Letter to Horace Gregory from W.E. Woodward of the Writers' League Against Lynching, December 24, 1934


Material Information

Letter to Horace Gregory from W.E. Woodward of the Writers' League Against Lynching, December 24, 1934
Physical Description:
Mixed Material
Publication Date:
Physical Location:
Folder: Horace Gregory Letters (MS Group 112 1/6)


Spatial Coverage:
North America -- United States of America -- New York -- New York

Record Information

Source Institution:
University of Florida
Rights Management:
All applicable rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.
System ID:

Full Text



Telephone: ALgonquin 4-6548

W. E. Woodward, Chairman
Suzanne La Follette, Secretary
Nella Larsen, Assistant Secretary
Lenore Marshall, Treasurer


John Chamberlain
Clifton Fadiman
Lewis Gannett
Harry Hansen
Inez Haynes Irwin
Dorothy Parker
George S. Schuyler
Harrison Smith
Benjamin Stolberg
Walter White
Helen Woodward
W. E. Woodward

Louis Adamic
Frederick Lewis Allen
Sherwood Anderson
Katharine Anthony
Herbert Asbury
Gertrude Atherton
Helen Augur
Faith Baldwin
Harry Elmer Barnes
Philip Barry
Ernest Sutherland Bates
Carlton Beals
Mary R. Beard
Robert Benchley
Stephen Vincent Ben6t
Bruce Bliven
Harry Block
Roark Bradford
Herschel Brickell
George Brltt
Louis Bromfield
Van Wyck Brooks
Heywood Broun
Sterling Brown
Struthers Burt
Wytter Bynner
ames Branch Cabell
rsklne Caldwell
V. F. Calverton
Henry Seldel Canby
Elmer A. Carter
Stuart Chase
Marc Connelly
Countee Cullen
Virglnlus Dabney
Margaret Deland
Babette Deutsch
James H. Dillard
Edward Donohoe
Theodore Drelser
W. E. B. Du Bois
Phyllis Duganne
Max Eastman
Leonard Ehrlich
Abraham Epstein
Morris L. Ernst
John Farrar
Edna Ferber
Arthur Davison Ficke
Dorothy Canfield Fisher
Rudolph Fisher
E. Franklin Frazier
Douglas S. Freeman
Zona Gale

December 24, 1934

To the Members of the
Writers' League Against Lynching:

It is now a year since the writers of
the country organized themselves to oppose the
horrible crime of lynching. You have been kept
informed during that year of the work which the
League has done.

There still remains much to do. The
National Association for the Advancement of Colored
People has supplied us with the enclosed report of
the investigation of the lynching of Claude Neal,
made for them by a young Southern white man. It
argues more eloquently than any letter of ours
possibly could, the need to continue and intensify.
the efforts of this League.

,If the writers of America will on every
possible occasion use their efforts to arouse
public opinion against such bestiality as this
document reveals, they can do much toward putting
an end to it. The League will be only too glad to
furnish information to anyone who feels moved to
write articles on lynching.

The annual dues of two dollars, to pay the
expenses of our work, are now due. Please make
cheques payable to Lenore Marshall, Troasurer, and
send to her at thb above address.

c^t?< ^W^^")8~-

Michael Ooodson
C. Hartley Grattan
Horace Gregory
Ernest H. Gruening
Harold Guinzburg
Louis M. Hacker
Alfred Harcourt
Abram L. Harris
Jessie Fauset Harris
Arthur Garfield Hays
Henry Hazlitt
Ramona Herdman
Robert Herrick
Du Bose Heyward
Sheila Hibben
Samuel Hoffenstein
Sidney Howard
B. W. Huebsch
Fannie Hurst
Will Irwin
Georgia Douglas Johnson
James Weldon Johnson
Freda Kirchwey
Alfred A. Knopf
Blanche W. Knopf
Joseph Wood Krutch
William Ellery Leonard
Newman Levy
Sinclair Lewis
Maxim Lleber
Alain Locke
Amy Loveman
Robert Morss Lovett
Edwin Justus Mayer
Annie Nathan Meyer
George Mllburn
Edna St Vincent Millay
George Fort Milton
Ruth Comfort Mitchell
Christopher Morley
Lewis Mumlord
George Jean Nathan
Robert Nathan
W. W. Norton
Martha Ostenso
Mary White Ovington
Gretta Palmer
Drew Pearson
Maxwell Perkins
William Lyon Phelps
William Pickens
Ruth Pickering
Abraham Platt
Lorine Pruette
Elmer Rice
Lola Ridge
Geroid Tanquary Robinson
John W. Rogers, Jr.
James Rorty
Charles Edward Russell
Evelyn Scott
Upton Sinclair
William Soskin
George Soule
. E. Sp,1in-.ri
Louis Sltrk
Clara 0 Stillriii
P1il Stong
T. S. Stribling
Ruth Suckow
;roruih; Thompson
;.5iI Toomer
Carl Van Doren
Dorothy Van Doren
Irlta Van Doren
Mark Van Doren
Robert Van Oelder
Carl Van Vechten
Oswald 'i ,,r,.,.i Villard
Edward kWa'scrmian
Roy Wllkins
Nora Waln