting was devoted to debate over re-issuing scrip in the county scrip was a negotiable note or bill of certification issued by the county. It's primary use was for the payment of public indebtedness, i. e., taxes, liens, mortgages or property assessment but usually accepted as a medium of exchange in areas where both the holder and the issuing agency was recognized. Re-issue meant recalling all scrip in circulation at the time, reissuing, counter-signing and recording the entire procedure. Considering the communication problem it is clearly evident this was an undertaking to be well thought out. No action was taken, but the issue was to be studied more. Other matters taken care of was payment to S. B. Folks and T. B. Laitunte (?) for the keep of Joseph Price... from the poor fund, and the abolishment of all Road Districts and the cancellation of appoinfments of all road commissioners. New designations were made as follows: "No. 1: West of the railroad to the Suwannee River, Commissioners: Emanuel Studstill, Wm. E. Smith, L. B. Lewis, O. H. P. Kirkland, M. F. Clyatt. No. 2: East of Railroad, Commissioners: W. R. Medlin and P. H. Davis. Declared the following roads fo be public ... One from Bronson, via Col. C. F. Hiers, fo Fort Fanning. One from Bronson via Levyvillefo Clay Landing, one from Otter Creek through Levyville to the county line, one from Levyville to Number Four, one from Bronson by the place known as the Prester place, (but now the Hodgson place) ... One from Otter Creek, by the Prester place, thence ten miles to Blind Horse Ferry. The road by H. H. Johnson place to Faitants (?) Ferry, and one from Beas. (Beasley?) Landing to Black District and on to County Line." "Blind Horse" was the original name of Port Inglis. The name is explained by two stories ... the ferry was once powered by a blind horse. The other version is that a blind hoss once fell off the ferry. Take your pick! March 6, 1871: I. P. Hardee, R. N. B. Hodgson, Y. P. C. Lovering, Thos. B. Faitoute (?) and E. B. Stidham are named as being commissioners. Mariah Whitehurst was paid $25.00 in provisions and the auditor directed to charge same against her land. Board of Public Instruction budget was $2,500.00. Bridges declared in "dangerous condition and the following were ordered built: across Otter Creek on Levyville Otter Creek road, across Wekiva, Mule Creek, Wacassa (sp), and Mud Slue on road from Otter Creek by Prester (Forester?) place. Across Ten Mile Creek, Sand Slew and Cow Creek on road from Staffords Folly by Price place. An election was ordered held April 4, 1871 for the purpose of making amendments to the constitution. (One months notice, mind you!) Precinct and officials were: No. 1: Bronson, W. A. Shands, James F. Sykes, Moses Keen. No. 2: Levyville, J. F. Phelps, D. B. Hogans, John Watersfon. No. 3: Offer Creek, P. H. Davis, L. B. Jewis, W. R. Armor. No. 4: Way Key, F. Haile, A. E. Williard, H. P. Jovering. No. 5: Black District, T. Faitour (?), S. Barco, H. H. Johnson. April 3, 1871: Henry S. Rogers, Tax Collector; Geo. Leavitt Assessor. May 1, 1871: Levyville courthouse sold to W. F. Smith ... (?) Silas Niblacks' scrip to be redeemed. Mrs. W. Caskill awarded scrip for garnishment of L. B. Lewis. June 26,1871: N. R. Carter appointed cattle inspector west of the Waccasassa River. W. A. Shands and Thos. Faitour (? ? This name MAY be Faitonte.) Henry was acting coroner. September 4,1871: A. J. Clyatt was County Judge. The building contract awarded to W. A. Jones was declared forfeited and was given to Thomas H. Davis. The old road from Levyvillefo A. J. Clyatts was declared to no longer be Rev. Elias Turner, grandfather of ex-Sheriff James Turner of FowlerÂ’s Bluff was the first Master of the Brown Lodge No. 51 when it was organized in 1867 at Levyville. This Lodge was later moved to Chiefland. 13

