Honoring the past, shaping the future

MISSING IMAGE

Material Information

Title:
Honoring the past, shaping the future the University of Florida, 1853-2003
Physical Description:
iv, 116 p. : ill. ; 23 x 28 cm.
Language:
English
Creator:
Van Ness, Carl
McCarthy, Kevin
Publisher:
University of Florida's 150th Anniversary Committee
Place of Publication:
Gainesville, Fla
Publication Date:

Subjects

Genre:
non-fiction   ( marcgt )

Notes

Statement of Responsibility:
Carl Van Ness and Kevin McCarthy ; forward by Charles Young.
General Note:
Includes index.

Record Information

Source Institution:
University of Florida
Rights Management:
All applicable rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.
Resource Identifier:
oclc - 61178627
System ID:
AA00000281:00001

Full Text











































U
1'1


.:~.




I
















Honoring the Past, Shaping the

The University of Florida, 1853-2003


Carl Van Ness and Kevin McCarthy
Foreword by President Charles Young


2003
A publication of the University of Florida's 150'h Anniversary Committee
Gainesville, Florida


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future














Forward


UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA
Honoring the past, shaping the future


The University of Florida is proud to be celebrating its
sesquicentennial anniversary at a time when it is poised to enter the
top tier of American institutions of higher learning. As we pause to
honor and reflect on our past, we are also making preparations to
shape our future.
The University has made tremendous strides since 1853-many
of which are chronicled in these pages. From its beginnings as a
small seminary to its current position as the nation's fourth largest
university, UF has always served the people of this state.
Throughout its history, the University of Florida has honored its
mission as the state's premier land grant, research extensive, public
university. During the last 150 years, the University has provided
high quality instruction to prepare the future leaders of the state and
nation. More than 300,000 degrees have been awarded and our
alumni are living and contributing in locations across the globe. UF
has pursued cutting-edge research leading to the creation of new
knowledge and it has transferred that research to the public sector to


address critical state and national needs. Scientific discoveries in
agriculture and medicine made here have improved the quality of
life not only for Floridians, but also for people in every part of the
world. And the University of Florida has been a leader in fostering
entrepreneurship, with profound impacts that extend well beyond
our campus.
One can only imagine what the next 150 years will offer.
However, we have already begun to chart a path for moving the
University forward. We have completed a strategic plan that
highlights particular interdisciplinary programs including research
in cancer, genetics, the brain and biotechnologies; investigation of
issues associated with aging and the status of children and families
and the environment; and the internationalization of the UF
campus and curriculum. The plan is built on a very solid
foundation of 150 years of excellence. As you enjoy your stroll
through the pages of this book, please take with you the certain
knowledge that for the University of Florida the best is yet to come!



Ga-'pl1:F


University of Florida








Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


Contents
1 The Pre-Buckman Years, 1853-1905 ..................1
2 The Formative Years, 1906-1927..................... 17
3 Depression, War, and the GI Bill, 1928-1947 .. 35
4 Post-War Expansion, 1948-1975 ..................... 57
5 A First-Class University, 1976-2003 ............... 77
Shaping the Future, 2003 ........................... 95
An afterward by Win Phillips, Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


CM

C^\

| g










Civium in moribus rei publicae salus

"In the character of its citizens is the strength of the State.'


The motto of the University ofFlorida was written by
James Nesbitt Anderson, first Dean of the College ofArts &r
Sciences and Professor of Latin and Greek.


University of Florida











CHAPTER 1


The Pre-Buckman Years, 1853-1905


I -r .;
Mul..


Women
graduates of the
East Florida
Seminary, circa
1900. (From the
Wilbur Floyd
Collection)


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future

























East Florida Seminary cadets, date unknown.


Why 1853?

On January 6, 1853, Governor Thomas Brown signed an act
establishing the town of Ocala as the site for the East Florida
Seminary, Florida's first state-supported school. On that date the
East Florida Independent Institute, a privately owned school,
became a public one. Over the next 50 years the school grew,
moved to Gainesville in 1866, and was joined by six more state
schools.
In 1905, the Buckman Act consolidated the seven state schools
into three and created a Board of Control (later to become the
Board of Regents) to govern the new schools. One of the new
schools was the University of Florida and, until 1935, its seal bore
the date of the Buckman Act. But many, including John James
Tigert III, UF's third president, felt the date did not accurately
reflect the University's heritage.
Tigert went before the Board of Control in May 1935 to plead
his case and was given permission to change the date on the seal to
1853. In doing so, the University of Florida reclaimed 50 years of
lost history and several institutional antecedents. Two of those
antecedents, the East Florida Seminary and the Florida Agricultural
College, had a significant impact on the University's development.
The history of those predecessor institutions reveals much about the
condition of education in early Florida and why the Buckman Act
was necessary.

University of Florida


The East Florida Seminary

The Seminary Act of 1851, signed into law by Governor Thomas
Brown on January 24, established two seminaries for Florida and
created boards of education for each, but left unresolved the precise
location of each seminary. Funding for the two seminaries came
from townships granted to Florida by Congress in 1823 and 1845.
The 1845 grant stipulated that one seminary would be located east
of the Suwannee River and the other west.
The East Florida Independent Institute was the idea of one
Gilbert Dennis Kingsbury. Kingsbury came to Florida from New
Hampshire and had been in Ocala only a few months when he
began to agitate for the creation of a local seminary and gathered
support from local residents. The school opened on June 24, 1852
with Kingsbury as principal.
Soon afterwards, Ocala petitioned the legislature to have the
school designated as the first state seminary. After considerable
deliberation, a bill was passed on January 5 making Ocala the site of
the East Florida Seminary contingent upon that town delivering to
the state the building and property of the school along with $1,600.
Governor Brown signed the bill on January 6. The second seminary
was opened at Tallahassee in 1857. It would later become the
Florida State College.
The East Florida Seminary got off to an inauspicious start when
accusations were raised about Kingsbury's relationship with the


The Pre-Buckman Years, 1853-1905


Samuel D. McConnell, Principal of
the East Florida Seminary in 1860.




























Campus of the East Florida
Seminary. Engraving from the
Seminary's 1889 catalog.


school's music teacher, Miss Anna Underwood. Kingsbury and
Underwood had known each other in New England, and presum-
ably Kingsbury had persuaded her to move to Florida. Kingsbury
resigned, and the school was temporarily closed.
Very little is known of the school's early years, but the Seminary
effectively served as the local public school. Its 70 students
attended both elementary and secondary grades. The school's
rudimentary curriculum and its failure to attract students from
other areas were acknowledged by its board, who argued that little
else could be expected given the school's location "in a region so
sparsely settled and so fettered with hardships, and scarcity of
money.
The East Florida Seminary at Ocala ended its brief history on
commencement day, July 12, 1861. Florida had already seceded
from the Union and many of Marion County's citizens had enlisted
to fight for the southern cause. In their honor, Professor Robert P.
Bryce, who would himself die in the ensuing war, wrote martial
lyrics for a new and popular tune called "Dixie." The words were
sung at the commencement by one of the seminary students,
Susannah Bruton.
Days before, the students presented a silver cup to the


Seminary's principal, Samuel D. McConnell. McConnell had
written the petition from Marion County demanding Florida's
departure from the Union, enlisted on March 18, 1862, and was
appointed Captain of the 7th Florida Infantry, Company G. He
was severely wounded in 1864, but returned to Ocala to serve as
mayor. The cup and a copy of the 1861 commencement program
are all that remain in the University Archives of the Ocala Semi-
nary days.
The school failed to reopen at the war's end, and the City of
Gainesville petitioned to move the Seminary there. As in Ocala, a
private school was transformed into a state school. James Henry
Roper, who founded the Gainesville Academy in 1856, served as
Alachua County's state senator in 1866. He relinquished owner-
ship of the building and property to the state and became the
Seminary's principal.
Funding for the Seminary came from several sources. Until
1870, at least, there was no money in the Seminary Fund as it had
been spent during the war to purchase arms and ammunition. The
fund was gradually restored and generated almost $1500 each year
for the Seminary. There were also state appropriations that, in the
1890s, came to $2,500 annually. The county also contributed


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


racuIny o me MasT rionaa
Seminary, 1902. Wilbur L Floyd
(standing far right) taught natural
sciences and physical education.
He joined the faculty of the
University of Florida In 1905 and
later became Assistant Dean of
the College of Agriculture.


























Edwin P Cater, Principal of the
East Florida Seminary from
1877 to 1897.


Student body and faculty assembled outside the barracks of the East Florida Seminary, ca. 1900


funds from time to time, and, when a fire destroyed the school
building in 1882, it was rebuilt at local, not state, expense.
Roper served as principal for only two years. He was followed by
a string of local educators until an outsider was hired in 1877.
Edwin P. Cater was the Seminary's principal for the next twenty
years and was responsible for making it something other than a local
public school. Until his arrival, the Seminary enrolled students of
all ages with little regard for their academic background. His first
decision was to establish a minimum age for admission-13 for
boys, 12 for girls-and to require an entrance examination.
Cater also created a uniform curriculum for the Seminary
and distributed catalogs throughout the eastern portion of the
state, both of which did much to eliminate the school's paro-

University of Florida


chial character. The register for academic year 1882-83 shows that
slightly more than half of the students were from Alachua County.
However, this was skewed by a far greater percentage of local girls
than local boys. Presumably, parents were unwilling to let their
daughters venture too far from home.
Finally, Cater put the male students under military regulation.
After 1881, the war department assigned an officer to the Seminary
to drill and discipline the cadets. The cadet regulations took up
eight pages in the catalog, compared to six for the curriculum.
Among the enumerated prohibitions in the Articles of Discipline,
students could not drink, smoke, or enter a billiard room, drinking
saloon or "house of ill-fame." Cadets could not associate with
"disreputable characters" or engage in conduct "unbecoming a cadet


The Pre-Buckman Years, 1853-1905


Charles S. Ripley, United States
Marine Corps and commandant of
the Seminary.




























Women's physical education at the East Florida Seminary, 1898. To
the left Is the academic building, now Epworth Hall at the First
United Methodist Church of Gainesville.


and a gentleman." Cadets were required to wear their uniforms
every day except Saturday.
All students were subject to a 7:30 p.m. curfew and had to
attend church on Sunday morning. Catholic and Jewish students
could only be excused from attendance if they submitted a formal
explanation stipulating that they were "conscientiously opposed to
attending any Protestant church."
Although both the East and West Florida Seminaries were
empowered to grant college degrees, there is little concrete evidence
to indicate that the East Florida Seminary ever did so. If it did, it
was not for any sustained period of time. The catalog for 1887
firmly states that the East Florida Seminary was "a SCHOOL, not a
COLLEGE" and that its coursework was designed "to prepare boys
and young men for admission into university classes. "


The 1895 catalog referred to the Seminary as a State Military
and Collegiate Institute and noted that a college curriculum was
being adopted. The requirements for admission were increased and
basic classes in arithmetic and grammar were eliminated. But it was
not until 1900 that any decisive action was taken, and by 1905 the
senior class was equivalent to the sophomore class at most southern
colleges.
Perhaps the Seminary's greatest achievement was the impact it
made on the community around it. The locals' affection for the
Seminary was genuine, and there was little friction between town
and gown. The community was involved in the school's extra-
curricular activities, and faculty contributed to the life and culture
of the community. Indeed, after Gainesville became the site of the
University of Florida, some locals expressed disappointment with
the new school. Even though Alachua County continued to supply
a disproportionate number of students to the University well into
the 1920s, there were many who resented its "foreign" faculty and
students.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


Cadet Warren M. McNair of
Archer, 1904. At age 13,
McNair was one of the
youngest students at the
East Florida Seminary.



























Campus of the Florida Agricultural College In 1901.


The Florida Agricultural College

Probably no federal acts have contributed more to the develop-
ment of higher education in America than those bearing the name
of Senator Justin Smith Morrill of Vermont. Otherwise known as
the Land-Grant College Act, the Morrill Act of 1862 provided
funding for institutions of higher learning in each state "to teach
such branches of learning as are related to agriculture and the
mechanic arts... ."
The Florida Agricultural College was incorporated in 1870, but
it was not until 1884 that the College opened. Two locations were
accepted and then rejected before the state selected a small 100-acre
site outside of Lake City. The College was restricted to men
initially and opened for enrollment in August 1884.
Ashley D. Hurt, a Virginian with a service record in the Confed-
erate Navy, was appointed the first president of the college. In a
seven-page letter written to his wife, he described the dismal
conditions at Lake City and suggested that Tallahassee should have
been chosen as the site. He stayed only three months and was
followed by seven more presidents before 1905. The average tenure
for each president was less than 3 years.
The Florida Agricultural College was the first school in Florida,
public or private, to call itself a college. The minimum age of


admission was fifteen, and students were required to pass an
entrance examination before being admitted to the freshman class.
The scarcity of public secondary education in Florida, however,
meant that there were few prospective students for the College.
Accordingly, a sub-collegiate department was created until "the
increased efficiency of the public school system [should] furnish the
preparation demanded for entrance upon collegiate work." All of
the first students were admitted to the sub-freshman class in 1884,
and the first graduating class was the Class of'89.
The Florida Agricultural College subsisted primarily and
sometimes entirely on federal funds. Other than capital projects,
for which land-grant dollars could not be spent, the state contrib-
uted nothing until 1895. The land-grant endowment yielded
approximately $9,000, and from this the college paid its salaries and
expenses until the second Morrill Act of 1890 provided additional
funds. After 1895, the state legislature also appropriated small
sums for the College.
The Hatch Act of 1887 made available another source of federal
funds. The Hatch Act provided for agricultural experiment stations
at each of the Morrill Act colleges and led to the establishment of
the Florida Agricultural Experiment Station, the state's oldest


University of Florida
Tlie Pre-liclzman Years, 1853-1905


The armory at the
Florida Agricultural College.









