Library Faculty Assembly meeting agendas


Material Information

Library Faculty Assembly meeting agendas
Physical Description:
Mixed Material
Library Faculty Assembly
George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida
Place of Publication:
Gainesville, Fla.
Publication Date:

Record Information

Source Institution:
University of Florida Institutional Repository
Holding Location:
University of Florida
Rights Management:
All rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.
System ID:

This item is only available as the following downloads:

Full Text


Library Faculty Assembly Monday, March 19, 2012 10:00-11:30 AM LE 1A AGENDA Call to Order Approval / Modification of Agenda Assembly Chair Report Guest Presentation –Cheri Brodeur, Chair-Elect, UF Faculty Senate Information Items Admin Report Senate Report Bylaws & Standing Rules Revision – See below for proposed language Action Items Elections—Slate as of 3/15/2012 below – Nomi nations from the floor for all vacancies will be accepted Adjournment The following amended language is proposed: Bylaws, Current language: Article V. Nominations and Elections Section 1. Nominations. The Nominating Task Force shall present a slate of proposed Officers and Task Force members to the membership at a Spring semester meeting. Additional nominations shall be taken from the floor at the Spring semester meeting and then nominations will be closed. Senator nominations shall follow Faculty Senate rules. Section 2. Elections. Elections for Officers and task force/joint committee members will be held by secret electronic ballot after the Spring semester meeting such that the results shall be announced at the April meeting. Senator elections shall follow Faculty Senate rules. Section 3. Terms of Office. Term of office for Officers will be for one year and Officers shall be installed at the conclusion of the annual Officers planning meeting. Term of office for task force members will be for time periods specified in the Standing Rules. Senator terms of office shall follow Faculty Senate rules. PROPOSED CHANGE: NONE Standing Rules, Current Language:


Article V, Section 6 Of the four persons nominated and elected as Library Senators for the UF Faculty Senate, two shall be from the University Libraries, one shall be from either the Health Science Center Libraries or the Lawton Chiles Legal Information Center, and one shall be at large. PROPOSED CHANGE: LFA officers propose the striking of this Section. Standing Rules, Current Language: Article VII. Membership Voting, Section 3 Membership voting restrictions on elections or action items – there are none at this time. PROPOSED CHANGE: There are no voting restrictions on elections to LFA groups or action items. Senate elections are governed by Senate rules. ELECTIONS: Slate of officers as of 3/15/2012 UF Faculty Senate: Min. 4 nominations required for 2 seats. Replacing Amy Buhler (Smathers/Branches 2009 2012) PLUS 1 new seat. Confirmed nominees: Jennifer Lyon Marilyn Ochoa Patrick Reakes David Schweider Laurie Taylor Library Faculty Assembly: Min. 2 nominations required for 2 seats. 3 year term (Chair Elect/Chair/Past chair) and 1 year term for Secretary Confirmed nominees: Chair elect: Ben Walker Secretary: Stacey Ewing Tenure & Promotion: Min. 1 nominee req. for 1 elected seat. 2 UL ranked req. for 3 total seats (1 elected, 2 appointed).


Confirmed nominees: Amy Buhler Leilani Freund (UL) Sabbatical/FEO committee Call for nominations: 1 Confirmed nominees: Shelley Arlen Sustained Performance Evaluation Process Committee (2 year term) Call for nominations: 2 Confirmed nominees: Blake Landor Denise Bennett (UL) Jan Swanbeck (UL) Further nominations will be accepted from the floor at the LFA meeting. Naomi Young LFA Chair, 2011/2012