PAGE 14

considered a public road. Payment "in money" was made to W. S. Rawls, Henry Clark and D. Bram. November 6, 1871: Scrip issued earlier to E. B. Stedham was redeemed. Decision made to pay Stephen Barco and P. W. B. Stephens $350.00 in scrip for building bridges across Ten Mile, Sand Slew and Cow Creek, said scrip to be redeemed when they finished the bridges. February 19,1872: The minutes of this meeting are so faded as to be completely illegible. April 1, 1872: The commissioners were I. P. Hardee, R. W. B. Hodgson, and J. E. M. Tedder. Bridge contracts were let to: D. A. Morgan for bridges across Wekiva. S. A. Shepherd was awarded the contracts for bridges across Waccasassa and Otter Creek. Payment for some obscure services was ordered made to T. R. King, Joseph Price, and T. B. Failonte. W. B. Wimberly was ordered to hire "someone to clean around the courthouse, for thirty feet on each side, for which he shall receive $5.00 in script." July 8, 1872: A routine meeting with little of significance. It may be interesting to note that W. B. Wimberly was then Sheriff. Also our friend "Failonte" seems to be spelled "Tailout" here. One has to wonder if we will EVER be sure of some of the names no longer in the public limelight. We owe an apology to these civic minded men of yesterday and invite persons who may be able to shed some light on the correct names to enlighten us. September 31, 1872: Voting precinct was established at Station 12, to be called "Palmetto". Elections inspectors appointed were: No. 1: Bronson, H. P. Jackson, W. J. Jones, and G. W. Hodge. No. 2: Levyville, J. T. Phelps, W. W. Clyatt, and J. E. M. Tedder. No. 3: Otter Creek, H. M. Brannen, S. A. Shepherd, and J. R. Sutton. No. 4: Cedar Keys, J. E. Williams, H. S. Rogers, and S. A. Edwards. No. 5: Cow Creek, S. P. T. (?) Stephens, S. J. Handley, and O. B. Edwards. No. : ., T. B. Faitout (?), H. H. Johnson, and S. B. Folks. No. 7: Palmetto, J. B. Hudson, F. M. Ingram, and James A. Farnell. November 8, 1872: John E. M. Tedder and H. B. Lovering elected to board. December 23, 1872: Notable only for mention that John F. Jackson was County Solicitor at a salary of $300.00 per year! For a period of six months, from December 23, 1872 to July 3, 1873 there were no meetings held by the County Commissioners. We can only surmise that these days of reconstruction were indeed times which tried the pursestrings of the county as well as the souls of the struggling pioneers. On July 3,1873 a decision was made to reorganize the Board of Commissioners. August 8, 1873 the reorganization meeting was held with John E. M. Tedder sitting as President of the Board, with A. E. Williams, S. S. Sails (or S. S. Sails) Parrish Jackson ... or Jackson Parrish as members. Mrs. Margaret Turner was paid at this meeting, $15.00 for the board of Joseph Price. J. M. Gophin was hired to do a County audit. All persons holding scrip were required to bring it in to be counter-signed and recorded before it could be used to pay taxes. A. E. Willard was clerk for the board. September 6,1873 it was noted that Max. Blumenthal was treasurer. On October 14, 1873 James Junden was paid $10.00 for the board of Rena Lewis. It was voted that any i Among the several hotels in old Cedar Key was the Bettelini House, opened in 1878. 14

PAGE 15