Class of 1895 at the Florida
Agricultural College. The class
Included Daisy Rogers, the first
woman to earn a college
degree from one of UPs
predecessor institutions. From
the Edward Powers Collection)


Dr. W. E. French, head of the Narcossee cattle research
station near Kisslmmee, ca. 1901. French and others
associated with the Florida Agricultural Experiment
Station conducted research on a dietary deficiency in
Florida cattle known as Salt Sick.


existing research center, in 1888.
The College was opened to women in 1894 and fifty-four
women enrolled, many more than expected. The first woman to
graduate was Daisy Rogers, Class of'95, who earned a degree in
engineering. There was also a major change in the faculty in 1894
when Helen Ingram became Professor of English and History.
The curriculum was revamped in 1894 and the lowest sub-
collegiate class was dropped. There was also an effort to rid the
school of students with "immoral character." The net result of these
changes, despite the addition of 54 women, was a drop in enroll-
ment from 187 to 103. However, for the first time, the majority of
the students were taking bona fide college coursework.
The Florida Agricultural College underwent another transforma-


tion when, in 1903, it was renamed the University of Florida.
Concurrently, it ended military dress and regulations as well as co-
education. The latter occurred with little protest and despite the
fact that co-education was becoming the norm throughout the
country.
Besides the experiment station, several existing organizations at
the University of Florida had their origins at the Florida Agricultural
College, for example the Herbarium. Peter Henry Rolfs began the
collection in 1891 and included Florida specimens gathered by him
as well as exchange specimens from other herbariums. The Her-
barium is now a unit of the Florida Museum of Natural History, and
the original Rolfs specimens are included in the Herbarium along
with approximately a half million others from all parts of the world,


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


The Florida Agricultunl
College was the first school in
Florida, public or pritte, to
call itself a college.

















The Florida Agricultural
Experiment Station, the state'
oldest existing research center,
was established at Lake City
in 1888.


Faculty of the Florida Agricultural
College, 1894. President Oscar
Clute Is seated In the center.
Peter Henry Rolfs, entomologist
and botanist for the Agricultural
Experiment Station, is standing
second from the right. Rolfs
served as Director of the Station
from 1905 to 1920. (From the
Edward Powers Collection)


A DOOKKeeping class In
the study area of
Chapel Hall at the
Florida Agricultural
College. (From the
Edward Powers
Collection)


University of Florida
Thel Pre-1IuckIlan Years, 1853-1905














The 1902 freshman class of the
Florida Agricultural College.
(From the Karl R. Bardin
Collection)


suaenis ana lacury relaxing on porcn,
1895. (From the Edward Powers Collection)


The University's first social fraternities were also founded at Lake
City. Alpha Tau Omega (ATO) had a charter as early as 1887, but
the chapter dissolved in 1890. Another chapter of ATO appeared in
1904 to take its place and was quickly followed by chapters of
Kappa Alpha and Pi Kappa Alpha. All three chapters were relocated
to Gainesville in 1906.
Also, the University of Florida Athletic Association was founded
in Lake City in 1904. Several football games, all losses, were played
under the auspices of the association, but those games are not
included in the association's annual football media guide. The
University of Georgia disagrees, however, and continues to count
the 1904 Florida-Georgia contest.
As opposed to the harmonious relations between the City of
Gainesville and the East Florida Seminary, the Florida Agricultural
College found itself constantly embroiled in conflicts with Lake
City's politicians. Several of the College's presidents fell victim to
local intrigue. More than anything else, Lake City's unconstructive
atmosphere made Gainesville the preferred site for the new univer-
sity in 1905.


The University's first social
fraternities were also founded
at Lake City. Alpha Tau
Omega (ATO) had a charter
as early as 1887.


1903 sophomore class of the University of Florida. In 1903, the
college changed its name to the University of Florida, banished
women from the student and faculty bodies, and ended military
dress and regimen. (From the Karl R. Bardin Collection.)


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future




























caaet onicers, ca.1895. Military education and
uniforms were mandatory for all male students at the
Florida Agricultural College until 1903. (From the
Edward Powers Collection)


"A Company of Volunteers." Women were admitted Into the Florida
Agricultural College in 1894 during the tenure of President Oscar
Clute. Under Clute, co-eds were allowed to wear cadet uniforms
and to drill. (From the Edward Powers Collection)


Biology class at the Florida
Agricultural College, ca.1895.
(From the Edward Powers
Collection)


University of Florida
The Pre-HIcic,.ian Years, 1853-1905
























Andrew Sledd and the beginnings of a modern university


The last president of the old University of Florida at Lake City
and the first president of the new University of Florida at
Gainesville was Andrew Sledd, who was appointed president in
1904, but was forced to resign in 1909. Although his stay in Florida
was brief and tumultuous, Sledd made a dramatic impact on higher
education while there.
Sledd began his academic career in 1898 at Emory College but
was forced out in 1902 after publishing a controversial article in the
Atlantic Monthly that condemned lynching and called on white
southerners to end practices that prevented African Americans from
enjoying basic rights and liberties. After leaving Emory, he earned
his doctorate in Latin at Yale and taught briefly at Southern
University in Alabama before coming to Florida.
Sledd's first goal was to assemble a faculty worthy of a state
university. Until Sledd's arrival, few of the college's professors
possessed a doctoral degree. Slcdd, however, was able to attract a
number of young academics from
American and German universities to
come to Florida. Sledd also convinced the
sole Ph. D. on the existing faculty, James

James Marion Far was recruited as Professor
of English at the University of Florida In Lake
City In 1902. He would later serve as chair of
the department and vice president of the
University until the mid-1930s.


Marion Farr, to stay on as Professor of English. Of the eleven men
in Sledd's first faculty seven held a Ph. D. It was one of the most
impressive faculties in the Southeast and comparable to institutions
elsewhere in the nation.
With the faculty issue resolved, Sledd went on to tackle the
student problem. Since the founding of the Florida Agricultural
College in 1884, the minimum age for admission had been 15.
Prospective students were required to take an entrance examination,
and about one-third of the new arrivals were placed in the College's
preparatory department before being admitted as freshmen.
Students entering the freshman class had roughly the equivalent of a
10',' grade education.
A 10''' grade education was low even by southern standards in
1904, but a 12'1 grade education, already the standard for admission
outside the South, was out of the question as there were no public
high schools in Florida that offered that grade. Sledd opted to raise
the requirement a single year, placing the University on a par with
most southern state universities.
The decision to move to an 11th grade admission standard was
essential if the University was to achieve any degree of credibility,
but its impact on enrollment was noticeable. Of the students
already enrolled when Sledd came, many could not pass the tighter
academic standards. To make matters worse, Sledd imposed strict
rules for conduct and behavior, and persistent rule-breakers were
suspended or expelled. In the end, low student enrollment became
the principal pretext for Sledd's ouster in 1909.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


in his honor.



















Alumni of East Florida
Seminary with University
of Florida president J.
Hillis Miller (far right)
The photograph was
taken during the
University's centennial
celebrations on the
steps of the White
House Hotel, formerly
the student barracks at
the East Florida
Seminary.


Alumni of Florida Agricultural College look on as President J. Hillis
Miller unveils plaque marking the site of the College in Lake City, 1953.


--
Members of the Eleve Association, the alumni association of the
East Florida Seminary, at one of its annual meetings. On the far
right is W. R. Thomas, who spearheaded the campaign to have
the University of Florida brought to Gainesville. Other members
of the Eleve Association also played an active part in the
campaign.


The Buckman Act of 1905

To some extent, the state schools that emerged in the 19'
century were a response to the absence of secondary schools. Of the
1.106 students enrolled in the schools in 1902 fewer than one-fifth
were engaged in what could be considered college work. However.
by the end of the 1800s. high schools were appearing across the
state and were often in direct competition with the state schools.
On May 9, 1905. Henry H. Buckman, a political ally of
Governor Napoleon Bonaparte Broward. introduced a bill in the
state legislature to consolidate the state schools and eliminate the
competition with the state's public schools. Buckman's bill was
passed after minimal debate and was signed into law by (;Governor
Broward on June 5. 1905.
TIhe act abolished the existing state schools for white students.
left intact the Negro Normal and Industrial School. and created two
new schools: the Florida Female collegee and the all-male t University
of the St.te of I'lorid.l (Both schools were renamed in 1909 to tile
Florida State College for Women and the University ol Florida.
respectively.) The schools were to be governed by a Board of
Control appointed by the governor. I however, the legislature
clouded the political future of the colleges by having the Board of
Education oversee the Board of( control.
The Buckman Act did not specify the locations for the two new
colleges. Rather, the decision to locate the two alleges and appoint
their respective presidents was to be a joint decision by the members
of the Board of Control and the Board of Education. Five men sat
on each board.
The two boards convened in July and selected Andrew Sledd as
the first president of the University of lthe State ol Florida. Albeit
A. Murphree. president of the Florida State ( college in Tall.h.ssce,.
was then chosen as the president of tie Ilorida Femn.ale college .
The campus of thlie Florida State College in Tallahassee was
selected to be the site for the Florida Female College. Several towns
made proposals to be the home of the new university, but only Lake
City and Gainesville were given serious consideration. On paper,
their two proposals were similar. Both submitted comparable tracts
of land and cash incentives. (aincsville included an attractive offer
of free water, but Lake City seemed to have an advantage as the
University of Florida was already located there and had a usable


University o(f Florida
Th11 I'r.-i,,nhulmai YVr,, 185.-19)0

















Class of 1906. First graduating
class of the University o Florida
after passage of the Buckman Act.
Classes were held at Lake City in
academic year 1905-1906.


campus. A science building and a gymnasium had just been
completed and a new dormitory was under construction. The
Experiment Station and its research plots had to be considered as well.
In the end. though. the decision to move to ;ainesvillc probably
tilami down to intangible elements and not cash, water, or buildings.
(;aincsvillcs biggest draw was its progressive environment and its
history of support for the East Florida Seminary. The town folk
loved the Seminary and gave it their fullest backing. More impor-
tantly, they stayed out of its internal affairs. In contrast, Lake City's
politicians had a history of meddling and intrusion.
It took three hours for the two boards to decide on Gainesville as
the new location. The news was telegraphed to both towns and,
while there was great celebration in Gainesville, the mood in Lake
City was dark and riotous. However, Lake City did not give up
without a fight. Since there was no campus at Gainesville for the


new University of the State of Florida, the state was compelled to
use lake City for the first year. This gave the city time to pursue
legal challenges, and an injunction preventing removal of the
University from Lake City was temporarily imposed.
In July of 1906, the injunction was lifted and crates containing
books and equipment were quickly sent to Gainesville by rail.
Larger items had to be transported by wagon teams, but drivers
from Lake City refused to cooperate. Instead, six wagons and
drivers from Gainesville were secured. William S. Cawthon was
given the responsibility for transporting the remaining property.
Rumors circulated that Cawthon would be arrested if he tried to
leave town, and there were threats of violence. But Professor
Cawthon, shotgun on his lap, led the wagon train containing the
remaining property of Florida's first land-grant institution to its new
home.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future







1903 women's basketball
team at the East Florida
Seminary.


Student life in the pre-Buckman era
Former students of the East Florida Seminary and the Florida
Agricultural College have left us little in the way of memoir or oral
history. We know nothing of the students' haunts and hangouts,
and the catalogs of the schools reflect a preoccupation with keeping
extracurricular pursuits to a minimum. Both schools imposed
military discipline on the male students with dire consequences for
students who departed from the written Code of Conduct.
Life in the barracks, as the men's dormitories were called, allowed
for some diversions. The position of Officer in Charge was
delegated to a faculty member who was required to lodge in the
dormitory and keep order. As a new faculty member in 1903, James
Marion Farr was obliged to perform the duties one year at the
Florida Agricultural College. He described the boys as "a somewhat
wild and rough lot, good-natured and easily controlled but given to

University of Florida


The cadet band at the Florida Agricultural College, 1897.

EU~L.


The Pre-Buckman Years, 1853-1905















1903 football team of the
University of Florida at Lake City.
(From the Karl R. Bardin
Collection)


occasional outbursts of animal spirits." Women were housed off-
campus in local residences and boarding houses.
Attrition rates at the college were appalling. Of the 46 freshmen
that entered the Florida Agricultural College in the fall of 1896 only
three earned degrees in 1900. Humorously, the three survivors
elected themselves senior class officers and composed this class yell:

Rah! Rah! Ree!
Who are we?
The lucky three,
Who are numbered
In the Class of Nineteen Hundred


Literary societies flourished at the schools. Two competing
societies, Bema and Forum, began annual debates at the Florida
Agricultural College in 1893. They co-produced the Cadet Bugle,
the college paper. As soon as they were admitted in 1894, the
women organized a literary society called the Clutonians, in honor
of President Oscar Clute, and performed plays, gave music and
poetry recitals, and organized debates and declamations.
Physical education was a requirement for men and women, and
teams were organized at both schools. Baseball appeared at the
Florida Agricultural College in 1897, and Florida's first intercolle-
giate football game occurred in 1901 when the Agricultural College
lost to Stetson, 6-0. The College joined the Southern Inter-
Collegiate Athletic Association in 1904 and lost games to Auburn,
Georgia, Alabama, and FSU's predecessor, the Florida State College.
In fact, the Agricultural College was winless in its four-year history
and failed to score a single point!


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future











































































"Plcnic on the Suwannee" (From the Edward Powers Collection)


16 University of Florida


Tie Pre-Buckman Years, 1853-1905


I


L
-M:











CHAPTER 2



The Formative Years, 1906-1927


From just three buildings...

The campus that Professor Cawthon was traveling to consisted of
just three buildings. One was a storage facility, situated on the spot
where Turlington Hall now resides, that was later used as the post
office. Buckman and Thomas halls were the main buildings. Both
were designed to be dormitories, but Thomas would initially serve
as a combination classroom, office, cafeteria, and library building.
It was not until 1916 that the last classroom in Thomas Hall was
eliminated, and Thomas became strictly a dorm.
The land donated for the campus totaled 517 acres and con-
tained several ecologies including hardwood hammock, pine stands,
and palmetto scrubs, as well as land that had been recently farmed.
The acres chosen for the first campus plan were on high ground and


the easiest to develop. The historic campus was built in a flat
pinewood along the road to Newberry. To the south and west of the
historic campus the ground sloped steeply and then bottomed out.
The campus was bordered on the north and east by marshes.
Professor N. H. Cox was given the responsibility for clearing and
surveying the land. On his survey, he penciled in where the first
buildings should be and laid out two curved roads that traversed the
campus from east to west. The architects for the new campus,
Edwards and Walters of South Carolina, devised a more elaborate
plan, influenced to some extent by Cox's initial work.
Almost the entire faculty for the University of the State of
Florida came from the old University of Florida. In addition to the


An early fight song for the
University of the State of
Florida. The name was
changed to the University
of Florida in 1909.



The campus as it
appeared in 1906.
Thomas Hall, in the
foreground, was used
for classes and
contained the library,
the mess hall, and
offices for faculty and
staff. Buckman Hall
was the student
dormitory and
contained a small
gymnasium.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


--s~O


-'0-01 .0



















Anderson Hall, formerly Language
Hall, served as the principal
classroom building for the social
sciences and humanities. The
president's office was also
located there.







Entrance to campus, 1919, on the corner of what is today 13t" Street a




Lake City faculty, Sledd acquired from the Florida State College
James Nesbitt Anderson to teach Classics. He also recruited from
the East Florida Seminary Wilbur L. Floyd, who undertook
graduate work in biology at the University while he taught and later
became Assistant Dean of the College of Agriculture.
When the University of Florida at Gainesville opened for
registration on September 24, 1906, 102 students enrolled, but only
60 of those were admitted as college students. Classes began on
September 26, and an official dedication was held the next day
attended by Governor Broward and Congressman Frank Clark.
Nathan P. Bryan, Governor Broward's closest political advisor and a
behind-the-scenes architect of the Buckman Act, delivered the
dedication speech.
James N. Anderson (left), Dean of the A newspaper campaign against President Sledd began immedi-
College of Arts & Sciences, and ately after the Buckman Act and climaxed in April 1909 after
Wilbur L. Floyd, Assistant Dean of the Governor Broward's departure. The campaign focused on low
College of Agriculture, In 1923.
18 University of Florida


nd University Avenue. (Jackson McDonald Collection)


Class of 1907, first class from the Gainesville campus to graduate.


The Formative Years, 1906-1927









enrollment and why there were more students at the women's
college than at the state university. Sledd countered with his own
campaign and provided a detailed explanation for why so few
college students enrolled at UF
He noted that there were only 251 boys enrolled in the 11th and
12'h grades in the state's public high schools, but that there was
nearly twice that number of girls. Regardless, the University
enrolled 72 college students in 1908, more than any other college in
the state, while the Florida Female College had only 59 college
students registered. The difference lay in the far greater number of


non-college students reported at Tallahassee.
It was all to no avail, though. The press campaign intensified
and included accusations of unorthodoxy on the race question. The
legislature joined the attack and threatened to cancel building
contracts unless Sledd was removed. With the campaign against
Sledd in full swing, the Superintendent for Public Instruction
refused to renew Sledd's appointment for the coming academic year.
In response, the Board of Control offered to resign in protest. Sledd
ended the controversy, instead, by stepping aside, and Albert A.
Murphree was immediately named as his successor.


Artist rendering of the campus, 1916.


The land donated for the
campus totaled 517 acres and
contained several ecologies
including hardwood
hammock, pine stands, and
palmetto scrubs, as well as land
that had been recently farmed.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future




















Albert A. Murphree


Albert Alexander Murphree was
born April 29, 1870 in the village
of Walnut Grove, Alabama. He
attended the University of
Nashville and received his Bach-
elor of Arts in 1894 and his
Master's in 1902. Murphree
taught mathematics at several high
schools and colleges before being
hired as an instructor at the West
Florida Seminary in 1895. Two
years later, he became the presi-
dent of that institution.
Murphree was named the first
president of the Florida State
College for Women in 1905.
As president of the University
of Florida from 1909 to 1927,
Murphree oversaw the physical
and curricular development of the
University. During his term,
forty-six buildings were erected,
including ten major structures,
and eight colleges were organized.
President Murphree died inhis
sleep on December 20, 1927. Vice
President James Farr served as
acting president until the arrival of
John J. Tigert in September 1928.


View of Science Hall (Flint-Keene Hall), Buckman Hall, and the Experiment Station Building (Newall Hall) circa 1915.


The first permanent gymnasium, now Women's Gym, was built in 1919. The
called New Gym was constructed in the 1920s.


Albert A. Murphree and the growth of the University, 1909-1927
As long as Andrew Sledd was president, there was little chance Seminary and its successors, the Florida State College and the
that the University would garner the political support necessary for Florida Female College, since 1897. He was also fortunate to serve
growth and development. Albert Murphree, on the other hand, was in a period of relative economic prosperity.
admired in Tallahassee and was well positioned to promote the Building construction was constant during Murphree's adminis-
interests of the University. He was married to the daughter of an tration; six classroom buildings, a cafeteria, a library, a gymnasium,
influential judge and had served as president of the West Florida and the Auditorium were constructed. When the gymnasium (now


University of Florida


The Formative Years, 1906-1927



































The first section of the library (now Smathers Library) was completed In 1925. It now houses the University's special collections and the Latin
American Collection.


Women's Gym) was finished, it was touted as the first gymnasium in
Florida large enough for a basketball court. Unfortunately, though,
it wasn't big enough to play and watch a basketball game. A wooden
gym, referred to as New Gym, was later built as a basketball arena.
When Florida Gymnasium was built in 1949, New Gym became
the music and band room until it was demolished in the 1970s.
One of Murphree's earliest actions was to organize the first
modern colleges. Colleges of law, arts & sciences, agriculture, and
engineering appeared in 1909, and deans were named for each
college. Each dean had only a few faculty members below him, but
the organization proved useful and durable. The first colleges were
followed by a Teachers' College (1911), the College of Pharmacy
(1924), the College of Architecture (1925), and the College of
Commerce and Journalism (1926).
The creation of the College of Law was the work of Nathan
Bryan, who is honored in the naming of the original law building,


Bryan Hall. Bryan had persuaded the faculty of the law school at
Stetson University to move to UE They, in turn, brought some of
their students. Many of the first law students were practicing
lawyers who had been admitted to the Florida Bar on examination,
but had never acquired an actual law degree. Thirty-one law
students entered in 1909, accounting for about one-fourth of the
total enrollment that year. Graduates of the college enjoyed a
"Diploma Privilege" that admitted them to the Florida Bar without
examination.
In 1913, the University of Florida was made the official site for
the state's Summer School, which was originally created to provide
continuing education to Florida's teachers. The Summer School was
co-educational about 80% were women and the course work
could be applied to a UF degree. In this way, the University of
Florida had its first female graduate, Mary Alexander Daiger, in
1920.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


Moot court exhibition
performed by students of the
College of Law, ca. 1920.


Eirr ru















Summer School, 1911. Every June
prior to World War II, the University
of Florida was transformed from
an all-male university to one that
was overwhelmingly female.
Summer schools were created to
provide continuing education for
Florida's public school teachers
and were attended by thousands.
Summer sessions were held at UF
as early as 1909, but it was not
until 1913 that course work could
be applied towards a degree. By
the 1930s, students enrolled
during regular sessions were also
taking advantage of the summer
course offerings.


^*ft*!"-**^ n-Jn ^ ..a -- -~ s- *A
;~i~C~Yr ~ .3 ~- t.z.a L
-e^? 4 M. A -e_.


i-BN a *-&
aacAM

1 iMEI
sen, s.
ri llu


In 1925, the legislature allowed women to enroll in degree
programs at UF that were unavailable at the State College for
Women. Lassie Goodbread Black, the first woman to be admitted to
the College of Agriculture, was followed by a handful of other
women in law, pharmacy, and engineering. However, there were never
more than 20 women enrolled in any year prior to World War II.
The graduate program was also improved during Murphree's
administration. The first master's degree, which was in chemistry,
ever awarded in a Florida college was to Lindley Heimburger in
1905 at the pre-Buckman University of Florida in Lake City. Four
more were bestowed prior to the creation of the Graduate School in
1909. James Anderson served as its first director as well as the first


Lf


.- .. .
~




dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.
Murphree was a strong advocate for strict admissions standards
and did nothing to undermine Sledd's accomplishments in this area.
Fortunately for Murphree, the enrollment problems that plagued
Sledd eased with improvements in local school districts. By 1912,
the state's public high school system had expanded sufficiently to
make a 12*h grade education an admission's requirement. Enroll-
ment rose steadily and exceeded 2,000 in 1926.
1927 was a bad year for the state as the Florida Land Boom
burst, preceding the Great Depression. In December, President
Murphree died, bringing to an end his strong administration and
guiding hand over nearly two decades of growth for the University.


University of Florida


The Formative Years, 1906-1927










University Auditorium,
shortly after construction in
1927. The auditorium was to
be connected to an
administration building and
bell tower facing the Plaza
of the Americas. However,
the Great Depression forced
the University to suspend
further construction and the
administration building was
later built on 13M Street.
This photograph depicts the
uncompleted north end of
the auditorium.


Student Huber C. Hurst poses in
front of a partially built University
Auditorium, 1926. (Huber C. Hurst
Collection)


-^ . ,







Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


























Margaret Fox Johnson weaves a
rug from discarded garment fibers
at the Home Demonstration shop
in Jacksonville, 1925. The shop
was one of many established by
Agricultural Extension to bring
farm foods and crafts directly to
the urban consumer.


Agricultural education, research and extension


The Buckman Act and the move to Gainesville gave a tremen-
dous boost to the University's agricultural programs. Gainesville
provided ample space for the Experiment Station to conduct its
work. The station building, now Newall Hall, was completed in
1909 and was soon surrounded by groves, pastures, and experimen-
tal plots. In 1905, Peter Henry Rolfs was appointed Director of the
Experiment Station and the station staff was enlarged. A clear
distinction between research and education was established leading
to the creation of the College of Agriculture in 1909.
The first permanent branch station, at Lake Alfred, was autho-


rized in 1917 and became the world's largest citrus research center.
The Belle Glade Station followed in 1925, and by the 1940s there
were stations throughout the state.
Beginning in 1899, traveling exhibitions, known as Farmers'
Institutes, facilitated the extension of information from the experi-
ment station to the farmers. In 1914, Congress passed the Smith-
Lever Act and the third component of the University's agricultural
program, the Florida Co-operative Extension Service, came into
being. By the mid-1920s virtually all of Florida's counties sup-
ported a county extension agent. Women participated in extension


University of Florida


The Formative Years, 1906-1927

























Boys' beekeeper club in Lake County, 1925.


A. A. Turner (2nd from right standing) was State Agent for Negro
Extension in the 1920s and 1930s. Negro Extension was
administered through Florida A & M University, but Turner reported to
the Director of Extension at the University of Florida. This photograph
of African-American county and home demonstration agents was
taken in 1925.


A citrus field meeting In Lake County, 1925. County agents were
instrumental In the fight against Mediterranean Fruit Fly infestation
and citrus canker.


work through the home demonstration program.
The youth section of agricultural extension is Florida 4-H.
Youth work in Florida began in 1909 when Dean J. J. Vernon
organized boys' corn clubs and, later, girls' tomato clubs. The clubs
were expanded to poultry, swine, sweet potatoes, and virtually every
agricultural product grown or raised in the state. Florida 4-H was
founded in 1925 with an emphasis on mental, physical, social and
spiritual (Head, Heart, Hands, and Health) development as well as
training tomorrow's farmers.


The Better Farming Special Train brought UF's College of Agriculture
to rural communities throughout the state in 1911. This stop in
Oakland was one of 71 made in 30 counties.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future






























atwara Rawson iint was Proiessor
of Chemistry from 1904 to 1917.
He also served as University
Physician.


Life as an early Florida student

Although not a military school, there was a military character to
the University in its early years. The students woke to reveille each
morning and "mess" was served promptly at 6:30. Anyone not in
line fifteen minutes after it opened went hungry. Civilian attire was
worn, but each student purchased a cadet uniform for $30 and
drilled three times a week.
If a student was feeling ill, or if he wanted to avoid drill, he could
report to the doctor in the morning. The Resident Physician was
Edward Flint, Professor of Chemistry, and it is for his contributions
to the teaching of science, not his medical practice, that Flint-Keene


Drill Day, 1913.


Hall bears his name. Quinine, calomel, and nux vomica-an herbal
laden with arsenic- were routinely dispensed. The most common
diagnosis was malaria; dengue was also present.
Student organizations proliferated in the early years, and it seems
as if there were as many clubs as there were students to fill them.
Prominent among them were the literary societies. Dixie Literary
Society produced the Pennant, the student literary journal, and
sponsored debates and declamations. Rhetoric was still an impor-
tant part of the college curriculum, and oratorical competitions were
as essential to the college experience as those on the gridiron.


University of Florida


The Formative Years, 1906-1927










The first band, 1914. The band
was directed by George DuRell
"Pug" Hamilton, who wrote the
words to "The Orange and Blue,"
and included Robert Swanson,
author of "We are the Boys From
Old Florida," on cornet and Frank
Holland, brother of Governor
Spessard Holland, on trombone.


73 Buckman Hall, 1919.
"Respectable domicile of Dyer,
Scott and Hogarth." (Jackson
McDonald Collection)











Two avid Gator fans at the Stetson vs.
Florida game, 1919. (Jackson
McDonald Collection)


h- 'i


Ii


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future























"Freshman biscuit" 1920.
(Jackson McDonald
Collection)


Boston Red Sox vs. New York Giants at Fleming Field, 1919. UF
was the spring training site for the New York Giants that year.
Showers were installed in the gymnasium by the City of
Gainesville as an Inducement, but the Giants failed to return the
following season. (Jackson McDonald Collection)


The Florida Alligator made its appearance in 1912 as a weekly.
The first yearbook, called the Seminole, was published in 1910, a
year before the varsity teams were named the Alligators. A Glee
Club was organized as early as 1910, floundered, and was resur-
rected in 1915. By 1912, there were enough students with musical
talent for a small orchestra, and the next year a band was organized.
The band motto was "We play anything at any time."
Three fraternities made the move from Lake City to Gainesville,
and the first chapter house, ATO, appeared on University Avenue as
early as 1907. About a third of the student body belonged to a
fraternity. Unofficial groups such as the Bo Gators, the Turkey
Trotters, I Tappa Keg, and the Funnel Gang appeared and enlivened


Jackson McDonald came to the University
during World War I as part of the Student
Army Training Corps. He was one of
hundreds of soldiers assigned to the
University of Florida. He was discharged
on December 11, 1918 and returned the
following year as an engineering student.
(Jackson McDonald Collection)

the campus with their extra-curricular
activities. There was also an active
YMCA and several professional clubs.
A popular off-campus hangout was
Uncle Dud's College Inn. Uncle Dud
was Dudley Williams, who opened the first
business establishment along University Avenue.
Williams offered sundries, dry goods, and bottled
soda. He also stored beer kegs and liquor for the
students until the faculty asked him to stop.
Williams later sold the business, and it became
known simply as College Inn.