member of the board missing a meeting would be fined $ 10 00 October 20,1873: The taxes of Messers Hood and Quin was reduced from $4,000.00 to $2,000.00. February 25, 1874: W. B. Wimberly is shown as Chairman of the board. Mike Young, J. F. Prevatt and Parris(?) Jackson, members. It was mentioned that the courthouse in Bronson still had not been completed by T. Davis. April 6, 1874: Very little of this meeting's minutes could be read, but it does show that a bid to build a jail at Bronson was let to Morgan Anderson. July 6, 1874: The county orders that taxes are to be paid "...in U. S. Greenbacks" while it is obvious the County still pays in scrip, for Mike Young was paid $10.00 (scrip) for "board and lodge of J. J. Meeks and his wife." September 7, 1874: Miss Fletcher "was paid $10 for board of Joseph Price, T. B. Factocete (?) for J. J. Meeks, L. M. Hogans, for D. Somertime." Election inspectors were appointed for an election to be held November 3, and are listed as: No. 1: Bronson, H. P. Jackson, T. B. Faltonte, F. M. Smith. No. 2: Levyville, Thos. M. Clyatt, P. M. Hogans, E. Studstill. No. 3: Otter Creek, W. R. Medlin, Simon Shepherd, James Stephens. No. 4: Cedar Keys, F. E. Hale, S. A. Edward, Jeff McQueen. No. 5: Cow Creek, S. M. B. Stephens, L. C. Standley, John H. Lanier. No. 6: Black District, Stephen Barco, S. B. Folks, H. H. Johnson. No. 7: Palmetto, S. H. Wingo (?) J. B. Hudson. At this time W. A. Shands was County Judge. Sylves ter Sistrunk was paid for the board of J. Coleman (Colored). Fowlers Bluff is mentioned by name (a reference not noticed before this.) Other specifications of precinct boundaries were that "....number three lay between the lines of precincts No. 1 and No. 2, and the Gulf. No. 4 was composed of 'the islands of Cedar Key', an indication that this was a booming community. Bronson (precinct No. 4), 'lay between Waccasassa, Wekivi, and the County lines.' November 2, 1874: The order was made to have M. J. Jones procure eight good chairs for the attorneys. December 5, 1874: Mrs. Fletcher was still caring for J. Price and W. J. McGrath and George W. Arnow (Amor?) were paid for something ... but we are not told 'What fer'. March 1, 1875: Mrs. Fletcher was paid for the board and lodging of J. Price, J. J. Meeks, and C. Loya. (Love?) April 6, 1875: County Officers were: G. W. Hodge, Sheriff; I. P. Hardee, Collector of Revenue; and Max. Blumenthal, Treasurer. July 6, 1875: It appears F. E. Hale is a County Commissioner. Paid for Jury service at this meeting were the following jurors: Allen Osteen, Hamp Smith, B. A. Coachman, E. Walker, Wm. Manns (?) H. Ratliff, W. J. Jones, W. A. Crills, J. F. Osteen, A. D. Osteen, John Tyer, and Sol Osteen. Mr. Douglas M. McKoy, presently Levy CountyÂ’s Clerk of the Court, is providing enthusiastic help and cooperation in the publication of this history. He lives near his childhood home, the outskirts of the extinct town of Meredith. Mr. McKoy is a descendant of the pioneer Medlins and Osteens. J. B. Foitinte was Justice and Coroner. Some one was paid as a guard but just who is not clear. The entry reads thus, "Paid as Guard, J. A. Mitchell (not guard), Benj. Oliver Sanford Mitchell, Thos. Webster, Morris Jordon, Isaac Westemet (Westervelt?). August 2,1875: G. H. Lyles paid for board of "Smiley" and W. W. Cole was paid for board of J. Price ... wonder what happened to Mrs. Fletcher? August 7, 1875: It is established they were still using 'script 7 October 4, 1875: S. W. Hogan paid for the board of Daniel Somerlin and J. J. Meeks. Samuel Harrell paid for board of J. Price and G. W. Hodge for Adam irvin and J. Parker. October 15, 1875: J. M. Jackson paid for examining Isaac Parker. Jos. Prevatt was paid for board of Charles Loyd. A petition was presented requesting a road from Cedar Key to the mainland. The Commissioners apparently were E. J. Lutterloh, J. A. Wolfe and A. E. Williams. November 15, 1875: Henry Smith asked to have his taxes reduced, and Rock Wilder wanted the public road changed to his place. Relief from the poor fund granted to Amelia and Eliza Horn, Lamar (?) Johnson; Mrs. Fletcher was paid for keep of Jos. Price, and S. Liles for Jno. G. Smiley. J. Y. Westervelt was paid for the account of the State vs. John Roberts, and J. S. McDonald was paid for 15