University of F


lorida
The Formative Years, 1906-1927


A poster for a gathering of Ye
Pirates, one of several dance
societies that flourished at UF In
the 1920s and 1930s.











































Uncle Dud's College Inn. Proprietor Dudley Williams (left) opened the first business on University Avenue soon after the University opened.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future 29














,i


Neal S. Starter
Everglades City, Florida
Bachelor of Science in Electrical
Engineering, 1912. Pi Kappa
Alpha; Sophomore-Freshman
Declaimers' Medal, 1909-10;
Captain, Football Team, 1911-12;
Manager, Baseball Team, 1911-
12; President, Kelvin Engineering
Society, 1910-11; All Florida
Center, 1910-12; President, "F"
Club Executive Committee.



i


V11


University of Florida football team playing the Riverside Athletic Club at a baseball park in South Jacksonville in 1908. South Jacksonville


was the site of many of Florida's games until the stadium was built in 19



The Gator Nickname
A student group called the Bo Gators is the most likely origin of
the Gator nickname. Organized in 1907, the Bo Gator Club owed
much of its fame to its secretary, Bernard "Beauty" Langston, who
chronicled the members' antics in several newspaper and yearbook
articles. The leader of the group was its Chief Bo Gator, Neal S.
Storter of Everglades City. Storter was a popular student, played
center on the football team, and was captain of the 1911 squad.
Roy Corbett, captain of the 1907 football team, and Thomas
Bryant, president of the 1912 senior class, attributed the nickname
directly to Storter. Storter denied it, though, and claimed the name
originated in 1910, just before a game with Mercer College, when a
Macon newspaper reported that the town "had been invaded by a
bunch of alligators from Florida."
The nickname was also credited to a local merchant who began
selling pennants with alligators on them in 1908 and, incredibly, to

University of Florida


The Florida Gator devours the mascots of its 1911 opponents.
The team went undefeated that year.
^^^ 4 /ki jml


The Formative Years, 1906-1927


,
r









.- '4i ,'$


A field goal being scored at Fleming Field in 1924.


1909 football team.
Florida State University's parent institution, the Florida State
College. According to a football player of that school, Florida State
called itself the Gators in 1903 before it became the State College
for Women in 1905. Florida State's last coach was Jack "Pee Wee"
Forsythe, who became Florida's first coach in 1906.


For whatever reason, the team was named in 1911. The name
first appears in October of that year just before a road trip to South
Carolina that saw Florida tie the Gamecocks and then upset the
Clemson Tigers. The campus newspaper, then called the Pennant,
states "It was on the South Carolina trip that the Florida team was
dubbed the Alligators,' and the battle that took place on this
Wednesday afternoon between the Clemson Tigers and the Florida
Alligators is one long to be remembered!"
They don't tell us why, but we have been Gators since.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future




















1924 Homecoming Game against Drake University on Fleming Field.
Fleming Field was located just north of where the stadium is
today and was used for both baseball and football.





The School Songs

A number of Florida songs were written and
sung in the early years of the University, but only
Three are still performed. George DuRell "Pug"
; Hamilton wrote the words to The Orange and Blue,
and the tune is an adaptation of Yale's Down the Field.
The Orange and Blue was sung at football games and pep
rallies into the 1950s, but only the instrumental version is
heard today. We Are the Boys from Old Florida has been
attributed to several people, but Robert Swanson is most
7 often given credit for the original composition. In 1940,
noted composer and music publicist Thornton W Allen
S negotiated the rights to both songs as well as several other Florida
songs. Allen made changes to both tunes.
Milton L. Yeats, a member of the Glee Club and the University
Quartet, composed the Alma Mater in 1925. The words were set to
music for the quartet. When Florida became co-educational in
1947, Yeats revised the composition. Band Director Harold B.
Bachman described the Alma Mater best as "a song of great beauty
and dignity in a register that is easily singable by average voices."
Outsiders are often surprised to hear tens of thousands of "loyal sons
and daughters" singing the Alma Mater.


University of Florida


The Formative Years, 1906-1927










The Marching Band at the
inaugural parade of Governor
Cary Hardee in
Tallahassee,1921. (Jackson
McDonald Collection)


Glee Club, 1927. Billy Matthews,
later director of the Florida Union
and then Congressman Matthews,
served as president. A. A. "Waddy"
Murphree, the Glee Club business
manager, was the son of President
Murphree and served on the faculty
of the English Department for many
years. Claude Murphree was the
president's nephew and the
University Organist.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


mdaEcr


47, aL0oo


J


^ ".i....Sep
Ii^^ .^H
























































1926 aerial photograph of the campus and surrounding community. The two arched roads that defined the campus plan until the early 1930s are still evident.



34 University of Florida
The Formative Years, 1906-1927











CHAPTER 3


Depression, War, and the GI Bill, 1928-1947


Stability in an uncertain world

John James Tigert III became president of the University of
Florida in September 1928. A native of Tennessee, Tigert attended
Vanderbilt, where he excelled academically and athletically and, in
1904, was selected to be Tennessee's first Rhodes scholar. He later
served as U.S. Commissioner of Education under Presidents
Harding and Coolidge.
During Tigert's 20 years as president, the world was rocked by


economic collapse and global conflict. Given the financial con-
straints of the times, Tigert did well to maintain the academic
programs that Murphree had begun. State funds for capital
improvements dried up, and the major construction projects
undertaken during his presidency were funded primarily with
federal and private dollars.
There were several expansions to the dormitories during this


The east end of
campus, 1932.
Benton Hall, to the
right of the
Auditorium, was the
original engineering
building. It was
demolished in 1966
and was the only
major building in
the campus
historical district to
be intentionally
destroyed. Its
destruction was a
catalyst for the
University's historic
preservation
movement in the
1970s.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


oT ..








John James Tigert III was born
February 11, 1882. He enrolled
at Vanderbilt in 1899 and
received his B.A. in 1904. He
excelled in academics and athletics
and was the first Rhodes Scholar
selected from Tennessee. Tigert
taught at several colleges before
accepting the Chair of Philosophy
at the University of Kentucky in
1913. He was appointed Chair of
the Psychology Department in
1919 and served briefly as head of
the Athletic Department and
coach of the football ream. In


Jonn J. uger


1921, Warren S. Harding selected
Tigert for the post of Commissioner of
Education.
In 1928, Tigert accepted the
presidency of the University of Florida.
Under his guidance, the,undergraduate
program was reorganized. Entrance
requirements were strengthened and all
applicants were required to pass a
comprehensive placement exam before
they were accepted. The Research
Council was organized in 1939'to
develop policies on patents and to'
stimulate research. The first Ph.D.'s
were awarded in 1934 in the areas of


chemistry and pharmacy.
Although his main focus was
academics, Tigert never lost his love for
athletics. As a member of the National
Rules Committee for college sports, he
helped rewrite the rulebook for
football. He also helped fund the
Southeastern Conference.
Tigert oversaw the first years of
postwar expansion and then announced
his retirement in 1946. rin 1960, the
University of Florida's new admiristra-
tion building was named in'his honor.
He died January 21,:1965.
-


Georgia Seagle, an early supporter of the University, donated the
funds for the stadium's first lights and press box. Dedication
ceremony, Sept. 24, 1938. President Tigert at the microphone.


During Tigert's 20years as
president, the world was
rocked by economic collapse
and global conflict.


period including Sledd, Fletcher, and Murphree halls. An infirmary
with a modern hospital and trained staff was opened in 1931. The
most noticeable change in the campus landscape, however, came
with the completion of a 22,000-seat football stadium funded
entirely by private donations raised by the Alumni and Athletic
associations. The stadium was completed in time for the 1930
Homecoming game against Alabama. Florida lost that match, but
the intervening years have produced far more victories in the
Swamp than losses.
Another significant addition to the campus was the student
union in 1936. The initiative for the Florida Union, now Dauer
Hall, came from the YMCA during Murphree's presidency. But the
Y was unable to raise sufficient funds, and it was not until federal
public works funds became available during the Depression that the
union could be built. The union contained a lunch counter and
soda fountain, study lounge, game room, and the University
Bookstore. The YMCA, which had offices on the second floor,


University of


Florida


Depression, War, and the GI Bill, 1928-1947












O .u


Iwo muni-spon aTnieies 0or Ivsu.
Pitcher Walter "Ben" Clemons
(above) captained the 1930
baseball team and played center
on the football and basketball
teams. Dale "Muddy" Waters
(below) was captain of the 1931
basketball team and played
tackle in football.


Graduation procession, 1930. (E. H. Bone Collection)


would later relinquish its space to the Department of Religion as a
way of preserving the building's spiritual component.
The sports programs improved during the Tigert years, although
many of their accomplishments were overshadowed by the struggles
of the football team. The team came within inches, literally, of
capturing its first conference title in 1928. The star of the 1928
team was Florida's first All-American, Dale VanSickel. The team
broke the collegiate record for total points scored in a season (336)


and registered UF's first victory over Georgia. The season was
marred, though, on a muddy field in Knoxville when Florida failed
to convert two extra points and lost to the Volunteers, 13 to 12. To
this day, some Gator fans believe that Tennessee deliberately watered
down the playing field in order to slow down the high-powered
Gators.
The boxing team won Florida's first sports conference title in
1930. The Florida boxers were coached by John Piombo, who was


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future





















































Campus as seen from the west end, early 1930s. The battalion dl


38 University of Florida


?Id is in the foreground where the O'Connell Center and stadium parking lot are today.


Depression, War, and the GI Bill, 1928-1947


Ir;ii ~ ~











The Institute of
Inter-American Affairs,
predecessor of the Center for
Latin American Studies, was
founded in 1930.


Dedication of the Plaza of the Americas, February 13, 1931. 21 trees representing each of the American republics in existence at the time
were planted In the Plaza. The dedication was held in conjunction with the first annual meeting of the Institute of Inter-American Affairs and
the 25th anniversary of the opening of the University of Florida at Gainesville.


recruited as a conditioning trainer for all of the sports and who had
previously trained heavyweight champs Jim Jeffries and Jess Willard.
Captain Phil O'Connell led the team and his brother, Stephen C.
O'Connell, captained the 1938 team. In appreciation for the boxing
team's triumph, the Student Athletic Council elevated the sport to
varsity status. It was also in the 1930s that Florida began its
dominance of conference swimming as Gator swimmers held the
conference title from 1937 through 1941. This was a prelude to a
longer reign enjoyed by the men's swim team in the years 1956-1968.
Although there were fewer additions to the University's curricu-
lum in the decade prior to World War II, the existing programs were
strengthened and greater emphasis placed on research. In 1934, the
University of Florida awarded its first doctorates, in Pharmacy and
Chemistry. The first non-agricultural research centers were
established in 1930, and since 1930, the Bureau of Economic and
Business Research has generated invaluable demographic and
economic data for the state and has been responsible for the annual
publication of Florida StatisticalAbstracts since 1967.
Florida made its first foray into international studies with the
creation of the Institute of Inter-American Affairs in 1930. Under
the guidance of its first director, Rollin S. Atwood, the Institute


sponsored an Inter-American conference in 1931 attended by
representatives from many Latin American countries. To mark the
occasion, twenty-one trees representing the nations of the Pan-
American Union were planted in the quadrangle, which was then
named the Plaza of the Americas. The Institute became the School
of Inter-American Studies in 1950 and the Center for Latin
American Studies in 1963.


Latin American workshop
sponsored by the Dept. of
Language and Literature and
the Institute of Inter-American
Affairs during the 1945
summer session. The
workshops were attended by
visiting Latin American
students and professors as
well as summer school
students.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future




























Joseph Weil, Dean of the College
of Engineering, 1937-1963.


The College of Engineering enjoyed an excellent reputation as a
school, but it was not until the late 1930s that the College's research
facilities began to have a significant impact. The Engineering
Experiment Station was established in 1929, but was not funded
until the 1940s. Until then, the Station depended on cooperative
financing with private industries and state agencies for specific
projects. In 1941, the state legislature created and funded the
Engineering and Industrial Experiment Station to "promote the
prosecution of research projects of engineering and related science,
with special reference ... to the development of industries of Florida."

University of Florida


The Department of Forestry was created in the College of
Agriculture in 1935. The Florida Forestry Association sponsored
the Department's establishment, and Harold S. Newins was selected
to head the new department. In 1937 the Department was elevated
to a School of Forestry, and Newins was appointed its first director.
Since its creation, the School has maintained a working forest, the
Austin Cary Memorial Forest near Waldo north of Gainesville. A
later acquisition was the Katherine Ordway Preserve near Melrose.
In 1972 the School was renamed the School of Forest Resources and
Conservation.


Depression, War, and the GI Bill, 1928-1947


Water J. Mathety, Dean of the
Colege of Business
Admhnishtraon, 1926-1954.




















Ruaolpn weaver, -IrsT
Dean of the College of
Architecture, 1925-1944.


Townes R. Leigh. Dean of
the College of Arts and
Sciences, 1933-1947.


shown here soon alter construction in i Y34, was me original location or me r n. onge LUaDuuloy cnooWl.


A new campus for the College of Education and its laboratory
school was opened east of the main campus in 1934. Until the
establishment of the P. K. Yonge Laboratory School, the College of
Education conducted a practice high school that also served as a
preparatory school for the University. Male high school students
came to Gainesville and were taught by graduate students from the
College of Education. In contrast, the new laboratory school had its
own faculty and taught grades K-12 to a co-educational student
population. Many of its earliest students were the children of
University staff.
The most innovative change in the curriculum came with the


establishment of the General (later University) College in 1935. In
an effort to curb high attrition rates in the freshman and sophomore
classes, the administration strengthened academic counseling, and
prospective freshmen were required to pass an entrance examina-
tion. University College provided a uniform, core curriculum for
the first two years. The classes used identical syllabi, and a machine
dubbed Flunkenstein by the students graded the College's standard-
ized tests. University College was merged with the College of Arts
& Sciences in 1978 to form the College of Liberal Arts and
Sciences.
The events of December 7, 1941 brought profound changes to


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


The University ofFlorida

awarded its first Ph.D. s

in 1934.



























President Tigert accepts award
from the Army Air Forces Training
Command for the University's
contribution to the Army
Specialized Training Program.


Army Specialized Training Program participants take a class in meteorology, 1943.


universities across the country. UF was no exception, and as an all-
male university the effects were even more dramatic. Classes
dwindled as the men went off to war, and, in the fall of 1943, there
were fewer than 700 officially enrolled. Enrollments in the co-
educational summer sessions were actually higher.
However, the regular student population was supplemented by
the addition of hundreds of soldier-scholars from the ranks of the
Army Specialized Training Program, which was organized in 1942
to provide college training to prospective army officers. Participants


came from across the country and for most it was a taste of higher
education that would not have been possible before the war. Some
returned to colleges in their home states after the war, but many
were killed in the war. After D-Day, casualties in the armed forces
mounted and those still in the program in 1944 were activated as
enlisted men, not officers. Well educated, but poorly prepared for
combat, "ASTPers" were more likely to be killed or wounded than
those who went through regular training.
Veterans were already returning to classes before the war ended in


'lorida


University of F


Depression, War, and the GI Bill, 1928-1947


Student in architectural drafting
class, 1940s.


































Horticulture class, 1946. Class in
plant breeding and hybridization.


4-H dairy science In a pasture north of the auditorium,1930s.


September 1945. 1945's enrollment reached 3,216 and catapulted
to 7,373 in 1946. President Tigert had seen the University through
depression and war and the immediate post-war years. But, in
1946, he informed the Board of Control that he would step down at
the end of the academic year. Dr. J. Hillis Miller was selected as his
successor.
The end of the war brought new demands for co-education at


the state's colleges for white students. Many of the students enrolled
at both institutions arrived with spouses who also wanted to attend
college. A report from a blue-ribbon committee on education
appointed by Governor Millard Caldwell urged co-education, and
the state legislature complied by ending gender segregation in 1947.
The University of Florida began the new academic year on Septem-
ber 22, 1947, with a new president and a more diverse student body.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


moot court, couege at Luaw ca. 191.











Walkway In the area of Rolfs,
Newall and Dauer halls,
ca.1940. Rolfs Hall served as
headquarters for the
Agricultural Extension Service
and Newall was the
Experiment Station Building.
Dauer Hall was the original
student union and included
the campus bookstore and a
lunch counter.


Florida Players perform "HMS Pinafore" In 1937. Performances were
held in the auditorium of the P K. Yonge Laboratory School. Female
cast members were recruited from the community.


WRUF's first student
announcers, Walter
"Red" Barber (left) and
Jimmy Butsch, 1930.


narola r. vonsrans airecrs two casT memDers in a Wlyy proaucTon
of "Our Town." Constans was Chair of the Dept. of Speech and
founder of the Florida Players.


University of Florida


Depression, War, and the GI Bill, 1928-1947






























Aerial view of stadium and surrounding area during a game, ca. 1935.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


.Q-





































Construction of the stadium, September 11, 1930. The stadium was built into a natural bowl on the west end of campus. The goal posts on
Fleming Field, the first football field, can be seen in the distance.


Coach Charles Bachman (left) and football coaching starf, vz32.
End coach Dennis "Dutch" Stanley (center) later served as the first
dean of the College of Health and Human Performance.



University of Florida


iracK meeT, IY4U5.


Depression, War, and the GI Bill, 1928-1947


I










































Freshmen wearing rat caps, date unknown.


Freshman traditions


In the decades before World War II, freshmen at the University
of Florida were subjected to a battery of rules and regulations
written and enforced by the classes above them. Freshmen (aka rats)
were required to wear beanies called rat caps throughout the first
semester except on Sundays. They were obliged to salute all seniors
by touching their caps. (Seniors were easily identified because they


carried canes and wore derbies.)
Rats were required to know the words to all cheers and fight
songs and to attend athletic games and sit in the cheering section.
The rules forbade freshmen from cutting across the quadrangle (the
Plaza of the Americas) to get to class. Any freshman caught in
violation of the rules was taken before a Vigilance Committee


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future



































Flag Rush. (Ralph
Gower Collection)


composed of sophomores. The Vigilance Committee also policed
the upper classes and reported on hazing activities.
Freshmen were "encouraged" to participate in a number of
annual events. During the football season, freshmen were sum-
moned out of the dorms by the cheerleaders, often at odd hours of
the night, to participate in pajama parades, blanket parades, and
impromptu pep rallies. At Homecoming pep rallies, freshmen
brought their weight's equivalent in combustible material for a
bonfire.
The Frosh-Soph Fight was another freshman initiation. This
male bonding experience began as a "wrassling" match between the

University of Florida


two classes and evolved into a more sophisticated, but no less
injurious, melee called Flag Rush. In Flag Rush, a flag was nailed
13 feet up a greased pine tree outside Thomas Hall and the sopho-
mores defended it. If the freshmen captured the flag-and they
always did because they outnumbered the sophomores three to
one-the freshmen were allowed to remove their rat caps before the
end of the semester. Many Florida alumni remember a similar
practice whereby the freshmen removed their caps early if Florida's
football team beat Georgia. Unfortunately for those freshmen, a
Florida victory over Georgia, unlike today, was an infrequent
occurrence.


Depression, War, and the GI Bill, 1928-1947







































1938 Homecoming house decoration at the Phi Beta Delta house. (E. H. Bone Collection)


Homecoming at the University of Florida


The first Homecoming at the iUnversint of Florida occurred on
October 21, 1916. 200 "old grads" armed to cheer on their alma
mater in a contest w~th Alabama. Festivities began the night before
with a bonfire and rally on the football field. The game was
preceded by a parade led by the University Band and featuring the
entire student body, the alumni, and 100 automobiles decked in
orange and blue streamers. The Crimson Tide's victory over the
Gators was the day's only disappointment.
Since 1924, Florida Blue Key has been responsible for organizing


Homecoming events. Bert C. Riley. Dean of .
General E\rension. organized Blue Key the year before as
a student leadership organization.
A pep rally has always been a part of the Homecoming tradition
at the University of Florida. In the early days, freshmen brought
their body weight in combustible material for a bonfire. From 1925
to 1932, students rallied in the Auditorium and moved outdoors for
the bonfire and fireworks. The rally moved to the new football
stadium in 1932 and became Gator Growl. Touted as the largest


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


Gator Growl poster, 1936.


4*c~a~
'*cl, r










































1930 Homecoming Queen and court with their escorts.
student-run pep rally in the world, Gator Growl became more
elaborate and expensive over the years. Celebrity hosts were invited
and then top-name comedians were added to the bill.
The first official Homecoming Parade occurred in 1948. Called
"Florida on Parade," the procession moved from downtown to the
Battalion Drill Field (current site of the Stephen C. O' Connell
Student Activity Center). The route was later reversed.
Other Homecoming events include the Blue Key Banquet (first
hosted in 1929), the John Marshall Bar Association skits, the
Homecoming Pageant, and the Homecoming Barbecue. And, of
course, there are the football games.

University of Florida
Depression, War, and the GI Bill, 1928-1947


























po 11lo tem Th tem playe
SnFn II n





Some of the riders in the
horse-drawn artillery
battalion, shown here on the
drill field circa 1940, also
played on the University's
polo team. The team played
several Intercollegiate
-- matches Including this game
-.- -- -_ with Auburn.


-r- ----- --.

I-L ..j_~ -- -)


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future






























The Egg-Nosie Race, an Initiation for Scabbard and Blade, the
ROTC's honorary society. (E. H. Bone Collection)


The members of the Vigilance Committee, 1928.








University of Florida


r -- ----~-
4-H poultry team, 1946. Orange County winning poultry team.
Central Florida Exposition, 1946.


Depression, War, and the GI Bill, 1928-1947

















Villanova Florida game, Florida
Field, 1946


(left) Pre-game
parade in
Jacksonville before
the 1940 Florida-
Georgia game.










1943 cheerleading squad in
action.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


~9.







































Freshman Pep Squad, 1930s.


Cartoon from the Blue
Gator, 1927.


A Florida forestry
student gets a
lumberjack's
shave at the
Forestry Field Day,
1940.


lorida


University of F


Depression, War, and the GI Bill, 1928-1947


mx ----





























Military Ball Dance Card.
Date unknown.


Military Ball sponsors and their escorts, 1940.


Masthead for the Blue
Gator, a campus humor
magazine of the 1920s.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


Q'
~:~m,;si' r



















































A hesitant Boston College cheerleader handles a baby alligator
given to the college by a visiting Florida student at the Florida-BC
game, October 12, 1939. (From the Harry P. Edwards Collection)


Main archway by Sledd Hall,
ca.1940. (Burgert Bros. Studio)




University of Florida
Depression, War, and the GI Bill, 1928-1947










CHAPTER 4


Post-War Expansion, 1948-1975


The center of the campus in the late 1940s, before Century Tower was built, showed many trees and few cars.


Great changes
After World War II ended, thousands of ex-GIs returned to the
United States to resume their lives and continue their education
under the GI Bill. Those numbers also included many women,
either spouses of veterans or ex-GIs themselves or those eager to
secure good jobs, all of whom wanted to take advantage of the
opportunities suddenly open to them.


With over 1,600 women enrolled at UF in 1948, a number that
would continually grow over the coming decades, the University
appointed its first Dean of Women, built six women's dormitories
(Broward, Jennings, Mallory, Rawlings, Reid, and Yulee halls all
named after important women in Florida history), established
eleven women's sororities on campus, and changed the 1919


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future



































Florida Gym was built in 1949 and dedicated by U.S. Vice President Alben Barkley in 1949. Basketball games, freshmen orientation,
registration, and commencements were held there until the O'Connell Center was built In 1981.


gymnasium to Women's Gym. However, Florida Blue Key, one of
the student body's most important organizations, continued to bar
women from joining, something that would continue until the 1970s.
Construction boomed on the UF campus as the economy
strengthened and more students enrolled at UE Tigert Hall was
built to house the administration, including the president, vice
presidents, business offices, and registrar. Men's dormitories,
Carleton Auditorium (named after professor William G. Carleton),
a ROTC building (named after teacher and football coach General
James Van Fleet), Weil Engineering Building (named after Dean
Joseph Weil), and the Hub campus bookstore were also constructed.
Florida Gym, built in 1949, became the site of varsity basketball
games, students' registration process, concerts and lectures, and
office space for the College of Physical Education, Health and
Recreation. The University had more and more foreign students,
who were attracted by the growing reputation of the school.

University of Florida


Women engineering students, late 1950s.


Post-War Expansion, 1948-1975


Temporary buildings, which
would last for decades, were
built to accommodate the
Increasing numbers of students
and faculty.














Women were admitted to the
University without restrictions
in 1947. By the 1990s women
would make up more than half
the student population.


The UF ROTC Girls Rifle Team, first
organized in 1956, competed with
similar teams from other schools.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future




























The President's House became a central point for many social
functions on the campus.


In the early 1950s, the University built a President's House on
five acres along West University Avenue at the edge of campus. That
house, which finally permitted the President and his family to live
close to campus rather than in Northeast Gainesville, would become
a frequent gathering place for dignitaries and official functions.
An honors program, started at UF in the 1950s, began attracting
the brightest students for small, seminar-type classes. An honors
dormitory built in 2002 would allow many of those students to live
in the same facility and have some of their classes there.
To commemorate the 1953 centennial ofUF's founding, the
school built Century Tower in the center of campus near University
Memorial Auditorium. The tower's bells would be replaced in 1979
by a 49-bell carillon that tolls each quarter of the hour, with special
performances from time to time. A live alligator was housed in a
nearby enclosure, but finally had to be freed in Lake Alice.
When President Miller died suddenly in 1953 after six years in
office, the University was thriving. It had 10,000 students, a campus
worth millions of dollars, and a growing reputation for excellence.
Although he did not live to see the building of the medical school,
he would have been proud.
Cities like Jacksonville, Miami, and Tampa argued that the state's
main medical center should be in a large urban setting, but the state


Legislature, students, faculty, and private donors, commemorated
the centennial of the University, founded in 1853. It also honored UF
students killed in both world wars.


legislature appropriated funds for building schools of medicine,
nursing, and dentistry, as well as a university hospital, in the more
centrally located Gainesville. Officials placed it on Archer Road,
which made it accessible to out-of-town travelers, able to be
expanded, and close enough to the main campus for students to
access it.
The name of the hospital honors Senator William Shands, a local
legislator who did much to have the facility placed at UF Shands


University of Florida


Post-War Expansion, 1948-1975


This bell, part of the 49-bell
carillon at the top of Century
Tower, was put in place in 1979
and replaced a set of bells put
there in 1956 to honor Milton and
Ethel Davls. The bells toll each
quarter of the day and are
played on other special
occasions.











































was a UF alumnus and with his two brothers played on UF's earliest
football teams. The name of the Health Center honors UF Presi-
dent J. Hillis Miller.
To lead the Health Center and the College of Medicine, the
University selected Dr. George T. Harrell. Harrell emphasized
community medicine and developing compassionate physician-
patient relationships. He personally selected the college's students
and often chose applicants with weaker academic backgrounds
if he felt they had the qualities needed to be a caring physician.
Harrell, who left UF in 1964 to found the Hershey Medical
Center at Penn State, is the only person in American history to
create two medical schools.


The medical facilities were increased with the addition of a
School of Dentistry (1957), College of Health Related Professions
(1958), and College of Veterinary Medicine (1976). The opening of
the Veteran's Administration Hospital across the street in 1967
allowed doctors to work at both facilities.
Shands Hospital has become well known for its work in bone
marrow, heart, kidney, and liver transplants; the development of
Bioglass, which bonds with bone; and its care of indigent patients
from around the state. The establishment of the Brain Institute in
the 1990s would give the medical facilities even more prestige.
In 1955, Dr. J. Wayne Reitz, who was Provost for Agriculture at
UF, became UF's fifth president. He would later be honored in the


This 1958 photo shows the first
baby born at Shands Hospital.
The parents are Dr. and Mrs.
Joachim Gravenstein. Dr. Harry
Prystowski delivered the baby. Dr.
Gravenstein was on the hospital
staff. (George T. Harrell History of
Medicine Center at the J. Hillis
Miller Health Center)


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future









J. Hillis Miller, fourth president of the
University of Florida, was born August 29,
1899 in Front Royal, Virginia. He attended
the University of Richmond and the
University of Virginia and received his
Ph.D. from Columbia University in 1933.
He was Dean of Students at Bucknell
University and President of Keuka College
before being appointed Associate Commis-
sioner of Education for the State of New
York in 1941.


Miller's selection as President of the
University of Florida came in 1947. The
postwar enrollment boom was in full swing
and the University experienced its first year
as a coeducational institution. His primary
efforts were in the area of campus planning
and staff development. A $15,000,000
building program was undertaken and many
existing academic programs were expanded.