PAGE 16

work done on the courtroom. At this time B. A. Coachman was Deputy Clerk, and A. R. Coulter, tax assessor. January 4, 1876: No Business. January 10, 1876: Road districts set up and commissioners assigned: No. 1: Wacassassa to Wekiva, L. B. Lewis, Isaac Munden, Hamp Smith. No. 2: Wacassassa to Suwannee, N. R. Carter, O. P. H. Kirkland, J. A. Overstreet. No. 3: Wekiva to Withlacoochee, Gus Bierce, Ish. Stephens, Z. B. Matthews. No. 4: Otter Creek to Whites' Folly: W. B. Hodgson, W. R. Medlin, S. D. Eason. I. D. McDonell painted jail. Pauper list: .Sumerlin, "Smiley", J. J. Weeks, Joseph Price, Chas. Dade. County officers: G. P. Fowler, Probate Judge; T. B. Faitonte, Sheriff; I. P. Hardee, Deputy. E. H. Hampton drew up a deed. June 11,1876: Resolved that "...the frequent murders in our county call for the action as well as notice of this board, being productuous of material injury to our county..." that $300.00 reward be posted for apprehension of the person or persons guilty of assassination of James G. Patterson on the.night of December. It was decided to contact the land Commissioner about turpentine distillers homesteading land near the Alachua County line "in the name of persons of color." July 3, 1876: Paid for the inquest into the assassination of G. Pellicier, Thomas F. King professional services. W. J. Epperson reported the loss of $20.00 scrip. Bram Williams added to the poor list. Taxes of Jos. Carpenter and G. X. Miller reduced. J. D. Bell, Sheriff. September 4,1876: Petition presented by J. M. Barco and others to change precinct of Black District to Haste Johnson's, granted. Petition presented by E. J. Lutterloh, on behalf of citizens of Atsena Otie, for a precinct over there as "at times it is impossible to cross channel to Way Key" .. Petition tabled for later consideration. October 2, 1876: Witnesses in State vs. Fowler: E. F. O'Neil and W. Rodgers. John Stockman put on poor list at $2.00 per month. Election managers were: Bronson: W. B. Wimberly, G. B. Faitonte, H. P. Jackson. Way Key: John G. Williams, B. W. Wiley, C. B. Rogers. Levyville: J. E. M. Tedder, I. S. Hardee, S. W. Hogans. Haste Johnson (Precinct): H. Johnson, Steve Barco, S. B. Folks. They agreed to establish precincts at Rosewood and Cow Creek. After discussion, it was decided that "whereas county Script has been hawked on the streets at twenty-five cents on the dollar," etc., etc., "there it is agreed that the Commissioners won't accept their own script for payment of county taxes." The Florida State Journal was mentioned. The Commissioners were William Canty, J. E. Miller, and W. B. Wimberly, and I. B. (P.?) Hardee was Clerk. December 1876: Changes made in the Election Managers were: L. B. Hamlin and D. T. Stroble in place of W. B. Wimberly and G. B. Faitonte for the Bronson precinct and J. D. Mason in place of Otter Creek manager, Daniel Strong. At this meeting they agreed to contract for a bridge across the Otter Creek at Black Neck. February 1877: A petition for a "road beginning at Tyer Alley in Bronson ... was rejected. February 5,1877: Members E. F. O'neal, Mike Young and