During his brief administration, ten
doctoral degree programs were added.
Miller died unexpectedly on November
14, 1953. Vice President John S. Allen
served as interim president until the
appointment of J. Wayne Reinz. In 1959,
the J. Hillis Miller Health Science Center
was dedicated in memory of his work to
establish Florida's first medical school.


In this 1962 photo, Dr. Yoneo
Sagawa of the Cancer Research
Laboratory put pollen in an orchid
to study the growth and
development of cells.


Francis Ray (left) directed the Cancer Research Laboratory in the 1950s.


University of Florida


Post-War Expansion, 1948-1975








naming of the Reitz Union in the late 1960s. That building added
meeting rooms, student organization rooms, a bowling alley and
game room, even two floors as a hotel. The Florida Museum of
Natural History was added to the campus in 1971, where it moved
from downtown's Seagle Building.
Among the new buildings on campus were Dan McCarty Hall
for the College of Agriculture, Winston Little Hall for University
College, and six buildings for the College of Architecture. Houses
for sororities were built on Sorority Row east of 13th Street across
from campus, and houses for fraternities on Fraternity Row were
built between Lake Alice and Flavet Field. Women living on campus
still had a curfew and were not allowed to wear jeans or shorts until
the early 1960s.
Co-ed dorms would be established in the 1970s, and al-
though men and women could live on the same floor a door
separated their living quarters. Panty raids occurred from time to
time to be followed by streaking, once during a nationally
televised basketball game.


The Reitz Union became the center of student activities.




































An outdoor class in the Plaza of
the Americas.


Lake Alice has always been a quiet place on campus where one can walk amid peaceful surroundings.


University of Florida


Post-War Expansion, 1948-1975
































Among the many plays produced on campus was Knickerbocker Holiday, shown here In 1953.


Streakers!


The anti-Communist feeling prevalent in the United States after
World War II led to the requirement that all state employees in
Florida, including faculty, had to sign an oath of allegiance to
Florida and the United States. The Johns Committee, named after
its chairman (Senator Charley Johns), investigated faculty and


students at Florida universities for "un-American activity." The
focus at UF was on gays and lesbians. The result was that nine
faculty were forced to resign at UF and an undetermined number of
students were expelled or forced to seek psychiatric treatment.
With racial integration mandated by the U.S. Supreme Court in
1954, African Americans began applying to UF But it was not until
1958 that the College of Law admitted the first African-American
students. The undergraduate program was integrated in 1962, but it
would be another decade before their numbers increased much.
Campus facilities were desegregated in the 1960s, but off-
campus restaurants and theaters were slower to do so. Students
and faculty became active in the integration process with sit-ins
and demonstrations.
Student demonstrations increased in the late 1960s and early
1970s as African Americans demanded and got a Black Student
Union (1968), a Black Culture Center (1972), and more black
faculty. A black fraternity (Kappa Alpha Psi) opened in 1972. Anti-
Vietnam War protesters disrupted classes and staged demonstrations
throughout Gainesville.


Dr. Mildred Hill-Lubin came to
UF in 1974 as Director of the
English Program for Special
Admit students and professor
of African American Literature.
She was the first African
American Assistant Dean in the
Graduate School, helped
begin the Women's Studies
Program, and was elected the
first woman and African
American to head the
International African Literature
Association.


Aeronautical engineering students
examine tall section of a B-24
bomber, ca. 1950.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future








SsIn 1964, a nine-member Board of Regents headed by a chancel-
lor replaced a Board of Control to govern the state's four universi-
Spties. Two UF professors, Robert Mautz and E.T. York, Jr., served as
chancellor over the next several decades. By 2003, there would be
eleven state universities in Florida, all competing for money from
the legislature.
After President Reitz resigned in 1967, Stephen O'Connell
became the school's sixth president. O'Connell was the first UF
alumnus to become UF president and was also Chief Justice of the
Florida Supreme Court. The school had 19,000 students.
That same year Library West was dedicated and became the
center of campus with its large and growing collection of books and
journals. The Plaza of the Americas in front of the library continues
to be a meeting place for students, faculty, and demonstrations.
UF and other Florida public universities experimented with
different calendars like the trimester (1962-67) and the quarter
(1967-81), but finally returned to the semester (1981+) when the
others proved unsatisfactory. Summer sessions, which go back to the
1910's, kept the campus busy all year round, although usually
NR400 "Introduction to Nuclear Engineering". First class to use the summer than half the regular-year enroll
summer terms had no more than half the regular-year enrollment.
training reactor, November 1959.





Stephne C. O'C9niell was.the sixth an g..I- ..
,WP ident of the Univeisity .ofoidda and -mataitifa n "n' e ud an...d..d
h-eA, h 'Flodid aluihnus ?o lea;l'cthe .- imiaredi ,Cn- drAin ',. .C on
. nivemi t.y O'Cofnell wasirn;hi West ,1968.~di; dt
f ..nJanuar221916 a mscrators o cu'h on
cnrqoedit.Florida'inj I3 4HoserIved-a f w nn atibnl venr-
p.gna i r aon '
-den" -,- ,.o9 placed on
.." ,, rqd v B I." sier M I .oi.pment-
f.jc a B l u !i vers sc-nn
nneu nartfe .ealc, ......L&e e s.
IFaf ii A wr eP ? e hen
ue l epri Curt 4 i1955 and was ons, faW unrest, and civil rits issues r was


onacademic pir and py sip, an:.a 14,r2001.
September'. .1,:- 19.7, 'c ." -' and physice't b p0 *-;..S
-lceih .robe -- ,contmU e be made. Seve' a '

Universe ity of lorida


























Father Michael Gannon did much
to calm an upset campus during
the turmoil after the Kent State
killings in May 1970. Gannon is
shown here drenched from fire
hoses used to disperse
demonstrators.


Demonstrations in front of Gainesville's College Inn In the 1960s attempted to integrate on-campus facilities.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


cL~LC"eC1








The football team struggled under a series of coaches from the
1940s through the 1970s: Ray Wolf (1946-49), Bob Woodruff
(1950-59), Ray Graves (1960-69), and Doug Dickey (1970-78),
but did produce twenty All-Americans:
1952: Charlie LaPradd
1956: John Barrow
1958: Vel Heckman
1964: Larry Dupree
1965: Bruce Bennett, Charley Casey,
Larry Gagner, Lynn Matthews,
and Steve Spurrier
1966: Bill Carr and Steve Spurrier
1968: Guy Dennis and Larry Smith
1969: Carlos Alvarez and Steve Tannen
1970: Jack Youngblood
1971: John Reaves
1974: Burton Lawless and Ralph Ortega
1975: Sammy Green


Dr. E.L. Fouts (on left), UF quarterback Jack Eckdahl, and Dr. Robert
Cade (one of the inventors of Gatorade) posed around 1968 with
Gator Go, a follow-up to Gatorade.


One product developed for the football team by UF researcher Dr.
Robert Cade of the Health Center became Gatorade, a popular drink
that has generated millions of dollars in royalties to the University,
royalties that have gone to fund research, especially in medicine.
The years 1948-1975 might be called the Fuller years for those
are the years that Dave Fuller coached the baseball team. He
compiled a .610 winning percentage and garnered three SEC
regular season championships.
Florida swimmers began an Olympic
tradition in 1968 when Catie Ball won
gold in the 400 medley relay. Florida has
medalled in swimming in every Olympiad
since then. Ball received an honorary
athletic scholarship and went on to coach
Florida's first women's swim team in 1972
in her senior year as a student. The swim
team, ranked number 2 in the nation that
year, was one of the inaugural teams in
the Lady Gator Intercollegiate Athletics i
program established in 1972 under the Dr. Ruth Alexander
direction of Dr. Ruth Alexander.


University of Florida


Post-War Expansion, 1948-1975


The recruitment of Steve Spurrier
by Coach Ray Graves would take
Gator football to a higher level.


































wnen rloraa gymnasium opened
in 1949, the original gym was
designated Women's Gym.


For many years registration for UF courses took place at Florida Gym. That meant long lines and signs of "Closed Sections" that brought
sighs of frustration. Today students can register from their apartments and homes.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future







Admissions officer
John Boatwright,
seen here advising
a student





President O'Connell resigned in 1973, to be succeeded by
interim president, E.T. York, Jr., who would later become chancellor
of the State University System. UF was beginning to reach new
levels of excellence, and several of its colleges (Business, Engineer-
ing, Law, and Medicine) were recognized nationally as outstanding.
To continue that upward trend toward excellence, UF looked to a
former Rhodes scholar, Robert Q. Marston, to take it to the next level.







!if










The Women's Chorale in the mid-1970s was just one of many ways for

70 University of Florida


Dr. Ronald Foreman, Jr., who began his 30-year teaching stint at UF In
1971, was the director of the University's Afro-American Studies Program.


the musically inclined to showcase their talents.


Post-War Expansion, 1948-1975









Distinguished Service Professors

Created in 1972, the title of
Distinguished Service Professor is the
highest rank awarded to the
University's faculty. Recipients must
be master teachers in the classroom,
achieve national or even international
recognition for their scholarship, and
perform outstanding service to the
public. UF's first Distinguished
Service Professors, Manning J. Dauer
and T. J. Cunha, exemplified the
commitment to service and academic
excellence associated with the award.
Manning J. Dauer Manning Dauer, Chair of Political
Science from 1950 to 1975, is best
remembered for his legislative reform efforts that culminated in
Florida's constitutional revisions of 1968. He was a nationally
recognized expert on legislative reapportionment whose ideas were
applied in several states as well as Florida. Dauer attended the
University of Florida, receiving bachelor's and master's degrees
before earning his doctorate from the University of Illinois in 1933.
He returned to UF the same year and established the Department of
Political Science in 1950. Numbered among the 15,000 students he
taught were many future politicians who often returned to him for
political advice.
Tony Joseph Cunha became chair of the Department of Animal
Science in 1950 and was an authority on animal nutrition and
livestock production. He contributed to over 1500 publications
including twenty books and served as a consultant or lecturer in 34
countries. More important, though, was the direct application of
his research, on nutrition deficiencies, to international livestock
production. He left UF in 1975 to return to his alma mater,
California Polytechnic, as Dean of Agriculture.


Distinguished Research Curator

Among the faculty at the Florida Museum of Natural History is
Dr. Kathleen A. Deagan, who began conducting archaeological
excavations in 1973 in Spanish colonial sites of Florida and the


Dr. Kathleen Deagan


Caribbean. She went on to help locate and then study La Navidad
in Haiti, the fort established by Christopher Columbus after the
wreck of the Santa Maria in 1492; La Isabela in the Dominican
Republic, the first town built by Columbus in America; and
eighteenth-century Fort Mose in St. Augustine, the first free
African-American town in North America. Her work is done with
archaeology students, and they are currently excavating Florida's first
fort and settlement, established by Pedro Menendez de Aviles in
1565 at St. Augustine.


(lett to right) Protessors Hugh
Popenoe, Director of the Center
for Tropical Agriculture, J. C.
Dickinson, iii, and Tony J. Cunha
received an award from the
Minister of Agriculture of the
State of Yucatan, Mexico, at the
1968 Latin American Beef Cattle
Conference.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future






























Rosemary Hill Observatory near Bronson was far away from the
city lights that could interfere with its operation.


-'-T

Dr. Erich Farber, Distinguished Service Professor In the Department of
Mechanical Engineering, pioneered work In solar energy In this
country and around the world.


The International Student
Organization, shown here In 1955,
attracted growing numbers of
foreign students.


University of Florida


Post-War Expansion, 1948-1975












WUFT Spanish telecourse, 1959.


A graduate student in
horiculture examines a citrus
Lee in the College Grove south
of the Auditorium.


Tmis float by Latin American students in the 1953 Homecoming
Parade won a prize in the Independent Division.


Students could often be seen laestig cmftip omn Rtmld lnoo


HwnwtngI thk 616, Shplhjyo t6mh Fre











































Flavet III


The Flavets


The sudden increase in enrollment following World War II
found the University ill-prepared to lodge thousands of new
students. Hundreds were temporarily housed at the Alachua Army
Air Base on the outskirts of town and bused to campus every
morning. Even a trailer park, dubbed TrailVets, was used as living
space. Eventually, enough dormitories were built to handle the


larger and larger freshmen classes.
More troublesome, though, was the arrival of married war
veterans and their families. The families were housed in Murphree
Hall until the first married student housing opened in 1946. Flavet
Village (known later as Flavet I) was dedicated on February 11,
1946. Two other housing units were quickly added. Flavet stood


University of Florida


Post-War Expansion, 1948-1975










































A vegetable garden in Flavet III


for Florida Veteran and the units were originally restricted to
families of veterans. Much later, they were opened to other married
students, but veterans were always given preference.
The wooden dwellings were war surplus prefabs delivered from
military bases in Panama City and Tampa. Those used at Flavet III
were barracks converted to apartments; the others were duplex
units. Accommodations were Spartan and residents complained of
the thin walls and palmetto bugs. The latter were especially
unsettling to students from other states. Rent was $25 a month
paid from the GI's monthly stipend of $90.


For many residents, the Flavets were a valuable lesson in civic
responsibility. Flavet III, the largest of the units, elected its own
mayor and commission and operated a fire department. Commis-
sions established speed limits for cars and quiet hours for children.
A "mother-in-law" clause limited visitation to two weeks. Residents
took responsibility for lawn maintenance, ran a grocery store, and
pitched in to build a Laundromat. Three nurse veterans operated a
day nursery.
Flavets I and II were removed in 1966 and the buildings sold.
Flavet Field is the former site of Flavet III, the last unit to be
demolished in 1974.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future














UF's School of Inter-American
Studies sponsored English-
language teaching for Latin
American technicians sent here.
Shown with the students were their
teachers: Irving Wershow (extreme
left) and Sam Schulman (extreme
right).


Latin American Studies


University of Florida faculty have taught or conducted research
on every continent including Antarctica. Our students, too, have
hailed from Earth's four corners. Our earliest forays into interna-
tional scholarship, though, were closer to home. As early as the
1890s, the Florida Agricultural College attracted students from
Cuba, and Spanish, taught by a Cuban instructor, was a required subject.
The University's first formal international program was begun at
the initiative of President Tigert soon after he arrived in 1928. The
Institute for Inter-American Affairs was created in 1930 and Rollin
S. Atwood, Professor of Economic Geography, was appointed its first
director. Its purpose was "to foster better cultural and economic
relations between the United States and Latin America." The
Institute's first annual meeting in 1931 was the occasion for the
dedication of the Plaza of the Americas and also marked the
University's 25'" year in Gainesville.


In 1950, the Institute was dissolved and the School of Inter-
American Affairs was created to better coordinate graduate and
undergraduate programs with Latin American content. Beginning
in 1950, the School held an annual Caribbean Conference empha-
sizing a special theme of interest for that region. Conference themes
were expanded to regions beyond the Caribbean after 1970.
The Latin American program was strengthened in the early
1960s by a grant from the Rockefeller Foundation and federal funds
provided under Title VI of the National Defense and Education
Act. In September 1963, the Center for Latin American Studies
was established to provide a broader organization for an expanding
range of activities. Today, the Center is recognized as one of the
top-ranked centers in the world. Students can choose from more
than 200 Latin American and Caribbean area and language courses
offered by 40 departments.


University of Florida


Post-War Expansion, 1948-1975










CfAPR 5


A First-Class University, 1976-2003


The rise to international prominence
Dr. Robert Marston, former Rhodes Scholar and Director of the
National Institutes of Health, became UF's seventh president in
1974, at a time when the University was on the verge of becoming a
major university in the South and one of the leading public
universities in the nation. However, a deep economic downturn and


severe energy shortage in the nation curtailed the school in the
1970s, led to the unionization of much of the faculty, and energized
the University of Florida Foundation to seek funds from private
sources, especially the alumni. So successful would the Foundation
become in raising money for the University that its endowment
would reach $100 million in the 1980s.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future








:" On January 11, 1974, the Florida Board
ofRegents took little more than forty
seconds in unanimously selecting Robert
Qiarles Marston as the seventh President of
,the University of Florida.
SMarston was born in Tdana, Virginia, on
-: 'February 12, 1923. He earned his B.S. at
.the Virginia Military Institute (1943) and -
his M.D. at the Medical College of Virginia.
(1947). Marston began his administrative
career in 1961.'as Dea of the University of
Mississippi's School of.Medicine where he -
gained recognition for his support of racial


Dating back officially only to the
early 1970s and to the strong
leadership of Dr. Ruth Alexander,
Lady Gator athletics has excelled
in recent years. Slowpitch
softball, shown here, was played
for a few years in the early 1980s.
Fastpltch softball was Introduced
in 1997.


integration. In 1966, he accepted a position ie me centerwas increased and Shands
as Associate Director of the Naotin H pi;l aprva-tied By his efforts, the
Institutes of Health and became e-ji' Dret or. groundw~ .was laid for the Universi t's
.in 1968.- -' 98 t o the prestigious Association
Marston's 1975 inaugural speech set of Americanh nisersities.
forth a strongcomnit nt.oaffimave O dNovemrer 30, 1982, Marston
action, the acalermcanid:c ilr ife of he' .aniioun.ced: reuirement, which became
Universictyand fidrati isigsm g. r 19 effective S~embher. 1, 1984. He returned
1980,-the iiversits sendowmenir o~'eby 4to :c e5 rk i:tmicrobiolog and
over $10,00O, -each'~ ~~:aqai in a, i 1985, he
scholarss were cr e tothecuItyortantSymposium on the
pogiam-toattr more Na onal it .s f Nuclear \%War.
'ScHolars wasestabishea :-State. -iind f,,o r d ;oh March 14. 1999.
.-
,. ....? ....,: .-.." : 0...,. ;. :>.: ::-.


Marston's 1975 inaugural speech set forth a strong
commitment to affirmative action, the academic and
cultural life of the University, and fundraising.



Women continued enrolling at UF in increasing numbers,
reaching fifty-one percent of the total number in the 1990s. The
Lady Gator sports programs have done very well, winning SEC and/
or NCAA championships in diving, golf, gymnastics, swimming,
soccer, and tennis. Students elected as student-body president the
first female (Charlotte Mather in 1983) and the first female African-
American (Pamela Bingham in 1986).
A program in Women's Studies added a new dimension to the
curriculum, more women faculty members were hired, and several
women became high-level deans, for example Drs. Madelyn
Lockhart, Phyllis Meek, Betty Siegel, and Jeannine Webb.
University College merged with the College of Arts & Sciences
in 1978, thus ending an institution that went back to 1935. All
freshmen now enter the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences before
being admitted to the college of their choice. CLAS is UF's largest
college and home to about half of the student body. Many of the
College's departments and classrooms are in Turlington Hall.
Twenty-two departments and eleven centers make up the College.


University of Florida


A First-Class University, 19Th-~tJUi


A First-Class University, 1976-2003



























- I
President Criser is shown here with
local Representative and State
Education Commissioner Ralph
Turlington of the Florida
Legislature in front of the new
Turlington Hall, which had at first
been called General Purpose
Building A (GPA).


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future




























Students have had various ways of getting around campus. The Lake Wauburg, 10 miles south of the UF campus, has served UF's
A center of campus was closed off to ordinary cars and became a students, staff, and faculty since 1918. In the early days, before a
place for pedestrians and bicyclists, paved road crossed Paynes Prairie, it took a half-day to reach the
lake.






The ritual of students moving Into
dorms has not changed much -
over the years, although now
some of the newer dorms are
rather fancy.











The lion outside the Sigma Alpha
Epsilon fraternity on campus was
painted many times, sometimes
by fans of other football teams.

80 University of Florida


A First-Class University, 1976-2003










!s P
ii:, '


More and more women
applied to UF, including the
sciences, as demonstrated
by this physics class.


The O'Connell Center, shown being constructed in the early
1980s of space-age polymers and waterproof fabric, has a
pressurized air system that keeps it inflated. The O'Dome,
which can seat 12,000 spectators, is used for concerts,
basketball games, swimming and diving competitions, and
graduations.


Today's College of Design, Construction and Planning began in
1925 as the School of Architecture and became the College of
Architecture in 1948. A separate fine arts division was added to the
College in 1958. The College was known as the College of Architec-
ture and Fine Arts until 1976, when the two divisions became
separate colleges.
In 1980, the University built the Stephen C. O'Connell Center
for basketball, swimming, commencements, banquets, and public
lectures. Its waterproof fabric that resembled a large balloon made
the O'Dome one of the most recognized buildings on campus.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


Dale B. Canelas, who came to UF
in 1985 as Director of University
Libraries, has initiated several
major programs and helped bring
in major grants.








Marshall M. Criser became the
University of Florida's eighth president
on September 1, 1984. He was born in
.Rumson, New Jersey, on September 4,
1928, and was educated in Florida. He
received his B.S. in 1949 from the
University of Florida and an LL.B. in
1951. As a UF student, Criser served as
president of Florida Blue Key, business
manager of the yearbook, president of
Sigma Nu, and homecoming chair. He
was elected to the student Hall of Fame
and the law honorary Phi Delta Phi.


Criser practiced law in Palm Beach and
served on the Board of Governors of the
Florida Bar from 1960 to 1969 and as
President in 1968-1969. He was appointed
to the Florida Board of Regents in 1971 and
chaired the board from 1974 to 1977. As
chair he devoted much of his time to the
Commission on the Future of Florida's Public
Universities. In 1982, he was awarded the
E.T. York Higher Education Award.
As president, Criser built oi the successes
of his predecessor, Robert Q. Marston.
Florida was admitted to the Association of


American Universities during Criser's tenure
and the capital campaign was intensified.
Criser inaugurated Florida's first compre-
hensive capital campaign in 1988 and % hen
the campaign ended in 1991, it had far
exceeded its $250 million goal. However,
much ofhis effort was diverted by two
Football scandals that kept the football
program on probation throughout his term.
Criser resigned in March 1989 and
returned to his law practice. The student
services center is named in his honor.


Florida was admitted to the Association ofAmerican Universities in 1985.


The Rock, a thirty-thousand-year-
old, ten-ton piece of Florida chert,
was installed in front of Turllngton
Hall in 1984.


President Criser is shown affixing his new UF license tag to his car in
1987. The use of the license tags brought in money to the University
and advertised it around the country.


University of F


:lorida


A First-Class University, 1976-2003









After President Marston retired in 1984, Marshall Criser, an
attorney from Palm Beach and a UF alumnus, became the school's
eighth president. The 1980s were better financially for the Univer-
sity than the 1970s, and that enabled the school to add more faculty
and students and build more buildings.
President John Lombardi became UF's ninth president in 1990,
serving for ten years (1990-99) before eventually becoming Chan-
cellor of the University of Massachusetts at Amherst in 2002. His
assertive style often put him in the political spotlight, but his
accessibility earned the devotion of the student body and his total
commitment to the well-being of the campus won the respect of
alumni. Lombardi stressed accountability in curricular and
administrative matters and insisted that the students, staff, and


faculty embrace new and changing technologies. So popular was
Lombardi among alumni that a $5 million scholarship fund, the
largest in UF history, was established in his name soon after his
departure.
Charley Pell replaced Doug Dickey as head football coach in
1978, but his first year (1979) was a winless one for the team: 0-10-
1. After a good second year (8-4), the school built sky boxes on the
west side of Florida Field and enclosed the south end of the
stadium.
After the NCAA investigated the UF football program, Charley
Pell resigned in 1984, to be followed by Galen Hall, who coached
the team to its best record yet: 9-1-1. UF won its first Southeastern
Conference (SEC) Championship, although the SEC Executive

-l mm-C"~Ic


Amnienc ulrector ill carr, wno naa lenerea in iooIoan aT ur Liyoq-
1966) and earned All-American honors In his senior season, served
as athletic director for seven years (1980-1986). He Is seen here with
Ray Graves, who was UF's head football coach (1960-1969) and
then athletic director.


Charley Pell was UF's head football coach for five-and-a-half years
(1979-1984). After a terrible first year (0-10-1), the Gators won eight
games in 1980 for the biggest turnaround in NCAA history up to that
point.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


inly Kynes, a quarTerDacK ior me
Gators in the mid-1970s, won the
prestigious Rhodes Scholarship to
study in Oxford, England. He is
shown here with A.A. "Waddy"
Murphree (seated), the son of UF
President A.A. Murphree and
another UF Rhodes Scholar.























Cheerleaders, with an early
version of Albert in the
background, are skilled gymnasts
and athletes who have a long
tradition of spurring on the crowd
to such cheers as "Orange -
Blue."


Danny Wuerffel won the Helsman
Trophy In 1996, thirty years after
Steve Spurrier had won It. Wuerffel
had a pass-efficiency rating that
ranked first In NCAA history and
led the nation In touchdown
passes In 1995 (35TDs) and 1996
(39 TDs).


Committee later voted to rescind that championship. Gary Darnell
replaced Galen Hall in 1989, and he was replaced in the following
year by Steve Spurrier.
Spurrier's Gators (1990-2001) won six Southeastern Conference
titles, one national championship (1996), and produced the school's
second Heisman Trophy winner: Danny Wuerffel (1996). The high-
powered "Fun-n-Gun" offense made Ben Hill Griffin Stadium at
Florida Field (better known as "The
Swamp") a feared place for opposing
teams.
In 2002, Ron Zook, former defensive
coordinator under Spurrier and National
Football League coach, replaced Spurrier,
A l who became the head coach of the NF's
Washington Redskins.
The other varsity teams have more
than matched the success of the football
team. Most amazing has been the
Donovan transformation of the men's basketball
team. Never known as a basketball
powerhouse, under coach Billy Donovan
UF has received NCAA tournament bids
the last four years and played its first-ever
National Championship game in 2000.
The women's soccer team captured the
S NCAA championship in 1998 in only its
fourth year of existence. But the prize for
coaching success surely goes to Mary
Wise. Her volleyball teams won twelve
Wise consecutive SEC championships and
appeared in the NCAA semifinals six
times. Overall, the Gator athletic
program has ranked in the top ten best
athletic programs for 19 consecutive years.
UF's athletes continued winning
championships in other intercollegiate
sports like diving, golf, swimming, tennis,
and track and field.
The growing presence of UF in
national rankings, both academic and
athletic, helped the school's five-year
Zook capital campaign bring in $850 million in


Dance marathons raised money for good causes and helped many
students expend a lot of energy.


University of Florida


A First-Class University, 19Th-~UUi


A First-Class University, 1976-2003









John V. Lombardi, ninth president of the
University of Florida, was born in Los
Angeles in 1942. Dr. Lombardi earned his
bachelor's degree from Pomona College and
his M.A. and Ph.D. from Columbia
University. From 1968 to 1987, Dr.
Lombardi caught Latin American history at
Indiana Universiry and served as Dean of
the College of Arts and Sciences. He was
appointed Provost at Johns Hopkins
University in 1987 before coming to Florida
in 1990.
Early in his administration, the Gaines-
ville community was rocked by the murder


of five students. Dr. Lombardi helped to
calm and unite the campus, and he estab-
lished a bond with the students that
continued throughout his administration.
He strengthened that rapport by reaching
classes in Latin American history, sports
history, and university management.,
Dr. Lombardi promoted technological
innovation and development. He insisted
that every student who attended the
University own a computer, and he rook a
personal and academic interest in changing
technologies. Under his guidance, the
University achieved new levels of academic


Two of the most popular leaders on campus in the 1990s were
Coach Spurrier and President Lombardl, both of whom brought UF
Into the national spotlight for excellence in athletics and
academics.


excellence with the creation ofse raehih".
profile research centers. i $ oii nf .,
established the veieynlahd bWil. .':
McKnight Brain Itshiure in 1992kd' .
in 1994, the College of Eii eien wae' isv'
selected as the site for ant Engineerm in
Research Center for ParticleS nceand.-
Technology.. .
In 1999, Dr. Lombrar'di stepp e'dp nas
president and accepted the post of Chancel,
lor at the University ofMasiich'usets,
Amherst, in 2002. In all, the Lombardi
decade was one of unprecedented growth
for the University.of Florida.


the 1990s. Many of the school's 230,000 alumni generously
contributed to their alma mater, including the building of Emerson
Alumni Hall on West University Avenue in 2002.
The UF National Alumni Association, begun in 1906, has done
much in keeping alumni informed about the school, including the
quarterly publication of Today magazine that reaches some 150,000
alumni. Gator Boosters support athletic programs at the school,
especially those sports that do not generate self-sustaining income.
UF alumni, who live in all fifty states and 130 countries, meet at
Gator Gatherings, Back-to-College Weekends, and participate in
Great Gator Escapes Educational Adventures in Gainesville and
elsewhere. The school's alumni have helped UF become 13th among
public universities in the size of its endowment.
The campus, one of the largest in the country in terms of
physical acreage, extended to the southwest with the opening of the
Southwest Recreational Center, Curtis M. Phillips Center for the
Performing Arts, the Harn Museum of Art, and Powell Hall, the
new home of the Florida Museum of Natural History.
Among the planned expansions on campus is a $25 million
construction program at UF's Levin College of Law, the eleventh
largest law school in the nation. One of the additions will be the
Lawton Chiles Legal Information Center which will honor a UF law
school graduate who served as Florida governor and U.S. senator.
As the school entered its second sesquicentennial period in 2003,


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future


Emmitt Smith graduated from UF
In 1997, eight years after he left
UF early In order to play in the
National Football League for the
Dallas Cowboys.