T. B. Louis, (Pres.) Bondsmen for county officers were listed as: N. R. Carter, Treasurer: W. R. Medlin, G. D. Eaton, and I. P. Hardee. J. G. McGrew, Tax Collector: W. W. Clyatt, Garrett Swindle, T. N. Clyatt, M. E. Clyatt, C. Studstlll, W. R. Medlin, W. F. Smith, J. R. Smith, and C. C. Drummond. H. P. Jackson, Sheriff: W. H. Sebring, L. B. Louis, J. M. Jackson and H. Smith. March 7,1877: W. R. Coulter was appointed as Cattle Brand inspector, and J. M. Barco as CATTLE inspector. L. B. Lewis was "...appointed as a committee of one to see that a privy is built for the courthouse, for the convenience of the court and the officials thereof." Granted to "L. B. Lewis the privilege of building a gate on his premises on the road from Bronson to Levyville." Public road ordered ... ''..commencing at Otter Creek Station and running South to Whites Folly on Gulf Hammock, there to connect with a road running from Bronson to Barco's Ferry on the Withlacoochee." Road Commissioners G. C. Priest, I. J. Stanley, and John Ricks were granted a requested road, "Commencing at a point East of the railroad station at the crossing of public highway over said railroad, In the town of Bronson thence to run northwesterly through Tyre's Alley to the intersection of the section line between 17 and 18 ... then due north..." John Allen (1855-1919) and Jane Ruth Worthington Creech (1856-1942), daughter of Samuel H. Worthington, were the great grandparents of Kay Francis Hudson Hall of Chiefland, one of the writers of this history. 16

PAGE 17

Declared public was the road from Bronson Station to the McLeod Place on Chunky Pond, thence to Hampton Smith's place. Road commissioners at this time were John Robinson and Hampton Smith from Bronson District. Samuel Quincey, Stephen Hogans and C. Studstill of Levyville District. O. H. Kirkland, James Collier, and C. Shepherd of Otter Creek District. L. B. Lewis was still keeping Joseph Price. A partial list of Jurors for the Spring term of court included: Arnold, J. H.; Adams, James C.; Anderson, B. H.; Burnsed, B.; Burford, Thomas; Berrill, F. S.; Brooks, J. G.; Bradshaw, C. J.; Bozeman, L.; Bozeman, Sam. Also Batty, W. H.; Batty, E.; Bushwell, F. S.; Benton, H. M.; Cook, H. D.; Cobb, N. S.; Cannon, Henry; Cannon, James; Collier, Henry; Collier, James. Also Cameron, Madison; Craig, C. D.; Creech, J. H.; Clark, W. H.; Cain, Jerry; Drummond, Wade; Drummond, C. C.; Davis, B. J.; Drummond, E. L.; Dixon, James M. Also Dupree, Frank; Demere, John; Douglas, Kemp; Epperson, W. J.; Ellis, W. B.; Faircloth, John; Friedman, Ben; Flemming, John; Faircloth, Dan; Flemming, L. Also Ford, J. G.; Fields, G. H.; Abraham, David; Geiger, Enoch; Gill, A. M.; Gore, J. B.; Gaines, Columbus; Hurst, H. H.; Hardee, J. P.; Harrison, Calvin. Also Hamlin, L. W.; Hardee, H. J.; Hardee, J. A.; Highsmith, Sol. F.; Hires, David;.Hudson, G. V.; Hudson, J. M.; Hogans, L. J.; Hill, Henry L.; Highsmith, Saul. Also Higginbotham, C.; Hinton, M. N.; Hudson, W. J.; Howard, C. R.; Hale, W. H.; Havens, J. S.; Hall, Col. Henry; Hodges, Joel; Ingram, W. F.; Ingram, Samuel. Also Keen, Moses; Keen, Jacob; Kirkland, O. H. P.; Keen, W. W.; King, James H.; Lee, E. L.; Lewis, James; Lyles, S. H.; Lancaster, George; Lancaster, Wm. Also Lancaster, Henry; Levy, M. C.; Lutterloh, E. C.; Lang, David; Lee, C. H.; Lewis, Jack; Langey, Thomas; Lofton, Jesse; Hale, C. P.; Oglesby, J. J. Also Prevatt, J. F.; Pinner, James; Perryman, H. D.; Phelps, J. P.; Quincey, A. B.; Quincey, Samuel; Ricks, J. M.; Robinson, W. D.; Ratliff, H.; Rush, E. W. Also Rogers, C. B.; Rams, D.; Rogers, W.; Reese, J. H.; Stephens, Isham; Strobe, D. H.; Smith, Hampton; Sutton, J. R.; Mathews, J. B.; McLeod, H. S. Also