Dr. Samuel Proctor, shown here
with President Lombardi, Is UF's
Historian, Distinguished Service
Professor of History, and the
author of five books and dozens of
articles.


Electronic signs at several places around campus Informed students
and Gainesvillians about UF events.
'4M -


Lawton Chiles (1930-1998) of
Lakeland, Florida, graduated from
the University of Florida (1952)
and UF's Law School (1955), then
served In the Florida State House
of Representatives (1959-1967),
the Florida State Senate (1967-
1971), the U.S. Senate (1971-
1989), and as governor of Florida
(1991-1998).


86


Politicians like Bill Clinton, shown
here in 1992 with Hillary and Al &
Tipper Gore, made appearances at
UF, trying to court the student, staff,
and faculty vote.


University of Florida


A First-Class University, 1976-2003








it had much to be proud of: its 46,000+ students were some of the
brightest in the nation; its faculty and staff were winning grants and
prestigious rewards for their research and publications; and its
individual colleges and institutes were being recognized nationally
for excellence, for example the Evelyn E & William L. McKnight
Brain Institute, the College of Engineering, the Frederic G. Levin
College of Law, and the Warrington College of Business Adminis-
tration.
UF's enrollment was expected to peak at around 45,000-47,000
students, 34,000 of whom were undergraduates. It has the fourth
largest student enrollment of all U.S. universities. More than 70%


of UF graduates remain in Florida to live and work, thus enriching
the state with their expertise (and swelling the ranks of Gator fans).
Around 1,500 students are in UF's Honors' Program, which
emphasizes small classes and interdisciplinary research which allows
promising students to work with many of UF's well-known researchers.
Economists estimate that the school's economic impact on the
state is over $3 billion a year. Part of that impact is because of the
valuable research that the Institute of Food and Agricultural
Sciences (IFAS) is doing on campus and throughout the state at
extension centers. The College of Agricultural and Life Sciences
and School of Forest Resources and Conservation are doing


iiu~ DiuIrn inslrue, uarecrea Dy ur.
William Luttge, was renamed the
Evelyn F. and William L. McKnight
Brain Institute of the University of
Florida in 2001 to honor a $15
million gift to study age-associated
memory loss. With strong ties to
both the Departments of Defense
and Veterans Affairs, other areas of
research for this campus-wide
organization and collection of high
technology core facilities include
brain and spinal cord trauma,
degenerative diseases, and other
injuries.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future





















Charles Young


.Charles "Chuck" Young, tenth president
of the University of Florida, is one of
America's most eminent educators. As
Chancellor of the University of California at
Los Angeles for 29 years, Dr. Young guided
that institution through a period of
dramatic growth and transformation.
When he began his tenure as Chancellor in
1968 at age 36, he was the youngest person
to head a major American university.
During his tenure, UCLA's annual budget
grew from $170 million to $2 billion,
research funding increased six-fold, and its


capital fund rose from a market value of $19
million to $752 million. Meanwhile, the
student population shifted dramatically with
minority students making up over 60% of
the student body in 1999.
Chuck Young was born in Highland,
California, in 1931. After serving in the
United States Air Force during the Korean
War, he earned his BA. from the University
of California at Riverside in 1955. He
completed his master's and doctoral degrees
in political science from UCLA. He rose in
the ranks of the chancellor's office in the


Emerson Alumni Hall, finished in
2002, serves UF alumni, who live
in all fifty states and 130 foreign
countries. They have formed over
one hundred Gator Clubs In this
country and in five foreign
countries.


valuable research that will benefit all Floridians. UF is 9th in the
nation for the number of patents awarded.
Dr. Charles Young, formerly Chancellor of the University of
California at Los Angeles, became UF's tenth president in 2000.
The University today has fifteen undergraduate colleges and schools,

University of Florida


five professional schools, and more than one hundred research,
service, and education centers.
Finally, a summary of each of the school's sixteen colleges can
show what a wide diversity of courses Florida's largest land-grant
institution offers.


A First-Class University, 1976-2003


1960s and was appointed chancellor in
1968. He stepped down in 1997.
Dr. Young accepted the Universiry of
Florida's offer to serve as Interim President
in 1999. When the University was unable
to find a suitable presidential candidate.
Young agreed to stay on and became the
University President in 2000. He guided
the University through a difficult period as
it coped with a new governing structure, the
effects of America's response to terrorism.
and an economic recession.






























Students In the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences have much
hands-on experience and opportunities for Internships.


The College of Agricultural and Life Sciences with the related
School of Forest Resources and Conservation is the eighth largest
program of its kind in the country, offering twenty majors, fifty
specializations, and twelve minors. The College is the teaching arm
of UF's Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences (IFAS). Its three
thousand-plus undergraduates study the latest methods of food
production, as well as agricultural and natural resources, to help the
state, the country, and the world cope with some very serious
problems in the twenty-first century. Internships in the workplace,
for example in the cattle, citrus, and produce industries, give
students first-hand experience and increase their prospects for
employment after graduation. As part of the state's largest land-
grant institution, the College offers degree programs at branch
campuses around Florida, as well as distance-education programs for
those who have full-time jobs in the field. As part of a university
which prides itself on working to solve today's problems in many
fields, the College does its part to alleviate some of the challenges
faced by thousands, if not millions of people around the world.


Administratively
located in IFAS, the "
School of Natural '.
Resources and '*
Environment offers
a multidisciplinary -&
and academically
rigorous program I
dealing with the
importance of
natural resources
and the environ-
ment to the long-
term health of our
planet. The School,
founded initially as
a college in 1995,
has no faculty of its
own but embraces course offerings in 49 departments in 11
different colleges. The bachelor's degree in environmental science
allows students to specialize in several course tracks. An adminis-
trative board composed of three college deans and the Vice Presi-
dent for Agriculture and Natural Resources governs the School.
The College of Design, Construction and Planning and the
M.E. Rinker Sr. School of Building Construction have a history of
hands-on experience that their students use in the fields of architec-
ture, building construction, fire and emergency services, interior
design, landscape architecture, and urban and regional planning. As
the first college on campus to require its students to have comput-
ers, the College has integrated computer-aided design in its programs, a
feature that has prepared its students to be very marketable, and in fact most
students in the College have jobs lined up before they graduate.
The Warrington College of Business Administration offers
eight majors, the most popular of which are finance and manage-
ment. Because most of the College's professors have worked in the
business industry, they bring a practical approach to the classroom.
Students are encouraged to study abroad for an international
component to their degree. Since its founding at UF in 1926, more
than 40,000 students have earned business or accounting degrees. A
new Bachelor of Arts in Business Administration program has
allowed students specializing in areas as diverse as Anthropology to
Zoology to earn a business degree.


A long-time UF professor whose
philosophy and research
exemplified the principles of the
School of Natural Resources and
Environment was Dr. Archie Carr,
who earned three degrees at UF
and taught here for 50 years. An
expert on sea turtles (their
migration, life patterns, and
endangerment), he wrote 11
books and more than 100
scientific papers on sea turtles,
with many of his works winning
national awards.


Professor Emeritus F. Blair Reeves
of the College of Architecture
(now the College of Design,
Construction and Planning)
became an expert in
architectural preservation. He
and his students have done much
to document buildings for the
archives of the Historic American
Buildings Survey.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future










Drs. Richard Lutz (left) and David
Denslow of the Warrlngton
College of Business
Administration, photographed
here in the 1980s, but still going
strong in 2003, use props like a
drill and an ice cream cone to
make a point in their popular
courses, so popular in fact that
the courses are televised for
replay. Today, most of their
students watch lectures on the
web. In fact, in 2002, Dr. Lutz's
course was delivered statewide
via the web as part of the Online
BSBA program.


Dental student Tamara-Kay Tibby
was Vice President of the National
Student Dental Association.


The Fisher School of Accounting offers a five-year program
leading to the joint awarding of a Bachelor of Science in Accounting
and a Master of Accounting. Consistently ranked among the top ten
programs in the country, the School has among its alumni leaders at
all levels of the academic and professional world.
The College of Dentistry, one of six colleges in the J. Hillis
Miller Health Science Center, trains its students so well that it has
one of the highest rates in the country for first-time takers passing
the state Board of Dentistry exam. Offering specialty programs in
dental biomaterials, endodontics, operative dentistry, oral biology,
oral and maxillofacial surgery and diagnostic sciences, orthodontics,
pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics, the College,
one of only two dental schools in Florida, also offers continuing
education programs to dentists and auxiliary personnel throughout
the Southeast. Because of its consistent ranking in the top ten
nationally for the awarding of federal research dollars, the College
has its faculty, staff, and students involved in advanced fields that
will benefit many Americans.


Since the founding of the College ofBusiness

Administration in 1926, more than 40,000

students have earned business or accounting degrees.


With a state that is increasing by some nine hundred people a
day, the demand for new teachers is in the thousands. UF's College
of Education in Norman Hall is helping to meet that need by its
Proteach Program, which emphasizes classroom observa-
tion, supervised teaching, and a full-time
internship. The College has changed in the last
few decades, not only in keeping up with
technology used in the classroom, but also in
preparing its graduates in new ways. For
example, students who want to teach at the
secondary level complete an undergraduate
major in a discipline, then take nine additional
hours of courses as part of their master's degree
in the College. Educators can also earn master's
and doctoral degrees in counseling, curricu-
lum and instruction, educational leadership,
and higher education administration.


Professor Mary Howard-Hamilton
works In Counselor Education.


University of Florida


A First-Class University, 1976-2003









Because science and technology are changing so rapidly, the
College of Engineering has committed itself to prepare its students
with hands-on experience, computer-based simulations, and work
that includes co-op and internship programs. While the most
popular majors continue to be civil, computer, electrical, and
mechanical engineering, students can also specialize in aerospace,
agricultural/biological, chemical, coastal/oceanographic, digital arts
and sciences, engineering science, environmental, geomatics
(surveying and mapping), industrial/systems, interdisciplinary
engineering, materials science, and nuclear engineering. Nationally
funded projects like the Center for Particle Science and Technology,
which is supported by the National Science Foundation, prepare the
engineers of tomorrow.


Jerry Uelsmann, world-renowned
photographer and a professor at
UF since 1960, has had more than
100 solo shows in the United
States and abroad. His
international reputation as an
Innovator in the art of
photography and his outstanding
teaching credentials led to his
being named Graduate Research
Professor at UF.


On a campus that takes great pride in its beauty, the College of
Fine Arts has helped place major works of art throughout the
buildings, put on award-winning plays at the Constans Theatre and
the Curtis M. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, and spon-
sored exhibits at the Harn Museum of Art, which has had over one
million visitors in the last decade. The College includes the Depart-
ment of Theatre and Dance, the Diversity Theatre Workshop,
Theatre Strike Force for improvisational plays, and the Center for
World Arts. The School of Art and Art History and the School of
Music introduce students to performances from around the world,
and students can specialize in art, dance, graphic design, music,
photography, and theatre.

Willis Bodine is University Organist and Carillonneur, as well as a
professor of music. He was the founding Musical Director of UF's
Christmas Madrigal Dinners.


r-^
Roy Craven, Jr., served as the
director of the University Gallery, a
hall that displays art throughout
the year In the College of Fine Arts
complex.


Honoring the Past, Shaping the Future













M = Professor Bertha Cato
S -- works in the Department
m of Parks and Recreation
VIg aAdministration and serves
Sas an assistant dean in
the college.


At a time when Americans are becoming more health conscious,
UF's College of Health and Human Performance is committed to
training professionals to help us all improve our health, fitness, and
quality of life. Students can continue on in medicine, physical
therapy, hospital administration, and other health professions, as
well as specializing in the departments of Exercise and Sport
Sciences; Health Science Education; and Recreation, Parks, and
Tourism. The Center for Exercise Science introduces students to
exercise physiology and the role of exercise at all stages of our lives.
The College of Health Professions, the first college of health
professions in the United States, includes the fields of occupational
therapy, physical therapy, and rehabilitative services. Skilled
practitioners, including clinicians, basic scientists, and academi-
cians, share their extensive medical backgrounds with students
preparing to enter the
demanding field of medicine.
The Health Science Center
with its research laboratories
and opportunities for making
rounds gives students hands-
on experience, and the
program's affiliations with
Shands Hospital, Shands at
Alachua General Hospital, the
Veterans Administration
Medical Center, and rural
health-care facilities through-
out the state provide many
opportunities to observe a
wide variety of patients.


As one of the largest and most respected journalism colleges in
the United States, the College of Journalism and Communications
combines the fields of publishing, radio, and television, including
online news services, radio/television sales, and marketing/advertis-
ing. Its four departments (advertising, journalism, public relations,
and telecommunication) have enabled the College to be ranked one
of the ten best programs in the country every year for the past
decade. Its radio and television stations give students first-hand
experience in a fast-changing field.


Former Dean Ralph Lowenstein on the right, shown here with Provost
Bob Bryan on the left and Otis "The Voice of the Gators" Boggs, led
the College of Journalism and Communications to excellence. The
college's two TV stations and three radio stations give students
experience in the field, as does UF's Orange & Blue magazine and
the Interactive Media Lab, which creates on-line publications.


Many UF students have begun their career in government,
politics, and the law in the demanding environs of the Fredric G.
Levin College of Law. For example, more presidents of the Ameri-
can Bar have graduated from the UF College of Law than any other
law school in the country in the last two decades. The Center for
Governmental Responsibility has helped influence the state's policies
on issues including health care, the environment, and public school
education. Keeping the enrollment of incoming students at 400 per
year for the past twenty years has enabled the College to pick the
best students, but also maintain a diversity appropriate to a multi-
ethnic state.


University of Florida
A First-Class University, 1976-2003