McGown, D. L.; Money, J. H.; Munden, Isaac; Medlin, E. H.; Medlin, W. R.; Mcllvane, R. H.; McGonegal, H.; Murphy, I.; Mitchell, J. R.; Moore, Steve. Also Morton, W. J.; McQueen, Fred; Jones, W. J.; Johnson, James; Nobles, Wm.; Overstreet, J. H.; Overstreet, J. W.; Oglesby, L. H.; Oman, J. M.; O'Conner, D. Also Wilson, Jerome; Walker, J. W.; Winter, H.; Weeks, James; Yeates, Barrett; Blitch, F. W.; Blitch, Mrs. Henry Powell of Cedar Key, first woman to serve as a jury foreman in Levy County and Mr. Ernest Stephens of Bronson, who was Clerk of the Court at the time. Mr. Stephens is a native of Inglis and served with distinction as Circuit Clerk from 1953 until his retirement in 1977. Harrison; Blitch, Jesse; Bateman, H.; Brooks, Tom. Also Brooks, Munt; Hawkins, J. P.; Tyner, Ben; Brewer, E.; Willis, Jesse; Willis, George; Sistrunk, S. J.; Biggum, M.; McDonnell, George; Sheperd, J. D. Also Schmidt, H. H.; Tindale, John; Thompson, Ja cob; Walker, Elias; Walker, D. S.; Wood, Leroy; Wilkerson, J. H.; Ward, E.; Watson, W. J.; Worthington, S. R. Also Wheeler, William; Winfield, Mack; White, W. R. May 7, 1877: Location of Tyre's Alley: "N. W. from crossing of public highway over railroad, that being a point East of Railroad Station. Goes to Intersection of section lines between 17 and 18, thence due North between 7 and 8 and 5 and 6, continues on section lines between 31 and 32, and 29 and 30 of T. 11, R. 17 due North to a point on section line between 19 and 20, about 3Â’/2 miles from Bronson near the Hartman Settlement: then West about 500 yds. to a traveled road leading from Old Station Pond to Bronson..." Petition from Stafford Pond Neighborhood for a public road from Bronson to intersect with Archer and Ocala road and passing by Slstrunks and Epperson's. Petition for road from Bronson, East by Wolf Springs, to Archer, Ocala road, to Jesse Willis' place. Mr. Christ Hafele as road Commissioner, Bronson District, as H. J. Breeden refused to serve. Levy County had just acquired territory from Marion County, and H. P. Jackson was sheriff. The Florida State Journal was being printed and published at Cedar Key. 17

PAGE 18

June4,1877: Stipulation made by Commissioners that above road by Wolf Spring is to go South of old road by Balknight place. July 9,1877: The County still is having scrip problems. August 6, 1877: Received a petition for a road from Bronson to Staffords Folly. Report read from G. C. Priest, S. J. Stanley and J. M. Ricks, who had earlier been appointed to lay out a road from Otter Creek to White's Folly. Mrs. Petty listed as a pauper. Paupers Smiley and Meeks still receiving help. John Allen, road Commissioner, Levyvilie District. Haston Johnson District is described as "...all areas south of Cow Creek". Central District (No. 7, lately ceded from Marion county) will hold election at the Willis School House. Septembers, 1877: R. H. McElvaine paid for printing, and James Adams paid for arresting and guarding a prisoner (Fletcher) in 1876. October 11, 1877: Judge W. H. Sebring declared the condition of a Mrs. Johnson "lunatic". Miss Florence Mcllvaine awarded a scholarship to East Florida Seminary situated in Gainesville. December 3, 1877: Petition for a road from Rosewood to Levyvilie. July 9, 1877: Assessment changes largely increased. Partial: Mrs. S. E. Atkinson, Max Blumenthal, J. J. Hill, Frank McDonald, W. R. Medlin, H. P. Mattair, J. B. Mendenhall, T. E. Parsons, Isham Stephens, Leroy Woods, W. E. Yearty. January 14, 1878: Mrs. Petty and Angus McLead removed from Pauper list. Smiley's grant reduced from $10.00 a month to $5.00. February 4, 1878: C. Hafele appointed to road commission. District #1. March 4, 1878: L. B. Lewis, President; Mike Young, John Tindall and J. P. Hawkins members County Commission. Partial jury list included: John Beck, M. A. Beck, G. M. C. Butler, S. B. Bryant, Wm. Batty, W. H. Blitch, Munt Brooks, James Chace, H. Cannon, James Collier. Also Madison Cannon, C. J. Craig, Harley J. Cason, J. H. Creech, D. B. Caldwell, J. W. Crevasse, E. A. Champlain, K. E. Connant, A. G. Days, L. S. Dawes. Also A. Debrusk, John Delano, Hade Drummonds, W. B. Ellis, W. J. Epperson, W. D. Finlayson, John Flemming, J. A. Futch, Columbus Gaines, D. Golden. Also Jerry Goldwire, Wm. Gomm, H. K. Haize, W. H. Hale, J. G. Heagy, Sol Highsmith, John Hill, M. A. Hinton, Robert Houston, L. W. Jackson. Also Moses Keen, B. A. McAllister, E. H. Medlin, J. A. Mooney, James Pinner, H. J. Pruden, L. J. Purdum, C. C. Pedrick, F. W. Peterson, Joe Plummer. Also W. W. Potts, S. C. Reddick, J. Roach, Henry H. Schmidt, D. A. Stroble, John Tooke, L. G. Tooten, J. L. Turner, George Washington, W. C. White. Also B. F. Willis, George Willis, J. W. Willis, Jerome Wilson, John Wilson, Wm. Wilson, Mark Winfield. Ben Friedman was constable, and summoned the following witnesses: C. C. Harris, Abraham Dyson, and James Green. Jurors were: James Oman, Dave Mazeek, Thomas Burford, C. E. Taylor, S. S. Moore, Jerry Goldwire, B. Burnsed and D. Graham. Smiley's mite was raised back to $8.00 per month. April 16,1878: Mr. G. Swindall granted permission to put a gate across the road from Bronson to Ebenezer Church. June 3, 1878: S. H. Stroble paid for work on Courthouse. Dr. Jackson paid for medicine for prisoner Buzzell. July 2, 1878: The County was having problems collecting taxes from Florida Land and 'Emigration' Company. Dr. R. H. Mcllvane was editor of the Florida State Journal in Cedar Key. Tax equalization was undertaken, but for most taxpayers it was an increase of taxation. Among those affected were: Miss Josie Carter, $500; N. R. Carter, Agent for Waterston, 400; Ira J. Carter, Levyvilie lots, $500, J. C. Chambers, 320; Dan Faircloth, 80; R. M. Fugate, 160; Lee Hilliard, 40; C. Hafele, 50; Mrs. E. Huber, 120; C. G. McCormick, Cedar Key lot, $500; E. H. Medlin, 40; J. B. Mendenhall, 1080; Mrs. E. Mixon, 160; Pompey Norris, 80. Assessment of lots in Cedar Key, owned by Florida Town Improvement Company, reduced to $66.75 each. J. J. Meeks still on aid list, but Smiley seems to have been dropped. July 9, 1878: The tax list continues: Derrick Primus, 80; J. G. Smith, 480; Sam Styles, 180; John I. Strait, of the Tresper estate, 400 (?); Emma Watterson, 80; Jannice Watterson, 80; J. H. Wilkerson, 120; P. H. Tooten Estate, 400; John J. Williams, 160; George W. Willis, 120; E. B. Wingate, 60; H. H. Whitehead, 40; S. Worthington, 80; Mrs. S. Worthington, 80; S. Hussey, 40. July 11, 1878: Taxes on land owned by Gulf Atlantic and West India Transit Company declared delinquent. August 4, 1878: J. Barcowas Clerk, A. R. Carter, J. P. Wingles, S. H. Wingles guarded and fed three prisoners. Angus McLeod on Pauper list. H. V. Snell and J. F. McDonnell were also Justices of the Peace. F. S. McDonnell was Constable and H. P. Jackson was Sheriff. September 2, 1878: Road approved from S. E. corner of Dr. Allen's Place to intersect the Old Gulf Hammock Road at Hamp Smiths Road leading south of Bronson to be moved east of the Girling Place. September (?) 7, 1878: Scholarships to East Florida Seminary awarded to "Master James P. Jackson and Miss Florence Mcllvaine." 18

PAGE 20

UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA 3 1262 09770 9876